Van Persie Injured!

Re: RVP out for season

Tunisian Gooner wrote:DAMNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Just means we'll have too tweak our formation a bit.

We'll see more of

Nasri----Song---Cesc

Rosicky----Eduardo---Arshavin

Plus Walcott, Vela, Ramsey, Diaby, Bendtner etc still think we have more than enough goals in us to make a run at the PL title. Lost Super Bob back in the double campaign of 01/02 I'm confident we can survive a few months sans RVP.
That weakling? We are in deep trouble. :curse:
Tunisian Gooner

Post by Tunisian Gooner »

100%Naija wrote:

We'll see more of

Nasri----Song---Cesc

Plus Walcott, Vela, Ramsey, Diaby, Bendtner etc still think we have more than enough goals in us to make a run at the PL title. Lost Super Bob back in the double campaign of 01/02 I'm confident we can survive a few months sans RVP.
We'll have to rotate everyone but attack wise we do have depth. We just have to hope it's only a 2 month injury as any longer than that and AW will have no choice but to go shopping in January.
Detective Bunk Moreland

'The bigger the lie, the more they believe'
grammar patrol

Post by grammar patrol »

100%Naija wrote:

We'll see more of

Nasri----Song---Cesc

Haba, don't be too harsh on him. Which Arsenal player is not a weakling besides Gallas?
When in doubt, visit www.dictionary.com
jdizzy

Post by jdizzy »

This probably means a Chammakh January deal may be on the cards
Niente Ÿ impossibile!
amafolas

Post by amafolas »

Tunisian Gooner wrote:
100%Naija wrote:

We'll see more of

Nasri----Song---Cesc

We'll have to rotate everyone but attack wise we do have depth. We just have to hope it's only a 2 month injury as any longer than that and AW will have no choice but to go shopping in January.
Lets go back for that guy we wanted to buy in summer. Chamakh or whatever his name is
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.
PapaK

Post by PapaK »

very sad. especially as this came in a meaningless friendly. :mad: :mad: :mad:
Never enter into a quarrel with an id!ot, lest he drag you down to his level and then beat you up with experience.
realtrouble

Post by realtrouble »

This is why I have lost support for AW. When he sold Adebayor why didn't replace him with the like of Chakmah (sp).
lowzeewee

Post by lowzeewee »

van Persie back to his usual self :|
okuns

Post by okuns »

I can't remember when he lasted an entire season... Wishes him a speedy recovery sha
realtrouble

Post by realtrouble »

jdizzy wrote:This probably means a Chammakh January deal may be on the cards
The deal should have been done in August. Now that Chammakh is cup tied it not worth it
Last edited by realtrouble on Sun Nov 15, 2009 4:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

We'll see more of

Nasri----Song---Cesc

How did I know Chellini was going do RvP? I saw this coming. :mad: :mad: :evil: :evil: :evil:

TG, there is no one in our team/squad who gives us what he brings to the table. For starters, just watch how our goals from set pieces reduce. One tactic teams use against us is to give away free kicks but this season we have worked on the set piece and are amongst the highest goal scorers from set piece. RvP has by far the highest assists from set piece delivery. In football there is a delivery from the right hand side by RVP, coaches sayyou cannot defend against if he gets the delivery right. That is the one he hits with so much pace that the defenders cannot react to the attackers who is the only person that knows where the ball is going. That attacker this season has been Vermealen.

Look at his assists from open play.

Then his goals, RvP does not need you to create a chance for him, he can create and take it himself.

His hold up play and bring in Arshavin, Cesc, Rocisky and other attackers. His sublime fisrt touch has been a huge bonus and his hold up play has taken pressure off the midfield.

This is a huge blow but we have been and I am really displeased about this. Let us hope it is not as bad as it looks and being forcasted.

We may need to go get Chamakh in Jan now.
skillful

Post by skillful »

oh my gawd!
"I first saw David Rocastle play in 1983 for the youth team. I remember coming home excitedly from the match and telling my family, "I've just watched the nearest thing to a Brazilian footballer you are ever likely to see - and he comes from Lewisham." - David Dein on Rocky Rocastle
azuka

Post by azuka »

We'll see more of

Nasri----Song---Cesc

How did I know Chellini was going do RvP? I saw this coming. :mad: :mad: :evil: :evil: :evil:

TG, there is no one in our team/squad who gives us what he brings to the table. For starters, just watch how our goals from set pieces reduce. One tactic teams use against us is to give away free kicks but this season we have worked on the set piece and are amongst the highest goal scorers from set piece. RvP has by far the highest assists from set piece delivery. In football there is a delivery from the right hand side by RVP, coaches sayyou cannot defend against if he gets the delivery right. That is the one he hits with so much pace that the defenders cannot react to the attackers who is the only person that knows where the ball is going. That attacker this season has been Vermealen.

Then his goals, RvP does not need you to create a chance for him, he can create and take it himself.

His hold up play and bring in Arshavin, Cesc, Rocisky and other attackers. His sublime fisrt touch has been a huge bonus and his hold up play has taken pressure off the midfield.

This is a huge blow but we have been and I am really displeased about this. Let us hope it is not as bad as it looks and being forcasted.

Sad i know but not completely hopeless. I believe in Eduardo we have someone who given a good run of games starting will be more clinical. For me we are still up to some trophy this latest injury not withstanding.
ojafranpa

Post by ojafranpa »

I did not sleep throughout the night because of this bad news.We need to go for a striker in January.
Re: Van Persie Injured!

jdizzy wrote:
mmeny wrote::curse: :curse: How serious is this........
Not sure yet. Ankle injury...carried off on a stretcher and subbed.
Out for at least 2 months

Bentner is out for 4 weeks with groin surgery

Eduardo is our only striker left

Bentner out for 4 weeks with Groin surgery

azuka wrote:

We'll see more of

Nasri----Song---Cesc

Sad i know but not completely hopeless. I believe in Eduardo we have someone who given a good run of games starting will be more clinical. For me we are still up to some trophy this latest injury not withstanding.
True! We had 17 different goal scorers this season but RvP has been a talisman this season. His goals, assists and set piece delivery will be sorely missed. RvP has been involved either scoring, assisting or providing the "assist" for about a third of our goals this season. Then you can count all the ones where he was involved by drawing off defenders, or playing an earlier pass etc. He has been huge.

Eduardo is a very different kind of player, he lacks the height and strength RvP has. Most imagine a striker like Eduardo requiring a partner in a 4-4-2, but we play 4-1-4-1. Although I believe Edurado will adapt as the central striker, he does not have RvP's qualities in that position.

Having said that, I agree with you on Eduardo and there is real depth in the attacking side of things at Arsenal. Arshavin too can go into the middle and a fit Walcott is a real option there too. Walcott has talked about playing as a striker in training and practicing on his finishing. He actually was playing as a striker in training last season before his shoulder injury. We must not forget Vela too. Wenger said he is ready to challenge for spot in the team.

NAIJA4EVA

Post by NAIJA4EVA »

Terrible, terrible and terrible. Why Wenger refused to sign a striker is beyond me. The saga continues.......

wishing him a speedy recovery!

Tunisian Gooner

azuka wrote:

We'll see more of

Nasri----Song---Cesc

True! We had 17 different goal scorers this season but RvP has been a talisman this season. His goals, assists and set piece delivery will be sorely missed. RvP has been involved either scoring, assisting or providing the "assist" for about a third of our goals this season. Then you can count all the ones where he was involved by drawing off defenders, or playing an earlier pass etc. He has been huge.

Eduardo is a very different kind of player, he lacks the height and strength RvP has. Most imagine a striker like Eduardo requiring a partner in a 4-4-2, but we play 4-1-4-1. Although I believe Edurado will adapt as the central striker, he does not have RvP's qualities in that position.

Having said that, I agree with you on Eduardo and there is real depth in the attacking side of things at Arsenal. Arshavin too can go into the middle and a fit Walcott is a real option there too. Walcott has talked about playing as a striker in training and practicing on his finishing. He actually was playing as a striker in training last season before his shoulder injury. We must not forget Vela too. Wenger said he is ready to challenge for spot in the team.

Depends how bad the inury is.

If it's only two months, think we can cope, we will have to tighten up at the back, return of Denilson will help on that end and we'll have to really move the ball around with the likes of Walcott, Rosicky, Vela etc.

On the other hand any longer than two months... :curse: :curse: :curse:
Detective Bunk Moreland

PapaK

Post by PapaK »

NAIJA4EVA wrote:Terrible, terrible and terrible. Why Wenger refused to sign a striker is beyond me. The saga continues.......
AW didnt sign striker because he had Eduardo, Vela, Bendtner, Walcott, Arshavin, RvP, Sanchez-Watt. How was he going to keep them all happy?
Never enter into a quarrel with an id!ot, lest he drag you down to his level and then beat you up with experience.
NAIJA4EVA

Post by NAIJA4EVA »

PapaK wrote:
NAIJA4EVA wrote:Terrible, terrible and terrible. Why Wenger refused to sign a striker is beyond me. The saga continues.......
AW didnt sign striker because he had Eduardo, Vela, Bendtner, Walcott, Arshavin, RvP, Sanchez-Watt. How was he going to keep them all happy?

Use the common sense that God blessed you with! :roll: Vela is not ready and Eduardo is injury prone too (which is understandable after what Taylor did to him!). Bendtner is so poor as a striker that Wenger is playing him as a right winger (and guess what, Bendtner is injured too!). Are Walcott and Arshavin No 9 strikers??? Sanchez Who?????

At the end of the day Wenger sold Adebayor and didn't replace him, the results of that mistake occured yesterday in Pescara.....
Tunisian Gooner

Goals will not be a problem in the short term.

Thing is RVP is our talisman and he can't be replaced, even if we bought Chamakh he ain't no RVP, no one we will buy will replicate what RVP brings too the table. If RVP is MIA longer than 2 months..... :curse: :curse: :curse:
Detective Bunk Moreland