Rivers United FC hit with transfer ban for next THREE window

Nigerian side Rivers United has been banned by FIFA from signing any players for next three transfer windows after breaching the contract of Ghanaian goalkeeper Samuel Akurugu, GHANAsoccernet.com can exclusively report.

The 25-year-old joined the Port Harcourt-based side in January 2018 but left after just a year.

The former Hearts of Oak shot-stopper dragged the Nigerian side to the world governing body for breach of contract with the case lasting close to a year.

FIFA has placed sanctions on the Nigerian outfit for failing to pay the player's entitlement.

"In this regard, we have noted that no such documentation has been submitted by yourselves and consequently, we kindly inform you that the ban from registering any new players, either nationally or internationally, for the maximum duration of three entire and consecutive, registration periods, as established in point 7 of the above mentioned decision, has now become effective." part of a letter from FIFA to Rivers United FC intercepted by GHANAsoccernet.com read.

Akurugu, who has signed for Ghana Premier League side King Faisal, has been without a club since leaving Japanese lower-tier side Ococias Kyoto.

https://ghanasoccernet.com/exclusive-ri ... ntitlement
Re: Rivers United FC hit with transfer ban for next THREE wi

Youth development and relegation ahead.

Reply from Rivers United:

Transfer Ban: Rivers United To Engage FIFA For Amicable Resolution
Our attention has been drawn to reports circulating in some sections of the media that Rivers United FC has been hit with a transfer ban for three windows by FIFA owing to some issues surrounding one of our former players, Samuel Akurugu.

We are in possession of the said letter from FIFA and every effort is being made to resolve all issues surrounding the development and we are very hopeful that we will come to an amicable settlement.

We are in touch with the player and all signs point to a quick concurrence in a couple of days as regards settling some pending entitlements.

Fortunately, Point 8 of the relevant decision of FIFA established that the "aforementioned ban will be lifted immediately and prior to its complete serving, once the due amount, plus interest is paid."

The management of Rivers United FC is exploring all avenues to bring the matter to a full and final agreement that would be of mutual benefit.

We are confident that working with FIFA, this matter will be dealt with and that lessons have been learned going forward.

We assure our teeming fans to remain calm, as we are certain that this situation will be sorted out quickly and the club cleared to register new players before the next transfer window open.

Warmest regards.

Purity wrote:Reply from Rivers United:

Our attention has been drawn to reports circulating in some sections of the media that Rivers United FC has been hit with a transfer ban for three windows by FIFA owing to some issues surrounding one of our former players, Samuel Akurugu.

We are in possession of the said letter from FIFA and every effort is being made to resolve all issues surrounding the development and we are very hopeful that we will come to an amicable settlement.

We are in touch with the player and all signs point to a quick concurrence in a couple of days as regards settling some pending entitlements.

Fortunately, Point 8 of the relevant decision of FIFA established that the "aforementioned ban will be lifted immediately and prior to its complete serving, once the due amount, plus interest is paid."

The management of Rivers United FC is exploring all avenues to bring the matter to a full and final agreement that would be of mutual benefit.

We are confident that working with FIFA, this matter will be dealt with and that lessons have been learned going forward.

We assure our teeming fans to remain calm, as we are certain that this situation will be sorted out quickly and the club cleared to register new players before the next transfer window open.

Warmest regards.

:rotf: :rotf: Lessons are learned? What rubbish! They, as well as other Nigerian clubs, have made it a habit to owe compensation due to playing labor on a regular basis. They have been getting away with the shenanigans when dealing with NPFL because they always knew that the NPFL will only bite but will never bite. FIFA, to them, is a different animal. How I wish more players would take similar actions against several of these Nigerian clubs.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Warmest regards.

:rotf: :rotf: Lessons are learned? What rubbish! They, as well as other Nigerian clubs, have made it a habit to owe compensation due to playing labor on a regular basis. They have been getting away with the shenanigans when dealing with NPFL because they always knew that the NPFL will only bite but will never bite. FIFA, to them, is a different animal. How I wish more players would take similar actions against several of these Nigerian clubs.
EII, how much profit does a typical Nigerian club make in the space of a few seasons? It is not unreasonable to assume that the ability to pay salaries is heavily dependent on that. Running to FIFA would then amount to meaningless gratification because it doesn’t enhance the ability of the club to meet its obligations... and if ultimately the club gets banned from competition, it helps no one, especially players like Akurugu. There’s an underlying issue that needs to be addressed❗️

ukwala

Post by ukwala »

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:

Warmest regards.

EII, how much profit does a typical Nigerian club make in the space of a few seasons? It is not unreasonable to assume that the ability to pay salaries is heavily dependent on that. Running to FIFA would then amount to meaningless gratification because it doesn’t enhance the ability of the club to meet its obligations... and if ultimately the club gets banned from competition, it helps no one, especially players like Akurugu. There’s an underlying issue that needs to be addressed❗️

The clubs are not self-sustaining but are rather funded by government and enough money to pay the players is voted but mismanaged. Therein lies the problem.

ukwala wrote:

Warmest regards.

The clubs are not self-sustaining but are rather funded by government and enough money to pay the players is voted but mismanaged. Therein lies the problem.
Nothing else to add. :thumbs:
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

If these clubs can’t even pay their players the governors might as well stay out of football and the top flight division in Nigeria should be scaled down to clubs that can afford to pay their players and to stop embarrassing themselves!

Eaglezbeak wrote:If these clubs can’t even pay their players the governors might as well stay out of football and the top flight division in Nigeria should be scaled down to clubs that can afford to pay their players and to stop embarrassing themselves!

Bros, there is money available for paying these players as I understand it. However, it is part of "Government money na make I use am first" syndrome applied by officials. As I understand it, most of these officials not only have on the payee list non-players but they also prefer to bank the money to generate interest for themselves and try to frustrate some players out of the club so that they (officials) can pocket the money. It is a big scam, as I understand it.So it isn't that there is not enough budgeted money.

Bros, it is sad that you have young men sweating and playing for clubs only to be unpaid. In a recent study that we did, these footballers are going through hell to feed their families. If interested you can find the work in the Journal of Sports in Society, Soccer & Society, and Journal of Sports and Social Issues.

ukwala wrote:

Warmest regards.

Unless you arrived Nigeria just yesterday, it would be totally naive to assume that government funding in Nigeria means adequate funding... and enough with the “mismanaged” argument. It is lazy and overused. The phenomenon of owing players is not restricted to one or two teams. It is a general malaise in the NPFL, which by your summation must mean that every team in the NPFL is mismanaged. If that’s the case then the NPFL should close up shop and stop wasting everybody’s time. Note that even the NFF, with its combined government and FIFA funding, frequently has trouble meeting its financial obligations. Is there some mismanagement? Certainly but you can’t chuck it all up to that. There is an underlying fundamental funding problem in Nigerian football, as old as organized football in Nigeria, that needs to be addressed❗️