DO YOU THINK LAGERBACK DESERVES A $1.7M PAYDAY ?
Re: DO YOU THINK LAGERBACK DESERVES A $1.7M PAYDAY ?
nuff said....that's Amodu's problem if he wasn't so desprate he would demand higher pay or does not care how much he's getting paidtippy wrote:exactly, amodu took 11k a month or whatever it was knowing that his predecessor earned 50k, he sold himself short. after all, there was no difference between vogts and amodu, and there will likely be no difference between amodu and this guy.
edit- i was referring to goke's post.
most of you guys are more concerned in Amodu's worth than he is
No wonder you have problems figuring out that Lesotho is in Africa...goke313 wrote:nuff said....that's Amodu's problem if he wasn't so desprate he would demand higher pay or does not care how much he's getting paid
most of you guys are more concerned in Amodu's worth than he is

It is not about Amodu or even Lagerback, since Peter Taylor would have been paid the same wages. It is about setting different wage scales and working conditions for Eagles' coaches based SOLELY on nationality. In other words, your own father (assuming that he is Nigerian) would have gotten the same scale as Amodu, and I am sure that you do not think that he is "worth" less than a similarly placed foreigner (or more precisely, non-African).
Long year this is gonna be...
My brother, I was merely being sarcastic...Solowe wrote:Gotti,
I am usually the Guy who never criticizes the NFF, but this decision is beyond my understanding...This largerback is not even considered in the TOP 50 of coaches in the world and they are throwing money at him like there is no tomorrow. I would like to first get a confirmation on this from the NFF that this salary is real......I am sure its loaded with incentives but still ???, then I would like to understand their rational for paying and even hiring him.
Anytime we hire a 60 plus year old European for the eagles, its always been a disaster...Libgrets, vogts..they are all cut from the same cloth. We need guys on the way up, not on the way down...Every single European/African coach who has been succesful with was is in their 40"s....Tiko, westerhoff, Bonferere, Troussier.........they all had something to prove...so they put everything into the job....This guy is going to spend most of his time complaining like he is in a retirement home the first the NFF does not make everything perfect for him to do his job. The other guys rolled with the punches, thats why the were succesful...
my father would have believed in his abilities and not taken the crappy contract. which was amodu's mistake.Gotti wrote:No wonder you have problems figuring out that Lesotho is in Africa...goke313 wrote:nuff said....that's Amodu's problem if he wasn't so desprate he would demand higher pay or does not care how much he's getting paid
most of you guys are more concerned in Amodu's worth than he is![]()
It is not about Amodu or even Lagerback, since Peter Taylor would have been paid the same wages. It is about setting different wage scales and working conditions for Eagles' coaches based SOLELY on nationality. In other words, your own father (assuming that he is Nigerian) would have gotten the same scale as Amodu, and I am sure that you do not think that he is "worth" less than a similarly placed foreigner (or more precisely, non-African).
that said, sliding pay-scales are common in football, capello earns 6 million a year, do you think any english coach would command that amount to do the same job?
out of interest- where did goke think lesotho was?
My usual reaction after most Arsenal games: "lol, f*** Arsenal."
I understand exactly what you said...dcf1 wrote:Play for the same clubs as the best PLAYERS is what I wrote. Mikel plays at Chelsea, Taiwo plays at Marseille, Martins plays at Wolfsburg and Ayila at Dynamo Kiev, every one a Champions League team.
I have been consistent about this all along. We should have employed a top coach (Hiddink ideally, failing that Eriksson or even Hoddle) and pay a salary in the middle of the global scale plus big bonuses derived entirely from prize money.
I have made clear my concerns that Lagerback was by far the weakest of the three "good" candidates (Eriksson and Hoddle were the other two), and that as a Scotland reject he sounds off echoes of Berti Vogts. But he is what we have got now, and he is a huge upgrade on Amodu (as we will be able to compete in midfield) or on Onigbinde (as he will presumably not exclude the best players). I didn't prefer him, but I can live with him, and now we need to get behind the team and throw the kitchen sink at getting as far as we can in this tournament.
So no George, it's not your money, or Nigeria's money I would have used. I would have used 10% of the prize money earned to reward a top coach, but that is FIFA World Cup prize money which Nigeria would never see under Amodu, and probably won't under Lagerback..
My point was that if you believe that Amodu could not cope with the technical demands of those players because they play in the sorts of (top) clubs that Amodu has not coached, then what exactly lends you to believe that coaching modest Swedish clubs Kilafors, Arbrå and Hudiksvalls equips Lagerback to handle those players?
Personally, I will (and have) always supported the Eagles and frankly all other Nigerian teams in international competition, regardless of who is coaching the team -- but of course that does not mean that one should acquiesce in the obtuse decision to use our common wealth to fund the pension plan of yet another mediocre foreign coach.
Amodu did not demand more money because of how blacks are... A Black man cannot stand to see another Negro rising... Nobody will complain about Lugardbacks salary but, imagine a Black African asking for that... Everything I am doing to Lugardback would be done to him plus more!!!
ROSSIKE wrote:Amodu: $8k per month.
Lagerback: $340k per month.
Incredible.![]()
If ever I saw an absolute scandal.
Who is Responsible ?
No Be NFF ? No Be Nigeria ?
My Fellow Cybers are Pissed with Lagerback like it's his Fault !!!!!
National Coaches / Technicians SHould be Compensated within the same Scale / Range as their Associates. This also includes AModu.
Every One deserves what they can negotiate .
Compensation is usually related to the enormity of task at hand.
This has got to be completely wrong !!! lf those figures are right, then we could easily have persuaded any coach in the world to take the job. Lagerback certainly DOESNT deserve that amount by whatever yardstick one decides to use. l hope PTF and NFF will come out and clarify this.
Also, this is one reason l dont like ppl like Amodu and CCC, they agreed to a cheap payday in despertion,now they have only saved the money for some average coach to come and chop.
Fashanu is definitely having a great time !!
Also, this is one reason l dont like ppl like Amodu and CCC, they agreed to a cheap payday in despertion,now they have only saved the money for some average coach to come and chop.
Fashanu is definitely having a great time !!
As for me and my house we will serve the LORD.-----JOSHUA 24 VS 15.
Life in Christ is not a change,it is an exchange. Your ashes for his beauty,your weakness for his strenght ,your destiny assured and a bonus of a victorious life on earth. lt is an irrestitible exchange.
A poor analogy...tippy wrote: my father would have believed in his abilities and not taken the crappy contract. which was amodu's mistake.
that said, sliding pay-scales are common in football, capello earns 6 million a year, do you think any english coach would command that amount to do the same job?
Any English coach with remotely the same sort of mangerial credentials and honors as Capello would not only earn as much but likely even more. Do you think that Alex Ferguson (a Scot of all things) would have been offered less than Capello for the England job? A sliding scale in football makes sense when based upon professional accomplishment, not when based on (foreign) nationality.
The money is coming directly from the govt (through its PTF) and not the NFF...WINNERMAN wrote:Also, this is one reason l dont like ppl like Amodu and CCC, they agreed to a cheap payday in despertion,now they have only saved the money for some average coach to come and chop.
But why does is it not surprising that you are so eager to blame the victims of the Nigerian govt's discriminatory policies against its own people. Frankly, one would not be surprised if you next blamed the victims of extrajudicial killings in Nigeria for getting in front of police bullets.

