has used Oruma and Okocha on the pitch at the same
time? Oruma has been around since 1994 or so. In that
time he has accumulated only 15 caps.
Oruma has been playing well at Sochaux. If he keeps
his statements positive, he has a stronger chance of
being invited to camp.
- theYemster
Deanotito/EII, keep spinning whatever yarn you want...you are both talking about Oruma making the final team or even starting...I am talking about deserving a callup to camp to at least contest a shirt.
There is no way you can justify a callup to camp (and eventual selection) of clubless players and China based players over a player who is playing at the top of his game in the French league actively helping his club to contest the French title. Whether it is the coach's perrogative or not, UNLESS there is a non-footballing reason. Like you said (and which I agree with), Chukwu has the right to choose his players but that doens't mean he is always right.
The whole issue is water under the bridge but don't try and justify it.
There is no way you can justify a callup to camp (and eventual selection) of clubless players and China based players over a player who is playing at the top of his game in the French league actively helping his club to contest the French title. Whether it is the coach's perrogative or not, UNLESS there is a non-footballing reason. Like you said (and which I agree with), Chukwu has the right to choose his players but that doens't mean he is always right.
© ɹ ǝ ʇ s ɯ é ʎ ǝ ɥ ʇ" ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
TheYemster:theYemster wrote:Deanotito/EII, keep spinning whatever yarn you want...you are both talking about Oruma making the final team or even starting...I am talking about deserving a callup to camp to at least contest a shirt.
I have justified that already. However, you are entitled to your opinion. What other justification do you need besides the fact that those same clubless and lower division players had already been in the coach's plans for several games before the camp? Oruma was not! The coach then called up a few guys for the very first time and it just happened that Oruma was not one of them. In fact, if you ask me my beef with CCC is "why even call up any new guy?". He already had guys tested and did not need several of those new folks (including Oruma) going into a tournament. My take is you need new guys going into friendlies but not tournament. Of course, you can make exceptions for the exceptional new guy in a few positions where there are glaring needs. Oruma does not play in any such position.
There was no chance of him going to Faro because the Faro camp was beyond the FIFA remit for call ups for major tournament.Enugu II wrote:mystic wrote:The bottom line is that Oruma should have been on the Eagles shortlist for Tunisia and I agree with him that Christian Chukwu's rationale for leaving him out of his plans doesn't hold water.
Mystic:
I disagree with that. IMO, a coach has a list of cre players who are cinch to make the squad. Oruma was not one of those. Yes, he has been having a great season but the reality is that he could only make a claim for a call up to Faro but was not a sure thing for Tunis. In such occasion, I defer to the coaches. Even a Faro call up was iffy. I say that because most of those called up save for a few (Melkam, Muyiwa, Obafemi, Agali, Babayaro) were already tested on previous occasions by the coaching crew.
If Oruma was clubless or not needed by his club, yes, Faro was an option. However, he is an important player,who is having a fine season. My view is we should try to give form players a shout for call ups.
Waffiman wrote:There was no chance of him going to Faro because the Faro camp was beyond the FIFA remit for call ups for major tournament.Enugu II wrote:mystic wrote:The bottom line is that Oruma should have been on the Eagles shortlist for Tunisia and I agree with him that Christian Chukwu's rationale for leaving him out of his plans doesn't hold water.
Mystic:
I disagree with that. IMO, a coach has a list of cre players who are cinch to make the squad. Oruma was not one of those. Yes, he has been having a great season but the reality is that he could only make a claim for a call up to Faro but was not a sure thing for Tunis. In such occasion, I defer to the coaches. Even a Faro call up was iffy. I say that because most of those called up save for a few (Melkam, Muyiwa, Obafemi, Agali, Babayaro) were already tested on previous occasions by the coaching crew.
If Oruma was clubless or not needed by his club, yes, Faro was an option. However, he is an important player,who is having a fine season. My view is we should try to give form players a shout for call ups.
Waffi:
I agree with that with one condition. Call up new guys to try out in friendlies but a tournament camp should be used for building chemistry among guys already tried. Now, from time to time new guys may be invited to tournament camps but only if they have the potential to solve identified problems in specific areas. That is my fundamental belief.
Hawkeye, ya capt of U-17, member 96 gold medal sqaud and regular starter with Sochaux can never be a "core" player in the SE while Okocha still plays. I'm sorry, he can't.
By the way Yemster, I am not spinning anything. Re-read what I said. Spinning is very different and what I and Enugu are saying is quite clear.
Winnerman, if I insulted you, I'm sorry. I however dont get ya reference to the "rubbish" comment. Are you infering that I am chaniging what I said or what? If that is the case, please follow the advise I gave Yemster.
By the way Yemster, I am not spinning anything. Re-read what I said. Spinning is very different and what I and Enugu are saying is quite clear.
Winnerman, if I insulted you, I'm sorry. I however dont get ya reference to the "rubbish" comment. Are you infering that I am chaniging what I said or what? If that is the case, please follow the advise I gave Yemster.
Re: ORUMA HAS SPOKEN OUT
Both of them are from the same state - THE BIG HEART, They sure have a way of settling Issues... Na So We Deh Talk with Heart ...Enugu II wrote:naija4ever wrote:
http://www.kickoffnigeria.com/stories/? ... Chukwu.php
With the tone of this interview, I wonder whether Oruma and jay jay can play peacefully in the same SE, I expected more diplomacy and tactics from a professional like Oruma when being interviewedNigeria we hail thee
If those are true statements from Oruma then he has not helped himself. Frankly, I hope the guy has more sense than what came out from that interview.
We No Deh Fear Face - - Na My Face Na Im Your Face Deh Fear...

- theYemster
Why would clubless and Chinese division players be in the coach's plans while a season long regular top performer in a top French team is not? It's not like Oruma's run of form happened overnight.Enugu II wrote:TheYemster:theYemster wrote:Deanotito/EII, keep spinning whatever yarn you want...you are both talking about Oruma making the final team or even starting...I am talking about deserving a callup to camp to at least contest a shirt.
I have justified that already. However, you are entitled to your opinion. What other justification do you need besides the fact that those same clubless and lower division players had already been in the coach's plans for several games before the camp? Oruma was not! The coach then called up a few guys for the very first time and it just happened that Oruma was not one of them. In fact, if you ask me my beef with CCC is "why even call up any new guy?". He already had guys tested and did not need several of those new folks (including Oruma) going into a tournament. My take is you need new guys going into friendlies but not tournament. Of course, you can make exceptions for the exceptional new guy in a few positions where there are glaring needs. Oruma does not play in any such position.
And I suppose Babayaro, Agali and JAG (all unfit I might add) were also in the coach's plans all along position or not?
EII,
I don't know how you can justify inviting useless players who in the end were all exposed. You are making CCC to be someone who is genius and knows what to do but yet we all saw his so called plans go to pieces when the time came to execute it.
You are trying to justify it was okay for CCC to call in players like Cele, Agali, Ekong and others when it was all clear this guys have nothing to offer. I wonder what i kind of plan did CCC have with them when the going got tough.?
I don't know how you can justify inviting useless players who in the end were all exposed. You are making CCC to be someone who is genius and knows what to do but yet we all saw his so called plans go to pieces when the time came to execute it.
You are trying to justify it was okay for CCC to call in players like Cele, Agali, Ekong and others when it was all clear this guys have nothing to offer. I wonder what i kind of plan did CCC have with them when the going got tough.?
Enugu II wrote:TheYemster:theYemster wrote:Deanotito/EII, keep spinning whatever yarn you want...you are both talking about Oruma making the final team or even starting...I am talking about deserving a callup to camp to at least contest a shirt.
TheYemster & M15:
Both of you ignore the crux of the argument. Let me repeat below:
1. A tournament camp is for building chemistry
2. In light of the above, the coach should invite players that he has been working with -- clubless or not.
3. The coach should invite new players in positions where he & his crew have determined a weakness.
Going by the above, Oruma does not qualify. Both Babayaro (eventhough I have my misgivings) and Ekong clearly fall into the categories that the crew were expected to invite. Ekong was used by the crew in previous games and was obviously rated high. Babayaro was called up because of lack of quality backup at that position and the obvious fact that the starter -- Udeze was suspended for the opening two games. As for Oruma, there were several players already used by the crew in the middle including Osaze who was used as a forward in Tunis.
M15: I will agree with you on Agali. I must say that I wondered about his invitation. IMO, Agali should have been tried in the friendlies before being invited to the ANC camp. But it is just by opinion. The coaches have the discretion on that call up.
2. In light of the above, the coach should invite players that he has been working with -- clubless or not.
3. The coach should invite new players in positions where he & his crew have determined a weakness.
Going by the above, Oruma does not qualify. Both Babayaro (eventhough I have my misgivings) and Ekong clearly fall into the categories that the crew were expected to invite. Ekong was used by the crew in previous games and was obviously rated high. Babayaro was called up because of lack of quality backup at that position and the obvious fact that the starter -- Udeze was suspended for the opening two games. As for Oruma, there were several players already used by the crew in the middle including Osaze who was used as a forward in Tunis.
M15: I will agree with you on Agali. I must say that I wondered about his invitation. IMO, Agali should have been tried in the friendlies before being invited to the ANC camp. But it is just by opinion. The coaches have the discretion on that call up.
M15, while CCC may not be a genius, he has clearly shown that his decisions are reasoned. He has said that he did not call Oruma because he has guys playing the same position already. IMO, that is an indication that he had a plan as to whom to call and where he needed players. He was not just about inviting all the best players out there even though all of them may be "left-sided attackers" to use Mystic's phrase. The bottomline is that he had his own well-thought plan eventhough we may not all have shared it.Enugu II wrote:TheYemster & M15: