Bernardo Silva tweet condemned by Kick It Out

Re: Bernardo Silva tweet condemned by Kick It Out

Coach wrote:Again the question being overlooked is, what is offensive about the picture? In isolation, a photo of a Malteser with a smiley face, wouldn’t be considered racist, the comparison to a black person is certainly entering dangerous territory, but...why is it deemed racist upon comparison and not before? How many were aware of this picture prior to the tweet? How many had condemned its use before Bernardo’s ill fated post?

Is it the comparison that makes it racist? Or the content of the caricature?
Both. The initial cartoon produced in the 70s is clearly racist in its depiction of African "jungle babies." Now, to take that already established racist cartoon and compare it to an ACTUAL human child of African descent is without question cause for concern.
I would be more troubled if an investigation was not launched. Bernado may well be exonerated, but to sweep this under the rug is unacceptable.
Racism is clear to see if its the bedsheet wearing, cross burning man in your front yard, but its the subtle, in-built one that the fight is about. Its the nice man who will tell you he has "many black friends" but still, deep down sees his childhood buddy as similar to an "African jungle baby" that is a far bigger stain on society.
Is this racist? Absolutely!! Was it intentionally so? Maybe not.

The exaggerated size and hue of the lips could be racial slur and given Spain’s penchant for such, it would come as no surprise were this intention masquerading as innocence. However, the white chocolate variety boasts the same caricature, differing only in shade of chocolate. At one point does it become racist, when surveying the chocolate spectrum? Agree there is an uncomfortable nod to the golliwog, but is there a particular feature about this image that causes such concern? Would a smiley face on a Snickers bar be considered the same?

WhatsApp users, scroll through the various emojis, there’s one of a very black moon, big white eyes, conguito smile...should this be called to question? What’s the intention?

Coach wrote:The exaggerated size and hue of the lips could be racial slur and given Spain’s penchant for such, it would come as no surprise were this intention masquerading as innocence. However, the white chocolate variety boasts the same caricature, differing only in shade of chocolate. At one point does it become racist, when surveying the chocolate spectrum? Agree there is an uncomfortable nod to the golliwog, but is there a particular feature about this image that causes such concern? Would a smiley face on a Snickers bar be considered the same?

WhatsApp users, scroll through the various emojis, there’s one of a very black moon, big white eyes, conguito smile...should this be called to question? What’s the intention?
Silva is from Portugal and not Spain

Coach wrote:The exaggerated size and hue of the lips could be racial slur and given Spain’s penchant for such, it would come as no surprise were this intention masquerading as innocence. However, the white chocolate variety boasts the same caricature, differing only in shade of chocolate. At one point does it become racist, when surveying the chocolate spectrum? Agree there is an uncomfortable nod to the golliwog, but is there a particular feature about this image that causes such concern? Would a smiley face on a Snickers bar be considered the same?

You said it pretty much the conguito's similarity to the golliwog is the point of contention. A smiley face on a snickers would probably not feature racially offensive caricature so likely no.

Manchester City's Bernardo Silva has been charged with misconduct by the Football Association over a tweet he sent to team-mate Benjamin Mendy.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.bbc.co ... l/49906026

Sets a precedent, banter or not, perhaps now this will regulate the actions of some in the monstrosity called social media.

Knowing Pep I wouldn't be surprised if Mendy is the one who comes out worse in all of this by chopping serious bench time :sad: :bored:

^And Sterling too.

benteke wrote:Manchester City's Bernardo Silva has been charged with misconduct by the Football Association over a tweet he sent to team-mate Benjamin Mendy.

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Eni Aluko says most of what I said on the Silva tweet.
https://www.theguardian.com/football/bl ... -eni-aluko

Abeg, make dem ban am! Na Man City go take dia hand do demsef dis season. About time we won the EPL and we appreciate all the help we get on the way. YNWA

marko wrote:one has to be careful how they use social media, Bernardo Silva was naive to post that in a public space, a text message would have just been fine especially if they have been friends for ages
So your friends of other races are allowed to joke with sensitive racial jokes? Silva knew what he was doing...I repeat he knew it was wrong and decided to get more likes on the social media
yes, because it is technically racism to only accept jokes from one particular race. It means you are judging intent purely on the race of the joker. IF you don't like the joke then don't accept it from anyone.
Last edited by Molue Conductor on Sun Oct 27, 2019 2:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Coach wrote:@Marko, Eto’o’s age was questioned because he’s black and he’s African. The same charges were not levied at the likes of Carvalho and Robben, both of whom look way beyond their years. Why not? Race has shaped an opinion and the conclusions reached, a classic example of prejudice. The truth is, it is everywhere and anywhere.
This has less to do with race. He is not questioned because he is black, he is questioned because he is African. Unfortunately our poor record keeping allows for these questions to be raised.

