Alphonso Davies: Ghanaian, Liberian or Canadian?

Born: November 2, 2000 (age 19 years), Buduburam, Ghana

Davies was born to Liberian parents in Buduburam, a refugee camp in Gomoa East District, Ghana. His parents lived there after fleeing their homeland during the Second Liberian Civil War, which displaced more than 450,000 people in Liberia. When Davies was five, his family moved to Canada, eventually relocating to Edmonton.[6][10] On June 6, 2017, he officially received Canadian citizenship.

Hint: He's definatly NOT Naija
Last edited by Rawlings on Mon Aug 17, 2020 8:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Re: Alphonso Davies: Ghanaian, Liberian on Canadian?

The next Freddy Adu. Can’t wait to see a SportBible post in 10 years showing his decline into the Uzbekistan Second Division.
https://twitter.com/Elarno11/status/102 ... 05386?s=20
Last edited by Rawlings on Mon Aug 17, 2020 8:03 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Barcelona rejected chance to sign Bayern Munich wonderkid Alphonso Davies ‘because he’s Canadian’

BARCELONA reportedly rejected the chance to sign Alphonso Davies "because he is Canadian".

Bayern Munich's whizkid is one of the world's best left-backs and was outstanding in their recent 8-2 Champions League thrashing of Barcelona.

But he could have been turning out for the Catalans as they were offered him before he signed for Bayern, according to Chilean journalist Luis Omar Tapia.

Davies bagged a stunning assist after a solo run during Friday's rout.

And after his scintillating performance, Tapia tweeted: "Here is a did you know?

"[Hristo] Stoitchkov spoke to [Barca chief Josep Maria] Bartomeu about Davies months before Bayern came on board. His response was, he is Canadian no thanks."

The 19-year-old has joint Canadian and Liberian citizenship.

But he has 17 international caps for Canada and has bagged five goals from those games.

He started his career with MLS side Vancouver Whitecaps before he was snapped up by Bayern in January 2019.

https://www.thesun.co.uk/sport/football ... -canadian/

Wow that dude is 19. He must have had a hard life. He l9ks very tough/strong. Must explain how I am still poor at late 30s. I need look tougher :thumbs: :taunt:

Comrade Machel wrote:Wow that dude is 19. He must have had a hard life. He l9ks very tough/strong. Must explain how I am still poor at late 30s. I need look tougher :thumbs: :taunt:
Actually, he did not have a hard life.
He does not even remember the first 5 years of his life - the "hardest" part

GFA must really suck ballz to lose Davis to Canada. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Even Bosnia and Morocco have gotten players from Canada. How I wish Davis was a Liberian refugee born in Osun state. He would have been a Super Eagle. Easy :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Don't think he is Ghanaian since he was born on a refugee camp and not in the country so to speak.
rutgers

Post by rutgers »

Too bad us African footy fans don't get to see Davies perform at the CAF nations cup for Liberia.
rutgers

Post by rutgers »

Group C
Pos Team[ vte ] Pld W D L GF GA GD Pts Qualification Nigeria Cape Verde Central African Republic Liberia
1 Nigeria 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Advance to third round — TBD TBD TBD
2 Cape Verde 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 TBD — TBD TBD
3 Central African Republic 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 TBD TBD — TBD
4 Liberia 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 TBD TBD TBD —

Interesting, the world cup qualifying fixtures would have had him featuring against Nigeria.

Looks like Nigeria got lucky, he chose Canada.

rutgers wrote:Group C
Pos Team[ vte ] Pld W D L GF GA GD Pts Qualification Nigeria Cape Verde Central African Republic Liberia

Interesting, the world cup qualifying fixtures would have had him featuring against Nigeria.

kalani JR wrote:Don't think he is Ghanaian since he was born on a refugee camp and not in the country so to speak.

Dude sherrap. He was born on Ghanaian soil so that should automatically secure him Ghanaian citizenship. 90% of the French team have 0 ties to France other than being born somewhere in France. Why should Davis be any different. The GFA effed up big time.

rutgers wrote:Group C

He wont have any Joy playing against Nigeria's full backs.

Re: Alphonso Davies: Ghanaian, Liberian or Canadian?

Rawlings wrote:Born: November 2, 2000 (age 19 years), Buduburam, Ghana

Davies was born to Liberian parents in Buduburam, a refugee camp in Gomoa East District, Ghana. His parents lived there after fleeing their homeland during the Second Liberian Civil War, which displaced more than 450,000 people in Liberia. When Davies was five, his family moved to Canada, eventually relocating to Edmonton.[6][10] On June 6, 2017, he officially received Canadian citizenship.

Hint: He's definatly NOT Naija

Yea whatever to help ease the pain when you cry yourself to sleep knowing Davis chose a country that would rather watch Icehockey over ghana :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

bret- hart wrote:
kalani JR wrote:Don't think he is Ghanaian since he was born on a refugee camp and not in the country so to speak.

Dude sherrap. He was born on Ghanaian soil so that should automatically secure him Ghanaian citizenship. 90% of the French team have 0 ties to France other than being born somewhere in France. Why should Davis be any different. The GFA effed up big time.
This bobo, you sound like my racist French teacher: "But are they really French?" Which French players have zero ties to France, biko?

bret- hart wrote:

If you were born or raised in France what other connection do you need? The only player for them I remember not growing up there was Trezeguet.

Being born while a refugee doesn't always count as national soil, similar if you're born while your parents are on diplomatic duties.

bret- hart wrote:

If you were born or raised in France what other connection do you need? The only player for them I remember not growing up there was Trezeguet.

Being born while a refugee doesn't always count as national soil, similar if you're born while your parents are on diplomatic duties.
we have a lot of Nigerian "economic" refugees in Ghana.
Most of them have Ghanaian passports

bret- hart wrote:

At least they are not begging for a NT call like that useless Ghana GK in our NPFL talking about show me the money...

bret- hart wrote:

thanks.

ohsee wrote:
bret- hart wrote:

This bobo, you sound like my racist French teacher: "But are they really French?" Which French players have zero ties to France, biko?

Thats rich coming from you oga. I still remember you saying Aubamayang was French and not African :tic: :sneaky:

bret- hart wrote:

His parents arent diplomats so that dont count. Stop using technicalities here. If Davis was born in a refugee camp in France, he would be playing for France.

bret- hart wrote:

At least they are not begging for a NT call like that useless Ghana GK in our NPFL talking about show me the money...
The Ghana GK was going by the first amendment to the Naija constitution: Money talks

bret- hart wrote:

His parents arent diplomats so that dont count. Stop using technicalities here. If Davis was born in a refugee camp in France, he would be playing for France.
He doesn't have citizenship, in order to get citizenship he/his family would have had to give up refugee status and risk not moving to Canada.
Re: Alphonso Davies: Ghanaian, Liberian or Canadian?

"[Hristo] Stoitchkov spoke to [Barca chief Josep Maria] Bartomeu about Davies months before Bayern came on board. His response was, he is Canadian no thanks."
Josep Maria] Bartomeu is the problem at Barça!