Rohr confirms two new players for SE

oyek
Rohr confirms two new players for SE

Post by oyek »

Rohr confirms two new invitees for Eagles
By Abdulquadir Adedapo - August 16, 2020 23 0

Super Eagles Head Coach, Gernot Rohr has disclosed that Nigeria has been able to convince two new faces to commit their international future to the Super Eagles, AOIFootball.com has scooped.

The Franco-German tactician, who has been working round the clock to ensure he improves his team despite the Covid-19 pandemic, said that he has met with both players but kept silent on their identities.

“Two new players want to camp with us now. And this is very important news for us. I traveled to meet them in March. I met one of them but didn’t meet the other until three weeks ago,” Rohr hinted.

The former Niger coach also stated that the federation is looking at a possible September camping to bring the players together but admitted things may be difficult to that regard with the coronavirus still disrupting travel movement.

“We are trying to do good work for the future including monitoring a lot of games in the present. I’m speaking a lot with the players so I can draw a provisional list for the possible September camping.

“I hope we can do something in September. We need to work and see everybody playing. Unfortunately, it’s not easy to have these because of the strict terms for traveling and the coronavirus,” Rohr stated.

The Super Eagles last gathered in November of 2019 when they defeated Benin and Lesotho but were forced to miss this year’s qualifying clashes against Sierra Leone (doubleheader) and Benin Republic due to the global pandemic.

http://aoifootball.com/2020/08/16/rohr- ... or-eagles/
If not for Jesus, where will i be?
oyek
Re: Rohr confirms two new players for SE

Post by oyek »

Lookman and Ejaria?
If not for Jesus, where will i be?

oyek wrote:Lookman and Ejaria?
garden varieties !

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

oyek wrote:Lookman and Ejaria?

Ejaria is already approved by FIFA, I. Think it's Udokhai and lookman but I don't think either one is a great catch. Squad members/occasional starters at best. As of now the squad that will take us to the next wc is set. There're no more foreign or players to get. Yes. Eze is an England player.

Wow. Can't believe it has been 9 months since they last played.

Fopr me, the only person who will make a difference to the team is Ebere Eze. None of the others listed are better than our current crop of players.

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Fopr me, the only person who will make a difference to the team is Ebere Eze. None of the others listed are better than our current crop of players.
So what is the thinking behind having "a strong bench"?
A team is only as strong as its weakest link.
So you don't need to seek out only players who are "better''.
Who for instance is "better" than Messi?
Should Argentina therefore stop looking for other strikers? :idea:
fledy

Post by fledy »

I think a lot people will shocked by these two new players.
Going to be fun watching this space!!

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Fopr me, the only person who will make a difference to the team is Ebere Eze. None of the others listed are better than our current crop of players.
He is due to be called up to the England to play along side Dele Alli & Tammy Abrahams. He would make a great catch for England who are employing similar tactics to Alex Ferguson who used to purchased players so that rivals couldn’t use them and placed them on his Manchester United bench

fledy wrote:I think a lot people will shocked by these two new players.
The only shock would be if Saka and Eze were called but it's not possible because they need FIFA's permission and they can't get it by September.

fledy wrote:I think a lot people will shocked by these two new players.
The only shock would be if Saka and Eze were called but it's not possible because they need FIFA's permission and they can't get it by September.

exactly.

They are already known, there are no surprises but very welcome news for Naija fans.
heavyd

Post by heavyd »

Cant believe i am saying this but i almost agree with you 100% :D :D

Lookman is a good player too...
YNWA
nzeogwu

Post by nzeogwu »

So Uduokhai and Torunarigha are not better than Ajayi, Awaziem and Omeruo?

nzeogwu wrote:So Uduokhai and Torunarigha are not better than Ajayi, Awaziem and Omeruo?
No. Unless to believe that they're better because they're foreign born.

Exactly it’s not club football where you can sign players so you have test players for a synergistic balance no matter who is on the field.

Unfortunately, Ayo struggles to grasp the concept under which strong teams are built; and that is for the coach to add players that would either increase and/or, at a minimum, sustain the quality levels of the team. That's what makes the Brazils or Germanys 'great' teams - you can sub in or out any one of their 23 squad players, without a discernible degradation in performance.

Regarding the 'mystery' duo, and me trying to read between the tea leaves, it could be any one of the following:
England: Saka, Adarabioyo,
Germany: Udokhai, Akpoguma, Tourunariga
I really wouldn't hold my breath on Eze, as I believe the brits want him (but then, I have been wrong before)

Otitokoro wrote:
I really wouldn't hold my breath on Eze, as I believe the brits want him (but then, I have been wrong before)
[/quote]

but you dont think the Brits want Saka ?

I would think they would want Saka much more so than Eze. 3 Lions do not need Eze one bit.

If they cap him it would be simply out of spite to destroy the boy's international career.

Fully aware on England's supposed interest in both young men.
However, going by their individual responses to Nigeria's expression of interest...
One professed his love and admiration for both countries and stated it will be a difficult choice to make.
The other responded by stating he needed more time and wouldn't be making a decision anytime soon.

If I were a betting man, I will place my chips on the former...
Otitokoro wrote:

but you dont think the Brits want Saka ?

I would think they would want Saka much more so than Eze. 3 Lions do not need Eze one bit.

If they cap him it would be simply out of spite to destroy the boy's international career.

Anyone besides Chidera Ejuke and it's a joke

Sunset wrote:Anyone besides Chidera Ejuke and it's a joke
Abi... :curse:

Well its supposed to be a 30 man list.

If Ejuke is not there, that will be a travesty.

Some people have said that Sanusi, Ejuke, Bazee, Ejaria will be on the list.

If I were to draw a 30 man list it would look like such

Strikers

Osimehn
Dessers
Iheanacho
Umar

Wingers

Chukwueze
Kalu
Simon
Ejuke
Dennis
Lookman
Musa

Midfielders

Iwobi
Ejaria
Aribo
Etebo
Ndidi
Yusuf Alhassan

Defenders

Aina
Ezibuhue
Collins
Sanusi
Ajayi
Troost
Awaziem
Omeruo
Balogun
Adarabioyo

Goalkeepers

Uzoho
Okoye
Osigwe

Well its supposed to be a 30 man list.

If Ejuke is not there, that will be a travesty.

Some people have said that Sanusi, Ejuke, Bazee, Ejaria will be on the list.

If I were to draw a 30 man list it would look like such

Strikers

Osimehn
Dessers
Iheanacho
Umar

Wingers

Chukwueze
Kalu
Simon
Ejuke
Dennis
Lookman
Musa

Midfielders

Iwobi
Ejaria
Aribo
Etebo
Ndidi
Yusuf Alhassan

Defenders

Aina
Ezibuhue
Collins
Sanusi
Ajayi
Troost
Awaziem
Omeruo
Balogun
Adarabioyo

Goalkeepers

Uzoho
Okoye
Osigwe
Good list, vancity. :thumb:
Its really nice to see that we can put together a 30-man list with no passengers.
There might be individual preferences, but I doubt anyone can legitimately argue that anybody on that list does not deserve to be there.
If anything, there are players NOT on the list that can't even get a chance.

My ONLY minor fear is experience.
Like SAF once famously said, when it comes to the really big games, you look around the dressing room for the 'big boys' to lead the way.