M Gleeson just carpeted Sia1 and NFF
Re: M Gleeson just carpeted Sia1 and NFF
...U dey cry like sey we don play the game and will lose the points already..maceo4 wrote:Dude, its NOT a minor detail...If we played Moses without the proper clearance we could be duct points or be banned....I mean come on now!paj wrote:....and how does that change the fact that the dude can't play? If your boss is running the business smoothly 9 out of 10 areas and forgot some minor detail about getting a good team player away from a competitor that will help enhance the company,and even though ultimately the guy will be on board,U'll be disappointed in the same boss that actually thought up the idea and brought this guy in?maceo4 wrote:He doesn't have to lie, he can simply say the logistics will be and are being taken care of by the NFF, instead of making himself look like a fool. Maybe Robby is right that Sia1 needs a media person to help him.felarey wrote:Are you suggesting he lied or gave some bogus explanation? It's a thing of virtue when you can admit your own fault. It's called leadership. He said he didn't know a player that's previously played in youth needed application for another country. That's refreshing honesty that should be welcomed and acceptable.maceo4 wrote:Kinda agree, but Sia1 shouldn't have made his ignorance known to the whole world haba.TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:Yes, the coach ought to be familiar with FIFA rules, particularly the ones that apply to players but at the same time, I tend to think that this matter belongs more within the NFF's sphere of operations. Surely, they have some kind of FIFA liason who monitors and interpretes FIFA rulesolu wrote:I'm a big fan of Siasia, but as a coach he should be familiar with such rules. If it were Amodu, CCC, or Eguaveon that made this mistake, the backlash would have been much louder.![]()
One thing that bothers me though is the way a lot of us talk as if SSS is not an employee of the NFF as in he's part and parcel of the Nigerian Football Federation, and when he speaks he doesn't just speak for Sia1 he speaks as a representative of the NFF to the world!
If my boss didn't know the rules of the business we are in, I would be seriously worried, I wouldn't give him/her props for admitting that to me...I mean WTF thats some weird logic there.

Available on all major streaming platforms

- maceo4
...U dey cry like sey we don play the game and will lose the points already..paj wrote:Dude, its NOT a minor detail...If we played Moses without the proper clearance we could be duct points or be banned....I mean come on now!paj wrote:....and how does that change the fact that the dude can't play? If your boss is running the business smoothly 9 out of 10 areas and forgot some minor detail about getting a good team player away from a competitor that will help enhance the company,and even though ultimately the guy will be on board,U'll be disappointed in the same boss that actually thought up the idea and brought this guy in?maceo4 wrote:He doesn't have to lie, he can simply say the logistics will be and are being taken care of by the NFF, instead of making himself look like a fool. Maybe Robby is right that Sia1 needs a media person to help him.felarey wrote:Are you suggesting he lied or gave some bogus explanation? It's a thing of virtue when you can admit your own fault. It's called leadership. He said he didn't know a player that's previously played in youth needed application for another country. That's refreshing honesty that should be welcomed and acceptable.maceo4 wrote:Kinda agree, but Sia1 shouldn't have made his ignorance known to the whole world haba.TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:Yes, the coach ought to be familiar with FIFA rules, particularly the ones that apply to players but at the same time, I tend to think that this matter belongs more within the NFF's sphere of operations. Surely, they have some kind of FIFA liason who monitors and interpretes FIFA rulesolu wrote:I'm a big fan of Siasia, but as a coach he should be familiar with such rules. If it were Amodu, CCC, or Eguaveon that made this mistake, the backlash would have been much louder.![]()
One thing that bothers me though is the way a lot of us talk as if SSS is not an employee of the NFF as in he's part and parcel of the Nigerian Football Federation, and when he speaks he doesn't just speak for Sia1 he speaks as a representative of the NFF to the world!
If my boss didn't know the rules of the business we are in, I would be seriously worried, I wouldn't give him/her props for admitting that to me...I mean WTF thats some weird logic there.

Na wa o, this ya argument get as e be...
I applaud his efforts but like I said he has not yet coached one competitive game in the senior level. Can we just wait a bit to see how this all turns out? At the end of the day it is all about winning (damn Charlie Sheen) and the most immediate concern is getting us to the ANC (hey we fired our last coach who got us to world cup if you remember). He can have all the mix of home based, overseas even heaven based players if wants, but if we don't win none of your "eye rolling" will mean jack. I would hold the high stool for now. When he objectively deserves it, then I for one will help get him on that pedestal. I still say he is the coach he should ask if his players have there visas, passports and FIFA clearances. That's what most of us would do especially if your boss is NFF; you absolutely gotta stay on top of things.paj wrote:..dude....'good enuff' job since U no sabi make I outline am for U:kawawa wrote:Common man let's be fair here. I like Siasia and I am grateful we finally hired one of our own instead of some fat cow from abroad. But what is "good enuff" job. We have not played a competitive game under him. We have not qualified for the ANC. He took a team all the way to the US for a tournament that did not hold. I am not saying any of these are his fault including the Moses thing and I agree someone at NFF ought be looking into these things but he is the coach and the buck should stop with him. As I said, if Amodu were in the same situation it would have been wahala on the CE. My thinking and I hate to imply the obvious is that Amodu remains more homegrown than Siasia. May be this is just some form of transference as they say in pyschology.paj wrote:....the reason is because the guy's doing a good enuff job for us to forgive a few slight errors here or there...kawawa wrote:I have been scratching my head on this one especially since most are letting Siasia off the hook on this one a bit too easily. If Amodu had said he did not know that Moses needed clearance from FIFA, he would have been called a lot of names. Does this mean we are giving Siasia the same benefit of doubt we previously reserved for our Oyibo coaches? Maybe a good thing but just can't believe he did not know!![]()
1.For the first time in a loooooooooong time players are trooping in before or by the deadline![]()
2.He's spreading the field open to many players in an effort to secure a strong team![]()
3.Within 60 days or so of his appointment he gets a friendly match played![]()
4.He's inputting a healthy mix of young,experienced,homebased and foreign based players![]()
5.He's openly inviting and securing the services of Nigerian players who could otherwise play for other countries..![]()
6.He's working with coaches of U-23 team and deferring players to them in an effort to get them assessed if they cant make the SE just yet![]()
..I could go on and on but this are the signs of a coach who's dotting his i's and crossing his t's meticulously WITHIN THE ASSIGNMENT OF COACHING....any other logistics outside of assembling and coaching his players really should be on the NFF's lap...should it have crossed his mind?maybe so..but I believe that's why we have ADVISORS in the NFF?
Kpom! Absolutely ludicrous..
Waffiman wrote:To be fair, Mr Gleeson has a point.
http://nigeriamasterweb.com/paperfrmes.html
Keshi said that before the team arrived South Africa that he told skipper Joseph Yobo that the Eagles were going to win the Cup but the former Everton defender did not believe.

quote="maceo4"]
If my boss didn't know the rules of the business we are in, I would be seriously worried, I wouldn't give him/her props for admitting that to me...I mean WTF thats some weird logic there.[/quote]
....and how does that change the fact that the dude can't play? If your boss is running the business smoothly 9 out of 10 areas and forgot some minor detail about getting a good team player away from a competitor that will help enhance the company,and even though ultimately the guy will be on board,U'll be disappointed in the same boss that actually thought up the idea and brought this guy in?
[/quote]
Dude, its NOT a minor detail...If we played Moses without the proper clearance we could be duct points or be banned....I mean come on now![/quote]
...U dey cry like sey we don play the game and will lose the points already..
I mean..come on..we caught the milk before E spill...
[/quote]
Na wa o, this ya argument get as e be...[/quote]
.....I laff.. U tink sey I no see how U take cunny cunny dodge d kweshon wey I ask about ya boss analogy?
He doesn't have to lie, he can simply say the logistics will be and are being taken care of by the NFF, instead of making himself look like a fool. Maybe Robby is right that Sia1 needs a media person to help him.felarey wrote:Are you suggesting he lied or gave some bogus explanation? It's a thing of virtue when you can admit your own fault. It's called leadership. He said he didn't know a player that's previously played in youth needed application for another country. That's refreshing honesty that should be welcomed and acceptable.maceo4 wrote:Kinda agree, but Sia1 shouldn't have made his ignorance known to the whole world haba.TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:Yes, the coach ought to be familiar with FIFA rules, particularly the ones that apply to players but at the same time, I tend to think that this matter belongs more within the NFF's sphere of operations. Surely, they have some kind of FIFA liason who monitors and interpretes FIFA rulesolu wrote:I'm a big fan of Siasia, but as a coach he should be familiar with such rules. If it were Amodu, CCC, or Eguaveon that made this mistake, the backlash would have been much louder.![]()
If my boss didn't know the rules of the business we are in, I would be seriously worried, I wouldn't give him/her props for admitting that to me...I mean WTF thats some weird logic there.[/quote]
....and how does that change the fact that the dude can't play? If your boss is running the business smoothly 9 out of 10 areas and forgot some minor detail about getting a good team player away from a competitor that will help enhance the company,and even though ultimately the guy will be on board,U'll be disappointed in the same boss that actually thought up the idea and brought this guy in?

