Lagerbeer embarrasses Onigbinde
Re: Lagerbeer embarrasses Onigbinde
There is nothing to rephrase, my stand on AO is there for all to see, but my beef with him does not blind me from seeing certain positives in him. Players mocking him is no different from players mocking Berti, once you are down even if you are Tele Santana players will always complain behind you. Funny enough even Scolari was mocked by Chelsea players , they accused his training methods as being outdated forgetting that he won the WC with Brasil with the same methods.Lagos Bobo wrote:Oh really? You could've fooled meoloye wrote:Man mi i may not agree with AO on many issues, but that reply is what you will expect from a man who for once allowed maturity to preceed his response. That was a diplomatic answer , the kind of answer an oyinbo would give to avert an ugly situation. We may not like AO, but i am not sure Lagerback making those kind of remarks is helping himself. But make i fod my hands the next 5 months would bve very very interesting.Ipe Grams wrote:It took Lagerback to explain it to him? it seem its only Nigerian coaches who don't know this lack of tatical input.He then went on to break down the tactical errors that cost the Super Eagles on the day and Onigbinde, according to the insider, was suitably chastised.
“Onigbinde said he knew that he had been wondering what he did wrong in 2002 and Lagerback finally explained it to him.”![]()
So you don't agree with AO on many issues, huh? Are you sure or would you wanna rephrase your statement? Omo, I agree with you on a lot of issues but for you to deny being a stunch AO supporter isn't gonna work for me. I even have you on record advocating that Nigeria should've retained Pa Oni after the 2002 World Cup. Which begs the question, what exactly makes Pa Oni qualified to be a SE coach in the first place? gosh, even his players were laughing at his coaching method.
As i said time to laugh is not now, same players will mock Larger if this arrangement implodes like is has been programmed to do.
cic old boy wrote:My friend, give it a rest. You are becoming an incredible bore.ogasmooth wrote:He went in there and basically stroked their egos .. He put on a great show and, the Negroes bought right into it... Slave trade worked the same way... When the Negro saw the white man they were so amazed they began selling their own people...When LugardBacks record is looked at, he is simply not fit for the job...
The truth hurts but, I refused to read a 10 page thread when I know it is a facade! The guy is a fraud and, I had to put it out there.
I know it hurts but just let it go.............ogasmooth wrote:He went in there and basically stroked their egos .. He put on a great show and, the Negroes bought right into it... Slave trade worked the same way... When the Negro saw the white man they were so amazed they began selling their own people...When LugardBacks record is looked at, he is simply not fit for the job...
Zelex-CE World Cup 2010 prediction Winner
http://forum.cybereagles.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=177767
- chendosplastic
oloye wrote:I wanted to laugh but i realise the time for laughter is not now, it is when i see what Largerback can do with the team. For Largerback's info, the team he struggled to beat was assembled in 3 months, now he has the real opporunity to show AO and the likes of us how he intends to work under the same atmosphere. Only then would he have me laughing, for now let me just say talk is cheap. Lagerback go on soun yap on , but make sure you watch your back.

"The history book on the shelf is always repeating itself" - ABBA.
"Facts, Logic, truth is the way....stop ranting via emotions; seeing things through the prism of ethnicity is comfortable but ultimately a road to perdition." - airwolex.
Why do you always sound off the tune? Are you saying Lagerback was the only white man interviewed? Why didn't Sven Ekrisson and Glenn Hoddle wow the panel like he did? He's our choice at the moment...let's see what he can offer before crucifying him. If he doesn't perform at the world cup, then we can stone him. Afterall Amodu had too years without any impact. Ya'll need to give up the fight and move up.
ogasmooth wrote:He went in there and basically stroked their egos .. He put on a great show and, the Negroes bought right into it... Slave trade worked the same way... When the Negro saw the white man they were so amazed they began selling their own people...When LugardBacks record is looked at, he is simply not fit for the job...
Last edited by PABLO on Mon Mar 01, 2010 5:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
you go wound person oZelex wrote:I know it hurts but just let it go.............ogasmooth wrote:He went in there and basically stroked their egos .. He put on a great show and, the Negroes bought right into it... Slave trade worked the same way... When the Negro saw the white man they were so amazed they began selling their own people...When LugardBacks record is looked at, he is simply not fit for the job...

third place at anc, world cup ticket in hand is no impact in your books, you would have grabbed that with both hands in 08!
i'll support the team, cannot stress that enough but the STUPIDITY of our FA isnt something we should let slide easily or at all.
