Pics of Residential Apartments in Abuja !

mastermind
Pics of Residential Apartments in Abuja !

Post by mastermind »

Pics of Residential Apartments/Houses in Abuja !

http://pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/andone019 ... CBqMoos10K
Motown

Post by Motown »

O'l boy I just got back Abuja, those houses are really nice and the location is good as well.

Na one thing to build, na another to maintain.
Motown

Post by Motown »

Waffiman wrote:Na one thing to build, na another to maintain.
The maintenance is all up to you, when you buy the property.
Ebyboy

Post by Ebyboy »

True dat. The fire harzard that is the 1004 apartments in Lagos once looked like some of those pics. Nice looking though - the pics.

For many years upon this spot
You heard the sound of a merry bell
Those who were rash and those who were not
Lost and made a spot of cash
He who gave the game away
May he Brynn in hell and rue the day

Bryne V. Deane [1937]

Ebyboy wrote:
True dat. The fire harzard that is the 1004 apartments in Lagos once looked like some of those pics. Nice looking though - the pics.
And that is ultimately why the govt has sold the 1004 Apartments and hopefully UAC Property Development Corp. plc will put it back to its rightful state.

Sometimes, certain of my fellow Nigerians remind one of babies sitting around and waiting for their diapers to be changed. And apparently, some of us still can't get our heads around the reality that the era of government building residences and the occupants treating same as nobody's property is well on its way out.

Accordingly, like Motown correctly inferred above: wetin concern agbero with overload! These are private property, and if one cannot maintain his own property or get the management company of the estate to so do, then it would degenerate in much the same manner as any untended property in London, Houston or Casablanca.

mastermind

Post by mastermind »

these are individual properties, it's peoples homes not govt buildings. People that can afford to build or buy these building/houses can afford to maintain it.
Motown

Post by Motown »

Ebyboy wrote:
And that is ultimately why the govt has sold the 1004 Apartments and hopefully UAC Property Development Corp. plc will put it back to its rightful state.

Sometimes, certain of my fellow Nigerians remind one of babies sitting around and waiting for their diapers to be changed. And apparently, some of us still can't get our heads around the reality that the era of government building residences and the occupants treating same as nobody's property is well on its way out.

Accordingly, like Motown correctly inferred above: wetin concern agbero with overload! These are private property, and if one cannot maintain his own property or get the management company of the estate to so do, then it would degenerate in much the same manner as any untended property in London, Houston or Casablanca.
Thank you Bro, some people think say Niaja still dey operate in the 80's.
Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

Nigerians publicly and privately have no maintainance culture.

You should see some of the houses I have been to sheeeesh!!!!!!!

Gooner1 wrote:Nigerians publicly and privately have no maintainance culture.
You should see some of the houses I have been to sheeeesh!!!!!!!
:shock: This is totally true, lack of maintenance culture, I rented an apartment in Lekki-Lagos for my aunt, the house owner is only interested in the rent he gets every year, the house was built almost ten years ago, the man has never being there to do any maintenance, the tenants are the one paying to have the septic tank cleaned, paint their indvidual apaartments. etc. :evil: :evil:

Motown wrote:
Ebyboy wrote:

Thank you Bro, some people think say Niaja still dey operate in the 80's.

Naija still de operate like in the 80s proper. No going forward, always sliding.
TD

Post by TD »

Ebyboy wrote:

There is just so much that private maintainance of property can do in Nigeria. In a situation where you do not have building codes, or even where you have them, they are routinely ignored or unenforced, government (including local government) will eventually have the shoulder the blame. A case in point - the Suru-Lere estate where you can still notice the detail in the planning and the specifications on some of the buildings there, but then people have converted residential buildings to commercial buildings or have made adjustments to buildings without regard to the neighbouring architecture, or have built 10-foot walls around their property (understandable) or have open drains and no sidewalk in front of their property, and then finally it has become strangulated by developments on it's outskirts without the same attention to detail and planning as it initially had.

In other instances, the lack of public amenities (sewage, garbage disposal) ultimately is the major factor responsible for the deterioration of property.

