World's best (Spain) team called 'boring'

Vincent.
Re: World's best (Spain) team called 'boring'

Post by Vincent. »

AreaDaddy wrote:
YUJAM wrote:Lol. One has to simply laugh at some of the analysis today. Fwiw Spain had more attempts on goal than any side during the 1st round. So where does thos idea that their passing is without end product come from?
Correct. from UEFA.

http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/season=201 ... index.html
God bless you. This blows all the "boring" argument out of the water: Spain is first or second by all measures of the game: goals scored, goal attempts, corners, etc. People just allow their prejudice to get the better of them :lol: And this is despite the fact that all teams park the bus against them.
Eto’o, Ronaldinho, Deco, and Messi are like good caviar, tender pine-nuts, chemical-free sea salt, and the purest of virgin olive oils, said one of the world's greatest chefs, Ferran Adria of El Bulli restaurant, Before Barca went on to wallop Madrid 3-0 at the Bernabeu.

“I believe the target of anything in life should be to do it so well that it becomes an art. Football is like that. When I watch Barcelona, it is art” — Arsène Wenger, August 2009
realtrouble

Post by realtrouble »

AreaDaddy wrote:It takes 2 to tango...If Spain play Germany it would be an exciting match, that I am sure of...Spain vs Croatia and Spain vs Ireland were also very watchable matches.

France were a let down, I was very disappointed...
Croatia, gave Spain a gain and should have won the match. France spent Thursday and Friday fighting with each other.
Last edited by realtrouble on Sun Jun 24, 2012 5:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ROSSIKE

Post by ROSSIKE »

Spanish players should take their man on more often, especially in the last third, instead of just passing passing passing. You can't say you're a great team if there are no individual skills on display. If you don't have your forward players running at defenders. That's why they're boring. They play like skilful players, but you don't see the skill. Just passing. The thing tire person abeg. :dream: :dream:
Last edited by ROSSIKE on Sun Jun 24, 2012 5:05 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Imagination is more important than knowledge

- Albert Einstein

Vincent.

Post by Vincent. »

kofi86 wrote:
YUJAM wrote:Lol. One has to simply laugh at some of the analysis today. Fwiw Spain had more attempts on goal than any side during the 1st round. So where does thos idea that their passing is without end product come from?
For example that the stats are boosted from the game against Ireland (which wasn't boring imo).
Do you know how many attempts on target they had against France in the second half? One. The penalty Alonso scored.
So what? The "exciting" German team's statistics are also boosted by the goals against Greece. Yet, Germany has 9 goals and Spain has 8. For the entire tournament so far, Spain has 44 attempts on target (an average of 11 per game), France 37 (9.25), Germany 33 (8.25), Italy 30 (10)... In terms of end product (goals scored and goal attempts), the "exciting" Germany and the "boring" Spain are neck-and-neck...
Eto’o, Ronaldinho, Deco, and Messi are like good caviar, tender pine-nuts, chemical-free sea salt, and the purest of virgin olive oils, said one of the world's greatest chefs, Ferran Adria of El Bulli restaurant, Before Barca went on to wallop Madrid 3-0 at the Bernabeu.

“I believe the target of anything in life should be to do it so well that it becomes an art. Football is like that. When I watch Barcelona, it is art” — Arsène Wenger, August 2009

russia were a team that passed .. folks are tired of watching a so called champs bore folks to sleep.. i fell asleep while watching the game yesterday.... i kept trying to stay awake.. in the first half i fell asleep saw spain in the center of the field thought france had scored.. but no they just kept passsing... now google the word boring football... nah spain go pop up

Al B Sure

Post by Al B Sure »

Why do you guys bother? LOL Spain is playing the best football. I will be suprise if they win it though as i do not think any Nation have been able to defend the title before ever! I have a lot of respect for Mick Mcarthy. He did not try to analyse Spain, he did not pretend that 'passing of a football' is boring :D :D :D :D :D :D :D He just came out and said 'he wanted Spain to lose because he is sick and tired of seeing them winning everything' whilst i do not agree with him, but i understand him. no need to disguise hatred with some sort of pseudo Analysis. Passing the ball is boring, but booting the ball into the air is exciting :) :) :) :) No need to Argue if you are a winner, people will hate. Remember what they said about Tiger Woods? Boring Federer? Boring Williams sisters? Boring Michael Schumarcher Boring.... you begin to get the idea. Funny enough when the people listed stopped winning consistently, they have not been accused of being boring since :D :D :D :D :D
Vincent.

Post by Vincent. »

Al B Sure wrote:Why do you guys bother? LOL Spain is playing the best football. I will be suprise if they win it though as i do not think any Nation have been able to defend the title before ever! I have a lot of respect for Mick Mcarthy. He did not try to analyse Spain, he did not pretend that 'passing of a football' is boring :D :D :D :D :D :D :D He just came out and said 'he wanted Spain to lose because he is sick and tired of seeing them winning everything' whilst i do not agree with him, but i understand him. no need to disguise hatred with some sort of pseudo Analysis. Passing the ball is boring, but booting the ball into the air is exciting :) :) :) :) No need to Argue if you are a winner, people will hate. Remember what they said about Tiger Woods? Boring Federer? Boring Williams sisters? Boring Michael Schumarcher Boring.... you begin to get the idea. Funny enough when the people listed stopped winning consistently, they have not been accused of being boring since :D :D :D :D :D
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Finally, some honesty

Attempts per game

Spain's overall attempts were boosted by the Irish game but so was Italy's..It mainly proves the gulf in calibre between both teams and Ireland

Strange people weren't lamenting how boring the Portugal - Czech match was...It just goes to show when a team lacks ideas like France did against Spain and the Czechs did against Portugal in the knock out rounds the game quickly becomes a non contest

Giuseppe Rossi brands Spain win "boring"

http://www.sportsmole.co.uk/football/sp ... 31948.html
Rossi, who missed out on a place in Italy's championship squad through injury, tweeted during the match: "What a boring game. *yawn.* And right when I write that, a penalty..."

Al B Sure

Post by Al B Sure »

I was so angry when i was watching the game I was suprise at how boring and negative the French where. This is a country that had people like Platini, Tigana, Amorous, Zidane, Henry etc, they could not string more than 3 passes together sometimes :shock:

Bigpokey24 wrote:Giuseppe Rossi brands Spain win "boring"

http://www.sportsmole.co.uk/football/sp ... 31948.html
Rossi, who missed out on a place in Italy's championship squad through injury, tweeted during the match: "What a boring game. *yawn.* And right when I write that, a penalty..."
Spain did what they had to do. What do you do when a team in the knock out stages of a competition, losing 1-0 can only create a single chance...Spain cannot dash them chances now...
France seemed to focus their game plan on restricting their opponent's attacking threat and mustered only one shot on target - four fewer than Spain.

Spain is not boring. People who say this are just jealous. The fact is that Spain will be as offensive as the other team allows. If you park the bus against Spain, which most teams do, sure, they will retain possession until they can optimally attack.

This means that Spain won't commit itself forward if a fast counterattack will leave their defense isolated. In football, goals are easier to score when fewer players are operating in space. The more packed a defense, the harder it is to create opportunities and score.

Throwing numbers recklessly at a park the bus defense would leave Spain vulnerable to isolated attacks, basically evening out the number of quality offensive opportunities. Spain compensates by holding and probing, cycling the ball as much as needed, waiting for a solid chance...not willing to risk giving an unnecessary counterattack. Sorry, but if you park the bus, Spain isn't obligated to then play Russian roulette.

The only valid criticism of Spain is that they probably would do even better with a quality forward. Torres isn't up to it. If they had somebody like Eto, this would crystal clear be the best NT to ever play the game. As it stands, they are up there. They can do things with deliberation more than any NT team I have ever seen.

I honestly believe you would need a Pele or Maradona on your team to have a chance at consistently beating this Spanish side.

