Adelakun Speaks on his ROLE Scouting Players for SE

Tunde Adelakun speaks to Channels TV on picking players for the Super Eagles and the quality of locally-based Nigerian players and his particular scouting role.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WAXJ1qOpgwI[/video]
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: Adelakun Speaks on his ROLE Scouting Players for SE

The male interviewer who lives and works in Nigeria and supposedly covers league matches in Nigeria, asks Do we have quality in the Nigerian League to the London based chief scout.

quite a poor interview...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote:quite a poor interview...
What was wrong with it?
It answers the key questions and corrects the false narratives being peddled here on CE - but only those that want to hear will hear.

- False: No, he doesn't "pick" the team for/with Rohr :roll:

- False: No, he doesn't think the NPFL lacks quality footballers :thumb:

- True: Yes, they are looking at NPFL players and want to do even better. :thumbs:

- True: He doesn't have a PhD in Football Scouting from the University of Cambridge as required, so apparently he might not be "qualified" to be Rohr's Chief Scout. :roll:

- False: No, he is not exclusively responsible for scouting local players because there are others on Rohr's team that have his direct ear and are in a better position to spot them. :thumb:

It's obvious Adelakun suddenly became the target of anti-Rohr angst based on one short newspaper interview he granted.

fabio wrote:The male interviewer who lives and works in Nigeria and supposedly covers league matches in Nigeria, asks Do we have quality in the Nigerian League to the London based chief scout.
That's how you interpreted the question?
In all your years, you've never seen a reporter ask a question this way? :blink:

What was wrong with it?
It answers the key questions and corrects the false narratives being peddled here on CE - but only those that want to hear will hear.

- True: Yes, they are looking at NPFL players and want to do even better. :thumbs:

- True: He doesn't have a PhD in Football Scouting from the University of Cambridge as required, so apparently he might not be "qualified" to be Rohr's Chief Scout. :roll:

- False: No, he is not exclusively responsible for scouting local players because there are others on Rohr's team that have his direct ear and are in a better position to spot them. :thumb:

It's obvious Adelakun suddenly became the target of anti-Rohr angst based on one short newspaper interview he granted.

- what are the qualities of players that he is looking at and that warrants further recommendations to the NT?
- why do some players warrant recommendation and others do not?
- what is the status of Ejuke vis a vis NT invitation?
- in what specific areas are HB players lacking that make them not competitive for NT selection?
- any specific unknown players to look out for that he is watching?
- what about GKs?
- why was Maduka recommended?
- what about HB GKs; anyone to look out for?
- why does Ezenwa continue to be invited when he is not starting in his club?
- what is the role of other members of the scouting team?
- who are they? what areas do they cover?
- what are the challenges of scouting HB players vs FB players?

I could list 100 questions that were not asked!

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

What was wrong with it?

- what are the qualities of players that he is looking at and that warrants further recommendations to the NT?
- why do some players warrant recommendation and others do not?
- what is the status of Ejuke vis a vis NT invitation?
- in what specific areas are HB players lacking that make them not competitive for NT selection?
- any specific unknown players to look out for that he is watching?
- what about GKs?
- why was Maduka recommended?
- what about HB GKs; anyone to look out for?
- why does Ezenwa continue to be invited when he is not starting in his club?
- what is the role of other members of the scouting team?
- who are they? what areas do they cover?
- what are the challenges of scouting HB players vs FB players?

I could list 100 questions that were not asked!
Txj, I don't disagree with you, but for a 10 minute interview, there's only so much you can ask.
Remember, it was just a slot on a general sports programme and I guess they had to get the basics in before they ran out of time.

He needs a longer interview and again, I feel sad that CE hasn't become a brand that could have been leading the way on many of these interviews.

fabio wrote:The male interviewer who lives and works in Nigeria and supposedly covers league matches in Nigeria, asks Do we have quality in the Nigerian League to the London based chief scout.
These are questions for the audience he was just playing the protagonist, he has to ask and let the interviewee answer no matter how obvious the question is that’s how the audience gets the info.I personally wanted to know if he was watching Ejuke and he mentioned him so it was handy.

What was wrong with it?

BUT is he the 'agent' that got Rohr the SE job and got rewarded as 'chief scout' based on his previous experience of being a scout?

Did Dammy confirm this? Rohr is a man of integrity.

What was wrong with it?

What does it matter if he was 'agent that got Rohr the SE job'?

He is not an employee of the NFF. He is employed by Rohr as one of his assistants.

You are trying too hard....

What was wrong with it?

