NPFL Season 2019/2020: Matches, News and Developments

ukwala
Re: NPFL Season 2019/2020: Matchday 5 Sunday 24 Nov-2019

Post by ukwala »

YemiBrazil wrote:To our brothers in Enugu I say welcome to Division 2... land of the brave :rotf: :rotf:
:lol: :lol: You wish!!! We are kind enough to let you enjoy 'the land of the brave' alone :taunt: :taunt:
ukwala

Post by ukwala »

Enugu II wrote:Now the rumor is that Mbwas Mangut will be named to. replace Surugede. Mangut is currently coaching Delta Force (I believe in relegation zone) as I understand it.
Wouldn't that be comical??? Choosing a coach with a similar record to the one you fired, and who was not distinguished in his previous jobs with Wikki Tourists and Heartland.

I am also not sold on Sylvanus Okpala, who curiously, does not have any serious coaching credentials but always seems to be waiting in the wings at Rangers. I mean, one would have expected him by now to have coached an NPFL club and showcased his worth. The only time we hear his name is when there is a vacancy at Rangers!

They may have failed at national level but they succeeded at club level from where they were 'promoted'. Yes, Paul Aigbogun and Kennedy Boboye (won the league with Plateau United) may not be bad choices at this time. Imama fell out with Rangers so a return would be unlikely.

We wait with bated breath.

CAFCC: NFF Offers To Assist Rangers With Technical Backing
Mohammed Saliu 0 November 26, 2019 12:21 pmCAFCC: NFF Offers To Assist Rangers With https://www.brila.net/cafcc-nff-offers- ... l-backing/

The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) has offered to provide technical backing to CAF Confederation Cup representatives, Enugu Rangers, ahead of Sunday’s opening Group stage fixture against Egyptian opponents, Pyramids.

This development was necessitated after the entire Rangers coaching crew led by Benedict Ugwu, was sacked on Sunday following the team’s poor display that saw them lose against league debutants, Akwa Starlets by 2-0 at home.
The sack created a vacuum for a new coach to be appointed to guide the team in their continental engagements.

However, the decision of Rangers Management not to rush into employing a coach but to carry out a process that will get a good replacement made sure the NFF had to wade in to ensure the Enugu side is not short of any technical support to do well in the competition.

According to a source, “the NFF is fully out to help Rangers compete favourably in the continent”, that is why they have offered to provide the needed assistance by agreeing to draft one of Super Eagles assistant coaches to help Rangers in the interim before the club can find a substantive handler”.

Meanwhile, Rangers management met with Enugu Governor, Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, at the state House of Monday to discuss ways of reviving the club’s fortunes.

An impeccable source say the meeting ended successfully with the governor reaffirming his unalloyed support for Rangers to continue to do well.

In addition, Pyramids of Egypt will be flying into the country of Thursday in a private aircraft ahead of their Sunday’s CAFCC group stage fixture against Enugu Rangers.

According to reports, the club’s trip which will see them landing in Port Harcourt before travelling to Enugu will have over 60 persons in its contingent.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
ukwala

Post by ukwala »

Mohammed Saliu 0 November 26, 2019 12:21 pmCAFCC: NFF Offers To Assist Rangers With https://www.brila.net/cafcc-nff-offers- ... l-backing/

The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) has offered to provide technical backing to CAF Confederation Cup representatives, Enugu Rangers, ahead of Sunday’s opening Group stage fixture against Egyptian opponents, Pyramids.

This development was necessitated after the entire Rangers coaching crew led by Benedict Ugwu, was sacked on Sunday following the team’s poor display that saw them lose against league debutants, Akwa Starlets by 2-0 at home.
The sack created a vacuum for a new coach to be appointed to guide the team in their continental engagements.

However, the decision of Rangers Management not to rush into employing a coach but to carry out a process that will get a good replacement made sure the NFF had to wade in to ensure the Enugu side is not short of any technical support to do well in the competition.

According to a source, “the NFF is fully out to help Rangers compete favourably in the continent”, that is why they have offered to provide the needed assistance by agreeing to draft one of Super Eagles assistant coaches to help Rangers in the interim before the club can find a substantive handler”.

