Why such a lack of top level left footed Nigerian players?

jinx
Why such a lack of top level left footed Nigerian players?

Post by jinx »

It occurred to me that despite Nigeria being a formidable soccer nation in Africa, you have hardly produced top level left footed players. It's a curious observation. In recent years, Emmanuel Amunike is the only such top level player that comes to mind. Another Nigerian left footed player I liked from the recent past was Friday Elaho. I wonder what's the reason.

And actually when you look at other top African teams like Cameroon, Ivory Coast and Egypt, I realized that there hasn't been too many top left footed stars, even when they all went through their golden periods. Patrick Mboma is the one notable Cameroonian. The only player who comes close for IVC is Romaric, who is not really at the top. Egypt only recently produced Salah.

As a Ghanaian, I realized that Ghana is a stark contrast compared to other African countries, when it comes to top level left footed players. The current Black Star team has an abundance of really quality left footed players: Kwadwo Asamoah, Andre Ayew, Muntari, Wakaso, Atsu (who all featured against Egypt), and Acheampong, Baba Rahman. In the past other top left footers for Ghana has included Abedi Pele, Tony Yeboah, CK Akunnor, Opoku Nti etc.
I am not sure if it's because of genetics, or left footed players are held in higher esteem in Ghana, or upcoming players just have other top role models to emulate.
kone
Re: Why such a lack of top level left footed Nigerian player

Post by kone »

with the likes of
joel obi
john ogu
obafemi martins
kelechi iheanacho
rabiu ibrahim

i dont think we really lack left footballers what i want is another jj okocha, person wey sabi driblle dribble dribble
jinx

Post by jinx »

kone wrote:with the likes of
joel obi
john ogu
obafemi martins
kelechi iheanacho
rabiu ibrahim

i dont think we really lack left footballers what i want is another jj okocha, person wey sabi driblle dribble dribble

It is not just having any left footed players. I am talking about quality players, playing at a high level. With the exception of Martins at his brief peak, none of those you mentioned strike fear in an opposition.
aykwes8

Post by aykwes8 »

left footed dont mean jack if u are overrated like that Wakaso angel*. the guy is talented alright but he's probably one of the dumbest footballer ive seen. very very low IQ footballer always shooting form 45 yards out. it can also be frustrating if u have left footed players who can't use the right foot to any significant effect. for some reason ghana has never been short of very good left footed players but these current ones are way too one footed. in the past all our players were ambidextrous. Abedi, Yeboah, Ck, are just a few of some notobale left footed players who were really good with their other foot. we want footballers with high intelligence not just left footed ones
kone

Post by kone »

left footed players are always special when you get the right one

Echiejile, Taiye Taiwo, Babayaro are all left footed.

jinx wrote:As a Ghanaian, I realized that Ghana is a stark contrast compared to other African countries, when it comes to top level left footed players. The current Black Star team has an abundance of really quality left footed players: Kwadwo Asamoah, Andre Ayew, Muntari, Wakaso, Atsu (who all featured against Egypt), and Acheampong, Baba Rahman. In the past other top left footers for Ghana has included Abedi Pele, Tony Yeboah, CK Akunnor, Opoku Nti etc.
I am not sure if it's because of genetics, or left footed players are held in higher esteem in Ghana, or upcoming players just have other top role models to emulate.
Actually u are right. It has always been a wonder how Ghana producers so many natural left-footers in their teams. It is as regular as clockwork. I remember asking this same question about Ghana when watching your U17 team earlier this year. It must be something in the gene pool. Forget top-level. The lefties are just there at ALL levels, even female and someone should really do a study. You no lie at all.
JMObi

Post by JMObi »

Left footed football players tend to be more talented attackers than the rest partly because they exploit the weaker side of conventional players. Consider that the following are left footed:

- Lionel Messi
- Diego Maradona
- Cruyff
- Rivaldo
- Robben
- Van Basten
- Romario
O na-abu ife na-eme ufodu e ekolopu anyi adi elota n’ife obuna nwelu mbido ga enwelili njedebe - Celestine Ukwu

“The sun will shine on those who stand before it shines on those who kneel under them." -- Chinua Achebe

i need to start telling chicks my bala is left footed so dem go just open for me cuz na talent be dat.. :woot: :woot:

We have had a few left footed players After Amunike and lawal we havent had a lot of them. On this current Golden eaglet team we have a few..but Ghana on theother hand,i think everybody wanna be liek Abedi so they just play with their left foot.
Last edited by omey2k4 on Wed Oct 23, 2013 7:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

quickie

Post by quickie »

JMObi wrote:Left footed football players tend to be more talented attackers than the rest partly because they exploit the weaker side of conventional players. Consider that the following are left footed:

- Lionel Messi
- Diego Maradona
- Cruyff
- Rivaldo
- Robben
- Van Basten
- Romario
Chair,

Many more examples of left footed fab players but Romario and Van Basten were NOT left footed o.

