CE's Bell: Infantino Calls for 20-team African League.....

FIFA's Infantino's call for a 20-team African league echoes the ideas that Bell shared in CE not long ago about creating a newWest African league that was roundly opposed in CE because it was difficult for several to think outside-the-box.
Infantino wants to create an "African league" for clubs
https://www.time24.news/2019/11/infanti ... clubs.html
November 28, 201905

FIFA President Gianni Infantino has called for the creation of an "African league" and has called for a billion stadium investment on the continent to "bring African football to the top of the world".

"I want to bring African football to the top of the world". In Lubumbashi, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Gianni Infantino on Friday outlined two major ideas to support the development of football in Africa: the creation of a championship gathering the best clubs on the continent, but also a massive investment to build and improve stages.

"You have to take the top 20 clubs in Africa and have them play in an African league, and that league can generate at least $ 200 million in revenue, putting it in the top 10 globally overnight," he said. Italian-Swiss leader, present in Lubumbashi for the 80th anniversary of Almighty Mazembe, one of the biggest clubs in Africa. The challenge is to stop the departure of African players to other championships around the world, according to him.

"One Billion" for stadiums

As for stadiums, Gianni Infantino appealed to investors "to raise a billion so that we can equip each African country with a real football stadium to Fifa standards, international standards."

Expected Friday in Brazzaville to continue this African tour after making a stop in Mozambique, the boss of world football also said he wants to "professionalize" and "depoliticize" arbitration in Africa: "We will take the best African referees, we will the salariers ".
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: CE's Bell: Infantino Calls for 20-team African League...

Interesting, akin to the European Super League vetoed a thousand times over in Yoorope.

Enugu II wrote:FIFA's Infantino's call for a 20-team African league echoes the ideas that Bell shared in CE not long ago about creating a newWest African league that was roundly opposed in CE because it was difficult for several to think outside-the-box.
November 28, 201905

FIFA President Gianni Infantino has called for the creation of an "African league" and has called for a billion stadium investment on the continent to "bring African football to the top of the world".

"I want to bring African football to the top of the world". In Lubumbashi, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Gianni Infantino on Friday outlined two major ideas to support the development of football in Africa: the creation of a championship gathering the best clubs on the continent, but also a massive investment to build and improve stages.

"You have to take the top 20 clubs in Africa and have them play in an African league, and that league can generate at least $ 200 million in revenue, putting it in the top 10 globally overnight," he said. Italian-Swiss leader, present in Lubumbashi for the 80th anniversary of Almighty Mazembe, one of the biggest clubs in Africa. The challenge is to stop the departure of African players to other championships around the world, according to him.

As for stadiums, Gianni Infantino appealed to investors "to raise a billion so that we can equip each African country with a real football stadium to Fifa standards, international standards."

Expected Friday in Brazzaville to continue this African tour after making a stop in Mozambique, the boss of world football also said he wants to "professionalize" and "depoliticize" arbitration in Africa: "We will take the best African referees, we will the salariers ".
I doubt if any Naijarian team will meet up with the criteria to play in such a league.

BTW, why did banks stop sponsoring/owning football teams in Naijaria?

ukwala

Post by ukwala »

Enugu II wrote:FIFA's Infantino's call for a 20-team African league echoes the ideas that Bell shared in CE not long ago about creating a newWest African league that was roundly opposed in CE because it was difficult for several to think outside-the-box.
November 28, 201905

I doubt if any Naijarian team will meet up with the criteria to play in such a league.

It kills banks :biggrin: :biggrin:. All the banks that owned clubs are dead; New Nigeria bank, National bank, ACB??? In fact, it kills businesses; Leventis, Nigeria Airways, Abiola babes, Flash flamingos, etc. etc. Moral is; do not mix business and pleasure :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
On a serious note, football does not make money in Nigeria and most businesses are struggling.

ukwala wrote:
November 28, 201905

It kills banks :biggrin: :biggrin:. All the banks that owned clubs are dead; New Nigeria bank, National bank, ACB??? In fact, it kills businesses; Leventis, Nigeria Airways, Abiola babes, Flash flamingos, etc. etc. Moral is; do not mix business and pleasure :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
On a serious note, football does not make money in Nigeria and most businesses are struggling.
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: True! Didn't see it that way. :taunt:

But on a serious note, why don't they see it as a form of branding and marketing?

ukwala wrote:
November 28, 201905

But on a serious note, why don't they see it as a form of branding and marketing?
...simple, laziness from the marketing department. e go tough to revitalize African football as an attractive money making scheme. The resource, market and consumption (the people) are there.

ukwala wrote:
November 28, 201905

Simple, it has ZERO value in reality.

Infantino is speaking like a real expatriate totally clueless about local conditions.

