Arrivedeci Paolo Rossi - RIP

What an incredible year- Rest in Peace great Champion

https://www.theguardian.com/football/20 ... inner-dies

Paolo Rossi, the star of Italy’s 1982 World Cup-winning team, has died at the age of 64.

The news was announced in the early hours of Thursday morning by Italian TV channel RAI Sport, for whom Rossi had been working as a pundit.

“A very sad news: Paolo Rossi left us,” RAI Sport presenter Enrico Varriale tweeted. “Unforgettable Pablito, who made us all fall in love in that summer of ‘82 and who has been a precious and competent workmate at RAI in recent years. RIP dear Paolo.”

Shortly after the news broke, Rossi’s wife, Cappelletti Federica, posted a photo of herself and her husband to her Instagram account along with the words “per sempre” – “forever”.

She did not disclose the cause of his death.
Re: Arrivedeci Paolo Rossi - RIP

Rip. Top scorer and best player at that 1982 tournament.

akamoke wrote:What an incredible year- Rest in Peace great Champion

Paolo Rossi, the star of Italy’s 1982 World Cup-winning team, has died at the age of 64.

The news was announced in the early hours of Thursday morning by Italian TV channel RAI Sport, for whom Rossi had been working as a pundit.

“A very sad news: Paolo Rossi left us,” RAI Sport presenter Enrico Varriale tweeted. “Unforgettable Pablito, who made us all fall in love in that summer of ‘82 and who has been a precious and competent workmate at RAI in recent years. RIP dear Paolo.”

Shortly after the news broke, Rossi’s wife, Cappelletti Federica, posted a photo of herself and her husband to her Instagram account along with the words “per sempre” – “forever”.

Maradona was suppose to be the star of 1982 but that title went to Paulo Rossi. The guy was just too much. He rose to the occasion when it matters.

Benedict Iroha wrote:Rip. Top scorer and best player at that 1982 tournament.

RIP. He was top scorer, but not best player.... 1982 was star studded.

I did not want to take anything away from what was meant to the be the eulogy of a man who just passed . But yes it is pushing it a bit too far calling him the best player of 82. In those days you need more than goals ó 1be reckoned with. He scored the goals but even in that Italian team, players like Tardelli, Bruno Conti had a big say. We don't even want to mention players from the best team that did not win the world Cup. Then you have France with Platini and Tigana, Germany with Rumenige, Breitner etc.

He was the star of the tournament no doubt but hardly the best player.

But a star and a legend he was, rest in peace Paulo.

I did not want to take anything away from what was meant to the be the eulogy of a man who just passed . But yes it is pushing it a bit too far calling him the best player of 82. In those days you need more than goals ó 1be reckoned with. He scored the goals but even in that Italian team, players like Tardelli, Bruno Conti had a big say. We don't even want to mention players from the best team that did not win the world Cup. Then you have France with Platini and Tigana, Germany with Rumenige, Breitner etc.

:thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

RIP. A goal poacher's goal poacher. He played when Italian soccer was Italian soccer.

Wait o! Didn't he win the golden ball in WC 82? I think he did.

Scipio Africanus wrote:

you are correct. He won both the boot and the ball. I think the ball winner had to come from the two finalists?

Scipio Africanus wrote:

Yes he won the golden ball in 1982 World Cup.

Wow.
Yet another.
What a year.
May he rest in peace ...

...he was an accidental hero at the 1982 world cup, scoring goals just like that.

RIP,he was top scorer and player of the tournament in 1982.
I hope guys remember he was in jail and ask the Italian government to free him and he will give them world cup.
RIP LEGEND

Scipio Africanus wrote:

you are correct. He won both the boot and the ball. I think the ball winner had to come from the two finalists?
Oga IMO anyone who could score 3 against that '82 Brazil team like he did deserved to win two Golden Balls sef.

He was the best player uncle,

I completely agree with this statement
Rossi may not have been a flashy player but he was the BEST PLAYER in that tournament
His contribution led to them winning the cup which is the ultimate of a tournament
I was actually one of few that was happy that Italy knocked out Brazil (I love underdogs) and I was impressed that this no name guy comes out of no where to knock out a star studded Brazillian team of that period. That takes some doing
Everything else is sentiments
I know it was like world war three when Brazil was knocked out but they brought it on themselves and of course Paolo Rossi, RIP was there to do the damage
He was indeed the best player of the tournament in terms of influencing the final outcome

There is a reason why there is an MVP award and is different from the highest goal scorer. Think about. If you tell me he won both, I will agree.

akamoke wrote:

I completely agree with this statement
Rossi may not have been a flashy player but he was the BEST PLAYER in that tournament
His contribution led to them winning the cup which is the ultimate of a tournament
I was actually one of few that was happy that Italy knocked out Brazil (I love underdogs) and I was impressed that this no name guy comes out of no where to knock out a star studded Brazillian team of that period. That takes some doing
Everything else is sentiments
I know it was like world war three when Brazil was knocked out but they brought it on themselves and of course Paolo Rossi, RIP was there to do the damage
He was indeed the best player of the tournament in terms of influencing the final outcome
I felt the same way and completely share your 'underdog' sentiments.

As a result, I have at various points in time had a strong dislike for Brazil, Germany, Liverpool, Man Utd and Barcelona.
I hate monopoly.

Funnily, once their respective eras were over and other teams began to dominate, I found them much easier to support.

So I am very happy for Liverpool at the moment and am even beginning to feel sorry for Man U.
I can also enjoy watching Brazil again. :thumb:

May his soul RIP.

Rossi and Diego seem to have planned to come to earth put on a show, then exit in the same year.

akamoke wrote:What an incredible year- Rest in Peace great Champion

Maradona was suppose to be the star of 1982 but that title went to Paulo Rossi. The guy was just too much. He rose to the occasion when it matters.
The refs ruined that world cup for Diego. Opponents kept fouling him with no calls. When he had enough and retaliated, they gave him a red.

It all worked out OK because he came back 4 years later and the rest was history.

Pele went through the a similar cycle, too.

Rossi also had the advantage that opponents didn't really "know" (read scout) him because he had been banned from football two years before the World Cup.

RIP Paolo.

The Argentina of Maradona, Ardiles and Kempes. The Brazil of Zico, Falcao and Socrates. The Poland of Boniek, Lato and Szarmach. The Germany of Rummenigge, Littbarski and Breitner. All very, very powerful teams that could have won that WC.

All put to the sword by Rossi's goals and inspiration. He was the best player of that WC and his Golden Ball was richly deserved.

RIP Paulo Rossi.

Kai. I remember 1982 WC very well like it was yesterday. I was rooting heavily very heavily for Brazil (then later France). Brazil was loaded and on fire destroying teams left and right culminating with the 3-1 flogging of Argentina (Diego red card) in the second round. Meanwhile, Italy barely squeezed through to the second round with 3 draws. They were grouped with Brazil and Argentina. After Brazil destroyed Argentina, I expected Italy to come and collect their own.... but Dino Zoff (gk) no gree and Rossi (RIP) woke up and banged in a hattrick. Italy won 3-2 and eliminated Brazil. Rossi proceeded to score in all the subsequent games en route to lifting the world cup and golden boot. But for me, notwithstanding many top players, the MVP of the 1982 world cup was Dino Zoff. However, the 1982 will always be remembered for Paulo Rossi's goals. Those were the days sha. RIP Rossi.