NIGERIA U17 4 HUNGARY U17 2

Re: NIGERIA U17 4 HUNGARY U17 2

ohenhen1 wrote:Every one is entitled to their opinion. My opinion is I am not really interested in the U17 world cup. The reality is the U20 level is where you find the next generation of stars. I think it is time for Nigeria to win the U20 world cup.
...don't worry soon u17 will graduate to u20. Keep eye on them, and I hope when their time come you don't go ask for foreign born to come play.

Senegal looking good. Leading the USA 4-1

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Naturally talented players, but disappointed with the technical quality of both the players and the team...Need to modernize our approach to development of young players.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Igugu

Post by Igugu »

Lolly wrote:Senegal looking good. Leading the USA 4-1

After watching Senegal vs USA, I am beginning to think Senegal will beat the common sense out of the young Eagles. They are that good. Above all they have strikers, of which I do not see in the Nigerian squad. But we pray Nigeria improves with as the tournament lasts.
Igugu

Post by Igugu »

After watching Senegal vs USA, I am beginning to think Senegal will beat the common sense out of the young Eagles. They are that good. Above all they have strikers, of which I do not see in the Nigerian squad. But we pray Nigeria improves with as the tournament lasts.

txj wrote:Naturally talented players, but disappointed with the technical quality of both the players and the team...Need to modernize our approach to development of young players.
What you really mean by “modernize” is import a bunch of oyibo coaches to take over the handling of Nigerian youth teams. What else is new :?: :!:

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:
txj wrote:Naturally talented players, but disappointed with the technical quality of both the players and the team...Need to modernize our approach to development of young players.
What you really mean by “modernize” is import a bunch of oyibo coaches to take over the handling of Nigerian youth teams. What else is new :?: :!:

Txj should get up and put his money where his mouth is.

Igugu wrote:
I’m sure if you had seen Hungary at the Euro championships, you would think they would beat us too... :lol:

Igugu wrote:
I’m sure if you had seen Hungary at the Euro championships, you would think they would beat us too... :lol:
They said the same thing about Amuneke's U17 team.
The rest is history.

It means exactly what I said- modernize our training of young players. Its not rocket science; it just requires everyone concerned from the NFF to coaches and academies to raise their game....

The technical quality of the players is not good...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

I'm not a coach.

You are, as I gather a physician. Just b/c you comment on football does not mean you should coach in order to justify your opinions...

I'm not a coach.

You are, as I gather a physician. Just b/c you comment on football does not mean you should coach in order to justify your opinions...
You're not a coach? :huh: I could have bet my right testicle that you coach coaches. Thanks for saving one of my ekpon :tic:

I'm not a coach.

You're not a coach? :huh: I could have bet my right testicle that you coach coaches. Thanks for saving one of my ekpon :tic:

Focus on the issue. We need to improve our training methods for young players.

Simply churning out the same kind of naturally talented but technically average players is not good enough...

Pajimoh is a Spuds fan and follows the academy. Do the Spurds youngsters exhibit the kind of poor technique and understanding of the team game you see from our boys?

It means exactly what I said- modernize our training of young players. Its not rocket science; it just requires everyone concerned from the NFF to coaches and academies to raise their game....

You keep bandying the word “modernize” about without explaining what it means in this context. Tell me what Nigerian coaches are not doing that’s hampering the development of our youth teams... and then tell me what youth team foreign coaches are doing or have that Nigerian coaches, in your estimation, don’t seem to be getting a grasp of; that is besides the facilities at the disposal of oyibo coaches :!:

Tiger Killer, you go wait tire to get answer from this guy.
Na to just pose with big grammar and make blame him sabi.

BTW, if this team manages to do well in this tournament, he will shift to his favorite expertise,
of deciphering kids' ages from pictures and video.

You should research training methodologies for youth players without waiting for me. Its all over the internet.

But even without this, just put the Nigeria/Hungary game side by side with the Brazil/AUST game and the difference is stark....

Don't focus on the talent of the players (we know they are talented), but pay attention to technical traits they exhibit; for eg: how they receive the ball, including first touch, body shape, etc.

Plus the first instinct of nearly every Nigerian player is to run. Now its not a bad thing to have instinctive players, but you need to teach players how/when to apply this...

From the team perspective, look at the spacing and the consistency of the spacing; what types of runs they make, with and without the ball, etc...

And BTW, I have actually watched a few training sessions of a number of Nigerian academies in the past.

Perhaps things have changed- Ugbowo can correct me. But I'm not seeing it in the players....

JACKAL wrote:I read there is a fifa link ?

Kai, na wa-ooo! I missed this game also, damn. Well, God-dey, sha

How come African countries do extremely well at U-17 tournaments?

Chei , that was some serious sucker punches by the Nigerian kids ...

Rawlings wrote:How come African countries do extremely well at U-17 tournaments?
Professor Rawlings, what you think is the reason? I know you have an idea
folem

Post by folem »

Rawlings wrote:How come African countries do extremely well at U-17 tournaments?
They spend more training time than the others. They are camped for longer periods. The number of teams are about equal relative to other continents.