Onuoha and Ogbonna

I was opportuned to watch both Ned Onuoha and Angelo Ogbonna last week-end in action for their respective teams and I believe that the inclusion of both players in the SE set-up will raise the overall quality of the SE. I was particularly impressed with Onuoha's game against Chelsea. While most people were raving about his goal, I was really impressed with the manner in which he shut out both Didier Drogba and Florent Malouda. Ogbonna was impressive in his team's 1-1 draw away at Reggina (which featured Daniel Adejo) and was very powerful in the air. Both players are very versatile with Nedum playing at RB and CB, and Angelo playing at LB and CB. They can start or act as cover for 2 positions, so the SE does not need to take 2 specialist RBs and LBs to competitions such as the Nations cup, thereby freeing more squad places in midfield and attack. I hope SSS and the NFF can get Christain Obodo to talk to Ogbonna same way Yak and Yobo convinced Anichebe to pledge his international future to Nigeria. The EPL players like Mikel can also assist in convincing Nedum to pledge his allegiance to Nigeria. Others like Sidney Sam, Moses, Ameobi etc are bonuses if they commit to Nigeria, but these 2 we really need them.
Tokiroy 4
Re: Onuoha and Ogbonna

Post by Tokiroy 4 »

Dammy wrote:I was opportuned to watch both Ned Onuoha and Angelo Ogbonna last week-end in action for their respective teams and I believe that the inclusion of both players in the SE set-up will raise the overall quality of the SE. I was particularly impressed with Onuoha's game against Chelsea. While most people were raving about his goal, I was really impressed with the manner in which he shut out both Didier Drogba and Florent Malouda. Ogbonna was impressive in his team's 1-1 draw away at Reggina (which featured Daniel Adejo) and was very powerful in the air. Both players are very versatile with Nedum playing at RB and CB, and Angelo playing at LB and CB. They can start or act as cover for 2 positions, so the SE does not need to take 2 specialist RBs and LBs to competitions such as the Nations cup, thereby freeing more squad places in midfield and attack. I hope SSS and the NFF can get Christain Obodo to talk to Ogbonna same way Yak and Yobo convinced Anichebe to pledge his international future to Nigeria. The EPL players like Mikel can also assist in convincing Nedum to pledge his allegiance to Nigeria. Others like Sidney Sam, Moses, Ameobi etc are bonuses if they commit to Nigeria, but these 2 we really need them.
I agree with you bruv. The more the merrier eh? Especially when quality is involved. However, one question springs to mind here - How would these players adapt to the African challenge, during African play-offs? Will they be able to adapt? & how committed would they be to the cause ?

Besides, Anichebe hasn't played a competitive game since his injury last season etc, so, would it be plausible to bring him into the reckoning when there are many other players waiting in the wing?

We must try and desist on bringing players into the team based on reputation etc. What we want to see, is competitiveness - i.e. players who would not be guaranteed a starting berth unless their cumulative effort warrants it.

PEACE !!!!
Tokiroy makes the gooood times Roll !

Tokiroy 4 wrote:
Dammy wrote:I was opportuned to watch both Ned Onuoha and Angelo Ogbonna last week-end in action for their respective teams and I believe that the inclusion of both players in the SE set-up will raise the overall quality of the SE. I was particularly impressed with Onuoha's game against Chelsea. While most people were raving about his goal, I was really impressed with the manner in which he shut out both Didier Drogba and Florent Malouda. Ogbonna was impressive in his team's 1-1 draw away at Reggina (which featured Daniel Adejo) and was very powerful in the air. Both players are very versatile with Nedum playing at RB and CB, and Angelo playing at LB and CB. They can start or act as cover for 2 positions, so the SE does not need to take 2 specialist RBs and LBs to competitions such as the Nations cup, thereby freeing more squad places in midfield and attack. I hope SSS and the NFF can get Christain Obodo to talk to Ogbonna same way Yak and Yobo convinced Anichebe to pledge his international future to Nigeria. The EPL players like Mikel can also assist in convincing Nedum to pledge his allegiance to Nigeria. Others like Sidney Sam, Moses, Ameobi etc are bonuses if they commit to Nigeria, but these 2 we really need them.
I agree with you bruv. The more the merrier eh? Especially when quality is involved. However, one question springs to mind here - How would these players adapt to the African challenge, during African play-offs? Will they be able to adapt? & how committed would they be to the cause ?

Besides, Anichebe hasn't played a competitive game since his injury last season etc, so, would it be plausible to bring him into the reckoning when there are many other players waiting in the wing?

We must try and desist on bringing players into the team based on reputation etc. What we want to see, is competitiveness - i.e. players who would not be guaranteed a starting berth unless their cumulative effort warrants it.

PEACE !!!!
We can hope & try but I doubt it they are interested.
Tokiroy 4

Post by Tokiroy 4 »

Tokiroy 4 wrote:

PEACE !!!!
Says who? I know Onuoha is very interested. He was over-looked for the last ANC & World Cup. How would you feel, if that was you Bruv?
Tokiroy makes the gooood times Roll !
spastic

Post by spastic »

I find myself asking this question all the time. Are we to assume Naija has never contacted this guys? That doesn't seem reasonable to me. Thus I am of the view that they presently lack interest in playing for Naija. :idea:
Igbanibo

Post by Igbanibo »

Tokiroy 4 wrote:

PEACE !!!!
Says who? I know Onuoha is very interested. He was over-looked for the last ANC & World Cup. How would you feel, if that was you Bruv?

Onuha came out and said he wants to concentrate on his club football, when potentially he could have been called up, and made the squad. Please leave the bobo alone jare.

I would be pleasantly surprised if he plays for Nigeria.
His stock for an England call up just increased this past couple of weeks and frankly, it would be a surprise if he turns down England to play for Nigeria.
I say we should focus on our homegrown kids instead.
Igbanibo wrote:
Tokiroy 4 wrote:

PEACE !!!!

Onuha came out and said he wants to concentrate on his club football, when potentially he could have been called up, and made the squad. Please leave the bobo alone jare.

spastic wrote:I find myself asking this question all the time. Are we to assume Naija has never contacted this guys? That doesn't seem reasonable to me. Thus I am of the view that they presently lack interest in playing for Naija. :idea:
Most players will refuse to play for Nigeria, the NFF is a detriment to the recruiting process.

Why do you bother about guys that are not Naijarians?

Tokiroy 4 wrote:

PEACE !!!!
After Nigerias last showing at the ANC & WC I would'nt exactly cry!

Hasn't this been done to death or are some of you guys stuck on stupid?

Otitokoro wrote:I would be pleasantly surprised if he plays for Nigeria.
His stock for an England call up just increased this past couple of weeks and frankly, it would be a surprise if he turns down England to play for Nigeria.
I say we should focus on our homegrown kids instead.
Igbanibo wrote:
Tokiroy 4 wrote:

PEACE !!!!

He has a hill in front of him and that is Johnson. If he wants to have an international career, he better start looking at the SE.