https://m.guardian.ng/sport/super-eagles-camp-in-disarray-as

oluwaseye the 1st.
https://m.guardian.ng/sport/super-eagles-camp-in-disarray-as

Post by oluwaseye the 1st. »

Sport | Football
Super Eagles camp in disarray as players, coaches battle Rohr over ‘poor decisions’
By Editor | 16 November 2020 | 4:20 am
The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) is said to be trying to bring sanity to Super Eagles camp over ‘the bad blood’ generated by Friday’s 4-4 draw the Nigerian team recorded against Sierra Leone in an African Cup of Nations qualifier.

Nigeria led Sierra Leone by 4-0 at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium on Friday only for the Leone Stars to come back and force the Super Eagles to a 4-4 draw.

At the end of the game, many of the players and some back room staff blamed Rohr for the draw, accusing the German of ignoring their counsel in the game management.

An NFF top official, who pleaded anonymity, said the federation’s President, Amaju Pinnick, had to intervene when it looked like some players and coaches were trying to mutiny against Rohr over the way he is handling the team.

Advertisement

Relating to an incident during the match when Skipper Ahmed Musa had to confront Rohr for making ‘bad changes’ in the course of the game, the source said many of the senior players accused the German of not understanding the flow of the game and therefore could not make effective changes.

“The Sierra Leonean coach made three changes that turned the game on its head, while Rohr reduced the effectiveness of our team by some curious decisions.

“The worst part is that he did not seek any of his coaches’ opinion before making changes during the game. He only wrote some things on a paper and passed to our team secretary, Day Enebi, who then submitted names for substitutions.

“Rohr said some of the players were not mentally ripe for national team games, yet he keeps inviting these players.

“The way things stand, if the NFF president fail to bring sanity to the camp, we could witness worse performance in Freetown,” he said.

Advertisement

The source also said some of the senior players have started questioning Rohr’s competence, arguing the German has not been able to lift the team above the 2017 level.

“I have been confronted by some of these players with what they perceive as the poor coaching standard of the leader of the technical crew.

“After the 2-1 loss to Argentina at the World Cup in Russia, Rohr said he had learnt his lessons from that game. But he seems to have learnt nothing.

“Some of the senior players have now decided to play more active part in team selection and management during games since Rohr has shown a glaring lack of capacity to manage the team effectively.

“I am sure that if the late Amodu Shaibu or Stephen Keshi were in charge of the Super Eagles, no team, not even France or Brazil, can force Nigeria to a draw after trailing by 4-0. It is not possible.”
Truth needs no support system, it can stand firmly on its legs!!

COYS
Re: https://m.guardian.ng/sport/super-eagles-camp-in-disarra

we need to be done with this manager today, we don't need him vs Salone on tueday

oluwaseye the 1st. wrote:Sport | Football
Super Eagles camp in disarray as players, coaches battle Rohr over ‘poor decisions’
By Editor | 16 November 2020 | 4:20 am
The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) is said to be trying to bring sanity to Super Eagles camp over ‘the bad blood’ generated by Friday’s 4-4 draw the Nigerian team recorded against Sierra Leone in an African Cup of Nations qualifier.

Nigeria led Sierra Leone by 4-0 at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium on Friday only for the Leone Stars to come back and force the Super Eagles to a 4-4 draw.

At the end of the game, many of the players and some back room staff blamed Rohr for the draw, accusing the German of ignoring their counsel in the game management.

An NFF top official, who pleaded anonymity, said the federation’s President, Amaju Pinnick, had to intervene when it looked like some players and coaches were trying to mutiny against Rohr over the way he is handling the team.

Advertisement

Relating to an incident during the match when Skipper Ahmed Musa had to confront Rohr for making ‘bad changes’ in the course of the game, the source said many of the senior players accused the German of not understanding the flow of the game and therefore could not make effective changes.

“The Sierra Leonean coach made three changes that turned the game on its head, while Rohr reduced the effectiveness of our team by some curious decisions.

“The worst part is that he did not seek any of his coaches’ opinion before making changes during the game. He only wrote some things on a paper and passed to our team secretary, Day Enebi, who then submitted names for substitutions.

“Rohr said some of the players were not mentally ripe for national team games, yet he keeps inviting these players.

“The way things stand, if the NFF president fail to bring sanity to the camp, we could witness worse performance in Freetown,” he said.

Advertisement

The source also said some of the senior players have started questioning Rohr’s competence, arguing the German has not been able to lift the team above the 2017 level.

“I have been confronted by some of these players with what they perceive as the poor coaching standard of the leader of the technical crew.

“After the 2-1 loss to Argentina at the World Cup in Russia, Rohr said he had learnt his lessons from that game. But he seems to have learnt nothing.

“Some of the senior players have now decided to play more active part in team selection and management during games since Rohr has shown a glaring lack of capacity to manage the team effectively.

“I am sure that if the late Amodu Shaibu or Stephen Keshi were in charge of the Super Eagles, no team, not even France or Brazil, can force Nigeria to a draw after trailing by 4-0. It is not possible.”
I don't know if I believe everything this article is claiming but I am not surprised the team surrended the lead. Rohr doesn't have the heart or compassion for Nigeria. At the end of the day, it's just a job for him that gives him the avenue to collect enough money for retirement. That is quite clear.

this higbury is a funny dude, you were all over this forum waxing lyrically about the current manager. What are your excuses now?
Last edited by Bigpokey24 on Mon Nov 16, 2020 2:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

oluwaseye the 1st.

