A salute to Mikel Obi

Polly
A salute to Mikel Obi

Post by Polly »

I have dismissed and dissed Mikel a lot, but on the basis of yesterday's performance, I hereby apologize. I realize that while the likes of BigPokey overpraise him, the truth is that the Mikel in Nigeria's colours is the Mikel before Mourinho came along. He has vision, confidence and swagger. The Mikel in Chelsea colours is ponderous, uncertain and sideways looking, and that Mikel tends to make one ignore the jewel who may yet make this Nations Cup Nigeria's first in the Internet era.
Re: A salute to Mikel Obi

seriously you need help, people like you just go with the flow.. maybe you should open your eyes a lot more and view Mikel a 2 way modern day midfielder.. people like me saw a star years ago and in my books the current APOY and top 3 WPOY .. thanks to the sick FIFA and CAF.. smh.. at lack of critical thinking at all levels ranging from CAF, FIFA, EPL , ghana's house of rep and goal.com, sometimes i ponder about folks like you ..smh...

muzines

Post by muzines »

Mikel plays different roles for Nigeria and Chelsea. I actually think his position in Chelsea has helped him a lot for Nigeria. He is very much improved as a defender, but his attacking instincts for Nigeria have not changed. On the field yesterday, you can tell the difference in class between Mikel and anybody in that midfield. I think that Mourinho did retard his attacking instincts and if he had gone to Man U for instance, he would be on the same level as Messi right now...ok maybe not the same level, but he would be a super star right now.
Liberalism is a mental disorder.
Conservative: a liberal who has been mugged by reality.

Polly wrote:I have dismissed and dissed Mikel a lot, but on the basis of yesterday's performance, I hereby apologize. I realize that while the likes of BigPokey overpraise him, the truth is that the Mikel in Nigeria's colours is the Mikel before Mourinho came along. He has vision, confidence and swagger. The Mikel in Chelsea colours is ponderous, uncertain and sideways looking, and that Mikel tends to make one ignore the jewel who may yet make this Nations Cup Nigeria's first in the Internet era.

and then tomorrow God forbid he has a bad performance you will flip and start "dismissing and dissing" him again? Useless flip floppers who base players off of one game :boo:

Polly

Post by Polly »

Bigpokey24 wrote:seriously you need help, people like you just go with the flow.. maybe you should open your eyes a lot more and view Mikel a 2 way modern day midfielder.. people like me saw a star years ago and in my books the current APOY and top 3 WPOY .. thanks to the sick FIFA and CAF.. smh.. at lack of critical thinking at all levels ranging from CAF, FIFA, EPL , ghana's house of rep and goal.com, sometimes i ponder about folks like you ..smh...
Sorry bro...I am trying to open my eyes. So you are an author? Can you autograph a copy for me? Who be your publisher, abeg?

Top 3 my left leg!

Bigpokey24 wrote:seriously you need help, people like you just go with the flow.. maybe you should open your eyes a lot more and view Mikel a 2 way modern day midfielder.. people like me saw a star years ago and in my books the current APOY and top 3 WPOY .. thanks to the sick FIFA and CAF.. smh.. at lack of critical thinking at all levels ranging from CAF, FIFA, EPL , ghana's house of rep and goal.com, sometimes i ponder about folks like you ..smh...

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Polly

Post by Polly »

Polly wrote:I have dismissed and dissed Mikel a lot, but on the basis of yesterday's performance, I hereby apologize. I realize that while the likes of BigPokey overpraise him, the truth is that the Mikel in Nigeria's colours is the Mikel before Mourinho came along. He has vision, confidence and swagger. The Mikel in Chelsea colours is ponderous, uncertain and sideways looking, and that Mikel tends to make one ignore the jewel who may yet make this Nations Cup Nigeria's first in the Internet era.

and then tomorrow God forbid he has a bad performance you will flip and start "dismissing and dissing" him again? Useless flip floppers who base players off of one game :boo:
You miss the point, which is that in Nigeria's colours, Mikel is different. I did see him against Liberia. My point is that seeing him against CV confirms the point; it is not a question of one game. As a club player, Mikel is bad (remember that for all his club brilliance Messi has not turned into a spectacular star for Argentina). When Mikel returns to Chelsea and his form is ponderous, uncertain and sideways looking, please look out for me to call it as I see it.

Polly wrote:

You miss the point, which is that in Nigeria's colours, Mikel is different. I did see him against Liberia. My point is that seeing him against CV confirms the point; it is not a question of one game. As a club player, Mikel is bad (remember that for all his club brilliance Messi has not turned into a spectacular star for Argentina). When Mikel returns to Chelsea and his form is ponderous, uncertain and sideways looking, please look out for me to call it as I see it.
So have you only watched Mikel play for Nigeria in only 2 games :shock: why would you abuse him at Chelsea? while he has had a few below par games, for the most part he has been excellent for them in the role he is paid to perform.

Polly wrote:

Smh. Sorry boss but you're still confused. Clearly you understand little of his club role as you do his country's.

Polly wrote:

Smh. Sorry boss but you're still confused. Clearly you understand little of his club role as you do his country's.

Abeg make we hear word jooo. Where are the assists and goals to prove it? :roll:
rock3t

Post by rock3t »

Mikel Obi secured a draw vs a nation with 250 people. what a champion. :rotf:

Polly wrote:

What utter nonsense. That Mikel's role at Chelsea is different does not imply he is a bad player. He is still a great player, either way. And before you use any unfamiliar words, take the time to look up their meaning. If you had, you would have known that there's mothing remotely ponderous about Mikel :!: :!: :!:

Mudi E

Post by Mudi E »

Mikel has always been a stalwart. That champions league matches against Barcelona and in the final against Bayern Munich did it for me that he's a great young player.
Nigeria shall wallop the dormitable lions
vosah

Post by vosah »

rock3t wrote:Mikel Obi secured a draw vs a nation with 250 people. what a champion. :rotf:
and the what hell has 250 people got to do with Mikel or football? man i thought Ghanaians were smart people,but then i guess i was wrong.

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: u never see anythhing yet oo, just watch out how dem go begin show up from every angle
vosah wrote:
rock3t wrote:Mikel Obi secured a draw vs a nation with 250 people. what a champion. :rotf:
and the what hell has 250 people got to do with Mikel or football? man i thought Ghanaians were smart people,but then i guess i was wrong.

Mikel is the most comfortable Nigerian on the ball. Nobody even comes close!

The last person that was as comfortable on the ball as Mikel was Kanu Nwankwo.

but there were a few times when He was too silky for his own good.

I remember one play, he had perfect control of the ball...he was shielding and toying with the CVs in the centre of the park, there were options on the left and right, but the best opening was on the left flank, instead of him to assess the situation, he just dropped his shoulder and passed the ball anyhow to the more congested right flank.

Sometimes Mikel has to realize that being a holding midfielder doesn't just entail, keeping the ball moving, but it also means creating opportunity. If you cannot create opportunity, then everybody else just works harder than they need to.

But other than that, he was on point.

MOTM for me.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
kone

Post by kone »

Chimezie mba, rabiu ibrahim also has those silky ball touch sha

dude get a hold of yourself, none of those players are close to Mikel on the field.. stop this your by force , by force
kone wrote:Chimezie mba, rabiu ibrahim also has those silky ball touch sha

mikel is the current best Nigerian footballer ......end of story.
kone

Post by kone »

mikel is not nigeria best player

kone wrote:mikel is not nigeria best player