Team list for Brazil friendly - Azeez, Olayinka called

Re: Team list for Brazil friendly - Azeez, Olayinka called

chief nfachairman wrote: Last season, I covered Nigerian players weekly, Esiti was top 3 best performing midfielders in Europe and I kept calling for his inclusion based on pure facts. And he rightfully deserves the callup.

Good thing again is that, he was in camp the last time, and got called up again.

Now lets compare Azu and Esiti's records in the last 6yrs.

Azubuike
Yeni, D1, Turkey
Yeni, Prem, Turkey
Pyramids, Prem, Egypt
Rizespor, Prem, Turkey
Basaksehir, Prem, Turkey (Never been TUrkish champions or cup winners. Got promoted to Super League last season).

Appeared in 1 CL and currently in the Europa (1st one)

Esiti
Estoril, Prem, Portugal
Gent, Prem, Belgium (Top 4 Belgian team including League Champions, Cup champions and Supercup champions) - 4 season
Paok, Prem, Greece (Greek Champions - Unbeaten last season, Cup winners - did a double last season)

Appeared in 1 Champions league, 5 Europa and currently plying in his 6th Europa.
Comparing apples to oranges, as they each play DIFFERENT roles...
Esiti is a classic DM breaking up play, while Azubuike plays further up in CM primarily linking play.

Nonetheless, while a big fan of Esiti (ask MACEO :lol: )...
If compelled to pick a generic 'midfielder', Azubuike over Esiti EVERY DAY - and 2x on Sundays!

The REALITY is that Esiti suffered a STINKER against Ukraine...
But that does NOT necessarily equate to him being a bad player. He's not!

Otitokoro wrote: 6. Akpom? He can't walk into the team that easily - He doesn't have to. The intent is to continously uplift the profile of the strikeforce. You have hanger's on currently in the team that offer zero value - case in point Onuachu. Akpom and Olayinka can add to the competition.
Glad that Olayinka finally gets a shot...
But there's absolutely NO indication he's a better SE prospect than Onuachu.

His best-ever season in Belgium (where he could not get into the Gent first-team squad throughout the almost 3 seasons he spent in the Belgian league) was 8 goals, while Onuachu already has 3 goals in 4 games at Genk.
>

Otitokoro wrote: 6. Akpom? He can't walk into the team that easily - He doesn't have to. The intent is to continously uplift the profile of the strikeforce. You have hanger's on currently in the team that offer zero value - case in point Onuachu. Akpom and Olayinka can add to the competition.
Glad that Olayinka finally gets a shot...
But there's absolutely NO indication he's a better SE prospect than Onuachu.

His best-ever season in Belgium (where he could not get into the Gent first-team squad throughout the almost 3 seasons he spent in the Belgian league) was 8 goals, while Onuachu already has 3 goals in 4 games at Genk.
>
He only played one season in Belgium in 17/18 where he'd score 11 goals (Playoffs included) and 15 assists in 40 games, which Along with his exploits the season before is what got him the move to Prauge

Sunset wrote:He only played one season in Belgium in 17/18 where he'd score 11 goals (Playoffs included) and 15 assists in 40 games, which Along with his exploits the season before is what got him the move to Prauge
He arrived at Gent from Albania in 2016...
He could not get into the first-team and was loaned to a club in the Czech league.

He scored 6 goals in the Czech league and returned to Belgium in 2017...
Again, could not crack the first-team at Gent and went out on loan to Zulte-Wagerem.

He scored 8 league goals at Zulte (where he played with Kingsley Madu), not sure of p/offs...
When he still couldn't make the Gent first-team in 2018, he was traded to Prague (6 goals last season).

football isn't mathematics. we saw onuachu and he cant even control the ball at his fit. let's see olayinka, if he flops then on to the next

Sunset wrote:He only played one season in Belgium in 17/18 where he'd score 11 goals (Playoffs included) and 15 assists in 40 games, which Along with his exploits the season before is what got him the move to Prauge
He arrived at Gent from Albania in 2016...
He could not get into the first-team and was loaned to a club in the Czech league.

He scored 6 goals in the Czech league and returned to Belgium in 2017...
Again, could not crack the first-team at Gent and went out on loan to Zulte-Wagerem.

He scored 8 league goals at Zulte (where he played with Kingsley Madu), not sure of p/offs...
When he still couldn't make the Gent first-team in 2018, he was traded to Prague (6 goals last season).
He's scored 3 in the playoffs + an additional 6 assists to end the season with 11 g and 15 assists

https://www.transfermarkt.us/peter-olay ... aison=2017

john12 wrote:football isn't mathematics. we saw onuachu and he cant even control the ball at his fit. let's see olayinka, if he flops then on to the next
Rather rich from a dude who keeps going on about our opponents players playing in better leagues and achieving higher, and thus we shouldn’t expect to beat them...smh

Anyway, all I have said is there’s “no indication” that Olayinka is a better PROSPECT...
The commonality between both is the Belgian league, and thus far Onuachu is showing better numbers.
>

Sunset wrote:He's scored 3 in the playoffs + an additional 6 assists to end the season with 11 g and 15 assists

https://www.transfermarkt.us/peter-olay ... aison=2017
To put that in perspective, Henry Onyekuru tallied 24 goals and 9 assists in his best Belgium season and still struggles to break into the SE squad.

