Amos Adamu drags EFCC to court
Adamu drags EFCC to court
Posted: 2010-12-14 06:20
http://www.kickoff.com/news/19273/amos- ... -court.php
Disgraced former Fifa Executive Committee member Amos Adamu has gone to court challenging the powers of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission to investigate and prosecute him.
Adamu was last month suspended for three years by FIFA and fined 10 000 Swiss francs following his involvement in a cash for votes sting.
Following that, the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission said it would investigate and prosecute him.
But Adamu has now gone to court, asking for an order of injunction restraining the EFCC from arresting, detaining, harassing and undertaking any criminal proceedings against him.
His counsel, Niyi Ayoola-Daniels argued that the EFCC did not have the statutory power to investigate him.
“The EFCC does not have the power to investigate an alleged breach of the articles of FIFA code of ethics 2009 because FIFA is not a parastatal under the Federal Government of Nigeria.”
“The former FIFA executive member is being disturbed and unable to move freely in the country.”
Besides the EFCC, Adamu also joined the Independent Corrupt Practices and other related Offences Commission (ICPC) and the Nigeria Police Force in the action.
In the suit filed on his behalf by Niyi Ayoola-Daniels, Adamu is praying the court to hold that EFCC and ICPC were bereft of statutory powers to investigate and/or prosecute him for an alleged violation of the code of ethics of Fifa.
According to Ayoola-Daniels, the laws establishing EFCC and ICPC do not empower them to investigate and punish people for breaching FIFA’s Code of Ethics. He also prayed the court to declare that the police would be acting beyond their powers if they decided to investigate him for alleged breach of FIFA’s code of ethics.
Adamu asked the court to declare that by virtue of the laws establishing the offices of the anti-graft agencies and the Office of the Attorney General of the Federation, they all lacked the power to prosecute him for alleged breach of Fifa’s code of ethics.
He consequently asked the court to restrain the EFCC, the ICPC and the police from infringing his right to personal liberty as enshrined in Section 35 of the 1999 Constitution.
When the matter came up yesterday, the trial judge, Justice Sylvanus Oriji, asked Adamu’s lawyer, Ayoola-Daniels, whether his court had the power to restrain the anti-graft agencies from interrogating Adamu.
The judge consequently adjourned the matter to January 17, 2011.
Colin Udoh
Adamu drags EFCC to court
Posted: 2010-12-14 06:20
http://www.kickoff.com/news/19273/amos- ... -court.php
Disgraced former Fifa Executive Committee member Amos Adamu has gone to court challenging the powers of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission to investigate and prosecute him.
Adamu was last month suspended for three years by FIFA and fined 10 000 Swiss francs following his involvement in a cash for votes sting.
Following that, the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission said it would investigate and prosecute him.
But Adamu has now gone to court, asking for an order of injunction restraining the EFCC from arresting, detaining, harassing and undertaking any criminal proceedings against him.
His counsel, Niyi Ayoola-Daniels argued that the EFCC did not have the statutory power to investigate him.
“The EFCC does not have the power to investigate an alleged breach of the articles of FIFA code of ethics 2009 because FIFA is not a parastatal under the Federal Government of Nigeria.”
“The former FIFA executive member is being disturbed and unable to move freely in the country.”
Besides the EFCC, Adamu also joined the Independent Corrupt Practices and other related Offences Commission (ICPC) and the Nigeria Police Force in the action.
In the suit filed on his behalf by Niyi Ayoola-Daniels, Adamu is praying the court to hold that EFCC and ICPC were bereft of statutory powers to investigate and/or prosecute him for an alleged violation of the code of ethics of Fifa.
According to Ayoola-Daniels, the laws establishing EFCC and ICPC do not empower them to investigate and punish people for breaching FIFA’s Code of Ethics. He also prayed the court to declare that the police would be acting beyond their powers if they decided to investigate him for alleged breach of FIFA’s code of ethics.
Adamu asked the court to declare that by virtue of the laws establishing the offices of the anti-graft agencies and the Office of the Attorney General of the Federation, they all lacked the power to prosecute him for alleged breach of Fifa’s code of ethics.
He consequently asked the court to restrain the EFCC, the ICPC and the police from infringing his right to personal liberty as enshrined in Section 35 of the 1999 Constitution.
When the matter came up yesterday, the trial judge, Justice Sylvanus Oriji, asked Adamu’s lawyer, Ayoola-Daniels, whether his court had the power to restrain the anti-graft agencies from interrogating Adamu.
The judge consequently adjourned the matter to January 17, 2011.
Colin Udoh
Re: Amos Adamu drags EFCC to court
I agree with Adamu on this.
I noticed consorting with Dr Cellular is affecting your thought process. Now you are defending depraved public officials. Bro watch your association with certain people.Sometimes it is not very healthy.A word is enough for the wise.1naija wrote:I agree with Adamu on this.
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Lomarji, did you see 1Naija defending Adamu?bobbye wrote:I noticed consorting with Dr Cellular is affecting your thought process. Now you are defending depraved public officials. Bro watch your association with certain people.Sometimes it is not very healthy.A word is enough for the wise.1naija wrote:I agree with Adamu on this.
If only you understood the big big words you use...
Someone has to challenge the constitutionality or the legal framework EFCC or any of these government agencies operate. It has nothing to do with defending "depraved public officials".
Ps., you haven't heard about when innocent argue the (facts of a) case, when not innocent argue the law?
On what do you agree with Adamu??? ...that EFCC or ICPC or even Police does not have the power to investigate a Nigerian government official??? C'mon! The man is merely buying time to tidy up some other messy things. He was representing Nigeria in the international body and in the process dragged the image of the country in the mud. It was the Nigerian government that nominated him for the post at the demise of Patrick Okpomo the first nominee.1naija wrote:I agree with Adamu on this.
Even if EFCC does not include FIFA breach in their investigations, there are plenty in the home front to nail him for life. Nigeria '99, 2003 All Africa Games (COJA), his role in the Sports Ministry and the NFA, etc, etc, etc.
My only fear is that his man, Atiku is still very much in the thick of things to abort any justice. Period. In other words, all the investigations will come to nought.

...all for the good of the game, for 'football is full of idiots and egotists; men obsessed with squeezing out every last penny from the game that gives them a living'.
1Naija,
This is why I laugh at you guys that are quick to talk about certain issues. Let me take you through this. You support EFCC to provide material with which Ibori will be extradicted from Dubai to London on money laundering charges but you do not support EFCC ivestigating a Nigerian official accused of corruption by an international body whose constitution and activities are ratified by Nigeria. Now if another Nigeria official is accused and indicted of corruption in the red cross, unesco and unicef will reject them?
IGBOS ARE THE IMPORTANT AND USEFUL SLAVES OF NIGERIA. THEY HAVE A CHOICE TO MAKE.