THE NEW CE REGISTRATION DRIVE IS HERE !!!

Current members who chose not to donate will only be allowed limited posting on the new board under the handle "VISITOR" or "JJC"
As part of the Fundraising Effort to take Cyber Eagles to the Next Level we have decided for our members to “register” their various handles with at least $20.00…
Suya and the rest of the crew, very noble efforts... But I have serious reservations with the two quoted part of the fundraising appeal.

First of, donations should be voluntary.

Secondly, just like forced gratuity when one goes dining, we will short change our selves when you say "at least $20"...you guys should leave it open.

Lastly, I just don't donate to an empty well. We should have a budget.

I know people go ask na by force? But if we have to do this, let us do it right.

Vincent.

Post by Vincent. »

SUYA wrote: @ Vincent

The idea is flawed.

It is a way of reducing the popularity of the website, which is its main asset.

The best thing is to take advantage of this asset: advertising revenues from the significant traffic.

Vincent we will get to that when we have the site revamped and at least running. Right now do the crashes we cant even generate accurate reports to attract advertisers.

The moment people are unable to post simply because they choose not to pay for that privilege, they will find another place where they can post freely.

That’s fine…..this is not force but it will help separate the real men from boys.

$20 is not a lot of money, but problems will arise as soon as money is involved: will forumers get their money back in full or in part if they choose to leave?

Yes if the leave of their own free will and in good standing.

What about those who are banned?
If they promise to behave they can come back but if they are banned their money is gone

What about those who are unable to log on during vital matches?
That will cease. because the new board will now be able to hold everybody.

Will moderation rights rotate among forumers to ensure everyone gets equal rights for equal pay (and the right to ban a rival forumer who banned you earlier for no genuine reason or simply because you support a rival team)?
This must be a joke right?

What if the forumers with limited posting rights have access to information that other forumers need; is the forum going to purchase it from them?...

Please expatiate
Suya,

I don't know how to expatiate further on this issue, but my main concerns are these:

1). How will this affect the populatity of this site, i.e. the number of people visiring this site. I believe that the more people we have, the better. However, I do not expect the proportion of people willing to pay money to exceed 50% (most of these people claiming no problem will actually refuse to pay).

2). We need to recognize that we are mostly Nigerians, and this means that the possibility for conflict increases whenever and whereever money is involved (that is the bitter truth).

3). The most probable sources of conflict are procedures for appointment of moderators, the powers of moderators, the banning of forumers, deleion of threads, etc. These conflicts already happen, but they are bound to escalate when money is involved. These issues need to be clarified for everyone to see before they start paying.

4). Another issue that needs to be resolved is accountability: a budget; reports on revenues and expenditures; donors will want a say in how their money will be spent. Even if such accounrs are made available, who is going to verify them? Now, I am not saying that anyone is planning to embezzle money: what I am saying is that we will surely find a malcontent down the line who will make such allegations, and this is a source of conflict that can potentially threaten the existence of the forum itself.

The people who are calling me a moron for raising these issues today will be the first to start causing trouble down the line.

RECOMMENDATIONS:

*My personal opinion is that it will be better for the forum to be free while those willing to donate should do so.

*Donors can be distinguished in varuois ways so we can all appreciate them. However, they must not be granted extra privileges because it will seem as if they are buying privileges.

*The amount of donation should be unlimited (any amount a donot can afford).

*I also hold the opinion that the best source of money for upgrading the site could be advertising, considering the number of people visiting the forum (and the website in general).

*The possibility of free hosting or hosting in exchange for advertisements should be explored.

*How other major forums manage to operate without charging fees should also be investigated.
Eto’o, Ronaldinho, Deco, and Messi are like good caviar, tender pine-nuts, chemical-free sea salt, and the purest of virgin olive oils, said one of the world's greatest chefs, Ferran Adria of El Bulli restaurant, Before Barca went on to wallop Madrid 3-0 at the Bernabeu.

“I believe the target of anything in life should be to do it so well that it becomes an art. Football is like that. When I watch Barcelona, it is art” — Arsène Wenger, August 2009
Baggy

Post by Baggy »

Bobo Dan wrote:
Vincent. wrote:The idea is flawed.

It is a way of reducing the popularity of the websire, which is its main asset.

The best thing is to take advantage of this asset: advertising revenues from the significant traffic.

The moment people are unable to post simply because they choose not to pay for that privilege, they will find another place where they can post freely.

$20 is not a lot of money, but problems will arise as soon as money is involved: will forumers get their money back in full or in part if they choose to leave?

What about those who are banned?

What about those who are unable to log on during vital matches?

Will moderation rights rotate among forumers to ensure everyone gets equal rights for equal pay (and the right to ban a rival forumer who banned you earlier for no genuine reason or simply because you support a rival team)?

What if the forumers with limited posting rights have access to information that other forumers need; is the forum going to purchase it from them?...

Jeez, just for $20 :?: :?: :?:
Just cant help but wonder what the problem with us Naija and money? Many of us has been on this forum from its era of the old cybereagles. Why do we always make things difficult for ourselves. With the way many go about on this issue regarding their rights and what they'll get in return for their donation, you'll think the amount involved is $500.
A quick question that easily comes to mind for those asking about priviledges et. al. is what if the money was robbed off you in Naija, would you still be asking for priviledges? Many of us spend $100 and above to entertain girlfriends and wives and family without blinking an eyelid and yet we are here generating dust over mere $20. Man I tire for us o. Almost all of us belong to one professional organisation or the other where we pay annual fees - just to belong. Imagine all the joy we get out of CE alone. Many people meet here and today they are best of friends or even family friends.
As stated above, this is the time to stand up and be counted or STFU. My advice is let the moderators establish continent where all members are based. Let them work up a lesser amount for those based in Naija and get everybody outside Naija to pay the damn $20 if you want to belong to the forum. SIMPLE

On the question raised by many as regards whether or not they have equal right as mods after paying $20. I'll say lets continue with the status-quo. The present system has work superbly well. Take a trip to GW to see the level of lawlessness that exists on that forum. Maybe then, you'll appreciate the efforts of the mods here. GOD awa people sef. Just for common $20

As much as I would like to agree with you about the amount not being a large amount is not the problem but principles also comes into it. No one wants to be 419'd. Not that I am we would.

I have already made contact on how I would make my donation.

On your example of those asking for priviledges, you used girlfriend, wife and family. Don't forget that from all you mentioned one would get some satisfaction one way or the other.

Regarding those in Naija, they might find this insulting. There are people living in Naija who are doing better than some living abroad.
I bet there is someone there who can even bear all the cost.
What I am trying to say is that don't sell those living there short.

As of those looking for priviledge, some people just felt that they have been victimised or targeted for one reason or the other. Not that I am in support of anyone who is completely out of line.

As I said let us know what the whole cost will be either for renting or buying then we decide on which way to follow.

I don't care how we do it I just want to continue to meet discuss and with my fellow brodas. I have been a member since that Swedish guy started the forum.

Cyber, SE and Naija for life.
UP CYBER, SE, NAIJA.

God Bless. Amen.
I now see through the eyes of JESUS CHRIST - An Indian woman HEALED by our LORD JESUS CHRIST @ Ben Hinn Healing Crusade .
What About You?

What we do, does not define who we are, what define's us is how well we rise after we have fallen.

The only consistency of the referees is there Inconsistencies - Wigan FC Manager.
Baggy

Post by Baggy »

VYRUS... wrote:i wont pay a cent :lol:
... and I won't pay a penny either. It appears this site (Forum) is gradually becoming autocratic and westernized. Usually donation is donation and individuals usually donate whatever they can afford and NOT to be mandated as to the amount to be donated. When that is done, it is no longer a DONATION, but a FEE or a FINE. Again, I will not pay a PENNY and I am VERY READY to stop visiting this site, even if I am one of the pioneers, dating as far back as to 1996/1997 when Allard first started it.
Odas, I did not know you were since then.
What was your forum name.
I was a member since then too still using the same name though.
Nice to know old members are still around.
I now see through the eyes of JESUS CHRIST - An Indian woman HEALED by our LORD JESUS CHRIST @ Ben Hinn Healing Crusade .
What About You?

What we do, does not define who we are, what define's us is how well we rise after we have fallen.

The only consistency of the referees is there Inconsistencies - Wigan FC Manager.

ardile wrote:Uzoma, ndo oh!! this wan wey dem say make we use paypal pay our registration so .. which bank u go use now as the only bank wey dey open account for OnyeAguruns(sp) like you don close shop.

But my contact in Owerri told me you can try the Federal Mortgage Bank (does that Bank still exist?) on Douglas road.

For 1naija's donations, he will get a copy each of "The Best of Jay-Jay Okocha" and "Rabiu Afolabi, Nigeria's TOP Central Defender" DVDs.
Nna the thing weak me oh.
I go just PM KOC know how far, it should be dat expensive in Naira.
2drama
Location: To my Late Grand-Papa Pa onyemere(he left us oct-26-07) -i miss you -R-I-P

Post by 2drama »

$ 20.00 is the set amount

but mods please allow people to donate any amount. this allow people who can't afford $20 to even donate at least $10 ( the lowest amount) for the drive
http://www.2dramasports.com is live ,Get SE downloads links or watch online links
Get Your Super Eagles Games on DvD Pm 2drama don't live history have a part of it

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nigerian_national_football_team
ogasir

Post by ogasir »

U guys should just pay the 20 bucks, damn? Wat a buncha cheapskates. :lol:
mribu

Post by mribu »

those in Asia nko.. who do we contact
kulu

Post by kulu »

Bobo Dan wrote:Your point above that many are not able to attend the conference is TOTALLY INVALID.

I see that you need to check your grammar. I spoke in the past tense; you use the present tense to illustrate your own lack of credibility. After all, the meeting DID take place - not WILL take place.

You choose to insult me for raising valid points; na you sabi.

You think I don't want to pay $20 or more? You don't know me. I just want to be sure (like others) that this is not a white elephant to serve a few at the expense of many.

If everything is cut and dry, then WHY are so many questions still being raised about the workability of the project?
"How can someone qualify his country for the World Cup and then, because he lost a match, everyone is saying they should sack him. Please allow the man to do his work. Nobody is perfect, but if someone can qualify his country for the World Cup, then he deserves some respect. I even heard that it is the second time he has qualified Nigeria for the World Cup. That is huge". - French legend Alain Giresse on Nigeria's Shuaibu Amodu, 2010
WINNERMAN

Post by WINNERMAN »

First off, l must commend this brilliant initiave. l am in FULL support of it. l am tired of waiting forever to log in.

My apologies if this was addressed earlier. For those of us from down under, who do we pay to ?

Also, can the moderators make the budget known so ppl could donate with a target in mind. And pls, give us updates as the donations come in.
As for me and my house we will serve the LORD.-----JOSHUA 24 VS 15.

Life in Christ is not a change,it is an exchange. Your ashes for his beauty,your weakness for his strenght ,your destiny assured and a bonus of a victorious life on earth. lt is an irrestitible exchange.
GDAY

Post by GDAY »

SUYA wrote: ATTENTION NIGERIAN and AFRICAN CE'S We are working on pro rating an economically more appropriate Fee for you all. That will be posted shortly but please bear in mind that Mobile Police will verify your ISP O !Image

Dear Suya,

Abeg, I think you will need to rephrase this one...
I think the issue should be "ATTENTION ALL CE'S We are working on pro rating an economically more appropriate Fee for those who cannot afford the Donation (or is it Fee?).

The Nigerian and African Generalization is making wanna itch...

It is not like I am trying to make a piss out of a bowl of water but it might interest you to know that $20 in Nigeria and Africa is the same $20 anywhere in the world.

Thank you for your understanding in this matter.

Gday here.
”The strength of the Team is each individual member. The Strength of each member is the Team.”
Phil Jackson..

imehjunior wrote:
Globero wrote:Btw, do the Bredas pay half price instead of $20, for obvious reasons ? :twisted:
No they pay more they have just discovered crude oil so them don get money.
:twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Please also post this in Rant and Rave.Just saw this now!

Kind Regards
PS
Rogermilla

Post by Rogermilla »

IAG check your pm
"History shows that this club has had very few strikers like him. I do not know if there has ever been anyone like him before. What I do know is that Barcelona should erect a statue for him. Samuel was a fundamental player here in recent years and was key to all of the titles that the team won."

Andres Iniesta, August 2009

mribu wrote:those in Asia nko.. who do we contact
You can use Paypal to send in your donation to any of the designated receivers.
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

Current members who chose not to donate will only be allowed limited posting on the new board under the handle "VISITOR" or "JJC"
As part of the Fundraising Effort to take Cyber Eagles to the Next Level we have decided for our members to “register” their various handles with at least $20.00…
Suya and the rest of the crew, very noble efforts... But I have serious reservations with the two quoted part of the fundraising appeal.

First of, donations should be voluntary.

Secondly, just like forced gratuity when one goes dining, we will short change our selves when you say "at least $20"...you guys should leave it open.

Lastly, I just don't donate to an empty well. We should have a budget.

I know people go ask na by force? But if we have to do this, let us do it right.
I share some of your concerns too, and i have being waiting for an answer before i donate, i am even willing to donate more than the 20 dollars, but i need answers

1. What are the specifications of the new server
2. Do we have a Budget, and how much is it, and if we go overboard, can we donate the remainder to a worthy charity like Kanu Heart Foundation

3. And is this a one time affair, or do we have to renew the registration.

original skeepolah

Post by original skeepolah »

mribu wrote:those in Asia nko.. who do we contact
contact Loweezee.he is in singapore. :?
naija4ever
Location: Latitude 14' 40 N Longitude 90' 31 W(Nollywood 4Ever)

Post by naija4ever »

Very laudable idea, but I would suggest that naija based CE, dont pay...most of them,their access to this site is based primarily on the availability of power from PHCN and also enough bandwidth(imagine how frustrating it must be accessing this site with 28.8kbps of modem or any telephone line whatsoever, in contrdistinction to the broadband connectiion used by those who reside abroad :x :x ). Finally, not everybody in naija coud afford more than 2000 naira registration fee.Those abroad who are more privileged should help thier brodas and sistas in naija get/enjoy this privilege of discussion with them. Finally, I would suggest just like some must have mentioned, creating membership forums for those that registered and making at least CE and RnR free for all. These are my 2 kobos on this :wink:
Schillachi wrote:Thanks Ghana. I hope this defeat will forever cure us of our colonial mentality when it comes to Coaches...

mystic wrote:
Now, we can criticise CCC for this, that and the other - some of which is warranted, and some of which is complete hogwash. But, in my view, these are the prinicipal areas in which he has been a disappointment.
All the same, I salute Christian Chukwu for his efforts, his selflessness and his hard work. He has served his country to the best of his ability. The predicament that we are in, right now, is not soley of his making and we should all keep that in mind.

The two players are in different worlds. Ade is too young to be compared to Kanu. Kanu has been around and has raked in laurels upon laurels. If he is not scoring, he is assisting; and if he is not, he is entertaining ... one of the finest players in the world. Please for past times, compare Kanu to Brazilian Socrates..bbc606
SUYA

Post by SUYA »

@ Ohene and Cellular

Azuka is working out the specs even as we write. Nevertheless since generating funds to purchase whatever we decide on is a bridge we will need to cross no matter what - We all thought we could start that process ahead of time. I mean after all we are trying to get this done before the ANC 2008.

As for short changing ourselves we have all thought about that, but our reasoning is that if 200 of our Million members can just pay $20 we should be out of the woods and if not some other can pick up the slack later.

As for the jara be rest assured we will put it towards a good cause with all details being made available for all to see.
The above comments are private and not affiliated with supersport in any manner or form

I fink we should be allowed to send naira donations at the 1.25 naira to 1 dollar rate....in the interest of economic prosperity of our great nation.
Idi Amin

Post by Idi Amin »

Folks, please, let's cooperate. All these long grammer don taya me, f'real. I don't think that $20 is such a big amount of money. And this is supposed to be a one time donation as well.

Gosh, $20 is just about 10 pounds, for crying out loud!
And that's less than 2,800 naira. For those of you back home, that's less than what you guys use on MTN recharge cards per week. And I should know b'cos I was in Naija this last Christmas.

Yes, $20 should be the set amount. If you can afford more, then you can always contribute more. However, I am quite sure that anyone with internet access can afford 20 bucks even if you need to sacrifice a few things to pay for it.

O pari
Schillachi

Post by Schillachi »

Here is my own take. Enough people will voluntarily donate money hence we don't need to tie the donation to being able to register your name or any other special privilege. Having said that, I'm about to go give my donation right now.. :)
NIGERIAN BADBOY!
RudeBoy

Post by RudeBoy »

Babafad wrote::shock:

This is a classic example of why Nigeria is the sh!thole it is today.

Those that want to pay should do so, and those who feel that they are being rail-roaded should keep their money in their pockets. Jokes apart, all these questions about "this that and the other" are a bit moronic. It's not by force. In my view, the only valid issue raised is the one about whether some people will be able to afford the amount.

All the questions about rights and privileges and what happens when certain things are done, can be answered by simply reading the board's rules and regulations. Just because we are being asked to DONATE with a view to improving our user experience won't mean that the rules of the board are going to change.

I echoed a concern that was raised around whether or not everyone would be able to afford, the minimum amount that we have been asked to donate. I feel that the same principle should/will apply. Those that can afford will pay and those that can't won't.

It's a thankless task running things on this board, but at the same time things have just got to be done. Mods/admin, make una no begin shake for neck, as all these moronic comments continue to stream in. Some of the comments will be accusatory, like the one earlier made about Waffiman. Things like that will always happen, even moreso when it involves Nigerians. Ignorance is our main disease and we are our own worst enemies. My signature below, taken from a comment Gotti made, says it all.

The site has got to be revamped. If at the expiry of the timescale that you guys have set, it happens that we are still short of what is required to get the job done, let's take a look at things again and then make some calls as to what needs to happen.

I am sure that a few morons will want to have a go at me for the views I have expressed. It's all good, and you have my permission to do so! :roll:
Your post above is the real reason Nigeria is what you call it. Decree 4 comes to mind.

All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing - Edmund Burke (1729 – 1797)

Among a people generally corrupt liberty cannot long exist - Edmund Burke (1729 – 1797)