I don't care, I just have one question

Can someone tell me Nigeria's football philosophy under Rohr? It's now 4yrs with Rohr at the helm and I have no idea what it really is
Re: I don't care, I just have one question

highbury wrote:Can someone tell me Nigeria's football philosophy under Rohr? It's now 4yrs with Rohr at the helm and I have no idea what it really is
Rohr is building a team, so be patient!

We haven’t played in a year, and we have several new players and a few days of practice...
Even if Socrates and Aristotle were the coaches, one cannot extract “philosophy” from this game.

However, we LEARN (Rohr’s favorite thing 8-) ) and move on.

I have simple advice for Rohr. I see what he's trying to do. He's trying to copy the best teams out there with this quick play kinda soccer...think Man City.

The problem is to execute this soccer, you need good, technical players that have great ball control, and can either make split second decisions or know where to send the ball before they even get the ball. Nigeria does not seem to have those kinda players right now, so a lot of our plays die quick deaths....primarily due to a dearth of technical talent.

The easiest solution for Nigeria is to slow the play down with a gifted PLAYMAKER. Someone who has the technical skills to hold the ball and allow Nigerian players to make runs, which he can then service. This fast ball thing exposes our weaknesses IMO. Algeria wasn't that much better (a bit better technically), but they got in front early....

deanotito wrote:I have simple advice for Rohr. I see what he's trying to do. He's trying to copy the best teams out there with this quick play kinda soccer...think Man City.

The problem is to execute this soccer, you need good, technical players that have great ball control, and can either make split second decisions or know where to send the ball before they even get the ball. Nigeria does not seem to have those kinda players right now, so a lot of our plays die quick deaths....primarily due to a dearth of technical talent.

The easiest solution for Nigeria is to slow the play down with a gifted PLAYMAKER. Someone who has the technical skills to hold the ball and allow Nigerian players to make runs, which he can then service. This fast ball thing exposes our weaknesses IMO. Algeria wasn't that much better (a bit better technically), but they got in front early....
Huh?! :shock:

If that’s what he is actually trying to do, then it’s been an unmitigated failure...
This team is about as far from Man City, technically and philosophically, as humanly possible.

Put lipstick on a pig and it’s still bovine...
Rohr has his own (conservatively orthodox) philosophy and it has no visible nexus to Man City’s.

deanotito wrote:I have simple advice for Rohr. I see what he's trying to do. He's trying to copy the best teams out there with this quick play kinda soccer...think Man City.

Or perhaps you meant Bolton (which is in the greater Manchester area)... :lol:

Not sure it's intentional, but the only philosophy I see is to sit back soak up pressure and hit our opponents on the counter. That's what we essentially do when we play "good attacking teams".

olu wrote:Not sure it's intentional, but the only philosophy I see is to sit back soak up pressure and hit our opponents on the counter. That's what we essentially do when we play "good attacking teams".
If you intend to play classic counter-attacking football...
You don’t put a LUMBERJACK upfront (with due respect to Onuachu, who actually tried).

Our BEST team is now lacking technical talent??? So it is now that we LACK talent? Ok ooo

olu wrote:Not sure it's intentional, but the only philosophy I see is to sit back soak up pressure and hit our opponents on the counter. That's what we essentially do when we play "good attacking teams".
You don’t put a LUMBERJACK upfront (with due respect to Onuachu, who actually tried).
Tried to do what? Sabotage us with every touch?

I think his philosophy is pretty clear.
A direct, often pressing side that wins the ball and swiftly gets the ball into dangerous areas. It’s perfect manifestation is the 3rd goal against Cameroon in the ANC.
He wants ball winning in the middle and full backs with pace and attacking ability to support a front four.
But he wants this done on a fairly rigid defensive platform and is happy to compromise attacking play to maintain that foundation even if that means relying on the counter.

So the philosophy is clear.

It’s implementation though, is WIP.

- He’s not settled on those full backs
- He’s doesn’t have any depth in DM/CM
- He’s sacrificing his most dangerous wide forward (Iwobi) due to the absence of a genuine attacking DM

But on the whole, it seems pretty clear to me what he is trying to do.

Or perhaps you meant Bolton (which is in the greater Manchester area)... :lol:
WOWSERS :bump: :bump: :bump: :bump: :bump: :bump:

He embarrassed his basketball team today, no free-throws abi PK's for him to score like in Belgium...

waka-man wrote:I think his philosophy is pretty clear.
A direct, often pressing side that wins the ball and swiftly gets the ball into dangerous areas. It’s perfect manifestation is the 3rd goal against Cameroon in the ANC.
He wants ball winning in the middle and full backs with pace and attacking ability to support a front four.
But he wants this done on a fairly rigid defensive platform and is happy to compromise attacking play to maintain that foundation even if that means relying on the counter.

So the philosophy is clear.

It’s implementation though, is WIP.

- He’s not settled on those full backs
- He’s doesn’t have any depth in DM/CM
- He’s sacrificing his most dangerous wide forward (Iwobi) due to the absence of a genuine attacking DM

But on the whole, it seems pretty clear to me what he is trying to do.
Except on those occasions he plays Shehu at RB (and previous Echiejile at LB)? :oops:

truetalk wrote:
He definitely tried to HELP the team...

He won numerous headers, harried defenders, got back to defend, tried to prevent the Algerians bringing the ball out from defense, etc. Problem is with the formation (and thus the coaches), because if you play that sort of player (an old-fashioned classic CF), you have to put someone close to him. What's the point in punting the ball upfront (which we did repeatedly - seemingly every time Ekong touched the ball), and have Onuachu win the header and knock the ball down or onwards, only for none of the other forwards or Iwobi anywhere in sight to take advantage thereof?

If you are going to play such a player, you have to devise a formation or plan that takes optimal advantage of his skillsets (and simultaneously minimize any limitations). Not simply plunk him in place of Osimhen, who is a totally different sort of player.

truetalk wrote:
He definitely tried to HELP the team...

He won numerous headers, harried defenders, got back to defend, tried to prevent the Algerians bringing the ball out from defense, etc. Problem is with the formation (and thus the coaches), because if you play that sort of player (an old-fashioned classic CF), you have to put someone close to him. What's the point in punting the ball upfront (which we did repeatedly - seemingly every time Ekong touched the ball), and have Onuachu win the header and knock the ball down or onwards, only for none of the other forwards or Iwobi anywhere in sight to take advantage thereof?

If you are going to play such a player, you have to devise a formation or plan that takes optimal advantage of his skillsets (and simultaneously minimize any limitations). Not simply plunk him in place of Osimhen, who is a totally different sort of player.
I'm sure you saw Rohr's interview that Onuachu has to be the one to fit into Rohr's style, which makes zero sense. Rohr's game fits an Ighalo or Kelechi and is perfect for an Osimhen, if you are not going to change to a basketball team stop inviting Onuachu, jeeez! Ok make I relax small lol

He embarrassed his basketball team today, no free-throws abi PK's for him to score like in Belgium...

I think you are confusing Onuachu for Dessers, whose 2 goals (from 6 games) are both PKs...
Anyway, they all count (would've taken a PK tonight), but "only" 3 of Onuachu's 7 goals have been PKs.

maceo4 wrote:I'm sure you saw Rohr's interview that Onuachu has to be the one to fit into Rohr's style, which makes zero sense. Rohr's game fits an Ighalo or Kelechi and is perfect for an Osimhen, if you are not going to change to a basketball team stop inviting Onuachu, jeeez! Ok make I relax small lol
Are you saying that if the defenders repeatedly hoof the ball upfield, he should not try to win headers?
Perhaps just push out his stomach like Musa and Kelechi, or jog around like the latter, until the ball is be played to his feet?

maceo4 wrote:I'm sure you saw Rohr's interview that Onuachu has to be the one to fit into Rohr's style, which makes zero sense. Rohr's game fits an Ighalo or Kelechi and is perfect for an Osimhen, if you are not going to change to a basketball team stop inviting Onuachu, jeeez! Ok make I relax small lol
Are you saying that if the defenders repeatedly hoof the ball upfield, he should not try to win headers?
Perhaps just push out his stomach like Musa and Kelechi, or jog around like the latter, until the ball is be played to his feet?
No he should, but it would be helpful if he actually wins the header and actually heads it towards one of his teammates, else its no different from letting the ball sail over your head to the keeper :mrgreen:

maceo4 wrote:No he should, but it would be helpful if he actually wins the header and actually heads it towards one of his teammates, else its no different from letting the ball sail over your head to the keeper :mrgreen:
He WON almost all the headers he contested...
Problem was that Iwobi, Samu and Kalu were ultra SOCIAL DISTANCING!

Our BEST team is now lacking technical talent??? So it is now that we LACK talent? Ok ooo
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Wanaj0, please told dem (according to Zebrudayia)

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

some people do not want to accept the obvious-- we have a very bad coach.

Yes, we do. We are, to use a league analogy, a mid-table side....like a Crystal Palace, Osasuna, Wolfsburg. To get where we fans want the team to be (apparently, the soccer Rohr wants the team to play), we need better "technical" talent. Ball control is key. What we have are average players in the ball control department....so when closed down, they just end up losing the ball. If they play teams that give them space, they will do well. But against higher-caliber teams - especially the prepared ones - they will struggle.

In my opinion, this is not a style that plays to our strengths. If we are to be successful, I say we go back to the 90s. Get a playmaker. A good one...allow the speedsters to make runs and find them with the ball. This soccer we are playing right now doesn't work for us.

Yes Osimhen and Ndidi would help. Those 2 are world class. But they will not solve this problem

Anytime I watch Nigeria play, the ball handling is always so bad, I almost want to switch off.