PABLO wrote:Why do you always sound off the tune. Are you saying Lagerback was the only white man interviewed? Why didn't Sven Ekrisson and Glenn Hoddle wow the panel like he did? He's our choice at the moment...let's see what he can offer before crucifying him. If he doesn't perform at the world cup, then we can stone him. Afterall Amodu had too years without any impact. Ya'll need to give up the fight and move up.
ogasmooth wrote:He went in there and basically stroked their egos .. He put on a great show and, the Negroes bought right into it... Slave trade worked the same way... When the Negro saw the white man they were so amazed they began selling their own people...When LugardBacks record is looked at, he is simply not fit for the job...
cic old boy wrote:Chief, na you dey spin like this?oloye wrote:For Largerback's info, the team he struggled to beat was assembled in 3 months
Lineup against Sweden:
[1] Ike SHORUNMU
[2] Joseph YOBO
[3] Celestine BABAYARO
[5] Isaac OKORONKWO
[6] Taribo WEST
[9] Bartholomew OGBECHE
[10] Jay Jay OKOCHA (C)
[14] Ifeanyi UDEZE
[15] Justice CHRISTOPHER
[17] Julius AGHAHOWA
[21] John UTAKA
That's nearly the entire ANC 2002 team without Oliseh and Finidi.

- Rebellious
Why do these discussions always have to degenerate into some sort of racial tirade?PABLO wrote:Why do you always sound off the tune. Are you saying Lagerback was the only white man interviewed? Why didn't Sven Ekrisson and Glenn Hoddle wow the panel like he did? He's our choice at the moment...let's see what he can offer before crucifying him. If he doesn't perform at the world cup, then we can stone him. Afterall Amodu had too years without any impact. Ya'll need to give up the fight and move up.
Especially this oga character. Have you ever tried to imagine what this would sound like if the roles where reversed. Imagine a bunch of Swedes riling against the employment of a new coach based on the fact that he was black/African.
The ignorance I find here sometimes is quite sickening
- Lagos Bobo
Well, you and I have the same views on Lagerback. I don't think he's the right man for the job either. However, I will find it difficult to believe that you're not a fan of Pa Oni. I was enjoying your very well written article until I came to the point where you argued that Pa Oni should've been retained after the 2002 WC.oloye wrote:There is nothing to rephrase, my stand on AO is there for all to see, but my beef with him does not blind me from seeing certain positives in him. Players mocking him is no different from players mocking Berti, once you are down even if you are Tele Santana players will always complain behind you. Funny enough even Scolari was mocked by Chelsea players , they accused his training methods as being outdated forgetting that he won the WC with Brasil with the same methods.Lagos Bobo wrote:Oh really? You could've fooled meoloye wrote:Man mi i may not agree with AO on many issues, but that reply is what you will expect from a man who for once allowed maturity to preceed his response. That was a diplomatic answer , the kind of answer an oyinbo would give to avert an ugly situation. We may not like AO, but i am not sure Lagerback making those kind of remarks is helping himself. But make i fod my hands the next 5 months would bve very very interesting.Ipe Grams wrote:It took Lagerback to explain it to him? it seem its only Nigerian coaches who don't know this lack of tatical input.He then went on to break down the tactical errors that cost the Super Eagles on the day and Onigbinde, according to the insider, was suitably chastised.
“Onigbinde said he knew that he had been wondering what he did wrong in 2002 and Lagerback finally explained it to him.”![]()
So you don't agree with AO on many issues, huh? Are you sure or would you wanna rephrase your statement? Omo, I agree with you on a lot of issues but for you to deny being a stunch AO supporter isn't gonna work for me. I even have you on record advocating that Nigeria should've retained Pa Oni after the 2002 World Cup. Which begs the question, what exactly makes Pa Oni qualified to be a SE coach in the first place? gosh, even his players were laughing at his coaching method.
As i said time to laugh is not now, same players will mock Larger if this arrangement implodes like is has been programmed to do.
To be honest, I am still in shock I couldn't believe I'd hear you say something like that. I mean, it's one thing to hear such an argument certain people here but you're definitely better than that.....I mean, you should know better than an average fan. Anyway, I stand corrected if I have mistated your position on AO.
Last edited by Lagos Bobo on Mon Mar 01, 2010 5:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
My Amodu is a Clown Realization Moment (Amodu had been asked how he intends to fix the Eagles' wobbly midfield and he said):
“Midfield does not win matches. If it does, then Nigeria had no business beating Kenya because the Eagles' midfield failed against Harambee Stars.
“Midfield is just a bridge between the attack and the defence. ...”