He is not an employee of the NFF. He is employed by Rohr as one of his assistants.

Of course it does not matter since it is Oyinbo na Oyinbo.

Same thing you told us when Betty Stash was busy chopping dollars here and delivering NOTHING
ahidjo2

Post by ahidjo2 »

I repeat, only enemies of Nigeria want Rohr gone. Only those that want us to go back to those disorganized days, days of instability. days of inviting questionable players to the team, days of bickering for money... As it stands now, I can close my eyes and predict certain Nigerian games with a reasonable level of accuracy, a feat I couldn't achieve a few coaches ago. I repeat only enemies of progress or ignorant folks on football matters want the present progressive and steady structure SCATTERED. The dude doing the interview was being political and economical with the truth. He knows that the NPFL players are bad, a reason they keep struggling and continue to be disgraced at the continental level. Once in awhile few good ones pop up, spend a few months in Nigeria, and jet out in search of greener pastures outside Nigerian shores. Why then should we be going back to Nigeria that is being deserted to look for Super Eagles players? NIGERIAN BEST PLAYERS play outside Nigeria! Is this even contestible? Going to Nigeria to look for Super Eagles Players is analogous to going to a local Nigerian school to look for the best Nigerian students to compete globally instead of going to the Ivy League schools or similar world-acclaimed institutions. The intelligence might be the same but the grooming and exposure are worlds apart!

What was wrong with it?

Same thing you told us when Betty Stash was busy chopping dollars here and delivering NOTHING

It doesn't matter because a coach, ANY COACH, has a right to choose AND pay his assistants.

And in return be held accountable for what actually matters- results....

But for dunderheads like you, sloganeering is more important than facts...

ahidjo2 wrote:I repeat, only enemies of Nigeria want Rohr gone. Only those that want us to go back to those disorganized days, days of instability. days of inviting questionable players to the team, days of bickering for money... As it stands now, I can close my eyes and predict certain Nigerian games with a reasonable level of accuracy, a feat I couldn't achieve a few coaches ago. I repeat only enemies of progress or ignorant folks on football matters want the present progressive and steady structure SCATTERED. The dude doing the interview was being political and economical with the truth. He knows that the NPFL players are bad, a reason they keep struggling and continue to be disgraced at the continental level. Once in awhile few good ones pop up, spend a few months in Nigeria, and jet out in search of greener pastures outside Nigerian shores. Why then should we be going back to Nigeria that is being deserted to look for Super Eagles players? NIGERIAN BEST PLAYERS play outside Nigeria! Is this even contestible? Going to Nigeria to look for Super Eagles Players is analogous to going to a local Nigerian school to look for the best Nigerian students to compete globally instead of going to the Ivy League schools or similar world-acclaimed institutions. The intelligence might be the same but the grooming and exposure are worlds apart!
A certain Maduka Okoye from 4th division in Germany was invited and fast tracked into the SE.
ahidjo2

Post by ahidjo2 »

ahidjo2 wrote:I repeat, only enemies of Nigeria want Rohr gone. Only those that want us to go back to those disorganized days, days of instability. days of inviting questionable players to the team, days of bickering for money... As it stands now, I can close my eyes and predict certain Nigerian games with a reasonable level of accuracy, a feat I couldn't achieve a few coaches ago. I repeat only enemies of progress or ignorant folks on football matters want the present progressive and steady structure SCATTERED. The dude doing the interview was being political and economical with the truth. He knows that the NPFL players are bad, a reason they keep struggling and continue to be disgraced at the continental level. Once in awhile few good ones pop up, spend a few months in Nigeria, and jet out in search of greener pastures outside Nigerian shores. Why then should we be going back to Nigeria that is being deserted to look for Super Eagles players? NIGERIAN BEST PLAYERS play outside Nigeria! Is this even contestible? Going to Nigeria to look for Super Eagles Players is analogous to going to a local Nigerian school to look for the best Nigerian students to compete globally instead of going to the Ivy League schools or similar world-acclaimed institutions. The intelligence might be the same but the grooming and exposure are worlds apart!
A certain Maduka Okoye from 4th division in Germany was invited and fast tracked into the SE.
A certain Maduka Okoye that was clamored to be included long before the eventual invitation. This forum is littered with such calls. There were days when the likes of Emmanuel Sunday playing in the Vietnam league got invited and played for Nigeria in Sudan in 2014. Go check!

ahidjo2 wrote:
A certain Maduka Okoye that was clamored to be included long before the eventual invitation. This forum is littered with such calls.