Cheers, Mate

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: see bad belleitus. the same people that will turn around and praise the rubbish Chelsea played in winning the Champions league call Spain's passing boring. :lol: :lol: It was beautiful football in my opinion. they pass and hold the ball and with one single pass bypass an entire team sitting in front of their goal (e.g. thru ball to fabregas yesterday was Sheer brilliance :clap:

if teams dont want to be bored, they should come out of their shells and deprive Spain of the ball simple. Spain can only pass if they have the ball, the onus is on their opponents to prevent that from occurring.

spain were so boring, they started without a striker....

metalalloy wrote::rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: see bad belleitus. the same people that will turn around and praise the rubbish Chelsea played in winning the Champions league call Spain's passing boring. :lol: :lol: It was beautiful football in my opinion. they pass and hold the ball and with one single pass bypass an entire team sitting in front of their goal (e.g. thru ball to fabregas yesterday was Sheer brilliance :clap:

if teams dont want to be bored, they should come out of their shells and deprive Spain of the ball simple. Spain can only pass if they have the ball, the onus is on their opponents to prevent that from occurring.

Are you minding the Chelsh!t fans??? This is like Kim Kardashian calling Paris Hilton a skank. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Bigpokey24 wrote:spain were so boring, they started without a striker....

Vincent.

Post by Vincent. »

I hope people have now seen that it takes skills and a decent level of football IQ to reach Spain's level of "boredom." :lol: :lol: :lol:

Vincent. wrote:I hope people have now seen that it takes skills and a decent level of football IQ to reach Spain's level of "boredom." :lol: :lol: :lol:
Abeg today's game was way way more entertaining than Esp-Fra

tfco wrote:Abeg today's game was way way more entertaining than Esp-Fra
You only see what you want to see.

La Republica – England’s football was not only monotonous and predictable but interchangeable with Greece’s defensive style.
Al B Sure

Post by Al B Sure »

Vincent. wrote:I hope people have now seen that it takes skills and a decent level of football IQ to reach Spain's level of "boredom." :lol: :lol: :lol:

Italians were boring, why the English played exciting football :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

tfco wrote:we are not discussing individual skill here.

pass pass pass x 100 = yawn
Hypotfcorite,

You were giving the thumbs up to Pirlo for doing exactly the same thing as the Spanish.
tfco wrote: :thumb:
Touched the ball 155 times, 131 passes made, 114 completed (87%).
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=221777&start=920
pasamu

Post by pasamu »

Al B Sure wrote:Why do you guys bother? LOL Spain is playing the best football. I will be suprise if they win it though as i do not think any Nation have been able to defend the title before ever! I have a lot of respect for Mick Mcarthy. He did not try to analyse Spain, he did not pretend that 'passing of a football' is boring :D :D :D :D :D :D :D He just came out and said 'he wanted Spain to lose because he is sick and tired of seeing them winning everything' whilst i do not agree with him, but i understand him. no need to disguise hatred with some sort of pseudo Analysis. Passing the ball is boring, but booting the ball into the air is exciting :) :) :) :) No need to Argue if you are a winner, people will hate. Remember what they said about Tiger Woods? Boring Federer? Boring Williams sisters? Boring Michael Schumarcher Boring.... you begin to get the idea. Funny enough when the people listed stopped winning consistently, they have not been accused of being boring since :D :D :D :D :D
:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: It so easy to pull the wool over peoples eyes. If you call Spain boring what would you call the teams that play against them? See Italy yesterday playing their version of Tiki Taka against England. Why didnt they try that against boring Spain? I guess the next accussation against Spain will be that they are cheating by using so many short men. I guess the complaint will be the short men give them an unfair advantage in ball control. Maybe next UEFA should insist every team must include at least three of the big strong honest McCarthey type players (treat the ball as if it is a shotgun cartridge) in their team. Before Spain went on their recent tear up they were so patronised. "Ahh Spain Play lovely football but are mentally weak" was the common cliche now they have got mentally strong they are boring. Do people want them to be the fine girl that everybody has a good time with but no man wants to marry. Do people want them to be like poor Arsenal?
my times are in HIS hands

tfco wrote:we are not discussing individual skill here.

pass pass pass x 100 = yawn
Hypotfcorite,

You were giving the thumbs up to Pirlo for doing exactly the same thing as the Spanish.
tfco wrote: :thumb:
Touched the ball 155 times, 131 passes made, 114 completed (87%).
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=221777&start=920
I take it Pirlo was passing...to himself? :?