“Midfield does not win matches. If it does, then Nigeria had no business beating Kenya because the Eagles' midfield failed against Harambee Stars.
“Midfield is just a bridge between the attack and the defence. ...”
KPOMRebellious wrote:Why do these discussions always have to degenerate into some sort of racial tirade?PABLO wrote:Why do you always sound off the tune. Are you saying Lagerback was the only white man interviewed? Why didn't Sven Ekrisson and Glenn Hoddle wow the panel like he did? He's our choice at the moment...let's see what he can offer before crucifying him. If he doesn't perform at the world cup, then we can stone him. Afterall Amodu had too years without any impact. Ya'll need to give up the fight and move up.
Especially this oga character. Have you ever tried to imagine what this would sound like if the roles where reversed. Imagine a bunch of Swedes riling against the employment of a new coach based on the fact that he was black/African.
The ignorance I find here sometimes is quite sickening
Pure ignorance.
Zelex-CE World Cup 2010 prediction Winner
Didn't Onigbinde do the same in 2002? I recall peeps here on CE praising him for having a laptop and giving excellent PowerPoint presentations. And the result of this shine shine at Korea Japan is here for all to see.PABLO wrote:Lagerback knew what he was doing. He knew Pa Onigbinde was the coach of that 2002 team. He had his game plan set up even before he showed up that day for the interview. He's a good teacher of the game, and a motivational speaker of sort. He knew the best way to beat out guys like Glenn Hoddle and Sven Goran Eriksson was to impose his psychological influence on the panel by making them look dumb and lost by his "super insight and knowledge of the Nigerian football" but, also impressed by his tactical discipline of the game.
It was well planned out. That was why he chose to come late and last for the interview. He's a smart dude. I bet that one move on Pa Onigbinde gave him the job.
I hope he can translate this written knowledge and understanding of the game into the field of play. Mikel will really fit into his diamond style… Taiwo and Chidi Ordia too will benefit from his defensive/offensive tactics. Since the duo enjoys going forward.
-- Senator Edward Kennedy @ Robert F. Kennedy's Funeral on 6/6/68
Well Swedes don't have the same history we have do they???
Negros are always making lame excuses for others but, are quick to pull their brother down.

And did you read the reasons i gave for his retention and the people i postulated should be seconded as his assistants. Sometimes we need to read with an open mind, it helps. You are probably the only one on this forum who will say i am an AO fan. Once again i may not be his fan, but to say he does not know his football will amount to me taking my beef with him too far, i wish i could do that.Lagos Bobo wrote:Well, you and I have the same views on Lagerback. I don't think he's the right man for the job either. However, I will find it difficult to believe that you're not a fan of Pa Oni. I was enjoying your very well written article until I came to the point where you argued that Pa Oni should've been retained.oloye wrote:There is nothing to rephrase, my stand on AO is there for all to see, but my beef with him does not blind me from seeing certain positives in him. Players mocking him is no different from players mocking Berti, once you are down even if you are Tele Santana players will always complain behind you. Funny enough even Scolari was mocked by Chelsea players , they accused his training methods as being outdated forgetting that he won the WC with Brasil with the same methods.Lagos Bobo wrote:Oh really? You could've fooled meoloye wrote:Man mi i may not agree with AO on many issues, but that reply is what you will expect from a man who for once allowed maturity to preceed his response. That was a diplomatic answer , the kind of answer an oyinbo would give to avert an ugly situation. We may not like AO, but i am not sure Lagerback making those kind of remarks is helping himself. But make i fod my hands the next 5 months would bve very very interesting.Ipe Grams wrote:It took Lagerback to explain it to him? it seem its only Nigerian coaches who don't know this lack of tatical input.He then went on to break down the tactical errors that cost the Super Eagles on the day and Onigbinde, according to the insider, was suitably chastised.
To be honest, I am still in shock reading that from you b'cos I believe you know better. I mean, it's one thing to hear such an argument some people here but you're definitely better than that. Anyway, I stand corrected if I have mistated your position on AO.
That is why i said Mr Largerback should watch his back and he enjoys the joke at our expense. We love the novelty of anything new, i wish the man would just stick to the business and not get too carried away with the attention he is getting. I say so because he would find out how nasty we can be. But hey the man must be the luckiest man alive, the only time we would get to see what he can do is at the WC proper, then it would be too late for the shout of crucify him if things does not work well.Gadfly wrote:Didn't Onigbinde do the same in 2002? I recall peeps here on CE praising him for having a laptop and giving excellent PowerPoint presentations. And the result of this shine shine at Korea Japan is here for all to see.PABLO wrote:Lagerback knew what he was doing. He knew Pa Onigbinde was the coach of that 2002 team. He had his game plan set up even before he showed up that day for the interview. He's a good teacher of the game, and a motivational speaker of sort. He knew the best way to beat out guys like Glenn Hoddle and Sven Goran Eriksson was to impose his psychological influence on the panel by making them look dumb and lost by his "super insight and knowledge of the Nigerian football" but, also impressed by his tactical discipline of the game.
