What is the latest on Umar Sadiq?

Looks like a solid backup to Osimhen. Is he injured? Why is he not in Rohr plans?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xNEP8cT9pXI[/video]

Re: What is the latest on Umar Sadiq?

I like how he hustles and sets up his team mates. Could be a solid depth player. We can play quicker in transition with him. Don't have to slow down the play with some one like Onauchu.

we gotta think outside the box sometimes.

I know Sadiq did himself no favours by going to Segunda, and many me say we should not look at him but we need a quality backup for Osimehn because Iheanacho and Onuachu are not it, and Dessers seems to be in bad form.

With Sadiq we have pace, height (Rohr loves) , skill and technique, the ability to score AND CREATE.

This is a player we need, not basketball players like Onuachu and Nwankwo, and not pot bellied bench warmers like Iheanacho.

Please we must give Sadiq a chance.

I think he is what SE needs as a backup to Osimehn.

Iheanacho is also a good solid depth player. I don't like Onauchu game. He doesn't fit into what I want for the Eagles.

I have not been following his career. So he is now with Almeria. Hopefully they are promoted to La Liga. Segunda is a good league. The quality is good.

Looks like a good prospect. He is still 23. Has not even hit his prime yet. Am I missing something here? Why is Rohr over looking this guy?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VXMGmBO5_Lk[/video]

ohenhen1 wrote:I have not been following his career. So he is now with Almeria. Hopefully they are promoted to La Liga. Segunda is a good league. The quality is good.

Looks like a good prospect. He is still 23. Has not even hit his prime yet. Am I missing something here? Why is Rohr over looking this guy?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VXMGmBO5_Lk[/video]
Same reason you overlooked him! You do not even know his club meaning you are yet to watch him this season :boo:

He was on the cusp of the national team, then he had that disastrous spell in Scotland with Rangers. That's what set him back in terms of a call-up.

But he was in brilliant form last season and is likely on the doorstep of a national team invitation once again.

Sadiq is not what we need right now. He is not good enough. He still has time to improve.

I will take Peter Olayinka ahead of Sadiq, Onuachu, Dessers and Kelechi.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Umar Sadiq is 23 and he is about reach his prime. Got to have long term thinking not short term thinking.

He should be brought into the National team. The SE need a progressive coach. If Rohr had his way Ighalo would still be the starter and Osimhen would be on the bench. We all remember how he was playing Ighalo at the nations cup and refused to play Osimhen. He even didn't want Ighalo to retire and tried to get him back.

Lolly wrote:Sadiq is not what we need right now. He is not good enough. He still has time to improve.

I bet if Olayinka was invited you'd call for Sadiq to Ben invited instead. On CE the striker not invited is always the best one.

ohenhen1 wrote:Umar Sadiq is 23 and he is about reach his prime. Got to have long term thinking not short term thinking.

He should be brought into the National team. The SE need a progressive coach. If Rohr had his way Ighalo would still be the starter and Osimhen would be on the bench. We all remember how he was playing Ighalo at the nations cup and refused to play Osimhen. He even didn't want Ighalo to retire and tried to get him back.
I was one who was against Ighalos return to SE, but make no mistake, I will take Ighalo over Onuachu or Iheanacho ANY DAY OF THE WEEK.

Osimehn is our undisputed #1 but after that until someone proves otherwise in GWG Ighalo is #2.

I want to see what Dessers, Sadiq, and Maja can bring to SE, but for now IMO Ighalo is #2.

Iheanacho and Onuachu need to step.

The SE is far from been a finished article. CE should not be advocating for the non invitation of any player. Onauchu certainly didn't play well yesterday. Musa still can't cross the ball well and etc. Call Sadiq up, lets see what he can do. If he is not good enough, find somebody else.

ohenhen1 wrote:Umar Sadiq is 23 and he is about reach his prime. Got to have long term thinking not short term thinking.

I was one who was against Ighalos return to SE, but make no mistake, I will take Ighalo over Onuachu or Iheanacho ANY DAY OF THE WEEK.

Osimehn is our undisputed #1 but after that until someone proves otherwise in GWG Ighalo is #2.

I want to see what Dessers, Sadiq, and Maja can bring to SE, but for now IMO Ighalo is #2.

Inviting Ighalo would be a waste of valuable caps. He is too old and he is not even playing for his club regularly. Iheancho should have moved to a different club on loan. Iheanacho is still a good player. He is just suffering from lack of playing time. Ighalo should stay retired. The Eagles should move forward and have a long term strategy. We need youth and we should continue to always add youth.

This should be a lesson to you and your ilk. You guys are always are always shouting that someone should be removed from the team. Ighalo was a productive goalscorer for us but a lot of folks only chose to focus on his negatives. Now that he's decided to leave the national team for you people una still dey shout.

Inviting Ighalo would be a waste of valuable caps. He is too old and he is not even playing for his club regularly. Iheancho should have moved to a different club on loan. Iheanacho is still a good player. He is just suffering from lack of playing time. Ighalo should stay retired. The Eagles should move forward and have a long term strategy. We need youth and we should continue to always add youth.
I agree that we should be finding replacements, but Onuachu is not it, he's had many chances and never taken them. Iheanacho wasn't dropped from the ANC squad for no reason, and he is yet to justify any return to the team, he needs to find a new club and work on his game and fitness, until then I dont want to see him.

I want to see Dessers, Sadiq, Maja. Rohr should forget about that basketball player and the pot bellied bench warmer and look at these guys.

Until any of those guys prove anything, if the WC was to start today, I will take only 2 out and out strikers and they will be Osimehn and Ighalo.

Lolly wrote:Sadiq is not what we need right now. He is not good enough. He still has time to improve.

So says the agent

No to Ighalo. He should stay retired. Makes no sense if we building a team for next world cup.

Enyi wrote:

So says the agent
Abi, at least Olayinka has gotten a chance under Rohr, why can’t Sadiq get one training session just to show if he can fit in. I think he’s done enough to at least get the chance to train with SE...

Enyi wrote:

So says the agent
Abi, at least Olayinka has gotten a chance under Rohr, why can’t Sadiq get one training session just to show if he can fit in. I think he’s done enough to at least get the chance to train with SE...

He's certainly did enough last season. We'll now have to observe his progress in Spain. Playing in the 2nd division doesn't help.

so what happened to Awoniyi?