EAGLES: NFF Should Have Activated 'Keshi Protocol'

5 March, 2021
NFF SHOULD HAVE ACTIVATED ‘THE KESHI PROTOCOL’
https://booday10.com/2021/03/05/nff-sho ... protocol/
Many of the superstars of the Eagles may be absent for the two Nations Cup qualifiers
Early in February, CK Akonnor, coach of Ghana Black Stars named a 32-man squad made up entirely of players plying their trade in the Ghana Premier League. The assignment: to prosecute the last two qualifying games of the Africa Cup of Nations Championship. Ghana will face South Africa, then Sao Tome and Principe.

It’s not all cut and dried for Ghana yet, because the Black Stars are tied at the top of the qualification Group C table with South Africa on nine points. They still need to get a win against at least one of the teams, to ensure qualification; because Sudan, who are third in the group with six points has an ‘easy’ game against Sao Tome – the whipping boys of the group, before hosting South Africa in their last game.

The Bafana Bafana will want a win against Ghana to prevent broken hearts in their final game which will likely be a death-battle at Omdurman.

That is the reason a large section of the Ghana media were left wondering what C.K was up to, when the 32-man list was released. The players gathered in Accra February 15, and trained together for four days. They have since gathered again and added a further seven days training, before breaking camp to prepare for the League games coming up this weekend.

That decision to invite, work with, and integrate the home based players may turn out to be a master stroke, as clubs in the Premier League have started sabre-rattling, grumbling that they may stop their players from travelling for the qualifiers. And FIFA have opened a door for them to insist on their players staying put, ignoring the call to national team duty

Should the teams decide to do this, the Super Eagles of Nigeria may be the worst hit, as the players may decide to stay away from the two games, knowing that the usually belligerent Nigeria Football Federation will not be able to do anything about it.

This covid-induced headache will likely just exacerbate the issues that had been floating in the Nigerian media over the past few days, as the NFF flew the kite that the team may travel to Benin for their game against the Squirrels by boat. When news filtered back that some of the players were not comfortable with it, that arrangement became “not cast in stone”.

Now, the NFF may have to move quickly, if they are to avoid witnessing a mass boycott by the top players in the team, as the Premier League cracks down on travellers. Nigeria has been flagged a ‘red country’ which means the possibility of getting infected is high. What that translates to for any player who makes the trip, is a quarantine period of 10 days or more, when they return to their clubs. And the managers can’t afford that.

Translation: the chickens (may) have come home roost.

For years, there has been noise in the media that ‘The Keshi Protocol’ be adopted. The late Stephen Keshi put into practice the same thing Akunnor did: intermittent camping of home based players before the 2013 Africa Cup of Nations. And despite the difficulty in managing that situation, it paid off.

The odds are that we may not witness a wholesale boycott of these two games by all the regulars in the Super Eagles that we know. But the fact is that the team, as it is constructed now, is thin; when certain players are not available, they struggle. And the majority of these ‘certain players’ are in Premiership teams. We do not know yet if the rest of Europe will adopt the same stance, we can be sure that with the FIFA announcement, the odds are that Napoli will not allow Victor Osimhen travel, given the outcome of his last visit to Nigeria.

The argument in the recent past, which is tenable, has been that the pandemic which forced the Nigeria Professional Football League to shut down meant that the players would not be in shape to participate in the Super Eagles program. Now, the players have seen 13 weeks of action, and nothing has changed. (Akunnor assembled his home based team after Week 14)

Now we are here, hoping that the fear of Covid infection, plus the mandatory isolation after travelling, will not make Premier League clubs play the card dealt them by FIFA. But these could have been avoided, if only the NFF had activated the Keshi Protocol
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: EAGLES: NFF Should Have Activated 'Keshi Protocol'

I didnt read the article, but although Keshi (RIP) won the AFCON, he was not a very successful SE coach that the NFF should have adopted whatever protocol he had.

5 March, 2021
https://booday10.com/2021/03/05/nff-sho ... protocol/
Many of the superstars of the Eagles may be absent for the two Nations Cup qualifiers
Early in February, CK Akonnor, coach of Ghana Black Stars named a 32-man squad made up entirely of players plying their trade in the Ghana Premier League. The assignment: to prosecute the last two qualifying games of the Africa Cup of Nations Championship. Ghana will face South Africa, then Sao Tome and Principe.

