Unlikely transfers: Jon Obi Mikel to Manchester United

John Obi Mikel looks set to leave Chelsea this summer, could Manchester United renew their interest in the player they almost signed before his controversial move to London?!

Having won the Premier League, the Champions League, the Europa League and four FA Cups in his time at Chelsea, John Obi Mikel will never regret the decision to move to Stamford Bridge in2006, but as he stands apparently on the verge of leaving, he might wonder what would have happened if he had move to Manchester United instead.

The controversy over his transfer is still somewhat unresolved, and Manchester United will have watched Mikel’s development, or indeed lack of it, at Chelsea without too much frustration at missing out on the midfielder, but as Mikel demonstrated again with Nigeria last night in the Confederations Cup, there is more to his game than has been shown at Stamford Bridge.

With Chelsea Mikel is confined to playing a defensive role in their midfield, but he arrived at the Blues as one of the most exciting young complete midfielders in the world, and he still shows that talent when playing for Nigeria.

His goal against Uruguay was superb, but his all-round performances for Nigeria as they won the African Cup of Nations in January are a better indication of the player Mikel can be, and with Chelsea apparently ready to let him leave this summer, there should be other teams challenging Galatasaray for his signature.

Manchester United are highly unlikely to be among them, but it is not ridiculous to suggest that Mikel is the kind of player the need. David Moyes is keen to sign a dominant midfield presence to play alongside Michael Carrick, and Mikel, based on his performances for Nigeria, could fulfil that role.

The midfielder is still only 26, and there is time for him to deliver his very best at club level as well as on the international stage, and whilst it is unlikely that this will happen in the Premier League, it would be interesting to see Mikel unleashed at an English side, as he is a better player than he has so far shown at Chelsea.
http://hereisthecity.com/2013/06/21/unl ... er-united/

Re: Unlikely transfers: Jon Obi Mikel to Manchester United

make una leave Mikel oooo, 3rd club now being linked with him.Mikel is a Chelsea player.. vultures get lost

Bigpokey24 wrote:make una leave Mikel oooo, 3rd club now being linked with him.Mikel is a Chelsea player.. vultures get lost
I wont mind him going to ManU... one of the best teams in the world and arguably with the best winning tradition of any clubside.

Eaglemaniac

Post by Eaglemaniac »

Mikel needs to GTF out of Chelsea. Very clear that this dude has way more to offer.

Long Live King Obi!!
okidoki

Post by okidoki »

After this Confed cup performance, I just dey pity the Galatasary agent that will meet Maurinho for Mikel. The slap Mou go dash am...

Man if he comes to United,he needs bring that game he played against Spain and keep scoring those goals vs URUGUAY...

okidoki wrote:After this Confed cup performance, I just dey pity the Galatasary agent that will meet Maurinho for Mikel. The slap Mou go dash am...

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: the guy just added anoda 5-10 mil for him value man based on the exposure from this tourney

Bigpokey24 wrote:make una leave Mikel oooo, 3rd club now being linked with him.Mikel is a Chelsea player.. vultures get lost
I wont mind him going to ManU... one of the best teams in the world and arguably with the best winning tradition of any clubside.
Football fan by love, Manchester United fan by the Grace of God :D :D :D

The Notorious B!GGESTMAN

Post by The Notorious B!GGESTMAN »

the guy should come to Arsenal. He will bw a boss in our midfield! We will not useless him like CFC does every week! :boo:
The weak or the strong,
who got it going on
You're dead wrong

Welcome back home Mikel.
John Mikel Obi, A Manchester United star! :thumbs: :thumbs:

Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

mikel should of gone to manu .......SAF would of taken him to the next level.......
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit

"I didn't buy Arsenal stake to win trophies" Kroneke

SERIOUSLY I THINK you all head no dey house..Mikel is allChelsea

EagleGunner

Post by EagleGunner »

Mikel playing behind Higuain with Cazorla to his left and Walcott to his right....

Wengerrrrrrr! Oya cast your eye to Stumbling Bridge and call your 'pal' Borinho

Super Eagles Apparel Storefront

http://bit.ly/2KAOOse

In all honesty, it takes a coach to look past his nose and buy Mikel for an attacking role, and they will forever be grateful.

I for one vote for Arsenal! A match made in heaven

Please where in that article did it say United is currentlyinterested in Mikel?

Babalawo wrote:Please where in that article did it say United is currentlyinterested in Mikel?
:taunt: :taunt:

Gooner1 wrote:mikel should of gone to manu .......SAF would of taken him to the next level.......
Like he did to Manucho, Eric Djemba Djemba and co right? Abeggy Mikel come to Arsenal..you go chop well plus play every game :thumbs:

Mikel is definitely under utilised at Chelsea, they have improved his all round game, must be said, but going forward, he is right up there with the best of them, those 3 games definitely exposed his versatility, will Chelsea let him go?? hmm

The Notorious B!GGESTMAN

Post by The Notorious B!GGESTMAN »

marko wrote:Mikel is definitely under utilised at Chelsea, they have improved his all round game, must be said, but going forward, he is right up there with the best of them, those 3 games definitely exposed his versatility, will Chelsea let him go?? hmm

He has no lungs and will tire in the 70th minute if he plays AM. He should be either a CM or a deep lying playmaker...but not a DM.
The weak or the strong,
who got it going on
You're dead wrong

will be a dream come true, Mikel has definitely won more suitors no doubt, people saw more to his game than suggested, where are the side ways passing crew?? Chelsea hope you are aware of his talents, lets see what Mourinho does now!!

WINNERMAN

Post by WINNERMAN »

He should come to Arsenal and infect us with his trophy winning bug
As for me and my house we will serve the LORD.-----JOSHUA 24 VS 15.

Life in Christ is not a change,it is an exchange. Your ashes for his beauty,your weakness for his strenght ,your destiny assured and a bonus of a victorious life on earth. lt is an irrestitible exchange.