Oliseh Greater Than Mikel As Defensive Midfielder –Aiyegbeni

Re: Oliseh Greater Than Mikel As Defensive Midfielder –Aiyeg

Oliseh was a much better long range passer than Mikel (who specialised in the safe, 5 yard sideways pass).

I highly doubt half the people here talking watched our qualifiers to the world cup or even watched the ANC in 94,NIGERIA'S GREATEST STRIKER Rasheed Yekini can explain that for anyone.

There is no comparison between both players,they played in different Era's and Oliseh as a young player till he became captain was a leader and he ranks high as Nigeria's midfielders. Oliseh was just better.

txj wrote:Mikel is living embodiment of why for me, the European manager and concept of the game is in the long term antithetical to the full flowering of the African player.

Oliseh was at least a gear ahead of Mikel. He expressed and played at a technical and tactical level that was beyond anything Mikel was able to offer.

To even begin to compare them in the DM role is evidence of a limited understanding of the game...

Folks should go back and watch Oliseh in his brief stint in Italy.

He was one of he early definers of the evolution of the DM from the destructive/ball winner role to a deep lying playmaker.

I believe there was even an article by Jonathan Wilson in the Guardian about this...
I’m really starting to wonder if we overrate Mikel for being able to fit into Chelsea’s team, but since leaving no single EPL team has given him a chance, even with him wanting to be close to his family, not even the relegation battlers. He had to go to China, Turkey, Championship etc and now has to go back to the Championship again. Hmmm, and I was here arguing that EPL teams would be lining up for him...wow can’t believe how wrong I was, while Oliseh on the other hand went from top team to top team playing many midfield roles able to adapt and be productive from Ajax to Juventus to Dortmund etc...
I don't think you were wrong.
I suspect he has lost his appetite for the game and is simply taking the easy route into retirement to 'keep body and soul' together ie. keep semi-active.

I think he could perform at Championship and China level without breaking much sweat, but EPL demands are much higher and maybe he just isn't up for all that. China had the added bonus of offering top wages.

Just my opinion, but remember when he was at Middlesborough they couldn't stop screaming about how exceptional he was and that he was way above their Championship level.

txj wrote:Mikel is living embodiment of why for me, the European manager and concept of the game is in the long term antithetical to the full flowering of the African player.

Oliseh was at least a gear ahead of Mikel. He expressed and played at a technical and tactical level that was beyond anything Mikel was able to offer.

To even begin to compare them in the DM role is evidence of a limited understanding of the game...

He was one of he early definers of the evolution of the DM from the destructive/ball winner role to a deep lying playmaker.

I believe there was even an article by Jonathan Wilson in the Guardian about this...
I’m really starting to wonder if we overrate Mikel for being able to fit into Chelsea’s team, but since leaving no single EPL team has given him a chance, even with him wanting to be close to his family, not even the relegation battlers. He had to go to China, Turkey, Championship etc and now has to go back to the Championship again. Hmmm, and I was here arguing that EPL teams would be lining up for him...wow can’t believe how wrong I was, while Oliseh on the other hand went from top team to top team playing many midfield roles able to adapt and be productive from Ajax to Juventus to Dortmund etc...
I don't think you were wrong.
I suspect he has lost his appetite for the game and is simply taking the easy route into retirement to 'keep body and soul' together ie. keep semi-active.

I think he could perform at Championship and China level without breaking much sweat, but EPL demands are much higher and maybe he just isn't up for all that. China had the added bonus of offering top wages.

Just my opinion, but remember when he was at Middlesborough they couldn't stop screaming about how exceptional he was and that he was way above their Championship level.
You might be right, I just thought he would also not break sweat playing for one of the mid to lower EPL teams. But if the drive is not there anymore I get it...

Based on Talent....Mikel is a better player. Based on defensive ability Oliseh. Overall, Mikel is a better player and a better team player and that in my book makes him great.

Oliseh had a good time at Ajax and Dortmund but not at Juventus....btw

Mikel played and lead his team to olympics glory and ANC glory and was best player as Chelsea won the CL.

Don’t get me wrong but Oliseh had a great Midfield with him, Mikel played with mediocre players....just think how great Mikel would have been if he had JJ beside him with Finidi and Amunike on the wings....

Mikel won the ANC with Mba beside him for ffs.....

Oliseh played is a great player and played in a great team....