One of the posters on this thread wrote that we should be taking top European coaches on the way up, in the 40-50 age range.
Fine, but then you are talking about the likes of Laurent Blanc, Carlo Ancelotti or even Mark Hughes.
So then you would have to meet the market in terms of their terms and conditions.
That means a minimum salary of $100,000 per week over four years - that makes $15 million - plus 20 days per month visiting the players in England, Holland, Spain and France, flying Business Class and staying in five star hotels - that makes another $100,000 per month. The world's best young coach is clearly Laurent Blanc, and as I have just shown we would have to pay at least $20 million over four years for his salary and expenses alone - and probably another $1-2 million for his assistants.
And there is no indication that the PTF or NFF is prepared to pay that sort of market-driven price to get the best.
Which means we remain reduced to a choice of has-beens or journeymen from Europe, or semi-trained incompetents from Nigeria.
Fine, but then you are talking about the likes of Laurent Blanc, Carlo Ancelotti or even Mark Hughes.
So then you would have to meet the market in terms of their terms and conditions.
That means a minimum salary of $100,000 per week over four years - that makes $15 million - plus 20 days per month visiting the players in England, Holland, Spain and France, flying Business Class and staying in five star hotels - that makes another $100,000 per month. The world's best young coach is clearly Laurent Blanc, and as I have just shown we would have to pay at least $20 million over four years for his salary and expenses alone - and probably another $1-2 million for his assistants.
And there is no indication that the PTF or NFF is prepared to pay that sort of market-driven price to get the best.
Which means we remain reduced to a choice of has-beens or journeymen from Europe, or semi-trained incompetents from Nigeria.
- maceo4
So in your opinion Lagerback who has been to two WC QF's does not have more professional accomplishments than Amodu?Gotti wrote:A poor analogy...tippy wrote: my father would have believed in his abilities and not taken the crappy contract. which was amodu's mistake.
Any English coach with remotely the same sort of mangerial credentials and honors as Capello would not only earn as much but likely even more. Do you think that Alex Ferguson (a Scot of all things) would have been offered less than Capello for the England job? A sliding scale in football makes sense when based upon professional accomplishment, not when based on (foreign) nationality.
How many national team coaches earn $5 million yearly?!dcf1 wrote:One of the posters on this thread wrote that we should be taking top European coaches on the way up, in the 40-50 age range.

Of course it is a rather silly excuse for overpaying journeyman foreign coaches to assert that we cannot afford good ones. The intelligent option for folks who cannot afford good foreign coaches is not to hire foreign coaches at all. And frankly, rather than expending our resources on overpaying foreign stiffs, such resources would be better invested and/or utilized in upgrading indigenous capacity.
2 WC Q-finals?!maceo4 wrote:So in your opinion Lagerback who has been to two WC QF's does not have more professional accomplishments than Amodu?

- maceo4
Meant round of 16, doesn't change the fact that Amodu hasn't gotten anywhere near that.Gotti wrote:2 WC Q-finals?!maceo4 wrote:So in your opinion Lagerback who has been to two WC QF's does not have more professional accomplishments than Amodu?![]()
maceo4 wrote:Meant round of 16, doesn't change the fact that Amodu hasn't gotten anywhere near that.Gotti wrote:2 WC Q-finals?!maceo4 wrote:So in your opinion Lagerback who has been to two WC QF's does not have more professional accomplishments than Amodu?![]()
He has not been given the chance...

- maceo4
Does he have to be given everything? If he wanted the chance to take Nigeria he should have won the ANC's preceding the WC's he missed out on. Who would be able to deny him his due if he was convincing at those tournaments?ogasmooth wrote:maceo4 wrote:Meant round of 16, doesn't change the fact that Amodu hasn't gotten anywhere near that.Gotti wrote:2 WC Q-finals?!maceo4 wrote:So in your opinion Lagerback who has been to two WC QF's does not have more professional accomplishments than Amodu?![]()
He has not been given the chance...![]()
Most of NFF's budget also come from the same source. Our Nija coaches have to show pride and refuse these peanuts. Until they do that, they wont get the kind of pay they deserve.
Gotti wrote:The money is coming directly from the govt (through its PTF) and not the NFF...WINNERMAN wrote:Also, this is one reason l dont like ppl like Amodu and CCC, they agreed to a cheap payday in despertion,now they have only saved the money for some average coach to come and chop.
But why does is it not surprising that you are so eager to blame the victims of the Nigerian govt's discriminatory policies against its own people. Frankly, one would not be surprised if you next blamed the victims of extrajudicial killings in Nigeria for getting in front of police bullets.
As for me and my house we will serve the LORD.-----JOSHUA 24 VS 15.
Don't mind MACEO...ogasmooth wrote:He has not been given the chance...![]()
That's like saying that Lagerback has never won an ANC medal, while Amodu has two.
PS: Won't even mention that Lagerback has not won any Euro club or national team honors.
- maceo4
Its Amodu's fault he hasn't gone to a WC...he's had all the chances to make sure he goes but he's blown it twice. And we are not talking about the ANC here, we are talking about the WC, Amodu has no experience Lagerback does, so obviously Lagerback is a more qualified candidate no matter what you say.Gotti wrote:Don't mind MACEO...ogasmooth wrote:He has not been given the chance...![]()
That's like saying that Lagerback has never won an ANC medal, while Amodu has two.
PS: Won't even mention that Lagerback has not won any Euro club or national team honors.
This is what I hate about your opaks, typing with your knuckles. A guy is not given a chance and you are talking shoulda coulda woulda. Hogwash my friend. I guess you missed the part where he met the goals set for him.maceo4 wrote:Does he have to be given everything? If he wanted the chance to take Nigeria he should have won the ANC's preceding the WC's he missed out on. Who would be able to deny him his due if he was convincing at those tournaments?ogasmooth wrote:maceo4 wrote:Meant round of 16, doesn't change the fact that Amodu hasn't gotten anywhere near that.Gotti wrote:2 WC Q-finals?!maceo4 wrote:So in your opinion Lagerback who has been to two WC QF's does not have more professional accomplishments than Amodu?![]()
He has not been given the chance...![]()
I now understand why many Negroes just give it to the lord! I mean, imagine living in a mud hut, grinding all day and, you hear a failed coach is making 1.7 mil a year. A coach who is garbage by all objective measures but, he is making 1.7 mil REGARDLESS of how he performs at the world cup(which he failed to qualify for)! Logic has never been the strong subject of the Negroes who run our affairs!