TD wrote:
Ebyboy wrote:

There is just so much that private maintainance of property can do in Nigeria. In a situation where you do not have building codes, or even where you have them, they are routinely ignored or unenforced, government (including local government) will eventually have the shoulder the blame. A case in point - the Suru-Lere estate where you can still notice the detail in the planning and the specifications on some of the buildings there, but then people have converted residential buildings to commercial buildings or have made adjustments to buildings without regard to the neighbouring architecture, or have built 10-foot walls around their property (understandable) or have open drains and no sidewalk in front of their property, and then finally it has become strangulated by developments on it's outskirts without the same attention to detail and planning as it initially had.

In other instances, the lack of public amenities (sewage, garbage disposal) ultimately is the major factor responsible for the deterioration of property.
TD, this is exactly my point. Private and Public maintenance go together, they just cannot be mutually exclusive.

TD wrote:There is just so much that private maintainance of property can do in Nigeria. In a situation where you do not have building codes, or even where you have them, they are routinely ignored or unenforced, government (including local government) will eventually have the shoulder the blame. A case in point - the Suru-Lere estate where you can still notice the detail in the planning and the specifications on some of the buildings there, but then people have converted residential buildings to commercial buildings or have made adjustments to buildings without regard to the neighbouring architecture, or have built 10-foot walls around their property (understandable) or have open drains and no sidewalk in front of their property, and then finally it has become strangulated by developments on it's outskirts without the same attention to detail and planning as it initially had.

TD:
Yet when the authorities start to demolish squatter properties, mechanics shacks on roadsides, sundry markets and stall on highways and streets, unapproved attachments to property, illegal and unapproved conversions, developments under bridges and on public beaches, additions to planned markets, etc, Nigerians will be the first to scream blue murder.

TD wrote:There is just so much that private maintainance of property can do in Nigeria. In a situation where you do not have building codes, or even where you have them, they are routinely ignored or unenforced, government (including local government) will eventually have the shoulder the blame. A case in point - the Suru-Lere estate where you can still notice the detail in the planning and the specifications on some of the buildings there, but then people have converted residential buildings to commercial buildings or have made adjustments to buildings without regard to the neighbouring architecture, or have built 10-foot walls around their property (understandable) or have open drains and no sidewalk in front of their property, and then finally it has become strangulated by developments on it's outskirts without the same attention to detail and planning as it initially had.

TD:
Yet when the authorities start to demolish squatter properties, mechanics shacks on roadsides, sundry markets and stall on highways and streets, unapproved attachments to property, illegal and unapproved conversions, developments under bridges and on public beaches, additions to planned markets, etc, Nigerians will be the first to scream blue murder.
...and then give the land to thier friends without providing alternate accomodation to the people dispossed then we scream blue murder. :lol: :lol:
Talk IT

Post by Talk IT »

What is the point of this thread?
I hope it is not a continuation of the "abuja is fine" gimmick. :lol:
If there were no God, I would not be alive.
And if God is not good, I would have been dead.
TD

Post by TD »

TD:
Gotti,

I don't think it is too much to ask that the authorities not allow it to get to that stage. Besides, as Prince has observed, it's more the lack of transparency that people protest against.

TD wrote:Gotti,

I don't think it is too much to ask that the authorities not allow it to get to that stage. Besides, as Prince has observed, it's more the lack of transparency that people protest against.
TD:
Rasheed is demolishing some houses in Lekki (and has done the same at VCG) even as we speak (in each instance, for not conforming with or not seeking planning approvals). Rufai has also done substantially the same thing in parts of Abuja, so it is not a question of waiting for things to get to that stage -- as much as some folks simply ignoring codes.

Nevertheless, it is better late than never, because many Nigerians count on the fact that once development has taken on a defacto nature, everyone else will learn to live with. It is important to keep them guessing when and if (because realistically not all violations will be penalized) enforcement will ultimately catch up with them, as that should act as a chiling effect on future violations.