Q
amafolas

Post by amafolas »

left footedness is a weird trait. on west african coast, Ghana disproportionately produces left footed players. Nigeria not so much. EVen down to my primary school in naija where we had a lot of Ghanians, they tended to have more left-footers than Nigeria did.

In latin America, argentina disproportionately produces left-footed players, Brazil not so much.
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.

amafolas wrote:left footedness is a weird trait. on west african coast, Ghana disproportionately produces left footed players. Nigeria not so much. EVen down to my primary school in naija where we had a lot of Ghanians, they tended to have more left-footers than Nigeria did.

In latin America, argentina disproportionately produces left-footed players, Brazil not so much.
Interesting. I thought everyone knew Ghana produces a disproportionate number of left-footers.
Alaafin

Post by Alaafin »

JMObi wrote:Left footed football players tend to be more talented attackers than the rest partly because they exploit the weaker side of conventional players. Consider that the following are left footed:

- Lionel Messi
- Diego Maradona
- Cruyff
- Rivaldo
- Robben
- Van Basten
- Romario
Add Hristo Stoichkov to the list! Also Van Persie, Ozil...
Iku Baba Yeye; Alase Ikeji Orisa

He who has power over life and death; Second-in-Command to the gods
Player

Post by Player »

I find it interesting that Wales can produce Giggs, Bellamy and Bale but England none
"The house Negro and the field Negro sat at dinner, when the field Negro turned his head, the house Negro put some poison in his food but the field Negro saw him do it and when the house Negro turned his head, the field Negro "turned the tray around."

amafolas wrote:left footedness is a weird trait. on west african coast, Ghana disproportionately produces left footed players. Nigeria not so much. EVen down to my primary school in naija where we had a lot of Ghanians, they tended to have more left-footers than Nigeria did.

Interesting. I thought everyone knew Ghana produces a disproportionate number of left-footers.
I was discouraged from using my left foot (and hand) by my parents because of their opinions on left-sidedness equating to wickedness. Might be a cultural thing.

Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16

© The YeyeMan 2025

...neither was Cruyff! :shock:
quickie wrote:

- Lionel Messi
- Diego Maradona
- Cruyff
- Rivaldo
- Robben
- Van Basten
- Romario
Chair,

Many more examples of left footed fab players but Romario and Van Basten were NOT left footed o.

Q
Skylolo

Post by Skylolo »

Michael Babatunde is left footed isn't he?
To God be the glory

Player wrote:I find it interesting that Wales can produce Giggs, Bellamy and Bale but England none
:thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

Bellamy is not left footed. Extraordinary on here how many people are "foot blind" and cannot tell which foot a professional footballer is using to kick the ball.

England did have good left sided players once upon a time: Barnes, Waddle...imagine if they had agreed to have a UK team in that era: Giggs, Rush, Southall, Hughes, Gascoigne, Shearer, Ferguson all in the same team...
Player wrote:I find it interesting that Wales can produce Giggs, Bellamy and Bale but England none
:thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

Aluko too is left footed

...and should definitely be in the Nigerian team now that he has recovered from injury. He has electrifying pace. If he played with Emenike (CF), Moses (left), and Musa (right), Nigeria would be devastating on the counter-attack. IMO Aluko is a better player than Oduamadi.
maceo4 wrote:Aluko too is left footed
mastermind

Post by mastermind »

I am a left-footed player myself. It was a thing of beauty to watch players like Kwadwo Asamoah, Andre Ayew, Muntari, Wakaso and Atsu playing together against Egypt.
http://www.melangeparis.com/
Be More Human!!
mastermind

Post by mastermind »

I was discouraged from using my left foot (and hand) by my parents because of their opinions on left-sidedness equating to wickedness. Might be a cultural thing.
I was prevented from using my left hand to write and eat when I was a kid as well, but I use my left foot to play football and my left hand to play lawn and table tennis. My right hand is only good for writing; I use my left for everything else. I'm ambidextrous now but it could be very confusing sometimes.
http://www.melangeparis.com/
Be More Human!!