What Nigeria needs is to first revitalize her domestic football and the clubs therein...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

lol.

ukwala wrote:
November 28, 201905

Infantino is speaking like a real expatriate totally clueless about local conditions.

What Nigeria needs is to first revitalize her domestic football and the clubs therein...
The

You seem to stick to status quo. Infantino is asking you to think outside the current box and dream of something totally new and not rooted in the current or past.h
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

ukwala wrote:
November 28, 201905

Bendel Insurance, Standards Of Jos, International Breweries Ltd FC Ilesa, UNTL FC Kaduna, Stationary Stores FC , Leventis, etc

But we need to recalled that other companies that do not invest in soccer in a Nigeria also died and went belly under. The big companies of the ‘70s & ‘80s no longer exist, no thanks to the horrible economic policies. REAN- Royal Exchange, Elder Dempster, Panalpina, IMNL, NiCON, etc are also all dead or comatose.
folem

Post by folem »

16 team CAFCL never do?

ukwala wrote:
November 28, 201905

I know you're joking, but its not true.

We just don't make long term commitment to things and stick with it. This includes setting up proper structures for long term sustainability.

The Leventis family is still in Nigeria making boatloads of money with CocaCola. First Bank is still there.

This is where a bit of knowledge with things like endowment & trust management will be useful. Dedicate 5% of your PAT for 10 years to set up a cause (Football club, Art Gallery etc) till it can stand on its own. You can continue to provide bridge finance occasionally if necessary, but the objective is for it to be independent soon.

That is how a small Afikaaner Newspaper in South Africa was able to set up Naspeirs & MIH & they birthed DSTV, MTN & co.

That is also why you must respect Atedo Peterside, Fola & Tayo & Subomi Balogun (though theirs has to do more with the succession planning side of sustainability). Also these guys left voluntarily unlike Jim & Tony who were forced to hand over.

Chairman Cellular, talking about commitment and structure (so my words don't condemn me), I have deliverables to you. It will happen this December. We must practice what we preach.

I hope to also extend this to some sort of sports media (We will invite CEs that blow big grammar & also have YoungJohn12 come and defend Rohr with bad grammar) & a youth sports team. Yet to decide if it will be football or basketball though.

God grant us life, grace, health and wisdom.

folem wrote:16 team CAFCL never do?
I do not think that this has anything to do with the CAFCL at all nor does it require countries to dsend representatives. What is conceptualized has no bearing with what currently exists. Imagine something entirely different.
folem

Post by folem »

truetalk wrote:
ukwala wrote:
November 28, 201905

We just don't make long term commitment to things and stick with it. This includes setting up proper structures for long term sustainability.

The Leventis family is still in Nigeria making boatloads of money with CocaCola. First Bank is still there.

This is where a bit of knowledge with things like endowment & trust management will be useful. Dedicate 5% of your PAT for 10 years to set up a cause (Football club, Art Gallery etc) till it can stand on its own. You can continue to provide bridge finance occasionally if necessary, but the objective is for it to be independent soon.

That is how a small Afikaaner Newspaper in South Africa was able to set up Naspeirs & MIH & they birthed DSTV, MTN & co.

That is also why you must respect Atedo Peterside, Fola & Tayo & Subomi Balogun (though theirs has to do more with the succession planning side of sustainability). Also these guys left voluntarily unlike Jim & Tony who were forced to hand over.

Chairman Cellular, talking about commitment and structure (so my words don't condemn me), I have deliverables to you. It will happen this December. We must practice what we preach.

I hope to also extend this to some sort of sports media (We will invite CEs that blow big grammar & also have YoungJohn12 come and defend Rohr with bad grammar) & a youth sports team. Yet to decide if it will be football or basketball though.

folem wrote:16 team CAFCL never do?
I do not think that this has anything to do with the CAFCL at all nor does it require countries to dsend representatives. What is conceptualized has no bearing with what currently exists. Imagine something entirely different.
You mean similar to the basketball equivalent? With the current state of economies?

truetalk wrote:
ukwala wrote:
November 28, 201905

Truetalk, you are a man that I admire.

I welcome the challenge. I know I can count on your 100% commitment like you have always done. :thumb:

ukwala wrote:
November 28, 201905

The

You seem to stick to status quo. Infantino is asking you to think outside the current box and dream of something totally new and not rooted in the current or past.h
You have to first understand what is in the box before you can think outside of it...

The challenge is NOT NECESSARILY "the departure of African players to other championships around the world", but the lack of a sustainable domestic club structure and league to enable players develop.

An African league can work if all the leagues in sub-Saharan African countries were at the same level as the Maghreb countries.

