Argentina 1 vs Uruguay 1 FT PK Shootout (4-5)[Quarterfinals]
Re: Argentina 1 vs Uruguay 1 [Quarterfinals]
Need more than a GREAT game to carry a TEAM.joplass wrote:He had a great game tho.wanaj0 wrote:Uruguay Vs Peru in SF!!!
Argentina DUMPED out
Again Messi cant carry Argentina to win a trophy
BTW, this Uruguay team is made up of 'tired legs' ooooo
HECK NO!
Why would he want to play for a mediocre club when he plays in the Serie A?
GREENWHITEGREEN wrote:Is he really ?yinkaldinho wrote:That goalie is untouchable, he's Arsenal bound![]()
That would be bloody fantastic!!!
- GREENWHITEGREEN
wanaj0 wrote:Arsenal cant afford him. Lehman is there for ArsenalGREENWHITEGREEN wrote:Is he really ?yinkaldinho wrote:That goalie is untouchable, he's Arsenal bound![]()
Oh boy. I was excited there for a minute.
-Simpli fy -
- Scipio Africanus
Come here for a second ... There.Robbynice wrote:How did you come to that conclusion? Na wa for you sha...smhScipio Africanus wrote:My money is on Uruguay to go thru. They have mental strength in spades, certainly more than Argentina.joplass wrote:I really like what Uruguay is showing too bad they will go out.

Ex nihilo nihil fit
Danfo driver when he comes across a new pic to add to his large collection:

Scipio Africanus wrote:Come here for a second ... There.Robbynice wrote:How did you come to that conclusion? Na wa for you sha...smhScipio Africanus wrote:My money is on Uruguay to go thru. They have mental strength in spades, certainly more than Argentina.joplass wrote:I really like what Uruguay is showing too bad they will go out.

- bret- hart
100%Naija wrote:Scipio Africanus wrote:Come here for a second ... There.Robbynice wrote:How did you come to that conclusion? Na wa for you sha...smhScipio Africanus wrote:My money is on Uruguay to go thru. They have mental strength in spades, certainly more than Argentina.joplass wrote:I really like what Uruguay is showing too bad they will go out.

- Lager-back
Re: Argentina 1 vs Uruguay 1 FT PK Shootout (4-5)[Quarterfinals]
how will tournament organizers fill stadiums

sule, Lehman retired 2 months ago

wanaj0 wrote:Arsenal cant afford him. Lehman is there for ArsenalGREENWHITEGREEN wrote:Is he really ?yinkaldinho wrote:That goalie is untouchable, he's Arsenal bound![]()
And you dont know he can come out of retirement?
yinkaldinho wrote:sule, Lehman retired 2 months ago![]()
When u are a coach of a team with Messi, the primary goal of ur tactical setup in attack should be how best to service Messi and enhance his game, cus when he is on top of his game ur team automatically dominates.
It seems that as the game progressed in the 2hf, Batista conspired to progressively constrain Messi.
Being a man down, Uruguay focussed on making the game narrow, with Argentina stretching it as wide as possible.
But come 2hf, first Batista subbed Di Maria with Pastore who kept drifting inside; then to make matters worse he brings on Tevez who began to directly compete for the same space as Messi, constraining his ability to cut in from wide right where he had been very dangerous all night.
The game in the 2hf clearly required Lavezzi and perhaps Rojas at left wing back so Zanetti can move to right back...
It seems that as the game progressed in the 2hf, Batista conspired to progressively constrain Messi.
Being a man down, Uruguay focussed on making the game narrow, with Argentina stretching it as wide as possible.
But come 2hf, first Batista subbed Di Maria with Pastore who kept drifting inside; then to make matters worse he brings on Tevez who began to directly compete for the same space as Messi, constraining his ability to cut in from wide right where he had been very dangerous all night.
The game in the 2hf clearly required Lavezzi and perhaps Rojas at left wing back so Zanetti can move to right back...
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Tevez a real Shitty player

Messi has played virtually every minute of every match for both club and country, continually since the World Cup in June last year. Surely those short, hormone-enhanced legs of his will collapse soon 

So how's this going to help Argentina now? Anyway sha, u never fail to state it like it is...ATF that is.
txj wrote:When u are a coach of a team with Messi, the primary goal of ur tactical setup in attack should be how best to service Messi and enhance his game, cus when he is on top of his game ur team automatically dominates.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
It's Robbynice. His powers have returned.Scipio Africanus wrote:Whatchootalkingbout Willis? Na PK you dey take judge 'keeper?!Robbynice wrote:That was a good kick by Messi. I don talk say I suspect this Uruguay GK...

THE wicked flee when no man pursueth: but the righteous are as bold as lion.
Proverbs 28:1
It's always the fault of the coaches. How many coaches have they had now????
Like JM said, best job is to be a critique/analyst.

anointed wrote:So how's this going to help Argentina now? Anyway sha, u never fail to state it like it is...ATF that is.
txj wrote:When u are a coach of a team with Messi, the primary goal of ur tactical setup in attack should be how best to service Messi and enhance his game, cus when he is on top of his game ur team automatically dominates.
...so tevez missed his pk and played as a sub, na im be say his stuck don dey go down. Remain at epl enjoy the money or retire 

Not to mention his analysis is way off. Di Maria should never have started, as he was the headless chicken that often destroyed well orchestrated plays. He was the reason why Aguero continued to have a poor game and eventually got the sub. Just never had the vision to. Pastore actually kept possession easily and helped Messi find a teammae to play with. But in the end the substitutions did not matter. Argentina just failed to take their chances, and their were many, hence they lost.
wanaj0 wrote:It's always the fault of the coaches. How many coaches have they had now????
Like JM said, best job is to be a critique/analyst.![]()
anointed wrote:So how's this going to help Argentina now? Anyway sha, u never fail to state it like it is...ATF that is.
This is ZMs take on the match. It reflects my point....
This was a particularly frustrating example, because the best way to play against ten men is with width – especially, as it happens, because Uruguay here were playing a 4-3-2 formation, and asking their three central midfielders to shift across the pitch constantly (rather than a 4-4-1, for example, which covers the pitch with two banks of four). Tabarez felt he could afford to play this way, again, because of the lack of attacking threat from Argentina’s full-backs.
Indeed, Tabarez didn’t feel the need to make any further substitutions until the second half of extra time, which both demonstrates that Uruguay’s players performed extremely well, but also that Batista and Argentina made life easy for them.
With Messi immediately coming inside into the centre of the pitch with the ball, and Aguero staying wider but hardly a natural winger, Argentina lacked width and played through the middle too much, playing into Uruguay’s hands. The amazing thing was, Argentina had a winger, Di Maria, playing in the centre, drifting inside from the left. They could have afforded to play Fernando Gago and Javier Mascherano as the double pivot (there was little threat from Uruguay coming forward from central midfield), and put Di Maria on either flank to stretch the play and to force Uruguay to work harder. Instead, Argentina remained slow and predictable on the ball, and were far too narrow.
Batista waited until 72 minutes for the first change – Javier Pastore on for Di Maria. Pastore played a couple of great one-twos with Messi, but it’s arguable that he’s not the man to break down a packed defence sitting deep – he’s more dangerous on the counter. Ezequiel Lavezzi, despite his poor form in this tournament, would have been an interesting option, and the introduction of Carlos Tevez for Aguero late on didn’t really make any sense – Tevez continues to show no understanding of the football Argentina are trying to play – his positioning and movement from the wide-left position is very poor.
http://www.zonalmarking.net/2011/07/17/ ... #more-6862
In every match, there are individual errors and then there are systemic errors resulting from decisions made or not made by coaches. There may have been individual errors by players, Milito, Burdisso, etc, but by far the majority of Argentina's problems going back to the WC have been systemic. If u do not understand that u do not know the game u are following...
wanaj0 wrote:It's always the fault of the coaches. How many coaches have they had now????
Like JM said, best job is to be a critique/analyst.![]()
Go Uruguay!!!!!!!!!!!
But i am hoping for a Paraguay/Chile - Peru

- Lager-back
Has maradona shown his face here ?

- airwolex
Much like Cameroon, Argentina has been very bad and living on past glory for a while now. Messi is the best player in the World but a lot of his team-mates - Tevez, Higuain, Mascerano to name a few - are over rated.