Dude, its NOT a minor detail...If we played Moses without the proper clearance we could be duct points or be banned....I mean come on now![/quote]
...U dey cry like sey we don play the game and will lose the points already..

Na wa o, this ya argument get as e be...[/quote]
.....I laff.. U tink sey I no see how U take cunny cunny dodge d kweshon wey I ask about ya boss analogy?

Every fan on CE knows about this rule. l thought it was so well known. SSS yabbed big time to be unaware of this simplest of rules. He needs to employ urgent help and bury his own heads in studies immediately to avoid a repeat of similar incidents. His mistakes are piling up and l am uncomfortable. Ordinarily, this should have been NFF's job but SSS should remember that the guys at the NFF wont do their job and he will have to if he wants to succeed. This is how he got to where he is to stat with. He worked hard to ENSURE his plans work inspite of the NFF while at the u20 and u23 jobs. He should remember this. And l also hope KOC will help with this. He also needs to learn how to deal with the press better.
As for me and my house we will serve the LORD.-----JOSHUA 24 VS 15.
Life in Christ is not a change,it is an exchange. Your ashes for his beauty,your weakness for his strenght ,your destiny assured and a bonus of a victorious life on earth. lt is an irrestitible exchange.
CMS wrote:Kpom! Absolutely ludicrous..Waffiman wrote:To be fair, Mr Gleeson has a point.
I listened to Sia1 interview so I heard it with my own ears. Even before Mark reacted, I was absolutely shocked that our coach can just come and say on the radio, BBC program, that he thought a player that only played u20 footy needs no FIFA, clearance.
He was not diplomatic about it. He did not mention anything about NFF administration in charge of checking.
What it meant was they could, if no one had picked it up, fielded Moses to the embarrassment of the nation.
Obviously the late application meant FIFA was unable to grant permission in time for Moses to play.
This is the type of Lackadaisical attitude that calls into question our attention to details
To listen to Samson Siasia and Mark Gleeson's reaction, click: http://www.bbc.co.uk/worldservice/audio ... ttrack_fri
To listen to Siasia's interview move the programme forward to 31.20.
To listen to Gleeson's reaction move the programme forward to 49.53 (Aliou Galoko first then Mark)
To listen to Siasia's interview move the programme forward to 31.20.
To listen to Gleeson's reaction move the programme forward to 49.53 (Aliou Galoko first then Mark)
Welcome to CE: A place where an average man can tell a legend how to run his family. A place where an internet coach think he is beta team than an international coach. A place where a "four one nine" artist and Cab Driver can call a professional player a wastepipe. A Place where a wanna be agent can tell a professional player what club to join and what country to earn his money.A place where a simple debate can turn into an insult towards your mama and papa. Once again welcome to CE.
Abi o!paj wrote:....the reason is because the guy's doing a good enuff job for us to forgive a few slight errors here or there...kawawa wrote:I have been scratching my head on this one especially since most are letting Siasia off the hook on this one a bit too easily. If Amodu had said he did not know that Moses needed clearance from FIFA, he would have been called a lot of names. Does this mean we are giving Siasia the same benefit of doubt we previously reserved for our Oyibo coaches? Maybe a good thing but just can't believe he did not know!
Why can't people just accept that there is much more mad love for SSS than there ever was for Amodu....until further notice?
For once you make sense, clap for yourself!!!omey2k4 wrote:FOK Mark GleesonQHe will never haev a point.This guy has been bashin Nigerian since i was back in Nigeria listening to BBC sports,fok him!!!
My usual reaction after most Arsenal games: "lol, f*** Arsenal."
While gleeson has always been quick to castigate us, he raises a salient point about the admin. There should be someone looking after these things. It is not siasia's job. Even in Europe, you have clubs being thrown out of comps because they fielded an ineligible player, it's easy to forget.
Someone at the NFF should be looking out for these things. Siasia would not ne the person who filled out and signed the form so why is it is responsibility. Next you'll be telling me its his job to obtain visas for the team.
My usual reaction after most Arsenal games: "lol, f*** Arsenal."
Who is M Gleeson! guess english FA know all the FIFA laws abi and what as that benefited them since
1966...... zilt.... tell him to STFU..... he is only mad that the boy chose 9jer over England.....
M Gleeson my #$%....
1966...... zilt.... tell him to STFU..... he is only mad that the boy chose 9jer over England.....
M Gleeson my #$%....
He's South African I think and a well known African footy pundit.globalinksnn wrote:Who is M Gleeson! guess english FA know all the FIFA laws abi and what as that benefited them since
M Gleeson my #$%....
olu wrote:Even though the NFF should go over the list, I still believe its his repsonsiblity to do his research and ensure that he picks players that are eligible to play. Unfortunately, Moses won't be able to play at a time we may actually need him in the squad cos of the recent injuries to other players.ohenhen1 wrote:SSS is the head coach, his job is to submit a list to the NFF. It is the job of the NFF to look over the list and make sure everything is okay with the logistic(paperwork and etc). The pepole you should be blaming are the NFF not SSS.
Am sure SSS knows the FIFA rules, but it is not his job to go over all the paperwork. This is not the first time a player has switched his national allegiance. SSS is not to blame here, because it is not his responsiblity to make sure all the paperwork are in order, that is the job of the NFF. I will only judge him on his job performance, things that are mandated to him in his contract.
since u seem to know n respect him very....u can pass the message to him!globalinksnn wrote:Who is M Gleeson! guess english FA know all the FIFA laws abi and what as that benefited them since
M Gleeson my #$%....
If I recall correctly, we had a foreign coach who said he would convince Toto Tamuz to play for Nigeria when Tamuz was already ineligible .... and the same foreign coach said he would get Wolverhampton's Matt Murray to play for Nigeria, when it was Murray's deputy Carl Ikeme who was eligible for us not Murray.Ugbowo wrote:I see some ppl here want to give SSS for playing a friendly within 60 days of appointment yet they want to absolve him of any blame for taking a team all the way to the U.S for no friendly at all.....hmmmmmmm. Secondly, IF WE HAD A FOREIGN COACH would this have happened??? I'm not advocating a foreigner at all, I am just asking a question....N
PS: Then there was the NFF Chairman who admitted he didn't know CAF was using head-to-head in 2006 ....
PPS: And yes, the forum would have crashed with over-the-top negativity if it had been Amodu.

