ARSENAL LEGEND SAYS WENGER IS NOT THE CLUBS BEST COACH
WOW
Arsene it is time to leave these muppets
Adams: Graham was better than WengerJune 10, 2011
Email Print By ESPNsoccernet staff
Arsenal legend Tony Adams claims that George Graham was a better coach than Arsene Wenger.
GettyImages

Adams: Graham was better than WengerJune 10, 2011
Email Print By ESPNsoccernet staff
Arsenal legend Tony Adams claims that George Graham was a better coach than Arsene Wenger.
GettyImages
Tony Adams and Arsene Wenger back in 1998
• Arshavin casts Fabregas doubt
• Arsenal sign Jenkinson
Wenger has come under scrutiny of late, having failed to deliver a trophy to the Emirates for a sixth straight year, which has unsettled star players such as Samir Nasri and captain Cesc Fabregas.
However, it was still surprising to see Adams, one of the club's favourite sons, give a negative evaluation of arguably the club's greatest ever manager.
"No disrespect to Arsene, but George's coaching ability, defensive structure and technical ability, for me, is far better,'' Adams told the Daily Mirror. ''It's his strength, and that was George's particular strength. I think Wenger is a magnificent physiologist and psychologist. Those are the areas where he excels."
Adams, who is currently coaching in Azerbaijan, won two league titles under Graham and the Double twice under Wenger.
"Maybe not this year, but next season, I might have a chance of winning the Azerbaijan league title with Gabala and going into the Champions League qualifying rounds," he added. "We could even play Arsenal, but they are struggling to get in the top five now, aren't they? Who knows?''
Re: ARSENAL LEGEND SAYS WENGER IS NOT THE CLUBS BEST COACH
Without even reading the details: K to the P to the O to the M, K-P-O-M!!!!!
Tony Adams is clearly back on the booze.
megapro wrote:Yobo’s problem is easy to analyze. His name is Omeruo. You don’t have to be a genius, just a normal guy like me to understand that we’re talking about frustration. It’s not easy for a player to see how he’s outperformed by a 19 year-old kid, but the kid is fantastic. I had the courage to play him and the problem is very simple.
- Eaglezbeak
Adams is a legend & booze or no booze he has a right speak on what is dear to him!kalani wrote:Tony Adams is clearly back on the booze.
Last edited by Eaglezbeak on Fri Jun 10, 2011 6:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
These British boys sef, Merson came out the other day too to claim he was given a unknown substance/doped under Wenger.
Arsenal's achievements on and off pitch as a club under Wenger is there for all to see, we knew where we were under George Graham.
To God be the glory
That's why I could never be an Arsenal fanSkylolo wrote:These British boys sef, same way Merson came out the other day to claim he was doped under Wenger.

Adams remains the greatest captain of Arsenal and Wenger is the greatest Arsenal coach of all time.Eaglezbeak wrote:Adams is a legend & booze or no booze he has a right speak on what is sear to him!kalani wrote:Tony Adams is clearly back on the booze.
megapro wrote:Yobo’s problem is easy to analyze. His name is Omeruo. You don’t have to be a genius, just a normal guy like me to understand that we’re talking about frustration. It’s not easy for a player to see how he’s outperformed by a 19 year-old kid, but the kid is fantastic. I had the courage to play him and the problem is very simple.
If you take your time to read the interview properly, you will find he did not say that. Well, Wenger's record alone tells you he will be stupid too make such a comment.
You buy hype...then get sucked in..i remember during the season while arsenal were having a hard time..some geezer phoned a radio station and said we need to hire Sam Allardyce..the hosts played along cos there's a lot of traffic in knock_Arsene themes
If I give you a good wine, you will see how it tastes and after you ask where it comes from,'' ""To put players in my team who are not good enough will not strengthen the England team, and would weaken the Arsenal team.''The only thing I can say is that whenever England do not win it is always my fault,even when I am not at the game".Wenger said.
- Molue Conductor
did anyone read the actual quote?
Yes I did. He actually inferred that Wenger is not a coach but a caretaker (Psychologist and Physiologist)Molue Conductor wrote:did anyone read the actual quote?
"
Now let the insult parade on Tony Adams startNo disrespect to Arsene, but George's coaching ability, defensive structure and technical ability, for me, is far better,'' Adams told the Daily Mirror. ''It's his strength, and that was George's particular strength. I think Wenger is a magnificent physiologist and psychologist. Those are the areas where he excels."

The legend just threw his own a low blow.anikulapo wrote:"Maybe not this year, but next season, I might have a chance of winning the Azerbaijan league title with Gabala and going into the Champions League qualifying rounds," he added. "We could even play Arsenal, but they are struggling to get in the top five now, aren't they? Who knows?''
Wow

Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
The earth is not our home.
http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7711/opaks.gif
http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/bsflag.gif
- Lager-back
yegbele oCatalyst wrote:The legend just threw his own a low blow.anikulapo wrote:"Maybe not this year, but next season, I might have a chance of winning the Azerbaijan league title with Gabala and going into the Champions League qualifying rounds," he added. "We could even play Arsenal, but they are struggling to get in the top five now, aren't they? Who knows?''
Wow

I read it.Waffiman wrote:If you take your time to read the interview properly, you will find he did not say that. Well, Wenger's record alone tells you he will be stupid too make such a comment.
I was GH guy. I still remember the continental trophy in 1993 - if my recalling ability on this is fair.
Tony Adams just said that Arsene is not as good an Xs and Os coach - that Arsene is just a glorified "Sociology 401 lecturer" masquerading as coach. And the evidence is there. Kudos to him on Henry and Viera. But the backbone of his small measured success Arsenal enjoyed early in his tenue was as a result of GH boys and foundation.
Post that tenure, what has he done? Shepherd kids and develop their fragile psyche? I call par.
PS. When you do not win, you tell the world who you really are

Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
Theres only so long you can ask the judiciary to look through the windows of yesteryear and turn blind eye to the woes of today. Fact is, in 6 years Wengerism has failed to summount the obstacle before it. The same old ideas are being second guessed by the likes of West Brom and Birmingham and ridiculed by their peers. There comes a time when the fairytale reveals itself as no more than that. The coffee keeps brewing and slowly bute surely, brownian motion will introduce it to olfactory neurones far and wide. So dark the con of fan.Catalyst wrote: PS. When you do not win, you tell the world who you really are.
Graham developed the legendary back four, which served as the basis upon which Wenger's doubles were built. I can see where Adams is coming from, considering his final season was the one where they won their last double. However, I doubt Graham would have had any of that success if he had stayed on as Arsenal manager
http://www.talksport.co.uk/radio/sports ... ene-wenger
Poll
Former Gunners captain Tony Adams has claimed George Graham was better than Arsene Wenger, but we want to know what you think...get voting
Who's the better Arsenal boss: George Graham or Arsene Wenger?
George Graham
22%
Arsene Wenger
78%
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
says a lot when an English radio station where a high regard for Adams & loathing for the Frenchman exists in the audience deliver this result....one coach made us a global brand while another is Mr bung..but hey!!!
Poll
Former Gunners captain Tony Adams has claimed George Graham was better than Arsene Wenger, but we want to know what you think...get voting
George Graham
22%
Arsene Wenger
78%
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
says a lot when an English radio station where a high regard for Adams & loathing for the Frenchman exists in the audience deliver this result....one coach made us a global brand while another is Mr bung..but hey!!!
If I give you a good wine, you will see how it tastes and after you ask where it comes from,'' ""To put players in my team who are not good enough will not strengthen the England team, and would weaken the Arsenal team.''The only thing I can say is that whenever England do not win it is always my fault,even when I am not at the game".Wenger said.
I always wonder what JAZZ Arsene Wenger uses to keep so many fans on his side despite his uselessness over the past 6 years.
Before you know it, it would be TEN YEARS without a trophy, and they'll still be saying Arsene Wenger is the best coach for their team!!
I've never seen anything like it in football. Dude must be using some heavy Jazz mehn.
Before you know it, it would be TEN YEARS without a trophy, and they'll still be saying Arsene Wenger is the best coach for their team!!
I've never seen anything like it in football. Dude must be using some heavy Jazz mehn.
Imagination is more important than knowledge
- Albert Einstein
I'll deal with figures as seen on Talksport poll results...you introduce babalawos and speculation ---oh damn!!!
- Tunisian Gooner
Well Gooners are quite cognizant of the fact no AW=no Emirates, no academy, no global brand etc etc etc. Worst case scenario, even if AW exits the club tomorrow the Arsenal is in a fantastic position to excel in the decades to come. Arsenal have never been on par with likes of Man Utd, Liverpool, Bayern Munich, Barca, Madrid, Inter, AC Milan etc etc etc. The task of reaching such a standard is enormous to say the least. AW time at the Arsenal will end sooner rather than later but in 20, 30, 40, 50 years from now Gooners will know the club will always be indebted to one Arsene Wenger.ROSSIKE wrote:I always wonder what JAZZ Arsene Wenger uses to keep so many fans on his side despite his uselessness over the past 6 years.
Detective Bunk Moreland
'The bigger the lie, the more they believe'
Tunisian Gooner wrote:Well Gooners are quite cognizant of the fact no AW=no Emirates, no academy, no global brand etc etc etc. Worst case scenario, even if AW exits the club tomorrow the Arsenal is in a fantastic position to excel in the decades to come. Arsenal have never been on par with likes of Man Utd, Liverpool, Bayern Munich, Barca, Madrid, Inter, AC Milan etc etc etc. The task of reaching such a standard is enormous to say the least. AW time at the Arsenal will end sooner rather than later but in 20, 30, 40, 50 years from now Gooners will know the club will always be indebted to one Arsene Wenger.ROSSIKE wrote:I always wonder what JAZZ Arsene Wenger uses to keep so many fans on his side despite his uselessness over the past 6 years.
TG AKA "Da Truf". Too much sense. Are you sure you're an Arsenal fan?
THE wicked flee when no man pursueth: but the righteous are as bold as lion.
Proverbs 28:1
Al-Waff, you say wetin
Please explanate dis wan

"No disrespect to Arsene, but George's coaching ability, defensive structure and technical ability, for me, is far better,'' Adams told the Daily Mirror. ''It's his strength, and that was George's particular strength. I think Wenger is a magnificent physiologist and psychologist. Those are the areas where he excels."
Waffiman wrote:If you take your time to read the interview properly, you will find he did not say that. Well, Wenger's record alone tells you he will be stupid too make such a comment.
If you know how these things work (statistics/polls of this nature), you will not put much into it.tolahs wrote:http://www.talksport.co.uk/radio/sports ... ene-wenger
Poll
George Graham
22%
Arsene Wenger
78%
Again is the poll question is silly. Was that what Tony Adams said?
I think Arsenal fans really overate Arsene. I do not think much of him - just another good coach. What he has done - on or off the field could have been replicated easily. The other ingredients are already there. Worst case scenario, a wealthy owner would have come along to take care of things.
That said - Tony Adams was, more or less, highlighting each coach's strength. At least he could speak on this with authority better than any other person on earth. But I agree, that the timing is convenient - because Arsenal is struggling now on the green grass. Typical.