Hatem Ben Arfa suffers broken leg, Newcastle confirm
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/footbal ... 055823.stm
small time dey go say wenger dey too complain bobo never play up to 5 games dem don break him leg.
"I first saw David Rocastle play in 1983 for the youth team. I remember coming home excitedly from the match and telling my family, "I've just watched the nearest thing to a Brazilian footballer you are ever likely to see - and he comes from Lewisham." - David Dein on Rocky Rocastle
- AreaDaddy
Re: Hatem Ben Arfa suffers broken leg, Newcastle confirm
It was this man again...

Don't forget that the SOB also injured my dude Stuart Holden in the US friendly vs Holland earlier in the year.
De Jong is a hack artist. Somehow he's evaded cards in all three instances mentioned in this thread. The tackles that injured Stuart, Ben Arfa and the tackle on Alonso.
He is a disgusting player imho and I hope some player(a la Hockey goons) takes it on himself to injure De Jong.
De Jong is a hack artist. Somehow he's evaded cards in all three instances mentioned in this thread. The tackles that injured Stuart, Ben Arfa and the tackle on Alonso.
He is a disgusting player imho and I hope some player(a la Hockey goons) takes it on himself to injure De Jong.
--------------------------------------------
What a bummer!
He's a marked man now, the refs are going to be looking out for him. Watch him get a red card for the most basic tackle next game.
De Jong plays hard. He is not generally a dirty player. Just a tough player
The Ben Arfa's injury was unfortunate 

- Akure4Life
spastic wrote:De Jong plays hard. He is not generally a dirty player. Just a tough playerThe Ben Arfa's injury was unfortunate
I am really pissed off with that ref.
He cost us the game and he overlooked that #$%@^&*'s tackle on Arfa. It if twas the other way round, it would have been a straight red card.
It seems Arab money now rules the EPL. What is the point of playing those matches when the rich teams gets the calls.
Tevez penalty was not a penalty then he denied us a blatant penalty in the second half when Ameobi's standing foot was taken out under him.
Akure4Life
Ojota is my hood.
Alonso was such a lucky boy to have escaped that assault without suffering broken ribs.
City's in the match vs Newcastle was the ref. He made a few crucial calls that were 100% in favour of Man Shitty. It was definitely no coincidence. Like I said in other threads, Man Shitty have found the formula used by Mr. Fergusson and Man IOU for years.
Never enter into a quarrel with an id!ot, lest he drag you down to his level and then beat you up with experience.
That De Jong (what a name) went into that tackle probably not to break leg, but he went in hard enough to intimidate Ben Arfa. I have seen those sort of tackles so many times to know the intent behind it, it is to announce your presence as a hard man on patrol. But the sad thing is that when those sort of tackles connect especially when the other party seems to be timid or trying to withdraw from such tackles , the result is what happened to Ben. There was no need to be that hard , but then like i said he wanted to send a message across to Ben and the others on the field that Steven Seagal is on the field.
That said i have been wondering what happened to dodging of tackes, there was a time you see players skip over tackles, if you are not going hard into a 50-50 tackle , then learn how to jump out of the way. While hard tackling is an art, dogding of such tackles is also an art that ought to be taught so that light players can protect themselves too.
That said it is time for Djong aka Steven Seagal to be cited for violent conduct on the field, that tackle was not neccesary although i must confess ehem i used to be guilty of such tackles, but like i said the intention being to intimidate and subdue a tricky customer before things get out of hand.
That said i have been wondering what happened to dodging of tackes, there was a time you see players skip over tackles, if you are not going hard into a 50-50 tackle , then learn how to jump out of the way. While hard tackling is an art, dogding of such tackles is also an art that ought to be taught so that light players can protect themselves too.
That said it is time for Djong aka Steven Seagal to be cited for violent conduct on the field, that tackle was not neccesary although i must confess ehem i used to be guilty of such tackles, but like i said the intention being to intimidate and subdue a tricky customer before things get out of hand.
HE HAGUE, Netherlands (AP)—Netherlands coach Bert van Marwijk dropped Nigel de Jong from his squad Monday after the Manchester City midfielder was involved in a tackle that left Newcastle winger Hatem Ben Arfa with a broken left leg.
Van Marwijk said he saw “no alternative” but to drop De Jong from his squad to play Moldova and Sweden in two European Championship qualifiers.
“I will shortly speak to Nigel again, but now I am concentrating with the players and staff on the two important qualifiers coming up,” Van Marwijk said in a statement released by the Royal Dutch Football Association.
Van Marwijk told Dutch daily Algemeen Dagblad that the tackle was “unnecessary and wild.” The paper’s football columnist Hugo Borst in a Sunday night television show called De Jong “a repeat offender, a criminal.”