Post by oluwaseye the 1st. »

I wish my posts from 2018 can be brought out, i strongly advocated in 2018 after the World Cup to free the free the fraud, i hope we do that this month.
Truth needs no support system, it can stand firmly on its legs!!

COYS

...rumors, and rumors of strife abound.
I know Musa was pissed.
During the match, as the camera panned to the SE stand, Musa was seen gesturing angrily after one of the goals by the Leone Stars.

highbury wrote:I don't know if I believe everything this article is claiming but I am not surprised the team surrended the lead. Rohr doesn't have the heart or compassion for Nigeria. At the end of the day, it's just a job for him that gives him the avenue to collect enough money for retirement. That is quite clear.
My sauce says: Rohr is more invested in the Nigerian Project than some Nigerians and he doesn´t need the money.

mcal wrote:...rumors, and rumors of strife abound.
I know Musa was pissed.
During the match, as the camera panned to the SE stand, Musa was seen gesturing angrily after one of the goals by the Leone Stars.
You saw that as well?

I bin talk this one long long time ago, long time ago. People like Kogi and his mates verbally abused me. Sometimes people don't hear messages until it comes from their preferred source. In reality it might be too late by then. Rohr has either lost interest in the job due to meddling by other quarters or something else which I am not prepared to speculate over.

highbury wrote:I don't know if I believe everything this article is claiming but I am not surprised the team surrended the lead. Rohr doesn't have the heart or compassion for Nigeria. At the end of the day, it's just a job for him that gives him the avenue to collect enough money for retirement. That is quite clear.
My sauce says: Rohr is more invested in the Nigerian Project than some Nigerians and he doesn´t need the money.
I think Rohr should know by now Nigeria doesn’t do projects,Nigerians are ready for a new manager after every bad result!

Musa is angry with Rohrs decisions ?

Is he angry that he was called up and started, when fat and clubless ?

His anger should start there.

What a joke of an article. :laugh:

The most impactful decision was bringing on Ajayi straight into the defence. He should have moved Akpoguma to CD and played Ajayi on the right, at least until he blends into the game.

I think bringing in Awaziem on the right, moving Akpoguma to the center and taking out Aribo for Ajayi (in order to assist Etebo in the DM area, most especially in front of the centerbacks), would have steadied the midfield much better and been more impactful.
1naija wrote:The most impactful decision was bringing on Ajayi straight into the defence. He should have moved Akpoguma to CD and played Ajayi on the right, at least until he blends into the game.

Otitokoro wrote:I think bringing in Awaziem on the right, moving Akpoguma to the center and taking out Aribo for Ajayi (in order to assist Etebo in the DM area, most especially in front of the centerbacks), would have steadied the midfield much better and been more impactful.
1naija wrote:The most impactful decision was bringing on Ajayi straight into the defence. He should have moved Akpoguma to CD and played Ajayi on the right, at least until he blends into the game.
KPOM, either Aribo or Iwobi or both needed to come out.

Otitokoro wrote:I think bringing in Awaziem on the right, moving Akpoguma to the center and taking out Aribo for Ajayi (in order to assist Etebo in the DM area, most especially in front of the centerbacks), would have steadied the midfield much better and been more impactful.
They were very tired from mainly physical drills and 11 v 11 practice.

Yep, and worse is if you are going to overwork central midfielders then invite enough deg gone central midfield options...he wants to do what he did Etebo and Ndidi at the ANC barely giving them a rest I think Etebo played every single minute at that tourney. That's half the battle then after he's invited them, actually USE THEM. At the WC he picked a good number of midfielders, BUT he never made central midfield subs in 3 games, even when our midfield was facing a barrage in the Argentina game, so he defeated the purpose of taking all those midfielders in the first place.

Please check your headline..

Nah wah for all these guys with unidentified source for NFF official/SE player information :). All these outcry because of a one-off game that resulted into a draw :lol:. One thing I know for sure is that, Rohr should seriously watch his back now more than ever. Some officials were definitely added to the team to sow discord, mistrust, create divisions and strife. I cannot help but think that some paid folks in the media are making a mountain out of a molehill in an attempt to get rid of Rohr :boo: .

Below are the kind of reactions expected from the result in my own opinion, not all these nonsense.

Can we learn to sift through every information we come across?

mcal wrote:...rumors, and rumors of strife abound.
I know Musa was pissed.
meal,

I saw that. Musa got up from the bench and visibly expressed himself as the camera panned to him. I believe it was after that second goal when the goalkeeper inexplicably failed to come out for the ball while Ajayi was expecting him to. It allowed a Sierra Leone forward to score easily. IT was ridiculous goal to concede. In any case, while amateurish, things like that happen sometimes in games and I doubt that it can be attributed to the coach.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

I don't believe the reports. I do hope they were some frank/stern discussions between the players and the coaches following the game, which is what I would expect from a team with mature players and coaches.

joao wrote:Can we learn to sift through every information we come across?
Tell that to Mr oluwaseye the 1st :) .