TOP 5 Goalkeepers in the NPFL

More nuggets can be found by visiting http://nigerianfootballer.com/2020/05/t ... eague.html
Top five goalkeepers in the Nigeria Professional Football League

Dakkada FC safe hands, Vincent Edafe
The Nigeria Professional Football League, NPFL has produced lots of greats goalkeepers since the early 70s when it began.

There have been the likes of Emmanuel Okala, Best Ogedengbe, Peter Rufai, David Ngodingha, Wilfred Agbonavbare, Edward Ansah and of course the likes of Imama Amapakabo, Idah Peterside and many others.

In recent times, the Super Eagles have witnessed a dearth of goalkeepers who have the quality to play at the highest level.

Since after Vincent Enyeama left the team and was replaced by Carl Ikeme who also left the team early, Nigeria has not had a Super Eagles goalkeeper with the trust of the populace.

The team has rotated between Francis Uzoho, Daniel Akpeyi and Ikechukwu Ezenwa, with Maduka Okoye as a recent addition.

Another debate has been on if the Nigeria Professional Football League can produce a goalkeeper that can be trusted for the Super Eagles.

We may have our different opinions on that, but the current handlers of the Super Eagles certainly do not think so.

However, these are the top five goalkeepers in the Nigeria Professional Football League, in no order.

Chinedu Anozie – Plateau United

The Plateau United safe hands makes the list of Nigeria’s top five goalkeepers in the Nigeria Professional Football League.

He joined Plateau United from FC Ifeanyi Ubah and immediately knocked out former regulars, Dele Ajiboye and David Obiazor to claim the starting shirt. He is currently leading on clean sheets in the league with ten from twenty games.

He is good in one-on-one situations, has very good reflexes, good timing and is excellent in penalty saves.

There was a game against Dakkada FC in Uyo where Plateau United conceded a late penalty in the 88th minute. Anozie heroically saved the kick that gave Plateau United a vital point on the road. His confidence between the sticks is his biggest asset.

Vincent Edafe – Dakkada FC

Edafe is quite unknown but has done the business for new boys, Dakkada FC.

Standing at 6ft3 high, Edafe certainly has the physical presence for a good goalkeeper which has also enabled him to cut out crosses into the box.

He is young and has the reflexes of a cat. And even if this is his first season in the topflight, he was so composed in goal that he was one of the reasons why his team went five games unbeaten away from home. Until when the league was suspended, he has had eight clean sheets which is decent for a club playing in the topflight for the first time, ever.

He is 19 years old and apart from his ability to read crosses, his other strong points are his high level of concentration and awareness which endeared him to the fans.

He is hardly ever taken unawares during games and stays focused all ninety minutes of the game.

In one on one situations, he has the uncanny ability to position himself and narrow down angles, making himself big in those instances.

He organizes his defence well and adds being a good shot-stopper for good measure.

Jean Efala – Akwa United

Akwa United’s Jean Efala
Akwa United have some top-quality goalkeepers, like Akpan Bassey, Olayinka Adewale and Itodo Akor, Jean Efala was able to sequester a starting shirt ahead of the trio.

He is twenty-eight years old, stands at 1.87m tall, and did his business in style winning over the hearts of the Uyo fans with his reflexes and eye-catching saves for the club, especially in away games. He has had twenty-two appearances for the club this season and has kept nine clean sheets.

Sharp Uzoaigwe – FC Ifeanyi Ubah

Sharp Uzoigwe of FC Ifeanyi Ubah
Sharp Uzoigwe is the reason why FC Ifeanyi Ubah have not missed the services of Chinedu Anozie.

Even though they have a team of relatively young players, he has been able to steady the bunch with his confidence between the sticks.

He is great in closing the gap during one-on-one situations and his form has seen him acquire eight clean sheets from twenty-five games.

He is one man that has shouldered the responsibilities of this team. He was not initially the first-choice goalkeeper, but after making his debut against Heartland FC, he has improved with every game.

Suraj Ayeleso- Kano Pillars

Suraj Ayeleso of Kano Pillars
He is one of the most consistent goalkeepers in the League and was between the sticks when Kano Pillars went eight games unbeaten.

He has eight clean sheets from nineteen games.

Next, we reveal the top five defenders in the League.

Additional information from Andrew Randa, Jesse Adams, Diegwu Nwankwo, Tobi Adepoju, Emeka Nwani, Iyke Nwokedi, Idris Malikawa, Mfon Patrick, Eddiong Stephen, and Albert Dakup.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: TOP 5 Goalkeepers in the NPFL

Good to see this. Let's see if any of them get an invite to the SEs or any of the national teams in the near future. Efala is from Cameroun so that rules him out. I think Ayeleso has been invited to the home based SE squad in the past.

Here are some clips of Vincent Edafe:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N6c1_qlHoqA

He looks good in the highlights. I won't read too much into them though.

Is Ezenwa no longer in the NPFL?

