Amodu would win the World Cup for Nigeria

PapaK
x

Post by PapaK »

ikwerreman wrote:Ifyou guys know amodu as much as i do then you would know he is not even looking at the Eagles job.
Infact he will rain curses on the descendants of any one who offers him the job now.
Amodu is so comfortable with wot he is doing now.
At Sharks he earns more than he would have got as Eagles Coach and he really has a freehand with no one questioning his authority.
FA Cup final last year, and topping the Pro 1 table this year.
He has often said after sharks he wouldwuit footie
what a huge loss to Naija footie!
Never enter into a quarrel with an id!ot, lest he drag you down to his level and then beat you up with experience.
Re: x

PapaK wrote:
ikwerreman wrote:Ifyou guys know amodu as much as i do then you would know he is not even looking at the Eagles job.
Infact he will rain curses on the descendants of any one who offers him the job now.
At Sharks he earns more than he would have got as Eagles Coach and he really has a freehand with no one questioning his authority.
what a huge loss to Naija footie!
You mean a coach is actually leading a team to the top the Pro 1 table legitimately? I though the only way one could lead the pro 1table is by violence and babaric acts like beating referees into coma like 3SC led backstabber Onigbinde did last year.
Hard Man

Post by Hard Man »

You can tell him to sod off, but "go to hell" is a bit too strong, don't you think?

Besides a chance qualifies as "wasted" if and only if it was accompanied by absolute freedom. Unfortunately the antics of Ekeji, Pa Baxter Onigbinde and Ogunjobi tied Amodu's hands. Think about it!

mastermind wrote:amodu can go to hell, he gat his chance and he wasted it!! no more toying with SE, we need a serious coach NOW !!

IKMAN:

THanks for the quote above. If I was in his shoes, I will not even listen. The only way I will is if I have a longterm contract with severe penalties for not completing it. Amodu, was treated poorly in the first go around despite a stellar record, and should not trust those weak-minded sports administrators whose decisions are based on some whim.
lagos777

Post by lagos777 »

Thank God he's not interested. There's more to coaching than tactical acumen. We need a coach people will respect.
Mike Ditka quote :
"I didn't say it in those general terms but I said it like that".
baprophet

Post by baprophet »

My problem with Amodu is that, if he was still the coach of the Super Eagles, Sunday Oliseh, Finidi George, Mutiu Adepoju and Victor Ikpeba will still be playing on the team.

The team's performance at ANC 2002 in Mali was not impressive at all and his sit down and look approach doesn't bode well for the team.
Mudi:
oliseh is still the best we have at his position. No disrespect to olofinjana.
Furthermore oliseh and finidi had both expressed a willingness to step down from the eagles after the WC.

Mutiu Adepoju never played for Amodu and frankly speaking there was no clearcut proven player better than ikpeba.

See Amodu understood one thing that many on this forum dont understand and thats the fact that the natuional team isnt a place where "you groom people for the future". It's a place where people whom have probven there mettle at the top levels are brought in to blend. he valued expereince and mental toughness over hype and he would rather gamble on proven players that he knew as opposed to player that the media hypedup.

He renmains the best man for the job and the players did respect him. so much so that they agreed not to go to the world cup if he was fired. Some like okocha, kanu abnd later WEST reneged on their agreement and of course were promptly rewarded however the likes of oliseh, AGALI and finidi stood firm.
If you keep quiet at a time like this, deliverance for the Jews will arise from some other place, but you and your relatives will die. What's more, who can say but that you have been elevated to the palace for just such a time as this?" (Esther 4:14)

The best argument against democracy is a five minute conversation with the average voter.. Winston Churchill
Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the vote..Ben Franklin

baprophet wrote:
My problem with Amodu is that, if he was still the coach of the Super Eagles, Sunday Oliseh, Finidi George, Mutiu Adepoju and Victor Ikpeba will still be playing on the team.

The team's performance at ANC 2002 in Mali was not impressive at all and his sit down and look approach doesn't bode well for the team.
Mudi:
Furthermore oliseh and finidi had both expressed a willingness to step down from the eagles after the WC.

