At the moment only 3 African teams are up to scratch

(1) I do not know if any of you saw Ukraine beat Portugal 2-1 yesterday but it puts our draw into perspective
(2) Over the last month, Nigeria has drawn with Ukraine and Brazil
(3) I have watched a few European qualifiers and from what I have seen, the likes of Germany, France, Holland, England, etc have nothing on us at the moment
(4) We all saw Senegal match Brazil. They too can compete with anyone for now
(5) I would add Algeria to that list
(6) I believe Nigeria, Senegal and Algeria could easily qualify for Euro 2020 were they in the qualifiers
(7) However, I would not bet on any other African team at the moment
(8) Our other big boys like Egypt, Ivory Coast, Ghana, Cameroon, Morocco, Tunisia, South Africa, etc, are not pulling their weight for now
(9) That can change over the next year but for now, Africa only has three teams
(10) I look forward to the day our continent will produce five teams that can draw with Brazil at the same time
Last edited by Ayo Akinfe on Tue Oct 15, 2019 7:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
Re: At the moment only 3 African teams are up to scratch

what is the goal of this thread

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

Ayo Akinfe wrote:(1) I do not know if any of you saw Ukraine beat Portugal 2-1 yesterday but it puts our draw into perspective
(3) I have watched a few European qualifiers and from what I have seen, the likes of Germany, France, Holland, England, etc have nothing on us at the moment
(6) I believe Nigeria, Senegal and Algeria could easily qualify for Euro 2020 were they in the qualifiers
(8) Our other big boys like Egypt, Ivory Coast, Ghana, Cameroon, Morocco, Tunisia, South Africa, etc, are not pulling their weight for now
(10) I look forward to the day our continent will produce five teams that can draw with Brazil at the same time
With raws style of football, all our games in Euro 2020 would be a draw.

jette1 wrote:what is the goal of this thread
Oga pls, dont derail this thread.

This is an editorial opinion from our Contributing Editor At large :woot:

To try and put our performances in perspective.
Ukraine just beat European champions Portugal and now top their group by an 8 point margin. But when we got a result against them, the excuse was that they are a below average team. :idea:

own goal? :sneaky: :sneaky: :sneaky:

Zelex

Post by Zelex »

Maybe it is only me but I find it difficult to make such judgement's off friendlies. I think competitive games are different ball game where extensive opposition scouting takes place. However, I take solace that the SE have been competitive in their last two games which is encouraging. It at least indicates roughly where they are at. I still don't think this team right now would qualify from the same WC 2018 group.
Zelex-CE World Cup 2010 prediction Winner
http://forum.cybereagles.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=177767

Zelex wrote:Maybe it is only me but I find it difficult to make such judgement's off friendlies. I think competitive games are different ball game where extensive opposition scouting takes place. However, I take solace that the SE have been competitive in their last two games which is encouraging. It at least indicates roughly where they are at. I still don't think this team right now would qualify from the same WC 2018 group.

I agree with you on that. We all know that the bar gets raised significantly in competitive games but we can take solace from the fact that we are at least within touching distance of the big boys. For instance, If Ghana played a friendly against Brazil today, I believe they would have been beaten at least 4-0. I also believe Ukraine would easily put three past Cameroon without response if they met in a friendly.

I would add CIV to that list. They are quietly building a very strong team. Remember they were the only team not to lose to Algeria in 90 minutes. Something Nigeria failed to do, and Senegal failed to do TWICE.

I watched them beat DR Congo 3-1 the other day and they look strong. Their attack was dynamic with a front 3 of Zaha, Pepe, and Gradel. Zaha is starting to play for the team which is encouraging.

They have a stacked midfield. IMO CIV is the best team in Africa from the midfield forward. Their weakness is in defence.

I think they will be a major threat to win afcon in 2021. A young ant talented team like us, while Senegal and Algeria are much older.

vancity eagle wrote:I would add CIV to that list. They are quietly building a very strong team. Remember they were the only team not to lose to Algeria in 90 minutes. Something Nigeria failed to do, and Senegal failed to do TWICE.

I watched them beat DR Congo 3-1 the other day and they look strong. Their attack was dynamic with a front 3 of Zaha, Pepe, and Gradel. Zaha is starting to play for the team which is encouraging.

They have a stacked midfield. IMO CIV is the best team in Africa from the midfield forward. Their weakness is in defence.

I think they will be a major threat to win afcon in 2021. A young ant talented team like us, while Senegal and Algeria are much older.

By the way, do they still play football in Ghana at the moment? When was the last time the Kenkey Bredas had a good game?

VE are you sure that you're not half CIC? because the way you adulate them di crazy

Later today, there will be:

Algeria vs Colombia
Guinea vs Chile
Morocco vs Gabon

Let us see how Algeria and Guinea fare.

vancity eagle wrote:I would add CIV to that list. They are quietly building a very strong team. Remember they were the only team not to lose to Algeria in 90 minutes. Something Nigeria failed to do, and Senegal failed to do TWICE.

By the way, do they still play football in Ghana at the moment? When was the last time the Kenkey Bredas had a good game?
:winking: We got the Silver in the recently concluded WAFU. 1-1 against Senegal, but lost through penalty kicks in the final on Sunday.
Black Stars B head coach, Maxwell Konadu, has admitted that his team was not at the required levels to go past Senegal in the final of this year’s ESPN WAFU Cup of Nations played on Sunday.

G

Senator WIRES wrote:

:winking: We got the Silver in the recently concluded WAFU. 1-1 against Senegal, but lost through penalty kicks in the final on Sunday.
Black Stars B head coach, Maxwell Konadu, has admitted that his team was not at the required levels to go past Senegal in the final of this year’s ESPN WAFU Cup of Nations played on Sunday.

G
We are talking of serious games and you are mentioning home-based Wafu tournaments. Why did you not play a senior game during this Fifa window?

How about the fact, SE has not won a single game after Afcon. One win in 4 , lost to Algeria, Tied Ukraine and Brazil...hmmmm yet to keep a clean sheet.

Bigpokey24 wrote:How about the fact, SE has not won a single game after Afcon. One win in 4 , lost to Algeria, Tied Ukraine and Brazil...hmmmm yet to keep a clean sheet.
To be fair we played two world class teams in Brazil and to to extent Ukraine, and more than held our own. Maybe if NFF had arranged one more friendly in the available fifa window to play some decent to below average European or African team... we would have had some wins to cap it all.

Bigpokey24 wrote:How about the fact, SE has not won a single game after Afcon. One win in 4 , lost to Algeria, Tied Ukraine and Brazil...hmmmm yet to keep a clean sheet.
You're right. The NFF should've scheduled a game against Chad or Niger to give us an easy win.

Context is everything dude. The draw against Brazil trumps a win vs most other teams we could've possibly played.

If we had played Ghana and beaten them 3-0 and then Niger Republic and beaten them 4-0, would you have considered that a greater achievement?

Ayo Akinfe wrote:(1) I do not know if any of you saw Ukraine beat Portugal 2-1 yesterday but it puts our draw into perspective

A list without Kenya is always suspect.
Kuku Ngbendu Wa Za Banga

The Jagaban wrote:

A list without Kenya is always suspect.
I fully agree - If we are discussing marathons!

WTF, we have only played 2 games since Afcon and drew both. Where did you get 4?

I want to agree, but these were friendlies where the results weren't important. Left to friendlies, Argentina would be our wives not the nemesis.