Enugu II wrote:More nuggets can be found by visiting http://nigerianfootballer.com/2020/05/t ... eague.html

The Nigeria Professional Football League, NPFL has produced lots of greats goalkeepers since the early 70s when it began.

There have been the likes of Emmanuel Okala, Best Ogedengbe, Peter Rufai, David Ngodingha, Wilfred Agbonavbare, Edward Ansah and of course the likes of Imama Amapakabo, Idah Peterside and many others.

In recent times, the Super Eagles have witnessed a dearth of goalkeepers who have the quality to play at the highest level.

Since after Vincent Enyeama left the team and was replaced by Carl Ikeme who also left the team early, Nigeria has not had a Super Eagles goalkeeper with the trust of the populace.

The team has rotated between Francis Uzoho, Daniel Akpeyi and Ikechukwu Ezenwa, with Maduka Okoye as a recent addition.

Another debate has been on if the Nigeria Professional Football League can produce a goalkeeper that can be trusted for the Super Eagles.

We may have our different opinions on that, but the current handlers of the Super Eagles certainly do not think so.

However, these are the top five goalkeepers in the Nigeria Professional Football League, in no order.

The Plateau United safe hands makes the list of Nigeria’s top five goalkeepers in the Nigeria Professional Football League.

He joined Plateau United from FC Ifeanyi Ubah and immediately knocked out former regulars, Dele Ajiboye and David Obiazor to claim the starting shirt. He is currently leading on clean sheets in the league with ten from twenty games.

He is good in one-on-one situations, has very good reflexes, good timing and is excellent in penalty saves.

There was a game against Dakkada FC in Uyo where Plateau United conceded a late penalty in the 88th minute. Anozie heroically saved the kick that gave Plateau United a vital point on the road. His confidence between the sticks is his biggest asset.

Standing at 6ft3 high, Edafe certainly has the physical presence for a good goalkeeper which has also enabled him to cut out crosses into the box.

He is young and has the reflexes of a cat. And even if this is his first season in the topflight, he was so composed in goal that he was one of the reasons why his team went five games unbeaten away from home. Until when the league was suspended, he has had eight clean sheets which is decent for a club playing in the topflight for the first time, ever.

He is 19 years old and apart from his ability to read crosses, his other strong points are his high level of concentration and awareness which endeared him to the fans.

He is hardly ever taken unawares during games and stays focused all ninety minutes of the game.

In one on one situations, he has the uncanny ability to position himself and narrow down angles, making himself big in those instances.

He organizes his defence well and adds being a good shot-stopper for good measure.

Jean Efala – Akwa United

Akwa United’s Jean Efala
Akwa United have some top-quality goalkeepers, like Akpan Bassey, Olayinka Adewale and Itodo Akor, Jean Efala was able to sequester a starting shirt ahead of the trio.

He is twenty-eight years old, stands at 1.87m tall, and did his business in style winning over the hearts of the Uyo fans with his reflexes and eye-catching saves for the club, especially in away games. He has had twenty-two appearances for the club this season and has kept nine clean sheets.

Sharp Uzoigwe is the reason why FC Ifeanyi Ubah have not missed the services of Chinedu Anozie.

Even though they have a team of relatively young players, he has been able to steady the bunch with his confidence between the sticks.

He is great in closing the gap during one-on-one situations and his form has seen him acquire eight clean sheets from twenty-five games.

He is one man that has shouldered the responsibilities of this team. He was not initially the first-choice goalkeeper, but after making his debut against Heartland FC, he has improved with every game.

He is one of the most consistent goalkeepers in the League and was between the sticks when Kano Pillars went eight games unbeaten.

Additional information from Andrew Randa, Jesse Adams, Diegwu Nwankwo, Tobi Adepoju, Emeka Nwani, Iyke Nwokedi, Idris Malikawa, Mfon Patrick, Eddiong Stephen, and Albert Dakup.

Cellular wrote:Is Ezenwa no longer in the NPFL?

Enugu II wrote:More nuggets can be found by visiting http://nigerianfootballer.com/2020/05/t ... eague.html

Jean Efala – Akwa United

Akwa United’s Jean Efala

Cell,

He is but the outlet did not rank him among the top 5.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

This man, you've come again... :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Edafe seems to have the right profile. I'll try to go & see him at Agege whenever the NPFL resumes.

If he is up to par, he can compete with Uzoho, & Okonkwo (if he commits) for the next decade. Okoye still needs to prove that he belongs, in my opinion.

Ayeleso has been around for some time. I don't know if he'll make the grade for the SE.

I liked the GK at the Olumpic qualifiers in Egypt. I can't recall if Galadima (Wikki) or Adamu (Nasarawa) was the starter. As frustrating as Imama's team was, it was refreshing to go through an entire tournament where the GK did not not make any gaffes, cause any scares, make us laugh, or make us angry.

This man, you've come again... :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Chief Gotti, wetin you wan make I tok?

truetalk wrote:Edafe seems to have the right profile. I'll try to go & see him at Agege whenever the NPFL resumes.