Mutiu Adepoju never played for Amodu and frankly speaking there was no clearcut proven player better than ikpeba.

See Amodu understood one thing that many on this forum dont understand and thats the fact that the natuional team isnt a place where "you groom people for the future". It's a place where people whom have probven there mettle at the top levels are brought in to blend. he valued expereince and mental toughness over hype and he would rather gamble on proven players that he knew as opposed to player that the media hypedup.

He renmains the best man for the job and the players did respect him. so much so that they agreed not to go to the world cup if he was fired. Some like okocha, kanu abnd later WEST reneged on their agreement and of course were promptly rewarded however the likes of oliseh, AGALI and finidi stood firm.
BA:

Are U sure Mutiu never played under Amodu?
Dont mind those yeye backstabbers (Okocha, Kanu and West).

Eaglemaniac

Post by Eaglemaniac »

lagos777 wrote:Thank God he's not interested. There's more to coaching than tactical acumen. We need a coach people will respect.
would it be too much to ask u to name such a coach available right now?
Mansa Musa

Post by Mansa Musa »

Mutiu played for Amodu @ Wembly in that 1-0 loss to Engelund.
baprophet wrote:

Mudi:

BA:

Are U sure Mutiu never played under Amodu?
Dont mind those yeye backstabbers (Okocha, Kanu and West).
Re: Amodu would win the World Cup for Nigeria

1naija wrote:Despite the false allegations of being a "Spiv" and an agent
There is no doubt about his ability as a coach, but the truth is he is a spiv and a very greedy man. Himself, Onigbinde and Chukwu should not be allowed back to coach the SE, they've failed us in one way or the other.
baprophet

Post by baprophet »

Obunigwe:
Mutiu didnt play for Amodu after Bnfere was fired. If i recall correctly his last game was at ANC 2000 and until onigbinde brought him in at wc 2002
If you keep quiet at a time like this, deliverance for the Jews will arise from some other place, but you and your relatives will die. What's more, who can say but that you have been elevated to the palace for just such a time as this?" (Esther 4:14)

The best argument against democracy is a five minute conversation with the average voter.. Winston Churchill
Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the vote..Ben Franklin

SirV
I will be careful to label someone i dont know as being a whatever and greedy.
Amodu may be anything greedy he ain't. I am not speaking from hearsay, i am speaking from a personal knowledge that spans over 8 years.

In Amodu i see a man who will give all and keep nothing back. When we got back from Riyadh in 1995, he entrusted all his earnings to a friend, whatever transpired the sum of about 20,000 US dollars got missing, i remeber till today what Amodu said, "God gave the money and if it was his wish the money should go missing, thank him, who knows what would have happened if i still have the money". That word left an indellible impression on me. Many people called for the head of that friend, the guy simply walked away from the brouhaha of the loss.

As for respect, dont make me laugh, the only players who dont respect or have anything to say against their coaches are those not being played. Stop reading all these stories by all those need to give a dog a bad name in order to hang the dog.

Has it ever occured to you that everything the man has touched in the football world he has achieved something of note, and to think he is not yet 45 years old, that is how young a coach he is. Pity like every other unappreciated talented professional , his only crime was that he was born in Nigeria.

He does not need the SE job, the hassles is too much, the greed in the glass house has gotten out of proportion, the hawks hanging around the corridors of power will not allow any coach no matter his pedigree to suceed.

CCC has become a sacrifial lamb, as usual, when players roll into the camp 2 days before a crucial WC qualifier, and they have to be played, i wonder what the coach is expected to do.
When a team travels to an away WC match, in bits and pieces like school children going on summer vacation, funny even the school tours are better organised. I wonder what CCC is expected to do.
Bring in Otto into Naija with the attitude of those players and the officials, Otto will leave with his reputation in tatters.
The problem of naija football is not with the coaches, far be it, it is simply administration, of course that is the general problem with the country.

peppersoup

Post by peppersoup »

Oloye well said!
"His Excellency President for Life, Field Marshal Al Hadji Doctor Idi Amin, VC, DSO, MC, Lord of All the Beasts of the Earth and Fishes of the Sea, and Conqueror of the British Empire in Africa in General and Uganda in Particular."
felele

Post by felele »

where are the foreign coach agents/contractors/suppliers to come and respond to oloye's post. :o :o

In hiding of course, where else. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Bend it like felele

oloye wrote:SirV
I will be careful to label someone i dont know as being a whatever and greedy.
Amodu may be anything greedy he ain't. I am not speaking from hearsay, i am speaking from a personal knowledge that spans over 8 years.

