Owen Otasowie - Young Rising Center Back

https://www.thesun.co.uk/sport/football ... liverpool/

One to watch out for. Eligible to play for Nigeria, England, or USA.

"My friends - "We need to really reassess the way we trash our national team, derogate some players and disrespect the people that run our football. Let the brand new Super Eagles become our new Brand of national pride.. The unifying identity for all.. Bar none!" - CE's The Great Seloweizer (6/24/13)

Re: Owen Otasowie - Young Rising Center Back

USA USA USA USA

Liverpool, Arsenal and PSG set for transfer battle for Wolves starlet Owen Otasowie' as race to sign teenage defender begins
Wolves youngster Owen Otasowie is attracting attention across Europe
The 18-year-old can play centre back but also slot into midfield positions
PSG are reported to have been impressed after playing Wolves at youth level
Liverpool and Arsenal are also linked with the multi-national teenager

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/footb ... l-PSG.html

Here we go again!

Damunk wrote:[/video]
This is what a kid being looked at by Arsenal and PSG looks like? Not the greatest highlights sha...

Just came on for Wolves Vs Besiiktas in the Europa, and hit the bar with a header.

"My friends - "We need to really reassess the way we trash our national team, derogate some players and disrespect the people that run our football. Let the brand new Super Eagles become our new Brand of national pride.. The unifying identity for all.. Bar none!" - CE's The Great Seloweizer (6/24/13)

Is England the only place Nigerian talent is found? :roll:

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Is England the only place Nigerian talent is found? :roll:

They have you believe Championship bottom of league team player is a great prospect against proven local talent struggling to find a home in Europe.

ANC wrote:
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Is England the only place Nigerian talent is found? :roll:

They have you believe Championship bottom of league team player is a great prospect against proven local talent struggling to find a home in Europe.
These are well thought out arguments on your position below!

Firstly, ´The SE brand today is Pan Nigerian global selection of eligible players. Any hb player must raise his standard to the level to merit selection.´

Secondly ´The local players can actually start by 'encouraging themselves' to win something on the continent to gain some credibility. Right now, they really suck! Repeated mediocre performances in multiple continental competitions does not help them make a case for consideration at the Super Eagles level. CHAN, WAFU Cup, African Champions League, etc. You name it.´ Which has led to the belief that The so called Nigerian born home based players are losing to the likes of Togo, cant win a CHAN or WAFU cup to save their lives and cannot even get close to winning a CAF champions league. These are the players you want to play for the Super eagles abi? Anuiofia!.´Evidently ´Where we all should be agreeing is that quality players in the NPFL still exist but are few and far between and are diminishing by the day thanks to raiding. This is reflected in our poor CHAN, WAFU and continental club performances.´

Thirdly, ´Truth is: the HB players are mediocre (strategically and tactically). One of the SE coaches even verbally confirmed it recently. That's why foreign clubs would rather scout Academy players than the league players (and that is not going to change for a long time). All our better players have left (or are in the process of leaving) Nigerian shores.´

Fourthly, ´How anyone can advocate for players in our poor league to be included in the SE is beyond me. They come up with arguments about good players in the league but ask them to mention one player from the NPFL, that can step into the SE, they keep quiet but keep on with the same mantra. There are obviously rough diamonds in the NPFL, but the SE is not the place where they will be polished.´

Lastly, ´who are the local players that can and should make the SE on merit? Where are they? and ´Honestly, I don't understand the obsession with home based players after all the evidence that they're not good enough.´

Your position is untenable. Case close

ANC wrote:

Fake News.
Check out the number of Nigeria-eligible players in English backwater clubs that have no chance of smelling the SE.
And anyway, where did anyone suggest that this guy was being considered for an invitation?
Fake News. :boo:

ANC wrote:

These are well thought out arguments on your position below!

Firstly, ´The SE brand today is Pan Nigerian global selection of eligible players. Any hb player must raise his standard to the level to merit selection.´

Secondly ´The local players can actually start by 'encouraging themselves' to win something on the continent to gain some credibility. Right now, they really suck! Repeated mediocre performances in multiple continental competitions does not help them make a case for consideration at the Super Eagles level. CHAN, WAFU Cup, African Champions League, etc. You name it.´ Which has led to the belief that The so called Nigerian born home based players are losing to the likes of Togo, cant win a CHAN or WAFU cup to save their lives and cannot even get close to winning a CAF champions league. These are the players you want to play for the Super eagles abi? Anuiofia!.´Evidently ´Where we all should be agreeing is that quality players in the NPFL still exist but are few and far between and are diminishing by the day thanks to raiding. This is reflected in our poor CHAN, WAFU and continental club performances.´

Thirdly, ´Truth is: the HB players are mediocre (strategically and tactically). One of the SE coaches even verbally confirmed it recently. That's why foreign clubs would rather scout Academy players than the league players (and that is not going to change for a long time). All our better players have left (or are in the process of leaving) Nigerian shores.´

Fourthly, ´How anyone can advocate for players in our poor league to be included in the SE is beyond me. They come up with arguments about good players in the league but ask them to mention one player from the NPFL, that can step into the SE, they keep quiet but keep on with the same mantra. There are obviously rough diamonds in the NPFL, but the SE is not the place where they will be polished.´

Lastly, ´who are the local players that can and should make the SE on merit? Where are they? and ´Honestly, I don't understand the obsession with home based players after all the evidence that they're not good enough.´

Your position is untenable. Case close

IN COUNTRIES THE NFF IS NOW RAIDING...

…the FA's know it's their responsibility to develop local players and that's where their emphasis is. Why doesn't the NFF understand that? Is the strategy of going to other countries to seek players a long-term effective solution for winning? Who would they turn to if these foreign born players, like a drying lake in a desert, are not available?

Cally wrote:Just came on for Wolves Vs Besiiktas in the Europa, and hit the bar with a header.
At 4:37