The making of sausage is never as sweet as the final product, what we saw today was an experimental team trying to find its strength during its first game. Its unreasonable to expect the SE to come out blazing vs a well drilled Afcon Champs like Algeria. Algeria scored through a lucky bounce of the ball, dominated the MF but huffed and puffed to create any clear cut chances.
POSITIVES
1, SANUSI-------- One of the best defensive efforts I've seen against Mahrez. This boly is a top notch LB. No wonder Porto snapped him up and sent Zelles packing. Excellent debut!
2, OKOYE ------------ We found a keeper here folks. Confident, prganises the defense well , good with,not a vampire and rather agile for his size. If he ever gets regular time in Holland Uzoho will be in trouble.
3, EBUEHI ‐------------ A joy to see him getting back to his best self even though he seems to be a step slower. More games should fix that.
NEGATIVES
1, THE WINGERS ------- We have too many so called wingers who are just not productive enough to be starting yet let alone together. Chukwueze and Kalu starting together should never happen again. They're too similar and offer very little attacking output, their lack of defensive disciplined laso,puts more pressure on the MF. Iwobi and Simon should move to the left wing, no more cul-de-sac sac wingers.
2, ONYEKA ----‐-- I felt sorry for him and Ajayi. They were simply overwhelmed in MF b u t had little in terms technical ability to do much but hustle. I'll give Onyeka a pass and take a raincheck on judging him until I see him in a more balanced team.
THE UNAPPRECIATED
ONUACHU --------- what was he supposed to do? He got absolutely no service whatsoever but won his aerial duels and flicked on a few balls. Was he suppose to run into lanes that weren't open to score imaginary goals? Players like him need a stable MF and wing play to flourish. Judging him harshly is tantamount to football ignorance.
CONCLUSION ‐-‐--------- it was just a friendly afteral. ROHR must be happy as he got to see a few new players perform and got reassurance about the ability of others that haven't played in a while.
Has to be stoked about Okoye and Sanusi and happy to see Ebuehi performing again.
The thing that annoys me about this argument esp when you bring Algeria into it, is they built the sausage in about half the time that Rohr has had. Remember how this exact same set of players was so poor and we whooped them home and outplayed them away what 2 years ago. They appoint the appropriate coach and 2 years later they are African champs playing us off the part, and we are still talking about how we need to give our coach even longer to build and how impatient we are. While Algeria is an example of getting rid of the coach that couldn't bring out the best from the talented players they had and appointed one who immediately did and they are on a 19 game winning streak. Abeg, make we just put that excuse to one side, the players we used today weren't good enough, but we are also not well coached and need to stop talking about giving the bobo more and more time to produce. We know what he can produce, he's been very consistent average, he can't take a mediocre set of players and get them to play above their level, in fact his tactics stifles the few useful ones we have.
You are right that "Rohr needs time" cannot be an excuse.
Also Algeria were missing or did not play just as many regulars, IF NOT MORE, than us. So its a poor argument.
Our guys did not look fit.
Chukwueze has been putting up subpar performances for a while and gets a pass because of his "superstar" status.
Rohr needs to be more cut throat, get rid of the chaffe (Onuachu, Musa, Iheanacho, Collins) and bench players who are not performing (Chukwueze, Kalu, )
Some of these players man, darn.
I'm not gonna freak yet, this is a team that has played very well of late (Ukraine, Brazil, Lesotho) so I will wait til Tunisia I expect a much better performance.
And I expect certain players to have played themselves out of contention after these 2 matches.