Meanwhile, Rangers management met with Enugu Governor, Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, at the state House of Monday to discuss ways of reviving the club’s fortunes.

An impeccable source say the meeting ended successfully with the governor reaffirming his unalloyed support for Rangers to continue to do well.

In addition, Pyramids of Egypt will be flying into the country of Thursday in a private aircraft ahead of their Sunday’s CAFCC group stage fixture against Enugu Rangers.

According to reports, the club’s trip which will see them landing in Port Harcourt before travelling to Enugu will have over 60 persons in its contingent.
It'll probably be one of the ones I mentioned (Paul Aigbogun or Kennedy Boboye) or Adullahi Maikaba. They are the ones, together Imama Amapakabo, who have notable club experience. Like I said, I doubt Rangers and Imama can work together given the previous acrimony between them.

On another matter, I wonder if driving the Egyptian visitors from PH to Enugu is a good idea from a PR point of view. That road is the absolute worst in Nigeria, a monumental disgrace, and I wonder what type of image it would portray. Somebody should have just paid for chopper service for them.

ukwala,

Driving from PH to Enugu may be done intentionally to break the soul and belief of the visitors. Make them think of those huge potholes and wonder about the trip back to PH and home. The psychology may be necessary because this Pyramids FC is loaded with some of the best foreign players including a few Brazilians. Our own Azubike Okechukwu (U23 captain now in Turkey was once with Pyramids and did not start then). Rangers surely will need a huge home turnout and support because it will be a tough tough game. Make no mistake about that.
ukwala wrote:

It'll probably be one of the ones I mentioned (Paul Aigbogun or Kennedy Boboye) or Adullahi Maikaba. They are the ones, together Imama Amapakabo, who have notable club experience. Like I said, I doubt Rangers and Imama can work together given the previous acrimony between them.

On another matter, I wonder if driving the Egyptian visitors from PH to Enugu is a good idea from a PR point of view. That road is the absolute worst in Nigeria, a monumental disgrace, and I wonder what type of image it would portray. Somebody should have just paid for chopper service for them.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Reports are that Salisu Yusuf and Mbwas Mangut will begin to lead Enugu Rangers training as from tomorrow.
ukwala

Post by ukwala »

Enugu II wrote:Reports are that Salisu Yusuf and Mbwas Mangut will begin to lead Enugu Rangers training as from tomorrow.
Correct EII. Salisu Yusuf is on secondment from NFF while Mangut is or about to be hired as head coach.

Speedy recovery lads...
(and let's hope something like this does not happen to the Egyptians)

Gotti wrote:Speedy recovery lads...
Terrible.
ukwala

Post by ukwala »

Gotti wrote:Speedy recovery lads...
Terrible.
Unfortunate. Wish them speedy recovery.
The Eagle

Post by The Eagle »

Some match videos courtesy of Akwa United's youtube channel. Not that it matters, but I don't like the jerseys the clubs are wearing. Also, attendance seems low (unsurprising) .... and the seating capacity of Sunshine Stars' ground appears low to begin with, so they probably wouldn't make much money even if their stadium was full.

The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.

Forget Enugu Rangers.

The real story this year is the new guys Dakkada FC (formerly Akwa Starlets) who are currently second on the log but tied on points with Plateau United coached by the well respected Abdu Maikaba. Akwa Starlets FC is in its first year in the elite league and previously served as 'feeder' team to the better known Akwa United. Dakkada's away record is the best in the league with 6 points in four games and no loss. Let that sink in.
ukwala

Post by ukwala »

Enugu II wrote:Forget Enugu Rangers.