Mikel is a great player but had to shoulder/ lift up a basic team (I blame Obasi)

What team did 33 year old Oliseh play for?

Ugbowo wrote:

Great question! KPOM this.
Last edited by Enugu II on Wed Aug 19, 2020 7:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Ugbowo wrote:

Retired.

lol@ what club did Oliseh play for at 33. They were both top notches for the SE, however I will pick Mikel ahead of Oliseh if i was the manager..Also Mikel had better stats for the SE be it appearances, goals and assists. Mikel was the better player for Nigeria and won more for Nigeria compared to Oliseh... Also Oliseh retired in 2004( club football) that's 30 years old. However they are both legends and world class for both club and country.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZI5HlEaHuNY[/video]

Ugbowo wrote:

Actually its not, its actually a disingenuous (dare I say stupid) question, since Mikel left Chelsea at 30 and hasn't played for a good club since. So my statement is not specifically talking about the current 33 year old Mikel, but I was expecting to see the 30 year old Mikel that left Chelsea have EPL options.

- Oliseh was still playing at Borrusia Dortmund in CL etc till he was 30/31 and that's in the days of chopping age and ended his career in the Belgian first division with Genk that some of our potential SE players are playing for.

- Kanu played in the EPL in a more demanding position till he was 36 abi 37 years old (even with age chopping lol),

- JJ played in the EPL till he was 33 (again time of chopping age).

So as you see, it was actually a pretty stupid question....just saying :mrgreen:

And its besides the point, which is more so that Oliseh was able to fit into multiple top teams playing different midfield roles, while Mikel only played for one top team in the same role, and no others came for him after. The question is does that diminish his legacy?

Enyi wrote:Based on Talent....Mikel is a better player. Based on defensive ability Oliseh. Overall, Mikel is a better player and a better team player and that in my book makes him great.

Oliseh had a good time at Ajax and Dortmund but not at Juventus....btw

Mikel played and lead his team to olympics glory and ANC glory and was best player as Chelsea won the CL.

Don’t get me wrong but Oliseh had a great Midfield with him, Mikel played with mediocre players....just think how great Mikel would have been if he had JJ beside him with Finidi and Amunike on the wings....

Mikel won the ANC with Mba beside him for ffs.....

Oliseh played is a great player and played in a great team....

Mikel is a great player but had to shoulder/ lift up a basic team (I blame Obasi)
There a AfCon which Mikel and JJ played together.....

Bigpokey24 wrote:lol@ what club did Oliseh play for at 33. They were both top notches for the SE, however I will pick Mikel ahead of Oliseh if i was the manager..Also Mikel had better stats for the SE be it appearances, goals and assists.
One was an attacking midfielder and the other a defensive midfielder. Is Okocha expected to have more goals and assists than Mutiu? Ndidi?
Mikel was the better player for Nigeria and won more for Nigeria compared to Oliseh...
Mikel
Africa Cup of Nations: 2013

Oliseh
African Cup of Nations: 1994
Olympic Gold Medal: 1996
Afro Asian Cup 1995

Also Oliseh retired in 2004( club football) that's 30 years old. However they are both legends and world class for both club and country.
Oliseh was fired from Dortmund at 30 for beating up a racist. He retired from football at 32 from FIRST DIVISION, Genk.

oloye wrote:I don't know why people always love to compare players, to start with both are different kind of players, I know whom I would have loved to be on the ball when we lost to Italy in 1994, but I will keep the answer to myself.

That is not even saying one is better, but I know who I would want to be with the ball in that dying minutes of that Italian game.

Case closed :clap:

ANC wrote:
oloye wrote:I don't know why people always love to compare players, to start with both are different kind of players, I know whom I would have loved to be on the ball when we lost to Italy in 1994, but I will keep the answer to myself.

That is not even saying one is better, but I know who I would want to be with the ball in that dying minutes of that Italian game.

So long as Uncle Oloye is referring to a 19 year old Mikel, and not a 26 year old Mikel.

19 year old Mikel hadn't played football for almost a year.

kalani JR wrote:19 year old Mikel hadn't played football for almost a year.
Odiegwu! That would certainly have "closed the case" and put the fear of God in Albertini, Berti and Dino Baggio :clap:

ANC wrote:

So long as Uncle Oloye is referring to a 19 year old Mikel, and not a 26 year old Mikel.
:biggrin:
Were u privileged to watch Oliseh @ 19?