It was well planned out. That was why he chose to come late and last for the interview. He's a smart dude. I bet that one move on Pa Onigbinde gave him the job.
I hope he can translate this written knowledge and understanding of the game into the field of play. Mikel will really fit into his diamond style… Taiwo and Chidi Ordia too will benefit from his defensive/offensive tactics. Since the duo enjoys going forward.
You may be right.
oloye wrote:I wanted to laugh but i realise the time for laughter is not now, it is when i see what Largerback can do with the team. For Largerback's info, the team he struggled to beat was assembled in 3 months, now he has the real opporunity to show AO and the likes of us how he intends to work under the same atmosphere. Only then would he have me laughing, for now let me just say talk is cheap. Lagerback go on soun yap on , but make sure you watch your back.
Goldenera94
- Rebellious
Our history does not give us the excuse or the right to be RACIST. And I'm sorry to say but a lot of your comments can easily be categorized as that. Is it hard to imagine that most of the criticism of Amodu was based on his competence and not the colour of his skin?ogasmooth wrote:Well Swedes don't have the same history we have do they???![]()
Rebellious wrote:Our history does not give us the excuse or the right to be RACIST. And I'm sorry to say but a lot of your comments can easily be categorized as that. Is it hard to imagine that most of the criticism of Amodu was based on his competence and not the colour of his skin?ogasmooth wrote:Well Swedes don't have the same history we have do they???![]()
That's what you think... It was on the color of his skin the people just did not say it...
LugardBack, is being picked for the color of his skin. Nothing on his record shows he is better than the local coaches...
This is what Lugard said in 1926
In character and temperament, the typical African of this race-type is a happy, thriftless, excitable person. Lacking in self-control, discipline and foresight. Naturally courageous, and naturally courteous and polite, full of personal vanity, with little sense of veracity, fond of music and loving weapons as an oriental loves jewelery. His thoughts are concentrated on the events and feelings of the moment and he suffers little from the apprehension for the future, or grief for the past. His mind is far nearer to the animal world than that of the European or Asiatic, and exhibits something of the animals’ placidity and want of desire to rise beyond the State he has reached. Through the ages the African appears to have evolved no organized religious creed, and though some tribes appear to believe in a deity, the religious sense seldom rises above pantheistic animalism and seems more often to take the form of a vague dread of the supernatural"
“He lacks the power of organization, and is conspicuously deficient in the management and control alike of men or business. He loves the display of power, but fails to realize its responsibility... he will work hard with a less incentive than most races. He has the courage of the fighting animal, an instinct rather than a moral virtue... In brief, the virtues and defects of this race-type are those of attractive children, whose confidence when it is won is given ungrudgingly as to an older and wiser superior and without envy...Perhaps the two traits which have impressed me as those most characteristic of the African native are his lack of apprehension and his lack of ability to visualize the future. "
ogasmooth, thanks for accepting Lugard's incisive description of you and yours.
And more thanks for having the grace and courage of acknowledging Lugard's correctness.
Cheers!!!
And more thanks for having the grace and courage of acknowledging Lugard's correctness.
Cheers!!!
The meek shall inherit the earth, but they will not hold the mineral rights!!!
- Rebellious
You seem to have complex issues my brother. I cant see what relevance the thoughts of a one-time colonial administrator have with the process of hiring a national team coach in 2010.ogasmooth wrote:Rebellious wrote:Our history does not give us the excuse or the right to be RACIST. And I'm sorry to say but a lot of your comments can easily be categorized as that. Is it hard to imagine that most of the criticism of Amodu was based on his competence and not the colour of his skin?ogasmooth wrote:Well Swedes don't have the same history we have do they???![]()
That's what you think... It was on the color of his skin the people just did not say it...
LugardBack, is being picked for the color of his skin. Nothing on his record shows he is better than the local coaches...
