2020/2021 Spurs Season: PL - 7th; EL - R16; FAC - R5; CC- RU

As the 2019/2020 season just got done the team is back to prepare for the new season. The team got a good workout against Ipswich with a solid 3 nil win, goals by Sessegnon and 2 by Son. Opening league match will be against Everton at the Lane and it is expected to be a good test of the team's preparation to go and make a challenge for the league title and to win a trophy.

A few changes already to the new season:

Return of the King: Ledley King has been hired to join the coaching staff. He is going to be in charge of the defensive unit of the team.
Hold My Beer: We have yet to adequately solve the DM of the pitch and I believe this is where Pierre-Emile Højbjerg should solve the problem.
We have a Hart: Michel Vorm was let go at the end of the season and in comes England's former #1, Joe Hart. He said he is not here to play second, talkless of third fiddle. Time will tell.
Nike Dares To Do: Over the years Spurs' Jerseys have not exactly been exciting but this season is different. The home Jersey is bold and inspiring while away jersey, though plain, oozes boldness.

Last edited by Its a Goal on Thu Jun 10, 2021 4:02 pm, edited 64 times in total.
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

Thunder
Re: 2020/2021 Spurs Season: Preseason Preparations

Post by Thunder »

IAG, trust you’re keeping well & safe. Take care of you bro.
PS: Your 20/21 Arsenal jersey is en route. :D
WHATEVER, WHEREEVER, & WHENEVER, FOREVER ARSENAL! I am an ARSENALIST!
"Wise men talk because they have something to say, fools talk because they have to say something." - Plato

[color=brown]Thunder[/color] wrote: IAG, trust you’re keeping well & safe. Take care of you bro.
PS: Your 20/21 Arsenal jersey is en route. :D
My brother, I dey kampe. How you and family?

Bingo, my dog, dey poo inside the house and I need rag wey I fit use to clean floor with. I go dey expect that rag as e go do the job well well :mrgreen:.
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

Matt Doherty from Wolves is almost wrapped up. Solid replacement for Aurier and frees a spot for Europe if Serge leaves.

Aurier is a better RB than Doherty. I would be worried if Doherty was first choice for Spurs.

Cristao II wrote:Aurier is a better RB than Doherty. I would be worried if Doherty was first choice for Spurs.
Its very important to watch Football and stop playing play station or thinking a player is good because their name is exotic.

Doherty is a better player than Aurier and has proved that over the last 2 years.

STATISTICALLY, Doherty is the second best right back in the League, only second to Trent Alexander Arnold. FACT!

Doherty will be your first choice RB next season. The decision has been made and you will see the difference.

In fact, @Cristao, I am surprised you have not watched Doherty, considering the fact that he destroyed Tottenham in that 2-3 loss of Tottenham to Wolves at your Stadium last season. He scored one, assisted one and ran Tanganga ragged, as if the poor boy owed him money.

I have watched him very carefully. He plays best as a wingback and sucks in a back 4. Considering Jose switches often to a back 4 when we are in defensive mode - it is a weakness. I will keep watching him and pray that I am proven wrong.

Exotic names .. dont confuse me with Chelsea or Arsenal fans.

Also Doherty is 28. I can only imagine that we have unearthed some youth RB prospect or we have someone else we have our eyes on to buy later in future.

On destroying Tanganga, last season was Japhet's rookie season. A number of players dribbled him - even in that same game, consider how Wolves central forward dribbled him for his goal.

Cristao II wrote:I have watched him very carefully. He plays best as a wingback and sucks in a back 4. Considering Jose switches often to a back 4 when we are in defensive mode - it is a weakness. I will keep watching him and pray that I am proven wrong.
How may games have you watched him play in a back 4?
oluwaseye the 1st.

Post by oluwaseye the 1st. »

Should we gamble on Diego Costa if he is available on the cheap? He is 31 though and only scored 5 goals last season.
Truth needs no support system, it can stand firmly on its legs!!

COYS

Cristao II wrote:I have watched him very carefully. He plays best as a wingback and sucks in a back 4. Considering Jose switches often to a back 4 when we are in defensive mode - it is a weakness. I will keep watching him and pray that I am proven wrong.
I take it that you have NEVER watched him play in a back 4, yet, you gave an opinion of a phantom performance. You are certainly better than this. smh

kenmega

Post by kenmega »

I see. Thanks danfo. I am sure that we will have an opportunity to discuss this later in future especially when the season starts.

On your other comments, yawwnnnnn! Here we go again.

PS go watch him for Ireland who play 4 at the back most times and also note his recovery speed when playing for Wolves against a counter attack. Jose bought this guy purely for wingback duties. I wonder if this will lead to a tactical shift this season.

oluwaseye the 1st. wrote:Should we gamble on Diego Costa if he is available on the cheap? He is 31 though and only scored 5 goals last season.
Diego is an intelligent irritant.

Cristao II wrote:
PS go watch him for Ireland who play 4 at the back most times
I was expecting this to be your response. Glad to know that you watch Republic of Ireland games. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Jose bought this guy purely for wingback duties. I wonder if this will lead to a tactical shift this season.
I take it you have sat with, and spoken to Mourinho?

Dude, stop reading speculation on Twitter. Watch the games and find out for yourself!

Whether Doherty becomes sh1t for Spurs would be a Spurs problem. THE FACT is that last season he was the second best RB/RWB in the league.

danfo driver wrote:Whether Doherty becomes sh1t for Spurs would be a Spurs problem. THE FACT is that last season he was the second best RB/RWB in the league.
I will not be surprise he becomes consider the curse you out on spurs,Fat rafa and Arsenal.

Back to back friendlies, back to back victories. First against Reading where Son scored 2 in the 4-1 win and today with a 1 nil victory, goal coming at the dead end of the game via a superb strike from Bergwijn.

I struggle to see Ndombele getting a look in with the arrival of Hojbjerg. Hojbjerg looks quite enterprising in the midfield with his creativity dribbling skills. He doesn't hide and looks to take the game by the horn. Unless Ndombele increase his workrate I doubt he will get to start any match.

[color=brown]danfo driver[/color] wrote: Whether Doherty becomes sh1t for Spurs would be a Spurs problem. THE FACT is that last season he was the second best RB/RWB in the league.
I can't comment on Doherty because I have not watched closely enough. From what I read about him though he seems like an upgrade as it is claimed he is a better on the defensive duties and can create opportunities upfront.

First league game is in 2 weeks and it will be interesting to see if Aurier will still be around then and if he keeps his place.

Its a Goal wrote:
[color=brown]danfo driver[/color] wrote: Whether Doherty becomes sh1t for Spurs would be a Spurs problem. THE FACT is that last season he was the second best RB/RWB in the league.
I can't comment on Doherty because I have not watched closely enough. From what I read about him though he seems like an upgrade as it is claimed he is a better on the defensive duties and can create opportunities upfront.

First league game is in 2 weeks and it will be interesting to see if Aurier will still be around then and if he keeps his place.

dd, there is nothing funny about it. Just because a new face walks through the door doesn't guarantee a start. Knowing JoMo, he is more about what you bring to the team rather than what you have. Aurier is known factor and JoMo is comfortable with him therefore Matt has to show in training he deserves to start over him.

BTW, where are PaJimoh and his lover, Anigbelenu?