Ugbowo wrote:

Actually its not, its actually a disingenuous (dare I say stupid) question, since Mikel left Chelsea at 30 and hasn't played for a good club since. So my statement is not specifically talking about the current 33 year old Mikel, but I was expecting to see the 30 year old Mikel that left Chelsea have EPL options.

- Oliseh was still playing at Borrusia Dortmund in CL etc till he was 30/31 and that's in the days of chopping age and ended his career in the Belgian first division with Genk that some of our potential SE players are playing for.

- Kanu played in the EPL in a more demanding position till he was 36 abi 37 years old (even with age chopping lol),

So as you see, it was actually a pretty stupid question....just saying :mrgreen:

And its besides the point, which is more so that Oliseh was able to fit into multiple top teams playing different midfield roles, while Mikel only played for one top team in the same role, and no others came for him after. The question is does that diminish his legacy?
Since you want to be funny....

I think it'll be idiotic to intentionally forget the offers Mikel had when he was leaving Chelsea. It'll be foolish to not remenber the amount of money that was thrown at him that made him go to China when he left Chelsea. He was last playing for a league leading team in Turkey on a very big contract.

You are talking about Genk...it'll be moronic to compare the salary Oliseh took at Genk to what Stoke will currently pay Mikel...at an age that Oliseh was already retired in

Yaya Toure left City and he's training with Leyton Orient now after a spell all around the globe. Does that mean we overrated him at City too since he didnt land in any EPL club after leaving City?

I mean come on...stop this nonsense talk.

ANC wrote:
ANC wrote:

:biggrin:
Were u privileged to watch Oliseh @ 19?
Yes, I was.

Were you privileged to watch Mikel @ 19? And was the case closed? :biggrin:

Ugbowo wrote:

I think it'll be idiotic to intentionally forget the offers Mikel had when he was leaving Chelsea. It'll be foolish to not remenber the amount of money that was thrown at him that made him go to China when he left Chelsea. He was last playing for a league leading team in Turkey on a very big contract.

You are talking about Genk...it'll be moronic to compare the salary Oliseh took at Genk to what Stoke will currently pay Mikel...at an age that Oliseh was already retired in

Yaya Toure left City and he's training with Leyton Orient now after a spell all around the globe. Does that mean we overrated him at City too since he didnt land in any EPL club after leaving City?

Ahhhh boy, your mention of Yaya Toure that played for multiple top clubs in various roles means you don’t even get the point, so there’s really no point engaging with dum dums...so sad

Ugbowo wrote: You are talking about Genk...it'll be moronic to compare the salary Oliseh took at Genk to what Stoke will currently pay Mikel..at an age that Oliseh was already retired in
Now you are the one being funny. Are you comparing salaries in 2005 to salaries in 2020?! 15 years ago? Thats dishonest. I guess Yobo is better than Keshi because Yobo got a higher salary than Keshi did. :lol: :lol:

Ugbowo wrote:

Ahhhh boy, your mention of Yaya Toure that played for multiple top clubs in various roles means you don’t even get the point, so there’s really no point engaging with dum dums...so sad
Your point is why no top clubs after 11 years at Chelsea....means he was overrated. Completely forgetting that China was a money play.

I’m using ur same dumb logic on Yaya leaving City. Did he go to a top club after or was it a money play for him as well?

Sometimes we think we are smart but we end up looking very stupid.

Ugbowo wrote: You are talking about Genk...it'll be moronic to compare the salary Oliseh took at Genk to what Stoke will currently pay Mikel..at an age that Oliseh was already retired in
Now you are the one being funny. Are you comparing salaries in 2005 to salaries in 2020?! 15 years ago? Thats dishonest. I guess Yobo is better than Keshi because Yobo got a higher salary than Keshi did. :lol: :lol:
Bro, I didn’t bring up Genk. Smartest guy in the room did. He brought up Mikel leaving Chelsea to a non top club as a way of belittling 11 years at Chelsea. Tried to indict him for signing with Stoke at 33. I asked who Oliseh signed for at 33 knowing fully well he was retired by then.

At the age of Oliseh’s retirement, Mikel is still earning a solid paycheck in the championship. So don’t use the club he’s signing for now as an indictment on him.

That’s my point.