In Amodu i see a man who will give all and keep nothing back. When we got back from Riyadh in 1995, he entrusted all his earnings to a friend, whatever transpired the sum of about 20,000 US dollars got missing, i remeber till today what Amodu said, "God gave the money and if it was his wish the money should go missing, thank him, who knows what would have happened if i still have the money". That word left an indellible impression on me. Many people called for the head of that friend, the guy simply walked away from the brouhaha of the loss.

As for respect, dont make me laugh, the only players who dont respect or have anything to say against their coaches are those not being played. Stop reading all these stories by all those need to give a dog a bad name in order to hang the dog.

Has it ever occured to you that everything the man has touched in the football world he has achieved something of note, and to think he is not yet 45 years old, that is how young a coach he is. Pity like every other unappreciated talented professional , his only crime was that he was born in Nigeria.

He does not need the SE job, the hassles is too much, the greed in the glass house has gotten out of proportion, the hawks hanging around the corridors of power will not allow any coach no matter his pedigree to suceed.

CCC has become a sacrifial lamb, as usual, when players roll into the camp 2 days before a crucial WC qualifier, and they have to be played, i wonder what the coach is expected to do.
When a team travels to an away WC match, in bits and pieces like school children going on summer vacation, funny even the school tours are better organised. I wonder what CCC is expected to do.
Bring in Otto into Naija with the attitude of those players and the officials, Otto will leave with his reputation in tatters.
The problem of naija football is not with the coaches, far be it, it is simply administration, of course that is the general problem with the country.

Oloye:

Enough said. I am hoping for the FC to start and I will be looking for the FC's magic. Unfortunately, I know that such magic does not exist but to some on this site they continue to dream about an FC magic. History provides a very good lesson on this. Hopefully, one will be alive one day when Nigeria will begin a search for a coach by merely declaring we need a "good coach" without the need to qualify it with the rather frustrating "foreign coach."

hmmm... I wonder what has changed
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

Re:

If only this had turned out to be true...

Eagle Winged

Post by Eagle Winged »

1naija wrote:Amodu is by far the best coach Nigeria has produced, and with a little support from the NFA would have done wonders for Nigeria. Despite the false allegations of being a "Spiv" and an agent, Amodu remains the only Nigerian coach whom players respect for his technical knowledge. Amodu always invited our best players, and thus always strive for the best result for Nigeria. I have no doubt that given half the support Chukwu and Backstabber Onigbinde got from the NFA, Amoudu would win the WC for Nigeria. I think Nigeria should reconsider hiring this great coach for the Super Eagles, if she wants to qualify for the WC and win the tournament. Here is to Amodu the great.

juventuss wrote:hmmm... I wonder what has changed
You being stuck in time.
Ebyboy
Re: Re:

Post by Ebyboy »

nanijoe wrote:If only this had turned out to be true...

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: .
Laughter is the best therapy......... Kai, this stuff is painful :oops: :oops: :twisted: .

For many years upon this spot
You heard the sound of a merry bell
Those who were rash and those who were not
Lost and made a spot of cash
He who gave the game away
May he Brynn in hell and rue the day

Bryne V. Deane [1937]

1Naija specialty, always backing the wrong horse...from Abbey to Amodu
Re: Re:

Ebyboy wrote:
nanijoe wrote:If only this had turned out to be true...

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: .
Laughter is the best therapy......... Kai, this stuff is painful :oops: :oops: :twisted: .
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

juventuss wrote:hmmm... I wonder what has changed
You being stuck in time.
Don't blame me. I had to go back and remove Amodu's tin hat
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna