Mainz unimpressed with Awoniyi; he was ineffective

Report: Loan club unimpressed with Liverpool youngster; manager suggested he was ineffective

Taiwo Awoniyi is not ready for Premier League football at Liverpool yet after failing to score a single Bundesliga goal on loan at Mainz.

Liverpool striker Taiwo Awoniyi is set to see his loan spell at Bundesliga outfit Mainz cut short, according to Goal, with the Nigerian flopping in German football.

In an ideal world, Awoniyi would have followed in the footsteps of Jurgen Klopp himself by making a name for himself in the Rhineland before working wonders on Merseyside.

Speaking to Sporting Life over the summer, the 22-year-old claimed that he had been assured of a future at Anfield and had been described as an ‘amazing talent’ behind the scenes. And it was Klopp himself who encouraged Awoniyi to choose Mainz over a number of rival suitors.

But in a season full of positives for Liverpool Football Club, the struggles of their highly-rated young striker has been a real disappointment.

Six games, one start and no goals; it’s fair to say Mainz expected a lot more from a striker who apparently has a £10 million price-tag on his head.

And, with last season’s top scorer Jean Philippe Mateta returning from injury before the Christmas break, Goal reports that Awoniyi has already played his final game for Achim Beierlorzer’s side.

"He is a very young player who has athleticism, speed and a good shot, everything you need. But you don't play because you have everything, but because you are effective, I have to make that clear," a clearly baffled Beierlorzer told Kicker last week, explaining why he has been reluctant to give Awoniyi a chance.

The likes of Olympiakos, Montpellier, Real Mallorca and Leganes are allegedly lining up to offer the Nigerian international another chance away from Anfield and Liverpool will be hoping that his next loan spell goes rather better.

https://www.hitc.com/en-gb/2020/01/14/d ... let-manag/
Re: Mainz unimpressed with Awoniyi; he was ineffective

The same way Osimhen struggled at Wolfsburg?

Nigerian strikers don’t do well in Germany period let him go to France and watch him do what Victor is doing

Klopp's upset with Mainz and LFC are now looking to move him to a club with guarantee of minutes...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Six games, one start, given a chance is arguable. Awoniyi just dust off and move on, when one door closes another opens.

Wolfsburg did the same towards Osimhen. This clueless OP is trying to carp on taiwo

ko ni da fun Mainz, oloriburuku dem be. Of all the strikers and forwards we have ever produced its only that useless Anthony ujah they like, he keeps getting jobs after jobs in Germany.Don't know what for cos it ain't for scoring goals. awoniyi is lucky they said they don't want him, he can now move on to better opportunities.
heavyd

Post by heavyd »

Bigpokey24 wrote:Wolfsburg did the same towards Osimhen. This clueless OP is trying to carp on taiwo
Osimhen was much younger that Awoniyi is now when he was a Wolfsburg.

In any case not all moves work out. Harry Kane had a similar nomadic time before finding his feet at his home. He should go to France or Spain and build his confidence. He is a talent no doubt.
YNWA

Hope he goes out on loan somewhere else where he can get considerable playing time before the end of January. If the stories are true Montpellier may be a decent choice.

I’ll say this...and I’m not saying this because I’m Nigerian...

But the coach’s comments strike me as ridiculous. It’s a coach’s job to get a player that has, in his words, “everything” to be effective. You cannot on one hand claim the guy has everything and then claim he is not effective. If Awoniyi is not listening, or playing out of position, then let the world know. But the use of the term “effective” strikes me as odd for a player you also claim has everything

Naija strikers can't make it in the big leagues (EPL, Serie A, La Liiga, Bundesliga)
They are good for Tier-2 leagues (Netherlands, Belgium, France etc)

txj wrote:Klopp's upset with Mainz and LFC are now looking to move him to a club with guarantee of minutes...
Makes sense. You need minutes to develop and show what you can do.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Sometimes, the match just doesnt work. This might be one of those times. It might be in everyones interest to just move on.

Taiwo has talent but he needs consistent minutes (like most strikers) to find a rhythm and his confidence. If Mainz cannot trust him with this, LFC should loan him to another team that needs a striker.

Rawlings wrote:Naija strikers can't make it in the big leagues (EPL, Serie A, La Liiga, Bundesliga)
Yet Ghana are struggling with players from the Saudi League!

Rawlings wrote:Naija strikers can't make it in the big leagues (EPL, Serie A, La Liiga, Bundesliga)
Mods, Is this Eagles NEST or BlackStars SKY?

But you as a Ghana man has no where to go so I’m accommodating you with information about the cinder stars!

I am a Nigerian, not a fake one like you

Wow,despite having many Ghananian girl friends I have never swapped sides,you are a disappointment,wave the flag even if you're the last on the battlefield!