In character and temperament, the typical African of this race-type is a happy, thriftless, excitable person. Lacking in self-control, discipline and foresight. Naturally courageous, and naturally courteous and polite, full of personal vanity, with little sense of veracity, fond of music and loving weapons as an oriental loves jewelery. His thoughts are concentrated on the events and feelings of the moment and he suffers little from the apprehension for the future, or grief for the past. His mind is far nearer to the animal world than that of the European or Asiatic, and exhibits something of the animals’ placidity and want of desire to rise beyond the State he has reached. Through the ages the African appears to have evolved no organized religious creed, and though some tribes appear to believe in a deity, the religious sense seldom rises above pantheistic animalism and seems more often to take the form of a vague dread of the supernatural"
“He lacks the power of organization, and is conspicuously deficient in the management and control alike of men or business. He loves the display of power, but fails to realize its responsibility... he will work hard with a less incentive than most races. He has the courage of the fighting animal, an instinct rather than a moral virtue... In brief, the virtues and defects of this race-type are those of attractive children, whose confidence when it is won is given ungrudgingly as to an older and wiser superior and without envy...Perhaps the two traits which have impressed me as those most characteristic of the African native are his lack of apprehension and his lack of ability to visualize the future. "
Question? Would you still be so irate if the NFF had hired, say, Tigana or John Barnes instead?
Last edited by Rebellious on Mon Mar 01, 2010 6:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Please make sure Ayo doesn't see this...Bigpokey24 wrote:Posted: 2010-03-01 13:48
New Super Eagles coach Lars Lagerback inadvertently embarrassed one of his predecessors, Adegboyega Onigbinde, during his presentation to the panel interviewing him.
During the course of his presentation, Lagerback spoke about the 2002 World Cup and how Sweden upstaged Argentina, England and Nigeria to win the group.
An insider at the meeting tells KickOffNigeria.com that Lagerback explained that his team scouting identified the strengths and weaknesses of each of the team in the group and Nigeria’s major weaknesses was a lack of tactical depth from the sidelines, despite having more top-class players at the time than Sweden.
“Lagerback said they discovered during their scouting that out of 23 players, Argentina had 20 top class players, England had 15, Nigeria had 10 and Sweden had 5.
“So he said their best chance was to target a win against Nigeria, and take points off the other two. They identified that Nigeria had great, skilful and strong players, but lacked tactical organisation and the coaches did not respond to tactical changes on the field.”
Lagerback was unaware that the man who ‘did not respond to tactical changes on the field’ at the time was one of his interviewers.
He then went on to break down the tactical errors that cost the Super Eagles on the day and Onigbinde, according to the insider, was suitably chastised.
“Onigbinde said he knew that he had been wondering what he did wrong in 2002 and Lagerback finally explained it to him.”
Colin Udoh
http://www.kickoff.com/static/news/article.php?id=14135
now that was funny, onigbide nah reall mogu.. who remembers that move he did when he screen.. taribo, taribo then made a hand gesture , i nearly laugh die
BTW did someone also ask him what were the weaknesses of Senegal?
If Sex and Money can't do it, Forget About It.
01.06.1955 Ghana 7-0 Nigeria International @Kwabena
They spent all that time on "analysis"? Taribo only took one minute and one word to sum the squad: "junks"!Bigpokey24 wrote:An insider at the meeting tells KickOffNigeria.com that Lagerback explained that his team scouting identified the strengths and weaknesses of each of the team in the group and Nigeria’s major weaknesses was a lack of tactical depth from the sidelines, despite having more top-class players at the time than Sweden.
“Lagerback said they discovered during their scouting that out of 23 players, Argentina had 20 top class players, England had 15, Nigeria had 10 and Sweden had 5.

"Jose Mourinho favoured directness and used to throw Robert Huth or John Terry up front when Chelsea were chasing the game, a ploy associated with the industrial era of English football management."
- The Guardian UK, November 26, 2007

Rebellious wrote:You seem to have complex issues my brother. I cant see what relevance the thoughts of a one-time colonial administrator have with the process of hiring a national team coach in 2010.ogasmooth wrote:Rebellious wrote:Our history does not give us the excuse or the right to be RACIST. And I'm sorry to say but a lot of your comments can easily be categorized as that. Is it hard to imagine that most of the criticism of Amodu was based on his competence and not the colour of his skin?ogasmooth wrote:Well Swedes don't have the same history we have do they???![]()
Question? Would you still be so irate if the NFF had hired, say, Tigana or John Barnes instead?
Lugardback is being pai 1.7 million dollars for 5 months of work... He is being paid 24X what Amodu made in a month.. What does that say???
this guy is considered a loser in Europe but, in Africa he is considered a hero... Jut like lugard said, all it takes is a little bit and, you will be treated like a master in africa