Mr. Piffington wrote:
Bigpokey24 wrote:What the racist posted was horrible, he posted a picture of Mendy and a caricature character with huge red lips
I don’t think Bernardo is racist, that tweet was stupid though. If it’s a joke between friends then why make it public?
Someone posted a racist joke and you say you don't think they are racist.... really?
Bro, these house negros will do anything to give the Massa the benefit of the doubt. They dont have this same energy when its a local coach or African player. THen, their tongue begins to wag up and down! how shameless.
and you accuse others of being racist. Is this term not offensive?

cchinukw wrote:The totally stupid one here is Benjamin Mendy who liked the tweet.

Bloody unbelievable and a load blue blistering barnacles upon his silly brain. :curse:

Again, help me understand

Silva post a tweet - he's racist
Mendy likes the tweet - he's stupid
Mbappe like the tweet - he's stupid
Pep defends Silva - he is racist

Fact is we are labeling intentions solely based on the race of the perpetrator, this in itself is racism.

txj wrote:I would like to look beyond this issue to comment about much deeper manifestations of racism. By that I refer to the institutional kind.

Don't get me wrong, Silva was stupid and will deservedly be punished, in some form or the other.

Then what?

But the fight against racism cannot be focused on the lowest common denominators of words, symbols, tweets, etc, when the real manifestations of the issue is much deeper.

I am tired of the uproar about words and black-faces and all. Not saying they shouldn't be condemned, but how about we reserve the biggest outrage for the deeper manifestations of this cancer....
Kpom
there are real racism issues to deal with. For example, look at what clubs pay their players, particularly the mid-tier clubs. Chelsea in in 2014; older folks John Terry was on 175k; and Drogba on 80k. Midfielders Cesc on 200k Mikel on 75k and Willian on 70k all the same age. Opportunities given to Lamps gerrard Ljungberg, Per, etc on coaching. nothing given to Vierra in England.
http://www.tsmplug.com/richlist/chelsea ... ries-2014/
Last edited by Molue Conductor on Sun Oct 27, 2019 2:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Coach wrote:On the contrary, Barnes is asking a valid point, why is it racist? What about comparing two black faces, one in infancy another a cartoon character, is racist? Is it the fact that one has stereotyped features? Before heckling Barnes, 'tis worth acknowledging the statement made, in order for it to be seen as racist, he demands to know where the FA, Kick It Out, have seen offence. A very valid point. Without knowing Silva, 'tis likely this was deliberate, but within the realms of what the two have considered banter, an arena where outrageous statements can be made an excused away as "bantz".
The other question is if Mbappe was the one who posted this tweet, would the view be different?

Coach wrote:Again the question being overlooked is, what is offensive about the picture? In isolation, a photo of a Malteser with a smiley face, wouldn’t be considered racist, the comparison to a black person is certainly entering dangerous territory, but...why is it deemed racist upon comparison and not before? How many were aware of this picture prior to the tweet? How many had condemned its use before Bernardo’s ill fated post?

Is it the comparison that makes it racist? Or the content of the caricature?
I think the caricature came from a place of racial-based undertones, simply by the nature of what a caricature is.

Samora Machel wrote:Knowing Pep I wouldn't be surprised if Mendy is the one who comes out worse in all of this by chopping serious bench time :sad: :bored:
This statement makes no sense at all.

One match ban.

cic old boy wrote:One match ban.
Not enough should be 5 games ban,he miss the Chelsea game

cic old boy wrote:One match ban.
No surprise there. There's no real interest in putting a dent on racist conduct in the sport. Status-quo decision which pays lip service to anti-racism efforts in England and Europe as a whole.