THE QUALITY OF THE EPL

oluphemmie007
THE QUALITY OF THE EPL

Post by oluphemmie007 »

i never stop wondering why some of us never leave the past.
over time,the epl was believed to be just hype and noise.antagonist would claim the lack of dribbles and showboating as reasons for their conclusion.then,their lines of argument seemed infallible.that was then! recent development seemed to have proven that the epl has grown in stature to overshadow other leagues, or how would you explain the qualification of three epl teams for the semis of the ucl for two consecutive years.
is it that other leagues are loosing standard or the epl is improving?
Last edited by oluphemmie007 on Wed Apr 23, 2008 5:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Re: THE QUALITY OF THE ECL

oluphemmie007 wrote:i never stop wondering why some of us never leave the past.
over time,the ecl was believed to be just hype and noise.antagonist would claim the lack of dribbles and showboating as reasons for their conclusion.then,their lines of argument seemed infallible.that was then! recent development seemed to have proven that the ecl has grown in stature to overshadow other leagues, or how would you explain the qualification of three ecl teams for the semis of the ucl for two consecutive years.
is it that other leagues are loosing standard or the ecl is improving?
You mean EPL (English Premier League) and ECL (European Champions League) ???

oluphemmie007

Post by oluphemmie007 »

Ferguson praises Premier League quality

Written by: Soccerway

Sir Alex Ferguson

Manchester United's Sir Alex Ferguson believes the quality of the Premier League has improved with each year. Ferguson takes his vibrant Manchester United side to the Nou Camp, where they will face Barcelona in the Champions League semi-final first leg.

It could be an all-English final as well, with Liverpool and Chelsea contesting the other last-four tie. Acknowledging this is the second straight season three English teams have reached this stage of the competition, the United manager said:

"I think, first of all, the quality of the Premier League has improved each year."
oluphemmie007

Post by oluphemmie007 »

YemiBrazil wrote:
over time,the ecl was believed to be just hype and noise.antagonist would claim the lack of dribbles and showboating as reasons for their conclusion.then,their lines of argument seemed infallible.that was then! recent development seemed to have proven that the ecl has grown in stature to overshadow other leagues, or how would you explain the qualification of three ecl teams for the semis of the ucl for two consecutive years.
epl!
jus2nang

Post by jus2nang »

oluphemmie007 wrote:
YemiBrazil wrote:
epl!
It's actually the BPL, but who cares... :?

Watch them come in to tell us Italian league is better, Spanish league is better in 1, 2, 3,.....

seyiblack

Post by seyiblack »

Right now, i would definitely give it to the EPL. I watch most of the top leagues and i must the EPL is above the rest.
Support our boys regardless of coach, ethnicity of players and pure jealousy.

oluphemmie007 wrote:
YemiBrazil wrote:
epl!
UCL= UEFA Champions League
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
okidoki

Post by okidoki »

I have stated it many times, there are many ways in which the Epl is still behind The Calcio, and the Laliga, but only a fool will continue to delude themselves that Epl isn't the most powerful at the moment, they keep improving every year like Ferguson stated and the so called useless midtable teams like Everton and Villa are getting stronger than ever with the inflow of Foreign money.

It shouldn't come as shock if by next year, the Epl totally dominates both the ECL and the Uefa cup.
Skylolo

Post by Skylolo »

Source - Planetfootball

Barcelona's Xavi on Style

Xavi also gave former Arsenal star Thierry Henry as the perfect example of how world class talent can find it difficult to adapt to the rigours of life in the Spanish top flight.

"Fernando Torres is a better player over in England, with all the space he finds in front of him; here defences place themselves in their own box," he said,

"Thierry is like a horse that needs space to turn and he doesn't find it here. He has played better in away games, but in the Camp Nou he struggles.

"It is true the pace of the game between Liverpool and Arsenal was amazing, but the ball was lost or robbed every 30 seconds - that is not beautiful football.

"Football is played with the ball, it is about moving it from side to side to find spaces, to find yourself in superiority on the wing, to have little moments of magic.

"We can all be physical but not everybody can be tactically adept. That needs training and faith in that style. This way of playing has got much more merit."
To God be the glory
Fendy

Post by Fendy »

Skylolo wrote:Source - Planetfootball

Barcelona's Xavi on Style

Xavi also gave former Arsenal star Thierry Henry as the perfect example of how world class talent can find it difficult to adapt to the rigours of life in the Spanish top flight.

"Fernando Torres is a better player over in England, with all the space he finds in front of him; here defences place themselves in their own box," he said,

"Thierry is like a horse that needs space to turn and he doesn't find it here. He has played better in away games, but in the Camp Nou he struggles.

