RIP Maradona; Dead at 60.

Re: RIP Maradona; Dead at 60.

I wonder if it's drug related. Rip to legend.

Oh no....RIP, Legend.

RIP. I understand he was struggling with a brain issue that needed an operation

Incredible. Okosisi has fallen.
Chimurenga Rebel

Post by Chimurenga Rebel »

RIP to a Legend.
"Just call me the Chimurenga Man. A guerilla. Soldier of peace.Man of the people. I write love poems with the barrel of my gun. For Africa always." - Japheth Ncube

2020, chei

[Breaking news] Dem tok say Diego Maradona don die o!

Breaking ...

Apparently had a heart attack.

I saw him live at USA 94 against the Super Eagles. Little did we know that would be his last international game for Argentina.

His skills were out of this world. Indescribable. There was this Nigerian cross field pass pass he somehow read and plucked it out of thin air like a cat.

He also managed Argentina to beat us 1-0 in 2010.

RIP to a god of football.

RIP to a god of football. Very sad news!

Apparently had a heart attack.

I saw him live at USA 94 against the Super Eagles. Little did we know that would be his last international game for Argentina.

His skills were out of this world. Indescribable. There was this Nigerian cross field pass pass he somehow read and plucked it out of thin air like a cat.

He also managed Argentina to beat us 1-0 in 2010.

RIP to a god of football.

Re: [Breaking news] Dem tok say Diego Maradona don die o!

Scip, a little more respect in the title good man.
otite

Post by otite »

Diego, thank God for the gift that you were. May the Lord comfort your family and loved ones.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

RIP legend

RIP to one of the greatest of all time. Go well, Maradona. Rest with the football ancestors in the pantheon of soccer gods.

RIP Diego! So the brain surgery to remove the blood clot did not go well as they were saying!
Kuku Ngbendu Wa Za Banga
obrin2
Rest in Peace to the soccer legend "Maradona"

Post by obrin2 »

Argentina football legend Diego Maradona dies at 60
8:32 AM PT
ESPN
Facebook
Twitter
Facebook Messenger
Pinterest
Email

Diego Maradona. Ross Kinnaird/EMPICS via Getty Images
Argentina legend Diego Maradona has died at the age of 60 following a heart attack. Matias Morla, Maradona's longtime agent, confirmed the news to EFE on Wednesday.

A statement from the Argentina Football Association read: "The Argentine Football Association, through its President Claudio Tapia, expresses its deepest pain at the death of our legend, Diego Armando Maradona. You'll always be in our hearts."

Argentina President Alberto Fernandez also confirmed three days of national mourning following the news. Fernandez posted a photograph of himself on Twitter hugging Maradona with the message: "You took us to the highest place in the world. You made us immensely happy. You were the greatest of all. Thanks for existing, Diego. We are going to miss you the rest of our lives."

Retired Brazilian soccer star Pele mourned the death of Maradona in a brief statement provided to Reuters by a representative.

"Certainly, one day we'll kick a ball together in the sky above," he said.

Maradona had recently battled health issues and underwent emergency surgery for a subdural haematoma several weeks ago. He suffered a heart attack at his home in the outskirts of Buenos Aires on Wednesday, Argentinian media and acquaintances of the former player said.

Born in 1960, Maradona captained Argentina to World Cup 1986 glory as well as the final in 1990. At the height of his club career, at Napoli from 1984-91, he helped the club win its only two Italian league titles. There were also notable lows, when he was kicked out of the 1994 World Cup after being found guilty of doping.

Napoli said on Wednesday the death was a "devastating blow" for both the city and the club. "We are in mourning," club spokesman Nicola Lombardo said. "We feel like a boxer who has been knocked out. We are in shock."

Since ending his playing career in 1997, the ex-Napoli, Barcelona and Boca Juniors star battled a series of health issues. He was admitted to hospital in January 2019 with internal bleeding in the stomach. He also fell ill at the 2018 World Cup in Russia, where he was filmed passing out in an executive box at the Argentina-Nigeria game.

In 2004, he was hospitalised with severe heart and respiratory problems related to a long battle with drug addiction. He had undergone two gastric bypass operations to control his weight and received treatment for alcohol abuse.

Maradona is survived by his longtime partner, Veronica Ojeda, two daughters, two sons, four grandchildren, and his former wife, Claudia Villafane.

Information from Reuters and the Associated Press was used in this report.
https://www.espn.com/soccer/argentina-a ... dies-at-60
obrin2
Re: Rest in Peace to the soccer legend "Maradona"

Post by obrin2 »

2020 just claimed another one.

The GOAT has gone home.
May his soul R.I.P. and 9ja's hopes of beating Argentina rise....
LeonPhelps

Post by LeonPhelps »

Kobe now Maradona, we can't wait for 2020 to be over. That goal against Greece at the 1994 WC and England at the 1986 WC will always be remembered (not the hand of God).
"In Japan a corrupt person kills himself. In China, they kill him. In Europe and America they jail him. In Africa, he will present himself for election." - Prof. PLO Lumumba
Re: Rest in Peace to the soccer legend "Maradona"

RIP to the legend.
He surely made his mark.

RIP GOAT,the GOD of football.
Sad to hear he is no more.MARADONA 86,no player has ever dominate a world cup tournament.