The notion of an African "super league" totally ignores the absence of a proper domestic base for football in many African countries and is at this point completely utopian!

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
folem

Post by folem »

txj wrote: You have to first understand what is in the box before you can think outside of it...

The challenge is NOT NECESSARILY "the departure of African players to other championships around the world", but the lack of a sustainable domestic club structure and league to enable players develop.

An African league can work if all the leagues in sub-Saharan African countries were at the same level as the Maghreb countries.

The notion of an African "super league" totally ignores the absence of a proper domestic base for football in many African countries and is at this point completely utopian!
Even with a great home league, there will still be departures to other "greater" leagues and even "weaker" leagues for all sorts of reasons.

All 50 odd sub-Saharan countries league will probably never be at the same level as the 5 Maghreb countries.

The 16 team CAFCL can currently meet the demands of the Super Pan-African soccer league. Some clubs in Sub-Sahara Africa can compete effectively against the best of the Maghreb region. The issues of infrastructure will still be a challenge.

txj wrote:Infantino wants to create an "African league" for clubs
November 28, 201905

You have to first understand what is in the box before you can think outside of it...

txj,

The highlighted is a great demonstration of what I mean by being trapped in the box. The underlined defines what exists now but Infantino is talking about something entirely different with little relationship with what currently exist. For instance, the fact that a Central African club is not on the same level as a club in Egypt NOW does not mean that they cannot be on the same level when the new plan is implemented. First, you have to remove all thinking about what exists NOW and allow an ability to think outside of it. You talk about the national leagues but that has no reference to what Infantino is talking about -- a continental league! Re-thinking is required.

txj wrote:Infantino wants to create an "African league" for clubs
November 28, 201905

txj,

The highlighted is a great demonstration of what I mean by being trapped in the box. The underlined defines what exists now but Infantino is talking about something entirely different with little relationship with what currently exist. For instance, the fact that a Central African club is not on the same level as a club in Egypt NOW does not mean that they cannot be on the same level when the new plan is implemented. First, you have to remove all thinking about what exists NOW and allow an ability to think outside of it. You talk about the national leagues but that has no reference to what Infantino is talking about -- a continental league! Re-thinking is required.
My point is that the fanciful proposal seeks to make us all automatically make a leap of faith to an utopian world where a Nigerian domestic club which is unable to pay its players regularly, has no medical infrastructure, insurance or a system of record keeping, can suddenly be parachuted to an African super league, and all its problems magically disappear!!!

I can understand an Infantino making these utopian suggestions, but there's zero excuse for a Nigerian follower of the game!

November 28, 201905

THANKS EII FOR FINDING AND POSTING THIS REPORT

It is gratifying that the similitude of something that originated here is being contemplated at the top levels of FIFA. It's also gratifying that FIFA recognizes that it doesn't serve its interest for the best players from the rest of the world to congregate in a few European countries leaving the rest of the world bereft of meaningful soccer. That said, I'll probably differ in some details with the plan being proposed by FIFA although their plan I believe is still being worked:

1) FIFA should play a supporting role but this should be an African initiative.
2) It should be a private operation with essentially zero govt involvement
3) The length and breadth of the continent means it should be regional, not continental
4) It would take more than $1B to build all req'd stadiums.
5) I think projected annual revenues of $200M understates the potential of this business
6) Pay television must be a vital element of the plan
7) Owners, players, coaches and referees are preferably Africans but can come from any part of the world
8) It shouldn't have to mimic Europe and its championship arrangement; Africans should come up with their own plans.

It's not clear when FIFA plans to get this started (if this is a serious initiative) or who they're talking to but, FWIW, I'm in guarded support.

November 28, 201905

PERSONALLY...

…I don't think this should be based on existing clubs who can form a better structured second tier football level. The new clubs should be newly-created clubs initiated in the selected countries with ownership going to the highest bidder. If a country doesn't have anybody with the financial wherewithal, a group of financially well off people or a corporation may be considered, I'd even allow owners from outside the country to be considered. Let's stop looking for reasons why things can work for a change instead forever looking for impediments.

ukwala wrote:
November 28, 201905

FOOTBALL SURE HADN'T MADE MONEY IN NIGERIA, BUT THAT DOESN'T MEAN IT CAN'T

I don't need to go into details (sold out stadiums, television, merchandize, etc) but I'm confident what is being proposed here can make money. I think people make the mistake of looking at things the way they've always been done and ignore the possibility of doing things in a different and better ways.

ukwala wrote:
November 28, 201905

...simple, laziness from the marketing department. e go tough to revitalize African football as an attractive money making scheme. The resource, market and consumption (the people) are there.
WHY DO YOU SAY...

…it would be tough one the hand but then submit the resources are there (which I agree with) on the other hand?