Arsenal 3-0 MAN CITY (COMM. SHIELD) SANTI, Ramsey, OLIV (FT)
Re: Arsenal 3-0 MAN CITY (COMM. SHIELD) SANTI, Ramsey, OLIV
Mr. Piffington wrote:How many false dawns have Arsenal had over the years? Just managing expectations that's all.emekonia wrote:Hmm...get carried away that Arsenal won Charity shield? Did u want a loss instead? Man...seriously i understand being objective...i have always been quick to criticise the team or wenger wen need be. But man this is cold...if thats how u feel after ur supposed team just won the Shield!Mr. Piffington wrote:Man City had 6 starters out. Stop it, let's not get carried away here.emekonia wrote:Yea i guess Chambers and Monreal as our Centre half partnership is definately our first choice pairing...SMDH!Mr. Piffington wrote:Let's be fair, Man City were playing their B team. Boyata and Nastasic at defence? Clichy at RB? Not likely going to see that in the league.Robbynice wrote:So we beat a big team on the biggest stage and win a trophy in the process and yet some choose today to complain about the players we don't have....yep our knucklehead fans are indeed in mid season form...it is a shame, a damn shame...smdh
Make una carry on but as for me and my house we will celebrate the team today...![]()
During those false dawns did we win the FA cup? and spend 100m over 2 summers?
All I hear is excuses for City, how about the team that got the job done?
That city squad shouldn't be losing 3 nil and with the competition for places in their squad why would anyone think the tie wasn't taken serious.
If that was the case they could have saved a lot of their fans the cost of coming all the way down to London.
The fact is City expected us to roll over, thinking it would be an easy game.
We had Sanogo they had Dzeko and Jovetic as strikers. Nuff said
Remember who you are, what you are and who you represent - Arsenal FC
Don mine dem.... As long as no Arsenal win am, borbors go talk weytin they wan talk.blaccat wrote:Mr. Piffington wrote:How many false dawns have Arsenal had over the years? Just managing expectations that's all.emekonia wrote:Hmm...get carried away that Arsenal won Charity shield? Did u want a loss instead? Man...seriously i understand being objective...i have always been quick to criticise the team or wenger wen need be. But man this is cold...if thats how u feel after ur supposed team just won the Shield!Mr. Piffington wrote:Man City had 6 starters out. Stop it, let's not get carried away here.emekonia wrote:Yea i guess Chambers and Monreal as our Centre half partnership is definately our first choice pairing...SMDH!Mr. Piffington wrote:Let's be fair, Man City were playing their B team. Boyata and Nastasic at defence? Clichy at RB? Not likely going to see that in the league.Robbynice wrote:So we beat a big team on the biggest stage and win a trophy in the process and yet some choose today to complain about the players we don't have....yep our knucklehead fans are indeed in mid season form...it is a shame, a damn shame...smdh
Make una carry on but as for me and my house we will celebrate the team today...![]()
That city squad shouldn't be losing 3 nil and with the competition for places in their squad why would anyone think the tie wasn't taken serious.
If that was the case they could have saved a lot of their fans the cost of coming all the way down to London.
But e go do dem like cenema when the real dance begin. Can you imagine a whole ManC, with all the
heavy duty playas dem carry, na him gunners waya 3 kpondo without apology. Kai, dis tin sweet
my behleh no be smorl..

blaccat wrote:Mr. Piffington wrote:How many false dawns have Arsenal had over the years? Just managing expectations that's all.emekonia wrote:Hmm...get carried away that Arsenal won Charity shield? Did u want a loss instead? Man...seriously i understand being objective...i have always been quick to criticise the team or wenger wen need be. But man this is cold...if thats how u feel after ur supposed team just won the Shield!Mr. Piffington wrote:Man City had 6 starters out. Stop it, let's not get carried away here.emekonia wrote:Yea i guess Chambers and Monreal as our Centre half partnership is definately our first choice pairing...SMDH!Mr. Piffington wrote:Let's be fair, Man City were playing their B team. Boyata and Nastasic at defence? Clichy at RB? Not likely going to see that in the league.Robbynice wrote:So we beat a big team on the biggest stage and win a trophy in the process and yet some choose today to complain about the players we don't have....yep our knucklehead fans are indeed in mid season form...it is a shame, a damn shame...smdh