De Jong has a history of hard tackles, including a chest-high challenge on Spain midfielder Xabi Alonso in the hard-fought World Cup final in South Africa that Spain won 1-0 after extra time.
In March earlier this year, United States midfielder Stuart Holden was left with a fractured leg after a challenge by De Jong in a friendly international, leaving Holden sidelined for six weeks.
Ben Arfa, who is on loan from Marseille, is expected to be out for a prolonged spell after x-rays confirmed he suffered a broken tibia and fibula of his left leg in the third minute of Sunday’s match, which City won 2-1.
The striker was due to undergo surgery Monday.
The tackle was not given as a foul, and De Jong escaped punishment from the referee.
Van Marwijk called up midfielders Urby Emanuelson of Ajax and FC Twente’s Wout Brama to cover for De Jong and two injured players, Theo Janssen and Vurnon Anita.
Van Marwijk said he saw “no alternative” but to drop De Jong from his squad to play Moldova and Sweden in two European Championship qualifiers.
“I will shortly speak to Nigel again, but now I am concentrating with the players and staff on the two important qualifiers coming up,” Van Marwijk said in a statement released by the Royal Dutch Football Association.
Van Marwijk told Dutch daily Algemeen Dagblad that the tackle was “unnecessary and wild.” The paper’s football columnist Hugo Borst in a Sunday night television show called De Jong “a repeat offender, a criminal.”
De Jong has a history of hard tackles, including a chest-high challenge on Spain midfielder Xabi Alonso in the hard-fought World Cup final in South Africa that Spain won 1-0 after extra time.
In March earlier this year, United States midfielder Stuart Holden was left with a fractured leg after a challenge by De Jong in a friendly international, leaving Holden sidelined for six weeks.
Ben Arfa, who is on loan from Marseille, is expected to be out for a prolonged spell after x-rays confirmed he suffered a broken tibia and fibula of his left leg in the third minute of Sunday’s match, which City won 2-1.
The tackle was not given as a foul, and De Jong escaped punishment from the referee.
Van Marwijk called up midfielders Urby Emanuelson of Ajax and FC Twente’s Wout Brama to cover for De Jong and two injured players, Theo Janssen and Vurnon Anita.
Wow. much respect to the dutch coach for taking such a stand.
YUJAM wrote:HE HAGUE, Netherlands (AP)—Netherlands coach Bert van Marwijk dropped Nigel de Jong from his squad Monday after the Manchester City midfielder was involved in a tackle that left Newcastle winger Hatem Ben Arfa with a broken left leg.
- maceo4
I've noticed that players don't try to dodge tackles anymore, I guess they want to win the FK rather than 'punk out' but shoot, if it was me I'd just remove my legs from the vicinity of such wild tackles kai!oloye wrote:That De Jong (what a name) went into that tackle probably not to break leg, but he went in hard enough to intimidate Ben Arfa. I have seen those sort of tackles so many times to know the intent behind it, it is to announce your presence as a hard man on patrol. But the sad thing is that when those sort of tackles connect especially when the other party seems to be timid or trying to withdraw from such tackles , the result is what happened to Ben. There was no need to be that hard , but then like i said he wanted to send a message across to Ben and the others on the field that Steven Seagal is on the field.
Good point that tackle was avoidable , Ben could have jumped and still get a free kick, there was a time you see players evade tackle with such finesse. De Jong slid on the floor for a couple of yards before getting to where Arfa planted his legs. It was sad seeing Arfa go down like that. I remember saying welcome to the EPL without knowing that the welcome party was too elaborate.maceo4 wrote:I've noticed that players don't try to dodge tackles anymore, I guess they want to win the FK rather than 'punk out' but shoot, if it was me I'd just remove my legs from the vicinity of such wild tackles kai!oloye wrote:That De Jong (what a name) went into that tackle probably not to break leg, but he went in hard enough to intimidate Ben Arfa. I have seen those sort of tackles so many times to know the intent behind it, it is to announce your presence as a hard man on patrol. But the sad thing is that when those sort of tackles connect especially when the other party seems to be timid or trying to withdraw from such tackles , the result is what happened to Ben. There was no need to be that hard , but then like i said he wanted to send a message across to Ben and the others on the field that Steven Seagal is on the field.
that dong or whatever is very evil.. i was praying joey Barton got one on him.. there was a time Barton went hard on Jong .. i hope the bobo gets his
Yep three broken bones and signature marks on another players chest attest to that!spastic wrote:De Jong plays hard. He is not generally a dirty player. Just a tough playerThe Ben Arfa's injury was unfortunate

All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing - Edmund Burke (1729 – 1797)
Among a people generally corrupt liberty cannot long exist - Edmund Burke (1729 – 1797)
When you write such ignorance. Do you realise this is not the first time time he has broken the leg of an opponent. I remember this same player almost ending Cesc career at Highbury when he played for Ajax. I remember, him breaking the leg of an American midfielder in a FRIENDLY.spastic wrote:De Jong plays hard. He is not generally a dirty player. Just a tough playerThe Ben Arfa's injury was unfortunate
De Jong, is a nasty vicious player who seeks to harm opponents. Look at that act if wickedness on Ben Arfa. He actually goes in and scissors the player. That is classic De Jong.
