How to use Kanu

I'm REALLY nervous about this Kanu midfield nonsense, not because people on this forum are saying it, but because the man himself seems to be believing it. the arguement goes something like this:

Kanu is not too fast so he should play in midfield
Kanu is more of a creator, so he should play in midfield
Kanu holds the ball up well, so he should play in midfield.

All I have to say to all this is: "Omeyk, stop sharing your drugs with other members of the forum"!

All of the above reasons are exactly why Kanu should play as our most advanced striker. Kanu's strenght and nice touches in the box are ideal for a forward who has a fast withdrawn forward running beyound him when the ball comes in. A really good example is the way Newcastle now use Alan Shearer, since he lost his speed. Kanu will never put as many balls away as Shearer, but what Shearer has had to do is hold the ball up while the likes of Dyer and Bellamy run into holes left by over-zealous defences.

Kanu holds as well as Shearer and sees the game much better. He is certainly more competent with his back to goal and has the skill to vary it - his feints and first touch mean he can mix up spinning the defender, laying the ball off, splitting the defence or (and this is Shearer's only plus over him), go for goal.

Wenger did this last season to great effect when Kanu seemed to be scoring at will for a number of games. Yet, Kanu himself seems unwilling to do, more interesting in "dropping deep" (sounds like a porn flick) with the net result that his strike partners are often isolated. At Arsenal, with Pires on form, that is alright, but for Nigeria, I'm not sure we have that balance yet.

A simpler line up then, assuming as we do that CCC will play 442 is for Jag and Kanu to swap their partnership with Kanu more advanced and Jag's speed and fantastic eye for a hole in the defence (remember his goal against Ireland).
omonaija

Post by omonaija »

.......make them put am as a supporting striker, performs well as a supporting striker. We all know that as a striker he his a flop.
To God be the glory....New Year 2024! Seek him first and all other things shall be added!Thus saith the Lord!
Pemba

Post by Pemba »

How to use Kanu? Put him on the sidelines in his dapper london wear and let him be our official cheerleader.

Kanu can not play as striker or midfielder. Striker he can't even strike. Midfield he is so slow, defenders can have a cup of tea before he advances 10 yards.
Ziontrain

Post by Ziontrain »

Waka-man has it exactly right: Kanu should be the target man. The hell with that "dropping deep". We have Okocha there distributing in midfield already.

In the box is where he scores, thats when he's most dangerous - in or near the box - that penalty he creates vs Sengal at ANC '02 was no coincidence: when Kanu imposes himself in the box, he is a terror to defenses. Problem is that he seems to have spent too much of his childhood wanting to be Roberto Baggio or something else that he isn't!

But Kanu + JAG both active in the box will be too much for any defense
"Jose Mourinho favoured directness and used to throw Robert Huth or John Terry up front when Chelsea were chasing the game, a ploy associated with the industrial era of English football management."
- The Guardian UK, November 26, 2007
Jmal

Post by Jmal »

Well said waka-man Kanu will score this ANC MYBE 5 GOALS OR EVAN 6...jUST WATCH OUT FOR KANU. HE MY EVAN BE THE CREATOR.
FOR MOST OF THE SUPEREAGLES GOALS I BLEAVE KANU CAN BE VERY DEADLY THIS UPCOMING ANC....WITH HIS FORM.. JUST EXCELLENT. kANUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU....

Waka man, I see your point and Arsenal have tried it many a time but it has never worked. Also, if you are going to play Jay Jay in the team it will not work. Papillo has never had the greatest workrate so it will be folly to play him as well as Jay Jay in the same team. Note, Arsene never plays Pires and Kanu in the same team, when Papillo plays, Pires is out and we have Llungberg and Parlour to do his running. Note yesterday, Arsene had the runners for Papillo including Henry who did more defensive running than Papillo. As a Manager you must make the best use of your players talents.

Papillo is a half striker and not a number 9, he hates playing as the target man even though he has all the attributes apart from heading the ball. I wish you have been to Highbury to see him play the target man role, it means Pat Rice (Arsene Assistant) has a busy day shouting at Papillo to stick to his position to keep the shape of the team. Papillo's instinct is to drop deep when he cannot get space rather than to battle it out with defenders physically.

Forget the Target man SE role for Papillo.
Guv007

Post by Guv007 »

l beg since they have got Kanu in the squad, he can come of the bench at 80 mins.
Red Dwarf - Legion

Rimmer: Step up to Red Alert
Kryten: Sir, are you absolutely sure? It does mean changing the bulb.
Rimmer: There's always some excuse, isn't there?

Waffiman wrote:Waka man, I see your point and Arsenal have tried it many a time but it has never worked. Also, if you are going to play Jay Jay in the team it will not work. Papillo has never had the greatest workrate so it will be folly to play him as well as Jay Jay in the same team. Note, Arsene never plays Pires and Kanu in the same team, when Papillo plays, Pires is out and we have Llungberg and Parlour to do his running. Note yesterday, Arsene had the runners for Papillo including Henry who did more defensive running than Papillo. As a Manager you must make the best use of your players talents.

Papillo is a half striker and not a number 9, he hates playing as the target man even though he has all the attributes apart from heading the ball. I wish you have been to Highbury to see him play the target man role, it means Pat Rice (Arsene Assistant) has a busy day shouting at Papillo to stick to his position to keep the shape of the team. Papillo's instinct is to drop deep when he cannot get space rather than to battle it out with defenders physically.

Forget the Target man SE role for Papillo.
Waffi, the main game wehere Kanu failed at this role was the Liverpool game where Jeffers got your lot a penalty. I do remember Pat Rice screaming blue murder. But it was not about him not succeeding having tried, it was just he wasn't even playing the role! Earlier in the season, particularly at Ayo's Leeds, he did play that role and he was top class.

As for workrate, I think you mean running, and I think that is EXACTLY why he should just be told to push up against the centre backs. Let a fast striker run those channels. I know most teams have the point man running channels, but again, watch Newcastle and even Chelsea (with Mutu) and you'll get what I mean. The workrate comes from the support striker.

I do agree though, JayJay would have to work his socks off, but that was always gonna be the case, otherwise, he might as well be the support striker for a mobile target man.

waka-man no be the drugs u been take when u declared Chelsea the best team in Europe?Get your okra brain outta here.Kanu should be used 15 mins to the end of a game because if he starts fro Nigeria with Okocha its over for us.

omey2k4 wrote:waka-man no be the drugs u been take when u declared Chelsea the best team in Europe?Get your okra brain outta here.Kanu should be used 15 mins to the end of a game because if he starts fro Nigeria with Okocha its over for us.
Yes O, Ome. But I have stopped taking them from you and I am advising the rest of the forum to do the same! :lol: :lol:

Nna i no blame U men.fter all that thrashing Chelsea recieved u had to run for ya dear life.There is nothing wrong with being a might coward waka-man.U make cowards proud of U waka-man :lol: :P .I think Kanu should retire after this ANC because he has been the greatest flop in 2 ANC's consecutively

Small boy. You were probably still in juvenille camp in 2000 when Kanu created more than 50% of all our goals. If you behave well between now and ANC, your foster mother might allow you more than 30 minutes of TV time, so you can see Kanu do his magic.
Talk IT

Post by Talk IT »

Strikers score goals and kanu don't simple.
There is no other criteria to use for judging strikers apart from scoring goals. Kanu's record speak for itself in that regard. Kanu has only scored above twenty goals a season once in more than ten years career (please correct me if am wrong). He has gone to two world cups as a striker and scored zero goals. Also been to two Nations Cup with zero goals registered. You cannot say he hasn't been given a chance. Why do we insist on such mediocrity yet when we lose we blame the coach or the nfa.
If there were no God, I would not be alive.
And if God is not good, I would have been dead.

waka-man i watched every game and Kanu is a mighty digrace!A foward that played all games and scored 0 goals.12 games and no goals plus missing an empty net against Ghana?The guy should retire!

Ziontrain

Post by Ziontrain »

MYTH # 1: Kanu is Not a Striker
All of you who claim Kanu is not a target man and he's not a striker: where were you the season he scored 18 goals or whatever for Arsenal? What was he doing? You think he scored those goals strolling "dropping deep in midfield"? Fellas, even in the penalty box this guy refuses to release a shot from less than 6 yards, let alone to be shooting from outside the box.

Fact is that Kanu scored those goals when he spent the most time in the box and in the opponents danger zone: that triangle stretching from the "D' above the penalty area to both corner flags. Kanu is a striker - that's where he has been the most dangerous - both at Ajax at Arsenal and at SE. You want this guy as close to the goal as possible. He is a playmaker indeed, but to borrow a basketball term he is a "point-forward" type not a "point guard type". He makes the plays from aposession role near the goal, where he can destroy you with a skill mismatch over defenders or a pass - his choice.

MYTH # 2: Kanu Has No Speed / Work Rate
First of all this guy cn run. When he choses to put on a burstof speed he eats up ground FAST, whether its short burst or long range. IMO he is faster than Viera, who has never been claimed to be a slouch. If you dont believe ask that Sengal defender who he suddenly toasted to create the penalty situation: long legs are very deceiving when it comes to speed.

The problem is that he's lazy and he prefers to stroll through a game. Thats up to the coach to sort him out and make it clear where his bread is buttered. I'll tell you this much: Kanu's work rate rate is up big time this season and last. Its no coincidence that it has come when Wenger makes it clear that he doesn't feel obligated to play Kanu.

I don't care what tha hell the guys wants, play him up front and make it clear that his only playing time will come when he plays striker and is mobile - its no coincidence that every time he is hungry it is because Wenger has starved him on the bench and then when he drops him a bone its a role up front in the box.

MYTH # 3: We Must Find a Way to Accomodate Both Kanu and Okocha in the Starting 11
IF SE had coaches that could play this guy properly and keep him in line mentally, he'd be a lethal weapon. But otherwise, playing him deeper and letting him stroll is like a self-handicap: you're now starting off on a 90 min journey laying 10 vs 11. Why on earth would any sane coach do that to yourself? You cannot win games unless everybody is present for 90 mins with workrate.

We need to quit this nonsense of induging Kanu's "strolling playmaker" fantasy. In fact, thats what killing SE the last few - too many strollers. I was going nuts watching WC in Japan and seeing Okocha with the ball, begging for people to make off-the ball cuts and nobody having the gumption nor passion to run to space and open up the defense. Same on defense - save for JAG, Udeze and Yobo.

For Kanu, the SE policy should be: "play up front, be all-action or sit ya #$% on the bench".
Last edited by Ziontrain on Tue Jan 06, 2004 12:49 am, edited 2 times in total.
RudeBoy

Post by RudeBoy »

Either Kanu plays up front or he warms the bench! Tht'a the best way to play him!

All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing - Edmund Burke (1729 – 1797)

Among a people generally corrupt liberty cannot long exist - Edmund Burke (1729 – 1797)
Talk IT

Post by Talk IT »

But we have tried playing him up front in four tournaments but he didn't score. Shall we continue to try? Though CC is a kanu shriner i reckon he will know better. So because someone scored 18 goals four years ago he still deserve to have a starting place tomorrow? :lol:
Ziontrain wrote:MYTH # 1: Kanu is Not a Striker
All of you who claim Kanu is not a target man and he's not a striker: where were you the season he scored 18 goals or whatever for Arsenal? What position was he playing? You think he scored those goals strolling "dropping deep in midfield"? The guy will not relese a shot from less than 10 yards, let alone to shoot from outside the box.

Kanu is a striker - that's where he has been the most dangerous - both at Ajax at Arsenal and at SE. You want this guy as close to the goal as possible. He is a playmaker indeed, but to borrow a basketball term he is a "point-forward" type not a "point guard type". He makes the playes from deep in opponents hal where he can destroy you with a skill mismatch or a pass - his choice.

I don't care what tha hell he wants, play him up front and make it clear that his only playing time will come when he plays striker and is mobile - its no coincidence that evertime he is hungry it is because Wenger has starved him on the bench and then when he drops him a bone he played him up front.

MYTH # 2: Kanu Has No Speed / Work Rate
First of all this guy cn run. When he choses to put on a burstof speed he eats up ground FAST, whether its short burst or long range. IMO he is faster than Viera, who has never been claimed to be a slouch. If you dont believe ask that Sengal defender who he suddenly toasted to create the penalty situation: long legs are very deceiving when it comes to speed.

The problem is that he's lazy and he prefers to stroll through a game. Thats up to the coach to sort him out and make it clear where his bread is buttered. I'll tell you this much: Kanu's work rate rate is up big time this season and last. Its no coincidence that it has come when Wenger makes it clear that he doesn't feel obligated to play Kanu.

{u]MYTH # 3: We Must Find a Way to Accomodate Both Kanu and Okocha in the Starting 11 [/u]
IF SE had coaches that could play this guy properly and keep him in line mentally, he'd be a lethal weapon. But otherwise, playing him deeper and letting him stroll is like a self-handicap: you're now starting off on a 90 min journey laying 10 vs 11. Why on earth would any sane coach do that to yourself? You cannot win games unless everybody is present for 90 mins with workrate.

We need to quit this nonsense of induging Kanu's "strolling playmaker" fantasy. In fact, thats what killing SE the last few - too many strollers. I was going nuts watching WC in Japan and seeing Okocha with the ball, begging for people to make off-the ball cuts and nobody having the gumption nor passion to run to space and open up the defense. Same on defense - save for JAG, Udeze and Yobo.

For Kanu, the SE policy should be: "play up front, be all-action or sit ya #$% on the bench".
Blakes

Post by Blakes »

ok i had to reply this post.In my opinion, Kanu should be used as nothing more than a bench warmer who enters the game with a maximum of 20 minutes left. kanu is not a playmaker, mieldfeilder or striker.He is to weak to defend and to slow to attack. If only we could use him as an "off the bench" player. he can pass a through ball from the side lines and sit back down on the bench....
Climb the ladder to succes, escalator style
-Biggie

Ziontrain and Rudeboy, you guys have obviously done the biz on the green grass for real, not all these match-report football fans on this site. Its all this DM/Playmaker/withdrawn striker lingo that everyone has adopted that is disturing our guys.

Kanu is best in the box and Chukwu should do everything possible to get him to spend as much time as poosible there.

I hope Chukwu knows the deal.
Talk IT

Post by Talk IT »

You couldn't keep it in anymore, did you? :D
Welcome to the forum. I say if Jay Jay is having a bad game, take him out and bring in kanu. Personally i believe kanu can be a good replacement for Jay Jay because Kanu is less wasteful. Apart from that scenario, he should be starting from the bench. What do you think about that?
Blakes wrote:ok i had to reply this post.In my opinion, Kanu should be used as nothing more than a bench warmer who enters the game with a maximum of 20 minutes left. kanu is not a playmaker, mieldfeilder or striker.He is to weak to defend and to slow to attack. If only we could use him as an "off the bench" player. he can pass a through ball from the side lines and sit back down on the bench....

TalkIT, you don come!
You think Kanu can defend like JayJay? You think Kanu will be winning balls in his half. I often wonder if our guys have seen JayJay actually play in the past 3 years. JayJay spends more time in his half than in the opponent's which explains why he is often so free to drop thunderbolts - no one is ever picking him up. I think we mistake the fact that they are both full of tricks with a notion that they are inter-changeable.

They aren't.

Kanu has been a disappointment for a few years now, but I can still remember 5 or 6 games where he has been outstanding. And its always as a striker, not as a deep lying striker or as a shallow lying midfielder. At Ajax, at Inter and at Arsenal, his trully great games have been as a striker.
RudeBoy

Post by RudeBoy »

Blakes you wicked o! :lol:

Waka no mind dese yeye analysts! Dem tink say na table soccer with coke and fanta bottle tops!

All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing - Edmund Burke (1729 – 1797)

Among a people generally corrupt liberty cannot long exist - Edmund Burke (1729 – 1797)
PMZOkocha

Post by PMZOkocha »

Everyone needs to stop all the screaming about Kanu. Look it's a fact that the man has talent like no other and therfore capable of turning the game around in one brilliant second. But, Kanu does not even believe in himself anymore so why should we count so much on him? I have never seen where a bundle of talent like Kanu is satified with sitting on the bench and even not getting dressed on numerous occasions. I think he should be left out, or benched (something he is very used to by now) until he finally decides to come out of his shell. We shouldn't really be using a player that is not playing regularly for his team e.g an Arsene Wenger brain washed KANU! So please stop the noise about him.