If he is up to par, he can compete with Uzoho, & Okonkwo (if he commits) for the next decade. Okoye still needs to prove that he belongs, in my opinion.

Ayeleso has been around for some time. I don't know if he'll make the grade for the SE.

I liked the GK at the Olumpic qualifiers in Egypt. I can't recall if Galadima (Wikki) or Adamu (Nasarawa) was the starter. As frustrating as Imama's team was, it was refreshing to go through an entire tournament where the GK did not not make any gaffes, cause any scares, make us laugh, or make us angry.
Our Goalkeeping expert, where is that your list again?

Isn't it time to update the thread and list you made?

truetalk wrote:Edafe seems to have the right profile. I'll try to go & see him at Agege whenever the NPFL resumes.

Adamu was our GK in the Olympic qualifiers

Edafe seems the most promising on the list. I thought Adamu looked good as well. He looks a little on the chubby side though.

Olu,

That guy Adamu does not look the part if you ask me oooo! Maybe, I just did not see enough of him but I was far from impressed at the last WAFU if we are talking about the same guy.
olu wrote:Edafe seems the most promising on the list. I thought Adamu looked good as well. He looks a little on the chubby side though.

Akwa Utd's Olorunleke Ojo?
Flying Eagle 'keeper a few years ago

Damunk wrote:Akwa Utd's Olorunleke Ojo?

Enugu II wrote:Olu,

That guy Adamu does not look the part if you ask me oooo! Maybe, I just did not see enough of him but I was far from impressed at the last WAFU if we are talking about the same guy.
olu wrote:Edafe seems the most promising on the list. I thought Adamu looked good as well. He looks a little on the chubby side though.

The GK at the Olympic qualifiers was solid.

Afelokhai started at the WAFU Cup per the reports, and might have been the person you were not impressed with.

https://www.goal.com/en-ng/match/nigeri ... djwk9x2j56

Sunset wrote::rotf:
Damn....

That was a real blunder. To be fair to Ojo, several world class goalies have committed similar school boy errors too.
Damn....

Not much of an update to be made Sir.

Nwolokor does not seem to be making much progress in Europe. The same could have been said for Uzoho, but he is already a key part of the National team.

I have been using style to scout black keepers in Europe. I remember seeing Maignan & thinking he looks Nigerian, but he is French & Haitian.

The GK position still remains the problem spot for the SE.

My ranking would be:

1) Uzoho
2) Akpeyi in the short term (tough for me to accept, but he has managed to dislodge an ageing Khune in Kaiser Chiefs). Not confient seeing him in goal for Nigeria though.

Prospects:

1) Aruthur Okonkwo (rising through the ranks at Arsenal)
2) Maduka Okoye (already in the team, so not a prospect as such. Needs to start playing senior level football though).

3) Edafe? Should he be on this list? Hopefully, we'll find out after seeing him in action a few times.

Fading:
David Nwolokor.

It was Adamu...

If you want to see him make a "gaffe, cause a scare, make us laugh or angry"...
You need look no further than the away game of the U23 AFCONQ against Libya. :oops:

I want to see Nigeria produce top class goalkeepers like Cameroon. All these clips of local goalkeepers show we still have a long way to go.

truetalk wrote:

Not much of an update to be made Sir.

Nwolokor does not seem to be making much progress in Europe. The same could have been said for Uzoho, but he is already a key part of the National team.

I have been using style to scout black keepers in Europe. I remember seeing Maignan & thinking he looks Nigerian, but he is French & Haitian.

The GK position still remains the problem spot for the SE.

My ranking would be:

1) Uzoho
2) Akpeyi in the short term (tough for me to accept, but he has managed to dislodge an ageing Khune in Kaiser Chiefs). Not confient seeing him in goal for Nigeria though.

Prospects:

1) Aruthur Okonkwo (rising through the ranks at Arsenal)
2) Maduka Okoye (already in the team, so not a prospect as such. Needs to start playing senior level football though).

3) Edafe? Should he be on this list? Hopefully, we'll find out after seeing him in action a few times.

Fading:
David Nwolokor.
Thanks, Boss! :thumb:

heavyd

Post by heavyd »

cant stop laughing :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
YNWA
chuks69

Post by chuks69 »

olu wrote:Good to see this. Let's see if any of them get an invite to the SEs or any of the national teams in the near future. Efala is from Cameroun so that rules him out. I think Ayeleso has been invited to the home based SE squad in the past.

Here are some clips of Vincent Edafe:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N6c1_qlHoqA

He looks good in the highlights. I won't read too much into them though.
Since Vincent Edafe is only 19 years old, first season in NPL, let him quickly start-out with the U20 team or U23 team .. There are still rough edgs in his game.. But he looks good though.
afc##

Can we give these GKs the same opportunity given to Okoye? Since Bundesliga resumed, Okoye is yet to make the bench for his club.