[Euro 2020- Final] - Italia vincere (Champions!)

Re: [Euro 2020-The Grand Final] - Ingran 1 Italia 1

The best team of the tournament won!
I dont think anyone can question that! Italy was fantastic from day 1, and had to pass through the harder bracket to get to the final.

The deserved to win.

It was a wonderful, wonderful tournament, unlike the perennially boring Copa Americana.

Cito wrote: Sun Jul 11, 2021 10:59 pm The best team in the tourney won. It would not have been justified on the balance of play for this English team to win against the Italians.
:agree: :agree: :clap: :clap:

The inquisition will begin in earnest. Why didn't the players practice their penalty kicks?
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

joplass wrote: Sun Jul 11, 2021 10:56 pm Despite all the politics from UEFA, Italy got it. How the english team played all its games at home except one is beyond understanding.
Tournament hosts. :taunt:

Sorry Coach. It wasn't to be...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

How can you sit Rashford and Sancho only to bring them on for penalties? Sterling, Grealish and Stones are there.

“The end is nigh. Mussolini has dipped the quill in the pot of ink. Mi arrendo. I surrender.“

LMAO :rotf:
Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

Italian GK.
That is what you call a GK.
He saved a PK for the trophy and just calmly walked off as if nothing happened.
Even his team mates ran to him for congratulations, jumping up & down, but he remained calm; a mark of a confident GK.

“ Just like ‘45 when Benni begged
to join the Brits and Brave Allies
A true bottle job switching sides.
Today Giuseppe comes again
To bend the knee to Raz and Kane”

Hey Shakespeare how ya doin’?

txj wrote: Sun Jul 11, 2021 11:04 pm Sorry Coach. It wasn't to be...
Glass. Two ice cubes. Bottle. And the realisation that the wagers must be paid. Crikey.

“ The Old Lady will learn the meaning of menopause on Sunday.”

Coachie, you’re a bloody real time jinx!
And now my Lions are weeping … thanks

Why are these players taking the medals off?

Shakes head ..

Player of the tournament?

Has to be Federico Chiesa.
I would have chosen Spinazolla because he was out of this world, before he got hurt.
But Chiesa was incredible.

Bukayo take heart.
Make it count with Arsenal, son.

See Vialluca.

charlie wrote: Sun Jul 11, 2021 11:10 pm Player of the tournament?

I would have chosen Spinazolla because he was out of this world, before he got hurt.
Very dumb decision by Southgate to have a 19 year old with no record of been good at spot kicks take a PK in such high pressure situation, Saka had no business taking a penalty over the likes of Henderson, Grealish etc

Tobi17 wrote: Sun Jul 11, 2021 11:12 pm

Very dumb decision by Southgate to have a 19 year old with no record of been good at spot kicks take a PK in such high pressure situation, Saka had no business taking a penalty over the likes of Henderson, Grealish etc
Hindsight is 2020. Give the Italian goalkeeper credit for stopping those penalities abeg!
I hate England, but Southgate is a major reason they made it this far and almost won it.
bunda

Post by bunda »

yes !! thank God
enough of all the hubris
football is coming to Rome

charlie wrote: Sun Jul 11, 2021 11:14 pm

Hindsight is 2020. Give the Italian goalkeeper credit for stopping those penalities abeg!
I hate England, but Southgate is a major reason they made it this far and almost won it.

Chief he does have a point.
The fifth spot is usually reserved
for yer best PK taker.
Too much pressure on a young lad unfortunately …
Hope it doesn’t break him

Sleaky72 wrote: Sun Jul 11, 2021 11:08 pm “ The Old Lady will learn the meaning of menopause on Sunday.”

Nonsense. Game completely mismanaged by Southgate and the penalty takers were laughable.

charlie wrote: Sun Jul 11, 2021 11:14 pm

Agreed. Although I feel he should have dared more with his lineup. He had a lot of firepower on his bench. Kane for me needs to have his minutes reduced.

:clap:

Coach wrote: Sun Jul 11, 2021 11:16 pm
Sleaky72 wrote: Sun Jul 11, 2021 11:08 pm “ The Old Lady will learn the meaning of menopause on Sunday.”

Nonsense. Game completely mismanaged by Southgate and the penalty takers were laughable.

So was yer hubris my friend.
Till next time … don’t be a jinx :taunt: