Plane Crash Off The Coast Of Benin

http://msnbc.msn.com/id/3806825/

Plane crashes into Atlantic off Benin
Dozens of passengers reported killedBREAKING NEWS

Updated: 11:18 a.m. ET Dec. 25, 2003
This is a developing story and details will be added as they become available.COTONOU, Benin - A Boeing passenger plane bound for Beirut crashed into the Atlantic Ocean after takeoff in the West African country of Benin on Thursday, killing dozens of passengers, according to witnesses and airport officials.

Witnesses said they saw at least 30 bodies strewn on the beach near the airport in the main city Cotonou, where the plane crashed just after takeoff in the Gulf of Guinea.

It was not immediately clear which airline was involved but witnesses said most of the bodies recovered appeared to be Lebanese. There is a large Lebanese community in West Africa.

Airport officials said the plane had problems retracting its landing gear after takeoff, smashed into a building at the end of the runway, exploded and then crashed into the sea.

Airport officials said the flight originated in Conakry, capital of the West African nation Guinea, and was travelling to Beirut via Dubai.

Sixty-three passengers boarded in Cotonou but the total number of passengers was not immediately clear.

Rescue workers were searching the sea after the crash.

In December 1995 about 60 people were killed when a Cameroon airliner on a flight from Cotonou crashed into a swamp in Cameroon

Naija fan

Post by Naija fan »

May the souls of all the dead rest in peace.
"It is not who you are that holds you back, it's who you think you are not."
okuns

Post by okuns »

I have to conceed that I was happy to note that there were 22 survivors according to CNN, that not all occupants perished... I wish the families of the vicitms comfort at this very difficult time.

There are blaming overloading of this aircraft for this accident... I for one blame the pilot, the capacity posted is not just for display.

Na wa oh. May the souls of the dead rest in peace. :(
scholl

Post by scholl »

May the souls of the deceased R.I.P.
Fourteen

Post by Fourteen »

May the departed souls rest in peace
realtrouble

Post by realtrouble »

I heard all the deceased were Lebanese business men and their family.

na wa

Scourge, u dingbat :D
Last edited by theDunamis on Fri Jul 16, 2004 8:32 pm, edited 2 times in total.
ofilis

Post by ofilis »

This is old news. It happened last year. Look at the date on the thread.
http://www.thetimesofnigeria.com

The Times of Nigeria.
Breaking the news as it happens!
@

Post by @ »

ofilis wrote:This is old news. It happened last year. Look at the date on the thread.
Na wah ooohh!!!!!!!!!!I thought i heard this last year.....Whats up with the old postings :?

theDunamis wrote:Scourge, u dingbat :D

Post by Jimi »

Molue Conductor wrote:
theDunamis wrote:Scourge, u dingbat :D
Honestly, Scourge you be funny guy, but this one is outta line...No need for this homeboy..