NFF Offers Rohr New Contract With Tough Conditions

emjay
NFF Offers Rohr New Contract With Tough Conditions

Post by emjay »

The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) has offered Super Eagles boss, Gernot Rohr a brand new contract, but under tough conditions.

Rohr on his own part is open to listening to offers from other football associations (FA) from January 1, 2020, but the NFF wants to retain the German until after the World Cup in 2022.

According to Complete Sports, the terms and conditions gathered will require that the former Bordeaux player and chief coach “must” live in the country (Lagos or Abuja).

He will also be allowed to travel on vacation only 3 times in a year. Also, the coach will not get an improved pay from his $55,000 per month deal.
The NFF will also ensure, unlike in the past three years where he earned wages tax free, that his income will be levied.

All his selections must be approved by the NFF Technical Committee.

Credit: CompletesportsNigeria

With All these conditions, do you think Rohr will still remain with the eagles?

See more stories Here
Re: NFF Offers Rohr New Contract With Tough Conditions

So he wasnt paying tax to FIRS?

Why must he live in Nigeria? Rohr should turn it down.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Why must he live in Nigeria? Rohr should turn it down.
He must discuss and clarify the living in Nigeria issue - even NFF president so not live in Nigeria 24/7

So they are in effect, cutting his salary. If you don't want the man, be honorable and tell him so.

Not really.. It depends on how much increase he is being offered.

deanotito wrote:So they are in effect, cutting his salary. If you don't want the man, be honorable and tell him so.
Pretty much.

Don't understand why he has to live in Naijaria. It is not like he is scouting the Naijarian league. Aside from Ezenwa, all his players are based overseas.
Also don't like that some stinking Technical Committee will be overseeing his invites.

Resign the man and let him work.

Don't go handcuffing him.

Ps., I wonder the targets they set for him?

Purity wrote:Not really.. It depends on how much increase he is being offered.
None, according to the article.

lol jokers
Last edited by john12 on Fri Dec 27, 2019 6:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Nothing "tough" about those conditions.

ohenhen1 wrote:So he wasnt paying tax to FIRS?
You have to give it to Pinnick... He claims to 'talk a good game', but delivers piss poor results. :D :D

Rohr was probably paying income tax in Madagascar or France or Germany or had off shore tax agreement.

We have mumu in NFF.

He can't pay tax to FIRS, he will pay to the IRS of the state he resides or receives his salary. WanajO can clarify.

If most of the SE are based in England, should he then reside in England? Better still, because his players are based all over, where should he reside? Or if the administrators who seek to meet him regularly are based in Nigeria, where should he reside? Just my tuppence.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Which top teams does their coaches live abroad?
Westerhoff’s living in Naija allowed him to unearth gems like Amokashi.
Who Rohr don discover?

Cmoke wrote:Which top teams does their coaches live abroad?
Westerhoff’s living in Naija allowed him to unearth gems like Amokashi.
Who Rohr don discover?

you guys better stop wasting your time - sake Rohr and put Salisu assisted by Amakapabo abi HE will live 24/7 in Nigeria

No world class decent coach will never accept to live 24/7 in Nigeria as part of his contract. As if the local league runs on a structural scheduled timescale

You have to give it to Pinnick... He claims to 'talk a good game', but delivers piss poor results. :D :D

Rohr was probably paying income tax in Madagascar or France or Germany or had off shore tax agreement.

We have mumu in NFF.

He can't pay tax to FIRS, he will pay to the IRS of the state he resides or receives his salary. WanajO can clarify.
These no-tax arrangements are not as rare as they may sound. It just means that the NFF was probably covering his taxes, and has elected to stop doing that....translates into a salary reduction. And I don't see how anyone would accept such a condition

We need a new manager..let him go

Our best players are Europe. Makes no sense for him to live in Nigeria. Things are different now compared to Westerhof's time.

Nigeria doesn’t even have a league that produces players for it national team!

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Why must he live in Nigeria? Rohr should turn it down.
Bros, why must he NOT live in Nigeria? Don't you live, or base in the city your employer is?

On the other hand, it's an offer tendered by the NFF. It's up to Rohr to negotiate, accept or decline
Last edited by Odas on Fri Dec 27, 2019 9:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

olu wrote:Our best players are Europe. Makes no sense for him to live in Nigeria. Things are different now compared to Westerhof's time.
So, why is he not living in Europe?

deanotito wrote:

We have mumu in NFF.

These no-tax arrangements are not as rare as they may sound. It just means that the NFF was probably covering his taxes, and has elected to stop doing that....translates into a salary reduction. And I don't see how anyone would accept such a condition
Agree! I think Rohr's income tax was paid by the NFF, perhaps as stipulated in the contract. Why the NFF is refusing to continue paying for it and yet, wants coach Rohr's salary to remain the same is suspicious. Maybe they want coach Rohr to leave.

Having said the above, it's ONLY an offer by the NFF. Rohr and his team will certainly counter.

Bigpokey24 wrote:We need a new manager..let him go
There you go again with your 'Rohr must go' song. When are you going to be realistic in the matter?

deanotito wrote:

We have mumu in NFF.

Agree! I think Rohr's income tax was paid by the NFF, perhaps as stipulated in the contract. Why the NFF is refusing to continue paying for it and yet, wants coach Rohr's salary to remain the same is suspicious. Maybe they want coach Rohr to leave.

Having said the above, it's ONLY an offer by the NFF. Rohr and his team will certainly counter.
But this cannot be considered a good faith offer. A reduction in salary is like pretty much telling him he isn't really wanted.