The real story this year is the new guys Dakkada FC (formerly Akwa Starlets) who are currently second on the log but tied on points with Plateau United coached by the well respected Abdu Maikaba. Akwa Starlets FC is in its first year in the elite league and previously served as 'feeder' team to the better known Akwa United. Dakkada's away record is the best in the league with 6 points in four games and no loss. Let that sink in.
Enugu II, why do you want to forget Enugu Rangers when Dakkada may yet turn out to be a flash in the pan? Do not write off an old reliable just yet!

ukwala wrote:

Enugu II, why do you want to forget Enugu Rangers when Dakkada may yet turn out to be a flash in the pan? Do not write off an old reliable just yet!
Ukwala

Rangers will not finish among the important top three this year. Take that to the bank. As for Dakadda, I am just pointing out that they have been amazing thus far.
Toxicarrow

Post by Toxicarrow »

ukwala wrote:

Ukwala

Rangers will not finish among the important top three this year. Take that to the bank. As for Dakadda, I am just pointing out that they have been amazing thus far.
E11:
My Comrade Ukwala might be right about Dakkada...It's too early to be excited about their exploit. If they keep up the momentum in the 2nd half of the league, then we might have an excellent story to write soon about the club. At this point, the club's performance at the moment reminds me of MFM's first season in the premier league. If you recall, by the second half of the league, the MFM could not sustain that "fire" that they started with that year.

Regardless, I am with you on the yeye Rangers :D :D :D :D . In fact, to give my Comrade Ukwala some sleepless nights, I can now say that Rangers is a contender of relegation this year :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
Check out Sooting's website:
https://shootingstarssc.com/
ukwala

Post by ukwala »

Toxicarrow wrote:
ukwala wrote:

Ukwala

E11:
My Comrade Ukwala might be right about Dakkada...It's too early to be excited about their exploit. If they keep up the momentum in the 2nd half of the league, then we might have an excellent story to write soon about the club. At this point, the club's performance at the moment reminds me of MFM's first season in the premier league. If you recall, by the second half of the league, the MFM could not sustain that "fire" that they started with that year.

Regardless, I am with you on the yeye Rangers :D :D :D :D . In fact, to give my Comrade Ukwala some sleepless nights, I can now say that Rangers is a contender of relegation this year :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
Hahaha! Comrade Toxic, you wish :blink: :lol: . Rest assured that Rangers will not encroach on Sooting's territory in the world of amateur football :taunt: :taunt:

Ukwala & Toxic,

I am not evaluating Dakkada on where they would be at season's end. Not at all. My take is simply a recognition of where this team is at the 8th round stage. To me, that is just amazing especially with the likes of Rangers still sniffing palmy in Enugu. :rotf:

Chai, see what Ogunbote is doing at Lobi Stars. Rangers are taking the hit for that palmy sniff during offseason when they should have been serious.

Enugu II wrote:Ukwala & Toxic,

I am not evaluating Dakkada on where they would be at season's end. Not at all. My take is simply a recognition of where this team is at the 8th round stage. To me, that is just amazing especially with the likes of Rangers still sniffing palmy in Enugu. :rotf:

Chai, see what Ogunbote is doing at Lobi Stars. Rangers are taking the hit for that palmy sniff during offseason when they should have been serious.
Rangers have played 7 games...
Against 9 games by the table leaders.

If Rangers get the maximum 6 points...
They will catapult to the top half (9th) on the log!

If and if . Na only one game dem don win in 6 na. If dem win 2 in a row no be miracle be dat? Make una sidon dream.
Toxicarrow

Post by Toxicarrow »

If and if . Na only one game dem don win in 6 na. If dem win 2 in a row no be miracle be dat? Make una sidon dream.
Feeling like :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: , but I remember my comrades and I just waka pass with prayer for yeye Rangers :tic: :tic: :
Check out Sooting's website:
https://shootingstarssc.com/
ukwala

Post by ukwala »

Toxicarrow wrote:

Feeling like :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: , but I remember my comrades and I just waka pass with prayer for yeye Rangers :tic: :tic: :
Comrade Toxic, you must be a very happy man :taunt: . Sure the great Enugu Rangers are not doing too well at the moment but not to worry, Sooting's position in the amateur league is not about to be threatened :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
The Eagle

Post by The Eagle »

Akwa United hosting the aforementioned Dakkada FC a few days ago .....

The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.

The Eagle wrote:Akwa United hosting the aforementioned Dakkada FC a few days ago .....

I heard it was an exciting derby with the seniors winning.