Kelechi Nwakali

I know he's the forgotten "gem" and nobody has been paying close attention to his form lately for newly promoted Huesca... but homeboy has been in some solid form in the preason fixtures so far. Today he put in a commanding display in his clubs emphatic win over Levante(he pivoted in a deep playmaking role and did well), and has earned some top ratings and praises from the fans on Twitter etc.

Indeed there's a lot to suggest he's back to his best and will have a good debut season in the La Liga, I might have to go the Ayo route here and suggest Nwakali needs a chance in the SE as a deep lying playmaker... I believe the boy still has so much to prove and offer.
Re: Kelechi Nwakali

Why not just give credit to the source of the story instead of faking like you watched him play?

Name the source out loud.

OWNGOALNIGERIA.COM

BTW, how old is he now?

And promptly bought a Benz to show off on IG hehe, not bad

https://www.instagram.com/p/CEwkixfjzlF ... ds2q0qegit

maceo4 wrote:And promptly bought a Benz to show off on IG hehe, not bad

I have one of those too. That's not a big deal for a pro baller even at 2nd tier. What he needs is long term contract with Huesca.

Guys, dont forget that we are not supposed to "get carried away" and we must not be excited! We have to wait until the season starts to excite outselves. :oops: :roll:

Personally waiting until the season on this one. For three years now early flashes on usually new loan team and then, mid season fizzle. Maybe it is Ayo’s curse for overhyping but he has not really lit it up. Hope it finally takes off for him this year

I have one of those too
. That's not a big deal for a pro baller even at 2nd tier. What he needs is long term contract with Huesca.
lacidi

Post by lacidi »

You guys need to watch this video in Kelechi's Instagram. He is wearing number 3 jersey. This is from a friendly played 4 days ago.
https://www.instagram.com/tv/CEpMxOUqTc ... 38gtpxqs8t
Its nice when someone shoots ur murderer in the back, without asking to be paid.

They are playing him too deep for my liking. I want to see him playmaking at the tip of the midfield trio.

lacidi wrote:You guys need to watch this video in Kelechi's Instagram. He is wearing number 3 jersey. This is from a friendly played 4 days ago.
He looks very sharp in the video. It's obvious his fitness levels has improved as he's no longer strolling like he did in the U23 AFCON. I hope Kelechi and Kingsley Michael have great seasons and add depth to our midfield.

lacidi wrote:You guys need to watch this video in Kelechi's Instagram. He is wearing number 3 jersey. This is from a friendly played 4 days ago.
He looks very sharp in the video. It's obvious his fitness levels has improved as he's no longer strolling like he did in the U23 AFCON. I hope Kelechi and Kingsley Michael have great seasons and add depth to our midfield.
You seem to rate this Kingsley Michael lad, is he really that good?
oyek

Post by oyek »

Dele-Bashiru was also outstanding for his club yesterday, he forced a penalty as Watford defeated Jose Mourinho's Tottenham (2-1).
If not for Jesus, where will i be?
chuks69

Post by chuks69 »

I don't know why European coaches would never play Africans in that #10 role, they try to convert them to some sort of defensive creator, sometimes a winger/ inside winger etc.. This could be due to they don't score enough goals or don't consider them intelligent enough.
Happened to Jay-Jay, he left for Turkey to play as #10, Mikel was converted as a defensive creator for Chelsea, now Nwakali is now enroute to conversion at a defensive creator.. That's the fate of our Super Eagles players.
Iwobi who plays #10 for SE is a winger at club level.. Perhaps this why Ayo Akinfe keeps making the argument for Eberechi Eze because he played #10 at QPR. I doubt if he would play as a #10 at Crystal Palace. Palace plays strong block defense, always crowding the Centre with Disciplined DMF/CMF and counter attack through the wings mostly.
If Kelechi must or wishes to play in the #10 role at club level, he might need to go play elsewhere or a lower league level. Considering how unstable his club career has being, it is in his best interest to adapt to what ever role he is offered at Huesca..
afc##

What exactly is the " number 10" position? KDB mostly played from the right side of the Midfield at Mancity and created the most assists. Even jay jay played from the right side of the Midfield at Bolton and was there main creative force, in one season,he even ended up outscoring the main strikers at Bolton!...Hazard also played from the right or left side at Chelsea. Messi is an exceptional case, but still he has operated from the wing or false "9" position.So the number "10" position does not really exist as it used to. Also players like Pirlo operated from a deep Midfield position and provided creativity from there. It all depends on how a player interpretes the assigned role.

chuks69 wrote:I don't know why European coaches would never play Africans in that #10 role, they try to convert them to some sort of defensive creator, sometimes a winger/ inside winger etc.. This could be due to they don't score enough goals or don't consider them intelligent enough.
Happened to Jay-Jay, he left for Turkey to play as #10, Mikel was converted as a defensive creator for Chelsea, now Nwakali is now enroute to conversion at a defensive creator.. That's the fate of our Super Eagles players.
Iwobi who plays #10 for SE is a winger at club level.. Perhaps this why Ayo Akinfe keeps making the argument for Eberechi Eze because he played #10 at QPR. I doubt if he would play as a #10 at Crystal Palace. Palace plays strong block defense, always crowding the Centre with Disciplined DMF/CMF and counter attack through the wings mostly.
If Kelechi must or wishes to play in the #10 role at club level, he might need to go play elsewhere or a lower league level. Considering how unstable his club career has being, it is in his best interest to adapt to what ever role he is offered at Huesca..
how many teams play with a no 10?

chuks69 wrote:I don't know why European coaches would never play Africans in that #10 role, they try to convert them to some sort of defensive creator, sometimes a winger/ inside winger etc.. This could be due to they don't score enough goals or don't consider them intelligent enough.
no top team in world football plays with a number 10... Football has moved forward

amafolas

Post by amafolas »

loose first touch on anything that wasn't an easy pass. He then needs 2 to 3 touhes for control. Otherwise, good ball retention and athleticism for the position
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.

And you promptly went to Instagram to see how a twenty something years old spen his money?

I have one of those too. That's not a big deal for a pro baller even at 2nd tier. What he needs is long term contract with Huesca.
Yeah, with no gaddem job???? Gerrarahia

Ayo Akinfe wrote:They are playing him too deep for my liking. I want to see him playmaking at the tip of the midfield trio.

They are using him properly if he's playing as a deep lying playmaker. Kelechi's best position is not what you are suggesting. He's a CM.

And you promptly went to Instagram to see how a twenty something years old spen his money?
Grand uncle abeg stop showing your age o :oops: its like you don’t know IG is how we young people keep up with one another. :mrgreen:

no top team in world football plays with a number 10... Football has moved forward
Arsenal play Ozil as a number 10. or are you suggesting Arsenal is not a top team? Ozil is back in their starting line-up now.

Also, Man City played David Silva as a number 10. Likewise, Bruno Fernandes plays as a playmaker for Man United.

However, the best of them is Pablo Hernandez at Leeds. Marcelo Bielsa has managed to get the best out of him.