He and his fellow CLOGGERS, look to harm talented opponents under the pretence of going for the ball. They hide behind that element of doubt of true intent. Well, we are told only De Jong knows if he truly intends to hurt the player, I say given his track record, there is no element of doubt of his intent. I hope one day he gets his karma for his acts of violence he has perpetrated on fellow professionals.
BTW! We now have 3 broken legs in 7 games. There was an even worse one by Sidwell on a French player that plays for Wolves. No one has talked about it. Then there has been the near misses, Dembele and Diaby are very luck not to have broken bones. What grates is the Refs have not even sent off the players for most of these vile acts of assault.
Do you know another good player who as not broken someones leg yet? Essien. Yes, Micheal Essien. There is a very dirty side to his beautiful game that just makes go what the? Believe me, i have seen Essien give some career ending tackles on people.
Only two things in life are certain - death and taxes. But there is one other unpleasant certainty: criticism. No one escapes it entirely and often our careers, our emotional stability, even our happiness depends on how we react to it."By Benjamin Franklin"
The Essien tacle on Diaby should have been a red card. He was lucky he did not break Diaby's ankles.bamenda boy wrote:Do you know another good player who as not broken someones leg yet? Essien. Yes, Micheal Essien. There is a very dirty side to his beautiful game that just makes go what the? Believe me, i have seen Essien give some career ending tackles on people.
And I am not even talking about that. I saw Essien intentially try to break Alex Songs legs two ANCs ago. And i have seen worse from him. A very scary side of our beloved Essien.Waffiman wrote:The Essien tacle on Diaby should have been a red card. He was lucky he did not break Diaby's ankles.bamenda boy wrote:Do you know another good player who as not broken someones leg yet? Essien. Yes, Micheal Essien. There is a very dirty side to his beautiful game that just makes go what the? Believe me, i have seen Essien give some career ending tackles on people.
Only two things in life are certain - death and taxes. But there is one other unpleasant certainty: criticism. No one escapes it entirely and often our careers, our emotional stability, even our happiness depends on how we react to it."By Benjamin Franklin"
True! I remember that incident.bamenda boy wrote:And I am not even talking about that. I saw Essien intentially try to break Alex Songs legs two ANCs ago. And i have seen worse from him. A very scary side of our beloved Essien.Waffiman wrote:The Essien tacle on Diaby should have been a red card. He was lucky he did not break Diaby's ankles.bamenda boy wrote:Do you know another good player who as not broken someones leg yet? Essien. Yes, Micheal Essien. There is a very dirty side to his beautiful game that just makes go what the? Believe me, i have seen Essien give some career ending tackles on people.
- Akure4Life
bamenda boy wrote:And I am not even talking about that. I saw Essien intentially try to break Alex Songs legs two ANCs ago. And i have seen worse from him. A very scary side of our beloved Essien.Waffiman wrote:The Essien tacle on Diaby should have been a red card. He was lucky he did not break Diaby's ankles.bamenda boy wrote:Do you know another good player who as not broken someones leg yet? Essien. Yes, Micheal Essien. There is a very dirty side to his beautiful game that just makes go what the? Believe me, i have seen Essien give some career ending tackles on people.
You will only see it when it is against a Camerounian. What about camerounians who broke other player's legs?
Akure4Life
Ojota is my hood.
Fair point bro. But he also has a point.Akure4Life wrote:bamenda boy wrote:And I am not even talking about that. I saw Essien intentially try to break Alex Songs legs two ANCs ago. And i have seen worse from him. A very scary side of our beloved Essien.Waffiman wrote:The Essien tacle on Diaby should have been a red card. He was lucky he did not break Diaby's ankles.bamenda boy wrote:Do you know another good player who as not broken someones leg yet? Essien. Yes, Micheal Essien. There is a very dirty side to his beautiful game that just makes go what the? Believe me, i have seen Essien give some career ending tackles on people.
You will only see it when it is against a Camerounian. What about camerounians who broke other player's legs?