OSIMHEN: On Amuneke's influence........

Sometimes appreciating what our local coaches do in improving players is necessary. Locally, we have the likes of Abdu Maikaba, Kennedy Boboye, and Gbenga Ogunbote annually improve each team that they have worked with and yet we fail to acknowledge their work.
https://t.co/AQUw3w07zq (https://twitte ... 82465?s=09

"That time at the U17 camp, I felt the coach didn’t like me. Everytime, he would yell at me on the pitch.

"But I'm happy with what I went through under coach Amuneke. Whatever I've achieved, he really set my path, he made me understand life isn’t all about talent."
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: OSIMHEN: On Amuneke's influence........

So the secret sauce is just to yell up and down at a player and he will suddenly transform into a world class talent abi? Just joking :lol:

green4life wrote:So the secret sauce is just to yell up and down at a player and he will suddenly transform into a world class talent abi? Just joking :lol:
While he has not divulged tactical or technical stuff that he learned from Amuneke, the directives at the player certainly are critical for the player's growth. For him to single out Amuneke in the midst of his other Nigerian and European coaches must mean a lot, I suppose.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Most of our local/grassroots coaches are beyond useless so it's important to appreciate the few good ones.

green4life wrote:So the secret sauce is just to yell up and down at a player and he will suddenly transform into a world class talent abi? Just joking :lol:
While he has not divulged tactical or technical stuff that he learned from Amuneke, the directives at the player certainly are critical for the player's growth. For him to single out Amuneke in the midst of his other Nigerian and European coaches must mean a lot, I suppose.
I think he was speaking about talents vs humility.

We have good grassroot coaches. The problem is transitioning from youth football to semi pro. Dont have a competitive league and also we have age grade fraud and greedy agents.

I did report on it last week.. Here: