Original Africa Cup of Nations trophy missing in Egypt

An investigation has been launched by the Egyptian FA (EFA) after it found that several trophies have disappeared from its headquarters in Cairo, including an original African Cup of Nations.

Egypt received the prize after winning the 2010 edition of the tournament, so claiming that particular incarnation of the trophy for a third time.

The trophy, whose style was first used in 2002 after Cameroon were awarded the previous cup having won it three times, was given to the EFA by the Confederation of African Football (Caf) after triumphs in 2006, 2008 and 2010.

On Friday, the EFA - whose media director confirmed the trophy's loss to the BBC - said it had opened an investigation into the loss of the various trophies.

https://www.bbc.com/sport/africa/54034164
Re: Original Africa Cup of Nations trophy missing in Egypt

They should ask Ghana where they kept the cup. They've been desperate to get their hands on the cup for a long time.

Dammy wrote:They should ask Ghana where they kept the cup. They've been desperate to get their hands on the cup for a long time.
The following countries have AFCON cup for keeps
  • Ghana obtained the right to permanently hold the trophy in 1978
    Cameroon won the Unity Cup indefinitely after they became three-time champions in 2000.
    Egypt won the gold-plated cup indefinitely after they became three-time champions in 2010.
Naija does not have one yet, so fingers are pointing to Abuja :laugh:

Dammy wrote:They should ask Ghana where they kept the cup. They've been desperate to get their hands on the cup for a long time.
    Cameroon won the Unity Cup indefinitely after they became three-time champions in 2000.
    Egypt won the gold-plated cup indefinitely after they became three-time champions in 2010.
No be the super old version that Ghana get, I hear they thought they were entitled to a free upgrade esp. after 37 years of persevering with the old one. I won’t be surprised if it turned up somewhere in Kumasi.... :taunt:

Oga, Kumasi is now known as Kumerica
The Eagle

Post by The Eagle »

Doubts about whether the trophy in Ghana was the real one or a replica led researchers to collect a sample of the extensive rust on the trophy to use in carbon dating. Based on the age of the rust, they believe it is the original trophy.
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.

Egypt investigating theft of AFCON:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4I1OVEtbjwA