The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.
It is like fox news all up on this thread! Welcome to the all spin zoneDamunk wrote:Abi o!paj wrote:....the reason is because the guy's doing a good enuff job for us to forgive a few slight errors here or there...kawawa wrote:I have been scratching my head on this one especially since most are letting Siasia off the hook on this one a bit too easily. If Amodu had said he did not know that Moses needed clearance from FIFA, he would have been called a lot of names. Does this mean we are giving Siasia the same benefit of doubt we previously reserved for our Oyibo coaches? Maybe a good thing but just can't believe he did not know!
Why can't people just accept that there is much more mad love for SSS than there ever was for Amodu....until further notice?

The Eagle wrote:If I recall correctly, we had a foreign coach who said he would convince Toto Tamuz to play for Nigeria when Tamuz was already ineligible .... and the same foreign coach said he would get Wolverhampton's Matt Murray to play for Nigeria, when it was Murray's deputy Carl Ikeme who was eligible for us not Murray.Ugbowo wrote:I see some ppl here want to give SSS for playing a friendly within 60 days of appointment yet they want to absolve him of any blame for taking a team all the way to the U.S for no friendly at all.....hmmmmmmm. Secondly, IF WE HAD A FOREIGN COACH would this have happened??? I'm not advocating a foreigner at all, I am just asking a question....N
PS: Then there was the NFF Chairman who admitted he didn't know CAF was using head-to-head in 2006 ....
PPS: And yes, the forum would have crashed with over-the-top negativity if it had been Amodu.
Don't mind them...a lot of revisionist history going on here...Siasia has been deified before a competitive match has been played, and Amodu was villified before his own first game.
While I hope Nigeria wins, part of me wants the opposite so one can see how the shameless #$%-kissers suddenly disappear for days underground or pull out some well-worn and stupid excuses while continuing to bash Amodu.
As for the Victor Moses situation - check this out: Siasia can display ignorance and be given a pass, but if Nigeria was sanctioned for playing him without permission we wouldn't qualify for the Nations Cup, and who do you think will be fired? The NFF top brass? or the person responsible for taking Nigeria to the Nations Cup?
If Siasia didn't know the rules, he should have diplomatically sidestepped the question instead of going gboaaaa and making himself look stupid in the process.
"How can someone qualify his country for the World Cup and then, because he lost a match, everyone is saying they should sack him. Please allow the man to do his work. Nobody is perfect, but if someone can qualify his country for the World Cup, then he deserves some respect. I even heard that it is the second time he has qualified Nigeria for the World Cup. That is huge". - French legend Alain Giresse on Nigeria's Shuaibu Amodu, 2010
paj wrote:....olu wrote:I'm a big fan of Siasia, but as a coach he should be familiar with such rules. If it were Amodu, CCC, or Eguaveon that made this mistake, the backlash would have been much louder...we're not as unforgiving as U would like to think..
some of us still think AModu should've been in SA..
N atrue u talk joo...!
I wonder y pple dey always wan bring trouble where none exists.
And Jesus said to the only leper that came back to thank Him after He healed ten.... "Chai....na only you waka come?".
kulu wrote:The Eagle wrote:If I recall correctly, we had a foreign coach who said he would convince Toto Tamuz to play for Nigeria when Tamuz was already ineligible .... and the same foreign coach said he would get Wolverhampton's Matt Murray to play for Nigeria, when it was Murray's deputy Carl Ikeme who was eligible for us not Murray.Ugbowo wrote:I see some ppl here want to give SSS for playing a friendly within 60 days of appointment yet they want to absolve him of any blame for taking a team all the way to the U.S for no friendly at all.....hmmmmmmm. Secondly, IF WE HAD A FOREIGN COACH would this have happened??? I'm not advocating a foreigner at all, I am just asking a question....N
Don't mind them...a lot of revisionist history going on here...Siasia has been deified before a competitive match has been played, and Amodu was villified before his own first game.
While I hope Nigeria wins, part of me wants the opposite so one can see how the shameless #$%-kissers suddenly disappear for days underground or pull out some well-worn and stupid excuses while continuing to bash Amodu.
As for the Victor Moses situation - check this out: Siasia can display ignorance and be given a pass, but if Nigeria was sanctioned for playing him without permission we wouldn't qualify for the Nations Cup, and who do you think will be fired? The NFF top brass? or the person responsible for taking Nigeria to the Nations Cup?
If Siasia didn't know the rules, he should have diplomatically sidestepped the question instead of going gboaaaa and making himself look stupid in the process.
YOUR SENIOR BROS AMODU IS SO GOOD CROWN FC NO FIT HIRE AM...,i beg leave that disrespectful AModu out of this..!
And Jesus said to the only leper that came back to thank Him after He healed ten.... "Chai....na only you waka come?".
- TonyTheTigerKiller
Are you serious? That's like a client server application developer who says he/she isn't aware of the existence of Visual Basicfelarey wrote:Are you suggesting he lied or gave some bogus explanation? It's a thing of virtue when you can admit your own fault. It's called leadership. He said he didn't know a player that's previously played in youth needed application for another country. That's refreshing honesty that should be welcomed and acceptable.maceo4 wrote:Kinda agree, but Sia1 shouldn't have made his ignorance known to the whole world haba.TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:Yes, the coach ought to be familiar with FIFA rules, particularly the ones that apply to players but at the same time, I tend to think that this matter belongs more within the NFF's sphere of operations. Surely, they have some kind of FIFA liason who monitors and interpretes FIFA rulesolu wrote:I'm a big fan of Siasia, but as a coach he should be familiar with such rules. If it were Amodu, CCC, or Eguaveon that made this mistake, the backlash would have been much louder.![]()