"It is true the pace of the game between Liverpool and Arsenal was amazing, but the ball was lost or robbed every 30 seconds - that is not beautiful football.

"Football is played with the ball, it is about moving it from side to side to find spaces, to find yourself in superiority on the wing, to have little moments of magic.

"We can all be physical but not everybody can be tactically adept. That needs training and faith in that style. This way of playing has got much more merit."
KPOM KPOM!!!!!
okidoki

Post by okidoki »

That articles is not only baseless but it doesn't support any facts on ground. To start with Comparing the fortunes of Henry to Torres is like comparing a 1985 Benz to a heavily customized BMW formular 1 car and now basing the best brands on that crude experiment.

Henry was sold for one reason and one reason alone, he was on the decline, he left a team he knows and has played for for years for a team that believes in the individuals ability. While his former team centered around him, in Barca he is just one of the boys(Meanwhile have you not heard that an old dog can't learne new tricks).
Meanwhile Torres has always been known to be a star to watch, which big team in the world didn't have people look at him, but we know his goal ration was average because he wasn't getting the kind of service in his very average Athletico team, many scouts knew their teams could offer to him.
fortunately Liver got his and you can see what Gerard and co have done for his fortunes.

Its not by Mistake Kanute, Folan, Mutu that have been termed failures at worse and average at best in the Epl have consistently been top goal scorers in the Liga and the Calcio, and goal rations of once top dogs in Calcio Sheva, Kalou of feyernod is there for you to judge.
There are more but will give out with time.

Don't let deluded statements made by egos deceive you, the Epl has so many foreigners now the issue of being tactical is not even in dispute anymore.
okidoki

Post by okidoki »

Wey Una?
nakson

Post by nakson »

okidoki wrote:That articles is not only baseless but it doesn't support any facts on ground. To start with Comparing the fortunes of Henry to Torres is like comparing a 1985 Benz to a heavily customized BMW formular 1 car and now basing the best brands on that crude experiment.

Henry was sold for one reason and one reason alone, he was on the decline, he left a team he knows and has played for for years for a team that believes in the individuals ability. While his former team centered around him, in Barca he is just one of the boys(Meanwhile have you not heard that an old dog can't learne new tricks).
Meanwhile Torres has always been known to be a star to watch, which big team in the world didn't have people look at him, but we know his goal ration was average because he wasn't getting the kind of service in his very average Athletico team, many scouts knew their teams could offer to him.
fortunately Liver got his and you can see what Gerard and co have done for his fortunes.

Its not by Mistake Kanute, Folan, Mutu that have been termed failures at worse and average at best in the Epl have consistently been top goal scorers in the Liga and the Calcio, and goal rations of once top dogs in Calcio Sheva, Kalou of feyernod is there for you to judge.

Don't let deluded statements made by egos deceive you, the Epl has so many foreigners now the issue of being tactical is not even in dispute anymore.
assuming arsenal had Henry this season. do u think they would have won the premiership?
If a monkey is amongst dogs, why won't it start barking?

Nobody mourns an unnoticed death.

If a donkey kicks you and you kick back, you are both donkeys.

He who eats well speaks well or it is a question of insanity.

A tiger does not have to proclaim its tigri-tude.

When man pikin dey piss, him dey hold something for hand. Woman wey try-am, go piss for her hand.

nakson wrote:
okidoki wrote:That articles is not only baseless but it doesn't support any facts on ground. To start with Comparing the fortunes of Henry to Torres is like comparing a 1985 Benz to a heavily customized BMW formular 1 car and now basing the best brands on that crude experiment.

assuming arsenal had Henry this season. do u think they would have won the premiership?
Yes.
IF they did not rely on him as they had done in the past. Henry was the oga on that side and everything flowed through him.

kofi86

Post by kofi86 »

I don't understand why you people always look at some good players who flopped in another country. This has nothing to do with the strenght of the league, but with the style of football being played in that league (and sometimes psychological reasons).

It's like saying the turkish league is superior to the EPL since Anelka managed to score 14 goals in two years in Istanbul but easily scores double digits in England.
But the truth is that Anelka was an enfant terrible and has matured, so the stats alone don't say anything about the strengh of the turkish or english league.

And there are many other examples like this like Owen Hargreaves who was not even a regular starter for Bayern or Santa Cruz who never scored more than 5 goals a season.
But no one in his right mind would look at these players (well there are many more like Berbatov and the Arsenal players) and would come the conclusion that the Bundesliga is better than the EPL.

At the end of the day it all how a player faires in a league has nothing to do with how good the league is, but if the style of football in that league suits him.