It’s not all cut and dried for Ghana yet, because the Black Stars are tied at the top of the qualification Group C table with South Africa on nine points. They still need to get a win against at least one of the teams, to ensure qualification; because Sudan, who are third in the group with six points has an ‘easy’ game against Sao Tome – the whipping boys of the group, before hosting South Africa in their last game.

The Bafana Bafana will want a win against Ghana to prevent broken hearts in their final game which will likely be a death-battle at Omdurman.

That is the reason a large section of the Ghana media were left wondering what C.K was up to, when the 32-man list was released. The players gathered in Accra February 15, and trained together for four days. They have since gathered again and added a further seven days training, before breaking camp to prepare for the League games coming up this weekend.

That decision to invite, work with, and integrate the home based players may turn out to be a master stroke, as clubs in the Premier League have started sabre-rattling, grumbling that they may stop their players from travelling for the qualifiers. And FIFA have opened a door for them to insist on their players staying put, ignoring the call to national team duty

Should the teams decide to do this, the Super Eagles of Nigeria may be the worst hit, as the players may decide to stay away from the two games, knowing that the usually belligerent Nigeria Football Federation will not be able to do anything about it.

This covid-induced headache will likely just exacerbate the issues that had been floating in the Nigerian media over the past few days, as the NFF flew the kite that the team may travel to Benin for their game against the Squirrels by boat. When news filtered back that some of the players were not comfortable with it, that arrangement became “not cast in stone”.

Now, the NFF may have to move quickly, if they are to avoid witnessing a mass boycott by the top players in the team, as the Premier League cracks down on travellers. Nigeria has been flagged a ‘red country’ which means the possibility of getting infected is high. What that translates to for any player who makes the trip, is a quarantine period of 10 days or more, when they return to their clubs. And the managers can’t afford that.

Translation: the chickens (may) have come home roost.

For years, there has been noise in the media that ‘The Keshi Protocol’ be adopted. The late Stephen Keshi put into practice the same thing Akunnor did: intermittent camping of home based players before the 2013 Africa Cup of Nations. And despite the difficulty in managing that situation, it paid off.

The odds are that we may not witness a wholesale boycott of these two games by all the regulars in the Super Eagles that we know. But the fact is that the team, as it is constructed now, is thin; when certain players are not available, they struggle. And the majority of these ‘certain players’ are in Premiership teams. We do not know yet if the rest of Europe will adopt the same stance, we can be sure that with the FIFA announcement, the odds are that Napoli will not allow Victor Osimhen travel, given the outcome of his last visit to Nigeria.

The argument in the recent past, which is tenable, has been that the pandemic which forced the Nigeria Professional Football League to shut down meant that the players would not be in shape to participate in the Super Eagles program. Now, the players have seen 13 weeks of action, and nothing has changed. (Akunnor assembled his home based team after Week 14)

Now we are here, hoping that the fear of Covid infection, plus the mandatory isolation after travelling, will not make Premier League clubs play the card dealt them by FIFA. But these could have been avoided, if only the NFF had activated the Keshi Protocol
The highlighted is completely false. Nigeria is not among the 33 countries flagged by the UK on the red list. I know this because my wife is currently in Nigeria and is returning to the UK next week so i am closely following this.

Much ado about nothing, if you ask me.
I expect CAF to put in place similar actions as CONMEBOL just did....postpone the qualifiers in order to ensure their star players from Europe are able to partake in the games, due to the sabre rattling from Euro clubs. CAF (in conjunction with FIFA) can target a one week window in June (when most Euro leagues are over), whereby both remaining AFCON qualifiers can be played. Ditto that for the WC Qualifiers.
Don't see what all the fuss is about, to be honest.
5 March, 2021

1naija wrote:I didnt read the article, but although Keshi (RIP) won the AFCON, he was not a very successful SE coach that the NFF should have adopted whatever protocol he had.

Name a coach who achieved more than Keshi?

1naija wrote:I didnt read the article, but although Keshi (RIP) won the AFCON, he was not a very successful SE coach that the NFF should have adopted whatever protocol he had.

If you take away the AFCON, every SE coach except backstabber Onigbinde! If your main reason for thinking he was a successful SE coach is the AFCON, then you are agreeing with me.

My dear Pa 1naija, people talk nonsense hardly ever realize it. No one else agrees with you that Keshi was an unsuccessful SuperEagles coach 8-) ❗️

...to Nigerians and the NFA, "you made your bed now lie in it".