Clamour, by who? Those watching Fortuna's reserve team in the German 4th division.
ahidjo2 wrote: There were days when the likes of Emmanuel Sunday playing in the Vietnam league got invited and played for Nigeria in Sudan in 2014. Go check!
The claim was days of inviting questionable players to the team. The invite is being questioned and rightly so because, he was fast tracked to the SE and given preferential extra training not given to other GKs, yet he was playing for Fortuna's reserve team in the German 4th division.

What was wrong with it?

It doesn't matter because a coach, ANY COACH, has a right to choose AND pay his assistants.

ATF clowns like you dont know what is conflict of interest.

Of course you do but your inferiority complex will not allow you to see it until it becomes ATF :taunt:

What was wrong with it?

ATF clowns like you dont know what is conflict of interest.

Of course you do but your inferiority complex will not allow you to see it until it becomes ATF :taunt:

There's no conflict of interest in the coach hiring someone to be his personal staff and paying him from his own pockets.

It doesn't become a COI simply because you wish it to be...

You are now giving the coach credit for administrative improvement under Pinnick?

What if we say only those who want to pimp players to backwater overseas leagues as their only way to getting National Team call ups are the ones that clamour for the exclusive use of Foreign-based players?

Bros, the truth is that there are lots of reasons that some players don't get the opportunity to go overseas... the market is getting tighter. Work permit is getting harder... they also don't have the benefit of a platform to get properly assessed by scouts. To now not even try to scout them in an environment where you don't need special permission other than a desire to look is negligent of your duty and responsibility. The mandate of the NFF and the national team coach is not just to coach the Men's national team... we don't have unlimited resources to just outsource looking for players only in overseas leagues.

Go back to Naijaria and talk to players... they will be begging you for aid to help them get overseas. Some don't mind trekking or doing whatever it takes. And here you are advocating for policies that encourage such movement by players knowing fully well that it puts a lot of them at great personal risks.

You are now giving the coach credit for administrative improvement under Pinnick?

What if we say only those who want to pimp players to backwater overseas leagues as their only way to getting National Team call ups are the ones that clamour for the exclusive use of Foreign-based players?

Bros, the truth is that there are lots of reasons that some players don't get the opportunity to go overseas... the market is getting tighter. Work permit is getting harder... they also don't have the benefit of a platform to get properly assessed by scouts. To now not even try to scout them in an environment where you don't need special permission other than a desire to look is negligent of your duty and responsibility. The mandate of the NFF and the national team coach is not just to coach the Men's national team... we don't have unlimited resources to just outsource looking for players only in overseas leagues.

Go back to Naijaria and talk to players... they will be begging you for aid to help them get overseas. Some don't mind trekking or doing whatever it takes. And here you are advocating for policies that encourage such movement by players knowing fully well that it puts a lot of them at great personal risks.
Cellular,

The problem is that many people are erroneously equating their lack of knowledge of local players to the absence of good local players. You know the players you KNOW because the media have put them out there using television and the like. That does not mean that other good players may not exist. The issue that you bring up is what many people are missing -- there are numerous players that Nigeria may miss to take a look at by allowing existing data and television to decide who to invite. If Rohr spends energy and time scouting locally just as he does overseas, who knows there may be a gem or two right here in Nigeria.

The idea above is not even far fetched. We know it isn't because we have seen both Amodu and Keshi prove it to be true after foreign coaches told all of us that there are no capable players still in the country. Alas, Amodu and Keshi refused to fold their arms and swallow it and it helped lead us too World Cup qualification in 2002 and helped us win the AFCON in 2013. Now, we are being told the same stories again? When would we wisen up?
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

The elephant in the room is the group of local SE coaches in charge of scouting and managing the CHAN, WAFU and U23 teams.
What you are in effect saying without realising it is that they are incompetent.
They are in charge of NPFL scouting but their efforts are not good enough is what you all are saying.
And the Rohr many are saying is no better than the local coaches is somehow expected to do a better job in scouting local players than our top coaches wey dey ground.

This una argument get as e be.

Damunk wrote:The elephant in the room is the group of local SE coaches in charge of scouting and managing the CHAN, WAFU and U23 teams.
What you are in effect saying without realising it is that they are incompetent.
They are in charge of NPFL scouting but their efforts are not good enough is what you all are saying.
And the Rohr many are saying is no better than the local coaches is somehow expected to do a better job in scouting local players than our top coaches wey dey ground.

This una argument get as e be.
Which coaches? The ones you put together one month to the tournament? The ones that are not paid or funded