JJ Okocha: 'African football needs overhaul'

Re: JJ Okocha: 'African football needs overhaul'

Eeerr ehem Dr Sabinus na Oyinbo, forget the Okoro part of his name :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:
Dr. Sabinus Okoro Phd wrote:
Zelex wrote:Former Nigeria star Jay-Jay Okocha believes African football needs to "go back to the drawing board" if it is to succeed in future World Cups.

The 36-year-old told BBC World Service that African nations were not going "that extra mile to get results".

Okocha blamed a lack of investment in local coaches and youth players, adding that the continent's big stars had not delivered on the world's biggest stage.
Yet he was part of the PTF that encouraged the sacking of Amodu and the hiring of Lagerbach. It appears people say things out of sheer convenience and the need for self gratification. Okocha should be quiet and stop embarrassing himself :!:

Yeah like Amodu would have made a difference to the horrible perfromance of the team. The problem was that they left the incompetent Amodu there too long, he should have never been rehired in the first place. I supported him when the greedy thief Onigbinde schemed him out, but that really should have been the end of his chapter with the SE.
I don't mind telling you oyibo worshippers that this mentality of "rather lose with oyibo than win with Amodu" turns my stomach everytime. So, why don't you go ahead and pat yourself on the back. Mission accomplished. Your oyibo messiah failed to win a single game and your best argunment is that Amodu wouldn't have made a difference.

Well, what about the 3 million dollar difference :idea: :?: :!:

Tunisian Gooner

Post by Tunisian Gooner »

Some parts ring true others are generalizations.

Don't think effort was an issue simply quality. A bunch of UEFA castaways who UEFA clubs develop to into CDM's and full backs and yet we're shocked we do not have any real quality or creativity.

Need to forget UEFA football and start building a domestic scene that ensures players are not desperate to abandon their home land in their teens.
Detective Bunk Moreland

'The bigger the lie, the more they believe'

Talk IT wrote:Is this not the same PTF man that destroyed our world cup? :ohmy:
How? Because Amodu was fired? :roll:

Zelex wrote:Former Nigeria star Jay-Jay Okocha believes African football needs to "go back to the drawing board" if it is to succeed in future World Cups.

The 36-year-old told BBC World Service that African nations were not going "that extra mile to get results".

Okocha blamed a lack of investment in local coaches and youth players, adding that the continent's big stars had not delivered on the world's biggest stage.
Yet he was part of the PTF that encouraged the sacking of Amodu and the hiring of Lagerbach. It appears people say things out of sheer convenience and the need for self gratification. Okocha should be quiet and stop embarrassing himself :!:

Sacking Amodu was not the problem. Was it the PTF or NFF that conducted the interviews? This is our problem, we can't even get things right. The PTF helped to organize the funds, the NFF did the firing and hiring. Have you given Okocha credit for coaching the team during the WCQ?

otite wrote:Maybe he is speaking from the mistakes he made in the past. He was the main reason we failed to qualify in 2006 because he refused to show up for a crucial game.
This is 2010. The man made it clear he won't be available for all the games, when injured took time to recover and was dropped just before the socalled crucial game. Anyway he's been in 3 WCs and was our best player in 2 including making the Fifa team of the tournament.

Igbanibo

Post by Igbanibo »

I have said this over and will continue to say it, Siasia needs to be the coach. Of all the Nigerian coaches, that we have, he is the one who has demonstrated the best results at the international level. Granted, his team failed woefully in Egypt, he has demonstrated enough for me. If Siasia had taken the team to SA2010, we would have qualified into the next round without a doubt. His teams usually win games that they are supposed to.
anaedo1

Post by anaedo1 »

Sir Cristao wrote:
anaedo1 wrote:
Sir Cristao wrote:1) JJ is part of the problem. He is saying players that looked up to him as a role model didnt understand they had to go the extra mile. HELLO!! Did you travel the extra mile to Nigeria's away WCQ? Have you found the way to the airport!!

2) He knows nothing about other African countries football preparations!! He should stick to talking about Nigeria!! And from his words, he is talking about Nigeria!
Okocha served his country well throughout his playing career and for anyone including you to suggest otherwise is outright disingenious.The man has footballer friends scatterd around the globe and may have talked to them regarding their teams' preparations.
He shares no blame in the players' attitude and lack of passion because if they had offered their best as he did we probably would not be having this discussion.
I beg to differ.
BULL SHIITE!!
Are you referring to the one you will have for your lunch today?
Make your point barmpot and stop calling names.
Okocha is not responsible for our WC failure and hit target with his carefully worded comments you WOWO.
Incidentally,why was it that none of all the pious ever discovered psycho-analysis?Why did it have to wait for a completely godless Jew?
Sigmund Freud

Okocha has a point but he seemed to double speaking. On one hand he is saying we should have more grassroot development and on another hand he is advocating for players, coaches, and administrators to go abroad for advance training. What I would have expected him to say is that CAF and each national FA invest more in their infrastructures as well as training materials to lift up the standard of coaching and the training players are exposed to. We can't keep exporting our talents to be trained abroad then hope they will come back and blend easily to the local style of play. One can even argue the failure of African teams in this campaign can be traced to the over reliance of our players playing abroad as well as the hiring of these mercenaries a few months to the world cup.
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

nellcarter

Post by nellcarter »

:thumbs: Okocha needs to stfu. Did he forget how he missed his way to the airport in 2006 WC qualifier?. Useless man. With all his European experience, he still went ahead with those other wastepipes that made up the PTF and thier totally useless and inconceivable recommendation of replacing the coach 3 months to the WC.

I won't insult the great Jayjay, he is the most skillful player out of Africa and a Nigerian living Legend.
Jayjay has earned the right to say whatever he wants to say even when he is not so 'right'.
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

zee wrote:I won't insult the great Jayjay, he is the most skillful player out of Africa and a Nigerian living Legend.
Jayjay has earned the right to say whatever he wants to say even when he is not so 'right'.
:thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: So you can yarn correct like this when not running errands for Amodu? This post is what can earn you an avatar like mine.

kalani

Post by kalani »

zee wrote:I won't insult the great Jayjay, he is the most skillful player out of Africa and a Nigerian living Legend.

:thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
megapro wrote:
Yobo’s problem is easy to analyze. His name is Omeruo. You don’t have to be a genius, just a normal guy like me to understand that we’re talking about frustration. It’s not easy for a player to see how he’s outperformed by a 19 year-old kid, but the kid is fantastic. I had the courage to play him and the problem is very simple.
Talk IT

Post by Talk IT »

felarey wrote:
No, because the brought a coach who does not know our players few weeks to the world cup. That means the coach has to start building from the scratch.
If there were no God, I would not be alive.
And if God is not good, I would have been dead.

Talk IT wrote:
felarey wrote:
No, because the brought a coach who does not know our players few weeks to the world cup. That means the coach has to start building from the scratch.
Who hired the coach? PTF or NFF? Who shortlisted the candidates and who conducted the interviews? Besides I believe the PTF died with Yaradua.