Anyway, like I said on another thread, the best he can ask for is a shot and after that it’s entirely up to him and his performance (not reputation).
>

blueangel wrote:
naijaguy wrote:
A G A I N S T . . . . .

Goalkeepers (3) : Ederson (Manchester City), Santos (Athletico-PR), Weverton (Palmeiras)

Defenders (8) : Eder Militão (Real Madrid), Marquinhos (PSG), Rodrigo Caio (Flamengo), Thiago Silva (PSG), Alex Sandro (Juventus), Daniel Alves (São Paulo), Danilo (Juventus), Renan Lodi (Atlético de Madrid)

Midfielders (6) : Arthur (Barcelona), Casemiro (Real Madrid), Fabinho (Liverpool), Lucas Paquetá (Milan), Matheus Henrique (Grêmio), Philippe Coutinho (Bayern)

Strikers (6): Everton (Grêmio), Gabigol (Flamengo), Gabriel Jesus (Manchester City), Neymar (PSG), Richarlison (Everton), Roberto Firmino (Liverpool)

What tactics do we play against this Brazilian team.
Do we sit back and absorb waves and waves of attacks and take our chances on fast breaks ?
Should we go toe to toe all out attack and out score them ?

This match will show what level of coaching Rohr dey.
This match go define Rohr and probably a few players.
Because this is a Ruthless, Devastating Brazilian team.

Best Of Luck to our Super Eagles

I'D RULE OUT OPTION 2, BECAUSE...

…you can't sit back and let them camp around your box all match-long like a dark cloud. You'd make enough mistakes for them to score a few times. And your counters, if they come at all, will fizzle because you won't have enough counters or enough players in attacking position. Let your player play their normal game and see how they do against a world class team.

If Nigerian players go into the match perceiving Brazil as "ruthless, devastating", they'd be one goal down before hostilities begin. Brazil has the pedigree but they are also beatable. Moreover, I think since, ironically, Brazil 2014, the nation has lust some of its traditional ability to inspire fear in opponents. Nigeria at this time needs to act like a grown up, respect them but don't treat them with awe. Let the chips fall where they may. Let it serve as a yardstick for Nigeria vis-à-vis the "big countries". That's the only way to know how good or bad you are.

Fully loaded team,

Brazil Roster For Senegal, Nigeria Friendlies

Goalkeepers (3) : Ederson (Manchester City), Santos (Athletico-PR), Weverton (Palmeiras)

Defenders (8) : Eder Militão (Real Madrid), Marquinhos (PSG), Rodrigo Caio (Flamengo), Thiago Silva (PSG), Alex Sandro (Juventus), Daniel Alves (São Paulo), Danilo (Juventus), Renan Lodi (Atlético de Madrid)

Midfielders (6) : Arthur (Barcelona), Casemiro (Real Madrid), Fabinho (Liverpool), Lucas Paquetá (Milan), Matheus Henrique (Grêmio), Philippe Coutinho (Bayern)

Strikers (6): Everton (Grêmio), Gabigol (Flamengo), Gabriel Jesus (Manchester City), Neymar (PSG), Richarlison (Everton), Roberto Firmino (Liverpool
Source: Allnigeriasoccer.com

naijaguy wrote:
kalani JR wrote:Who replaces Aribo?
Who said he's out?
I thought he was out for a few weeks?
Steven Gerrard told you this??? :sneaky:
Yes. :sneaky:

Sir V wrote:Fully loaded team,

Brazil Roster For Senegal, Nigeria Friendlies

Strikers (6): Everton (Grêmio), Gabigol (Flamengo), Gabriel Jesus (Manchester City), Neymar (PSG), Richarlison (Everton), Roberto Firmino (Liverpool
Source: Allnigeriasoccer.com

Ifa is the way :thumb:
Brazil vs Nigeria Live and Direct 7 am

Re: Brazil vs Nigeria Live and Direct 7 am

Bigpokey24 wrote:https://www.livesoccertv.com/match/3462 ... s-nigeria/
my time next sunday Beinsport
Does this mean you don't want to travel to Singapore anymore? I have your ticket for you if you need it.

niyi wrote:Nacho missing
Just as he misses the bench at Leicester, if he is taking up space whilst on form players are being over looked then that would be a lazy selection and we’d be going backwards!
Last edited by Eaglezbeak on Sat Oct 05, 2019 5:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

No

Bigpokey24 wrote:No

By no, you mean you still want to travel to Asia or by NO, you mean you wont be traveling to Asia.

But any who, I wonder how many goals the SE would chop this time. I just can't imagine SE escaping with less than 3 zero.

ANC wrote:But any who, I wonder how many goals the SE would chop this time. I just can't imagine SE escaping with less than 3 zero.
And what will you do when your feelings don't come to pass?
Or is this simply your coping strategy, giving you some 'I-told-you-so' protection from heartache?
:taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

ANC wrote:
Bigpokey24 wrote:No

By no, you mean you still want to travel to Asia or by NO, you mean you wont be traveling to Asia.

If he leaves the U.S how’s he going to get back in?

BigTurkey Abeg stay put, we don’t need another JoblesS youth roaming the streets of Eko.

Why is there a thread for a game more than a week away?

kalani JR wrote:Why is there a thread for a game more than a week away?
Simple arithmetic - Joblessness.

kalani JR wrote:Why is there a thread for a game more than a week away?
This is a Nigerian forum go to camfoot and complain..show the forum rules about when game threads are open. By the way how the heck is this thread a game thread you little jobless stalker