As for the purported lack of transparency, as much as the present democractic dispensation has sought to enhance (nominally or otherwise) transparency and accountability, the truth is that Nigeria is not yet there, but that has hardly been the overridding issue on this particular subject. What transparency is required to acknowledge that one simply cannot take over pedestrian bridges or bus stops as market stalls? Or cook with open fires under bridges?

The fact that I sought highlight with my "blue murder" remark is that Nigerians simply cannot eat their cake and have it: we have to decide on the things that are most important and order our national undertaking accordingly. Nigerians simply cannot move into any open space, beach, roadside or undeveloped piece of land and erect a dwelling or convert it into commercial space, with the active acquiensce of the chattering class, who then turn around to complain about chaotic urban blight.

SUYA

Post by SUYA »

Nigerians simply cannot move into any open space, beach, roadside or undeveloped piece of land and erect a dwelling or convert it into commercial space, with the active acquiensce of the chattering class, who then turn around to complain about chaotic urban blight.

Very well said.....Look at our beaches and compare them to the ones in Ghana and one will understand where Gotti is coming from. There is absolutely no sense of appreciation or value.
The above comments are private and not affiliated with supersport in any manner or form
Kneedeep

Post by Kneedeep »

Spot on Gotti, the African still has trouble grasping the concept of cause and effect. The same people who throw trash out of their cars, turn around to complain the cities are dirty.

I still don't see what the government has to do with maintaining private property. If the houses were in pristine condition, but the roads were terrible, I would say the aesthetic problems are solely the problem of the government, but this is rarely the case even in Old Ikoyi and V.I.
ROSSIKE

Post by ROSSIKE »

One thing I've never understood is why we're so reluctant to build sidewalks (pavements) for pedestrians to walk comfortably on.

How expensive can that really be?

TD wrote:Gotti,

TD:
Rasheed is demolishing some houses in Lekki (and has done the same at VCG) even as we speak (in each instance, for not conforming with or not seeking planning approvals). Rufai has also done substantially the same thing in parts of Abuja, so it is not a question of waiting for things to get to that stage -- as much as some folks simply ignoring codes.

Nevertheless, it is better late than never, because many Nigerians count on the fact that once development has taken on a defacto nature, everyone else will learn to live with. It is important to keep them guessing when and if (because realistically not all violations will be penalized) enforcement will ultimately catch up with them, as that should act as a chiling effect on future violations.

As for the purported lack of transparency, as much as the present democractic dispensation has sought to enhance (nominally or otherwise) transparency and accountability, the truth is that Nigeria is not yet there, but that has hardly been the overridding issue on this particular subject. What transparency is required to acknowledge that one simply cannot take over pedestrian bridges or bus stops as market stalls? Or cook with open fires under bridges?

The fact that I sought highlight with my "blue murder" remark is that Nigerians simply cannot eat their cake and have it: we have to decide on the things that are most important and order our national undertaking accordingly. Nigerians simply cannot move into any open space, beach, roadside or undeveloped piece of land and erect a dwelling or convert it into commercial space, with the active acquiensce of the chattering class, who then turn around to complain about chaotic urban blight.
Rasheed should go and demolish those houses at Park View, which was formerly Ikoyi Park.
TD

Post by TD »

Kneedeep wrote:Spot on Gotti, the African still has trouble grasping the concept of cause and effect. The same people who throw trash out of their cars, turn around to complain the cities are dirty.

I still don't see what the government has to do with maintaining private property. If the houses were in pristine condition, but the roads were terrible, I would say the aesthetic problems are solely the problem of the government, but this is rarely the case even in Old Ikoyi and V.I.
Is that so? And speaking of cause and effect, is it not conceivable that the reason why people do not dispose of waste properly in the first place is because there is no incentive to do so. Are you going to bother to properly dispose waste when you have mountains of uncollected refuse at the street corner, are you going to bother to unclog the stagnant drains in front of your house when someone else can simply walk by and fill it up while the gook you remove sits festering awaiting the "authorities.

Please, government has a lot to do with mainatainance of private property and failure of government has been a major reason for the gradual slumification of most Nigerian urban areas. After all, it was the same Nigerians that kept GRA's pristine in the 60s and 70s when someone in government actually cared to do their jobs.