AFCON Qualifiers: PSG star leads Benin’s 23-man list for Nigeria clash
By Abdulquadir Adedapo - March 5, 2021

Ahead of this month make or mar 2022 AFCON qualifiers against the Super Eagles of Nigeria and the Leon Stars of Sierra Leone, Benin Republic Coach, Michel Dussuyer has named a strong list of 23-players for the encounter, AOIFootball.com reports.

Headlined by Paris Saint Germaine right-back, Colin Dagba, the list comprises of 3 goalkeepers, 8 defenders, 7 midfielders, and 5 strikers with Dagba expected to make his debut for the French-born player.

Aged 22 and born in Béthune, France, Dagba is a current France’s U21 international, earning his last cap for the age group in a 3-1 win over Switzerland in a U21 EURO qualifier in November 2020.

Former Aston Villa and Blackburn Rover’s goal poacher Rudy Gestede, Enyimba defender Nabyl Yarou and Alavés loanee Olivier Verdon are among the high profile names on the list.

Full list:
Goalkeepers:
Saturnin Allagbé (Dijon, France), Hariston Hessou (Bahir Dar, Ethiopia), Marcel Dandjinou (JDR Stars FC, South Africa)

Defenders: Khaled Adénon (US Avranches, France), Youssouf Assogba (Amiens SC, France), Cédric Hountondji (Clermont Foot, France), David Kiki (PFC Montana, Bulgaria), Olivier Verdon (Ludogorets Razgrad, Bulgaria), Emmanuel Imorou (évian, France), Nabyl Yarou (Enyimba, Nigeria), Collins Dagba (PSG, France)

Midfielders: Sessi d ‘Almeida (Valenciennes FC, France), Jérôme Bonou (Djoliba, Mali), Jordan Adéoti (Annecy FC, France), Rodrigue Cossi (Club Africain, Tunisia), Anaane Tidjani (Menemen Spor, Turkey), Cébio Soukou (Arminia Bielefeld, Germany), Jodel Dossou (Clermont Foot, France)

Forwards: Mickael Pote (Bandirmaspor, Turkey), Marcellin Koukpo (CR Belouizdad, Algeria), Jacques Bessan (Olympique Beja, Tunisia), Rudy Gestede (Melbourne, Australia), Steve Mounié ( Stade Brest 29, France).

https://aoifootball.com/2021/03/05/afco ... ria-clash/
Tactical

Post by Tactical »

Let's start with the achievement of missing afcon qualification.
Nations Cup qualifiers in trouble ?

Several European nations are putting travel restrictions on players leaving Europe, including mandatory quarantine periods.

UK based players must avoid "red listed countries" so the current rules there do not effect our matches, however apparently France and Italy are restricting players, so we may be without Osimehn, Moses Simon.

With many African players based in France, I wonder if CAF should just cancel the matches like Conembol has done.
Re: Nations Cup qualifiers in trouble ?

vancity eagle wrote:Several European nations are putting travel restrictions on players leaving Europe, including mandatory quarantine periods.

UK based players must avoid "red listed countries" so the current rules there do not effect our matches, however apparently France and Italy are restricting players, so we may be without Osimehn, Moses Simon.

With many African players based in France, I wonder if CAF should just cancel the matches like Conembol has done.
CAF should not cancel its competition because of Europe's dictates. Simply use available players but Africa should not be forced into fixture congestions by Europe. Countries that cannot raises teams, that will be their problem.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Ghana call up 17-year-old U20 Afcon star Issahaku and two others for South Africa qualifier
Prince Narkortu Teye
https://www.goal.com/en/news/ghana-call ... wkqrh361md
Last updated 17 hours ago
11:22 Mar 16, 2021

The Steadfast prodigy is in line to make his Black Stars debut against Bafana Bafana or against Sao Tome and Principe three days later
Under-20 Africa Cup of Nations star Abdul Fatawu Issahaku has been drafted into Ghana’s senior set-up for the upcoming Afcon 2021 qualifying matches against South Africa and Sao Tome and Principe.

Only turned 17 earlier this month, the attacker, who captained Ghana at the Wafu Zone B U17 Cup in Togo earlier this year, first caught attention at the U20 Afcon finals with an audacious goal from the half-way line to help the Black Satellites to a 4-0 opening day victory over Tanzania.
He went on to win the Best Player award at the end of the tournament. He currently plays for Steadfast FC in the Ghana second-tier league.

He has been summoned to the Black Stars, alongside Asante Kotoko goalkeeper Danlad Ibrahim and Dreams right-back Philemon Baffour.

“Black Stars head coach C.K Akonnor has handed call up to three players of the victorious Black Satellites squad,” the Ghana Football Association has announced on its official website.

“The trio, Ibrahim Danlad, a goalkeeper of Asante Kotoko who was adjudged the overall best goalkeeper of the Africa U20 Cup of Nations in Mauritania, Philemon Baffour of Dreams FC who plays at right back and Fatawu Issahaku, a player of Division One side Steadfast FC who was also adjudged the overall best player of the Nations cup.
“The three players will team up with the rest of the squad on Tuesday, March 16, to continue preparation for the two remaining Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers.
“Ghana will take on South Africa on Match 25 before hosting São Tomé and Principe four days later.
“The Black Stars sit at the top of Group C with 9 points and are in search of a ticket to the 2022 Africa Cup of Nations in Cameroon.”

A squad of 24 players, including China-based duo Mubarak Wakaso and Emmanuel Boateng, are already in camp preparing for the upcoming games.
Ghana are set to travel for a March 25 meeting with South Africa before returning to host Sao Tome and Principe three days later.
Currently top of qualifying Group C, Akonnor’s side will book a place at Cameroon 2021 with a win in at least one of the two games.
Ghana ha been employing the Keshi Strategy by camping home-basedlads hoping to mix them up with those arriving from oversea. Meanwhile, our coach has been sleeping waiting for the Covid to disappear and the foreign-based to rescue us. Lets just hope that we will not have many players that drop off the last minute. At that time quickly selecting homebred lads with little or no training together will spell D-O-O-M.

Ghana call up 17-year-old U20 Afcon star Issahaku and two others for South Africa qualifier
Prince Narkortu Teye
https://www.goal.com/en/news/ghana-call ... wkqrh361md
Last updated 17 hours ago
11:22 Mar 16, 2021

The Steadfast prodigy is in line to make his Black Stars debut against Bafana Bafana or against Sao Tome and Principe three days later
Under-20 Africa Cup of Nations star Abdul Fatawu Issahaku has been drafted into Ghana’s senior set-up for the upcoming Afcon 2021 qualifying matches against South Africa and Sao Tome and Principe.

Only turned 17 earlier this month, the attacker, who captained Ghana at the Wafu Zone B U17 Cup in Togo earlier this year, first caught attention at the U20 Afcon finals with an audacious goal from the half-way line to help the Black Satellites to a 4-0 opening day victory over Tanzania.
He went on to win the Best Player award at the end of the tournament. He currently plays for Steadfast FC in the Ghana second-tier league.

He has been summoned to the Black Stars, alongside Asante Kotoko goalkeeper Danlad Ibrahim and Dreams right-back Philemon Baffour.

“Black Stars head coach C.K Akonnor has handed call up to three players of the victorious Black Satellites squad,” the Ghana Football Association has announced on its official website.

“The trio, Ibrahim Danlad, a goalkeeper of Asante Kotoko who was adjudged the overall best goalkeeper of the Africa U20 Cup of Nations in Mauritania, Philemon Baffour of Dreams FC who plays at right back and Fatawu Issahaku, a player of Division One side Steadfast FC who was also adjudged the overall best player of the Nations cup.
“The three players will team up with the rest of the squad on Tuesday, March 16, to continue preparation for the two remaining Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers.
“Ghana will take on South Africa on Match 25 before hosting São Tomé and Principe four days later.
“The Black Stars sit at the top of Group C with 9 points and are in search of a ticket to the 2022 Africa Cup of Nations in Cameroon.”

A squad of 24 players, including China-based duo Mubarak Wakaso and Emmanuel Boateng, are already in camp preparing for the upcoming games.
Ghana are set to travel for a March 25 meeting with South Africa before returning to host Sao Tome and Principe three days later.
Currently top of qualifying Group C, Akonnor’s side will book a place at Cameroon 2021 with a win in at least one of the two games.
Ghana ha been employing the Keshi Strategy by camping home-basedlads hoping to mix them up with those arriving from oversea. Meanwhile, our coach has been sleeping waiting for the Covid to disappear and the foreign-based to rescue us. Lets just hope that we will not have many players that drop off the last minute. At that time quickly selecting homebred lads with little or no training together will spell D-O-O-M.
Ghana had no other option. They have to travel to South Africa which is a country in the category of "high risk of covid". For the UK, South Africa is on the Red List so there is compulsory hotel quarantine for 10 days for any passengers from there, no exceptions. The rest of Europe have similar restrictions against South Africa travellers, they are in the same category as South America. Thankfully we don't have that problem, unless the France based players e.g. Moses (Kalu is already out), but we shall see.
Re: Nations Cup qualifiers in trouble ?

vancity eagle wrote:Several European nations are putting travel restrictions on players leaving Europe, including mandatory quarantine periods.

CAF should not cancel its competition because of Europe's dictates. Simply use available players but Africa should not be forced into fixture congestions by Europe. Countries that cannot raises teams, that will be their problem.

Conembol cancelled their own qualifiers.

When teams lose half their players it destroys the credibility of the tournament.

CAF should cancel. There is plenty of time on the calender, CAF has much fewer WCQ matches than other continents who have been forced to postpone matches.

Moses Simon has been blocked by Nantes.

Here is what THINKING AHEAD produced:
AFRICA CUP OF NATIONS QUALIFICATION
Afcon 2021 qualifiers: Ghana name provisional squad for South Africa and Sao Tome and Principe showdown
Prince Narkortu Teye
Last updated Mar 02, 2021
07:13 Feb 13, 2021
https://www.goal.com/en-gh/news/afcon-2 ... 9movklwl2f

Coach CK Akonnor has summoned a group of home-based players to start preparations for the two matches
Ghana coach CK Akonnor has called up 32 players to begin camping for next month's 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying matches against South Africa and Sao Tome and Principe.
All members of the squad announced on the GFA official website ply their trade in Ghana.
The team will be augmented with foreign-based players ahead of the March 22 and 30 fixtures.

Ghana Premier League leaders Asante Kotoko contribute six players to the roster, the men including goalkeeper Razak Abalora and leading scorer Kwame Opoku.
Hearts of Oak's Mohammed Alhassan has also been invited as has Medeama's Justice Blay.
Three players from the lower tier have also been called up. They are Evans Etti (Accra Lions FC), Andy Kumi Francis (Unistar Academy) and Welbeck Takyi (Tano Bofoakwa).

According to Akonnor, the training camp is a contingency plan, considering the likelihood of foreign-based players - who largely make up the main team - being denied release by their clubs for the upcoming games on coronavirus-related grounds.
"This is not the first time a national team coach is inviting home-based players. For us, it has become necessary to do this because of the challenges we faced before the Ghana versus Sudan match when players were not able to come because of Covid-19 issues. coach Akonnor said, as reported by the GFA's official website.
"We made some late call ups but travelling restrictions and quarantine issues made things difficult for us. So, management and the technical team thought it wise to do this by inviting a chunk of home players to move to camp to prepare for the games.
"We believe that once the time gets closer, we will look at the foreign players who are doing well and without issues of COVID-19 to join the players. With all this at stake, we (myself and the rest of the technical team) have been able to go around to look into what is going on with our clubs and I must commend our coaches for a good job done.
"The players have done so well and we believe that those we have selected are the best in the country. Hopefully when the foreign guys are able to come and join them, we will have a solid team to play South Africa and Sao Tome."
Ghana are top of Group C ahead of the last round of group matches.

Full squad:
Goalkeepers: Joseph Addo (Aduana Stars), Razak Abalora (Asante Kotoko), Bawa Lord Martey (Elmina Sharks), Eric Ofori Antwi (Medeama SC)

Central Defenders: Haruna Jamal Deen (Great Olympics), Yussif Mubarik (Asante Kotoko), Ganiyu Ismail (Asante Kotoko), Konadu Yiadom (WAFA), Mohammed Alhassan (Hearts of Oak)

Full-backs: Amoako Kwadwo (AshantiGold SC), Christopher Nettey (Asante Kotoko), Ibrahim Moro (Asante Kotoko), Dennis Korsah Akoumah (Ebusua Dwarfs)

Defensive Midfielders: Justice Blay (Medeama SC), Rashid Nortey (Medeama SC), Salifu Moro (Bechem United), Gladson Awako (Great Olympics), Michael Otou (Great Olympics), George Asamoah (Ebusua Dwarfs), Ben Acquah (Ebusua Dwarfs)

Attacking Midfielders: Yaw Annor (AshantiGold SC), Salifu Ibrahim (Techiman Eleven Wonders), Maxwell Abbey (Great Olympics), Augustine Boakye (WAFA), Michael Agbekornu (Dreams FC)

Strikers: Kwame Pepprah (King Faisal), Diawusie Taylor (Karela United FC), Kwame Opoku (Asante Kotoko), Joseph Esso (Dreams FC), Evans Etti (Accra Lions FC), Andy Kumi Francis (Unistar Academy), Welbeck Takyi (Tano Bofoakwa)

Enugu II wrote:Here is what THINKING AHEAD produced:
AFRICA CUP OF NATIONS QUALIFICATION
Afcon 2021 qualifiers: Ghana name provisional squad for South Africa and Sao Tome and Principe showdown
Prince Narkortu Teye
Last updated Mar 02, 2021
07:13 Feb 13, 2021
https://www.goal.com/en-gh/news/afcon-2 ... 9movklwl2f

Coach CK Akonnor has summoned a group of home-based players to start preparations for the two matches
Ghana coach CK Akonnor has called up 32 players to begin camping for next month's 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying matches against South Africa and Sao Tome and Principe.
All members of the squad announced on the GFA official website ply their trade in Ghana.
The team will be augmented with foreign-based players ahead of the March 22 and 30 fixtures.

Ghana Premier League leaders Asante Kotoko contribute six players to the roster, the men including goalkeeper Razak Abalora and leading scorer Kwame Opoku.
Hearts of Oak's Mohammed Alhassan has also been invited as has Medeama's Justice Blay.
Three players from the lower tier have also been called up. They are Evans Etti (Accra Lions FC), Andy Kumi Francis (Unistar Academy) and Welbeck Takyi (Tano Bofoakwa).

According to Akonnor, the training camp is a contingency plan, considering the likelihood of foreign-based players - who largely make up the main team - being denied release by their clubs for the upcoming games on coronavirus-related grounds.
"This is not the first time a national team coach is inviting home-based players. For us, it has become necessary to do this because of the challenges we faced before the Ghana versus Sudan match when players were not able to come because of Covid-19 issues. coach Akonnor said, as reported by the GFA's official website.
"We made some late call ups but travelling restrictions and quarantine issues made things difficult for us. So, management and the technical team thought it wise to do this by inviting a chunk of home players to move to camp to prepare for the games.
"We believe that once the time gets closer, we will look at the foreign players who are doing well and without issues of COVID-19 to join the players. With all this at stake, we (myself and the rest of the technical team) have been able to go around to look into what is going on with our clubs and I must commend our coaches for a good job done.
"The players have done so well and we believe that those we have selected are the best in the country. Hopefully when the foreign guys are able to come and join them, we will have a solid team to play South Africa and Sao Tome."
Ghana are top of Group C ahead of the last round of group matches.

Full squad:
Goalkeepers: Joseph Addo (Aduana Stars), Razak Abalora (Asante Kotoko), Bawa Lord Martey (Elmina Sharks), Eric Ofori Antwi (Medeama SC)

Central Defenders: Haruna Jamal Deen (Great Olympics), Yussif Mubarik (Asante Kotoko), Ganiyu Ismail (Asante Kotoko), Konadu Yiadom (WAFA), Mohammed Alhassan (Hearts of Oak)

Full-backs: Amoako Kwadwo (AshantiGold SC), Christopher Nettey (Asante Kotoko), Ibrahim Moro (Asante Kotoko), Dennis Korsah Akoumah (Ebusua Dwarfs)

Defensive Midfielders: Justice Blay (Medeama SC), Rashid Nortey (Medeama SC), Salifu Moro (Bechem United), Gladson Awako (Great Olympics), Michael Otou (Great Olympics), George Asamoah (Ebusua Dwarfs), Ben Acquah (Ebusua Dwarfs)

Attacking Midfielders: Yaw Annor (AshantiGold SC), Salifu Ibrahim (Techiman Eleven Wonders), Maxwell Abbey (Great Olympics), Augustine Boakye (WAFA), Michael Agbekornu (Dreams FC)

Strikers: Kwame Pepprah (King Faisal), Diawusie Taylor (Karela United FC), Kwame Opoku (Asante Kotoko), Joseph Esso (Dreams FC), Evans Etti (Accra Lions FC), Andy Kumi Francis (Unistar Academy), Welbeck Takyi (Tano Bofoakwa)

I agree with this as a backup plan, and Rohr should have done something similar, but the situation with Ghana is a little different as they are playing in South AFrica which has a mandatory quarantine for UK based players.

So far it seems we will only be affected by withdrawls from France based players, which we only had 2 and one was already injured. Hopefully it stays like that.