- kash n' karry

Goooo GUNNNERSSS !! Arsenal 4 Everrrrrr !!!!
==================================================
Kingdoms are won by armies, but empires are built with alliances !!
So what time is the parade in London?What channel in US showing the parade?
kajifu wrote:So what time is the parade in London?What channel in US showing the parade?

From this day forth, I stand by the entity that is ARSENAL.
I'm in despair when we lose, I rejoice when we win and I become emotional for all that happens in between
but may no one dare say I was not there when its all said and done - Globero
I'm in despair when we lose, I rejoice when we win and I become emotional for all that happens in between
but may no one dare say I was not there when its all said and done - Globero
Those in the club from the Youth team to Senior have nothing but the ultimate respect for Arteta. When he came to Arsenal, it was not good at all. But he stabilised it all with support of Per and Vermaelen. He took on his team mates who felt they could be doing better. He famously asked RvP to give up his Captaincy if he wanted to leave in a team meeting. He chided RvP as being a hypocrite for having a go at Ramsey when he was not committed.bouncino wrote:Same way TV5 was captainOba wrote:All it means is that Arteta leads the team, especially in the dressing room. He doesn't have to play all, or many of the games.osita wrote:This our coach wenger has not still learnt his lesson,
Just heard in skysports that mikel arteta has been confirmed the captain of arsenal.
Does that mean he is a starter and he will not buy a DM?
Captain can not something's be on the bench.
Waffi man abeg confirm?
Arteta has been immense both on and off the pitch, that's why he became Vice Captain and he is the natural replacement for Vermaelen.
i was one of those saying Arteta is too slow. True, he's quite slow, but just like Per, he knows where to stay on the pitch to make important intervention. He's not all action like Flamini, but he certainly has more impact that the French-Italatian. I thought he played well yesterday. Many folks expected us to be overrun in midfield, but Arteta-Jack-Ramsey held their own very well against Toure & co. If our key guys stay healthy this season, there's no reason why Arteta wont lead them to more success.Waffiman wrote: Those in the club from the Youth team to Senior have nothing but the ultimate respect for Arteta. When he came to Arsenal, it was not good at all. But he stabilised it all with support of Per and Vermaelen. He took on his team mates who felt they could be doing better. He famously asked RvP to give up his Captaincy if he wanted to leave in a team meeting. He chided RvP as being a hypocrite for having a go at Ramsey when he was not committed.
Arteta has been immense both on and off the pitch, that's why he became Vice Captain and he is the natural replacement for Vermaelen.
Never enter into a quarrel with an id!ot, lest he drag you down to his level and then beat you up with experience.
This Article sums it all up.
The bad bellus grows as Arsenal are on the up as the haters and so called pundits are being made to look stupid.
Arsenal first XI beat Man C reserves (apparently)
By Tony Attwood
In the build up to the Ems Cup I had a couple of rants against the pay TV channel BT Sport over their status as Arsenal’s media partner, which sat uneasily with their overtly anti-Arsenal broadcasting policy, as witnessed since the channel started..
Yesterday they had the rights to the Uncharitable Shield (so called because of the way the FA failed to hand out money to charities properly in its past incarnation) and just as with the first day of the Ems Cup this year, I thought they did quite well – by which I mean quite well for a TV station.
Did Untold have anything to do with this dramatic reversal of approach? Who knows, but it would be nice to think an Arsenal exec saw the campaign and reminded the Sprout that in the end, it is the piper who calls the tune. Without us, there is no show.
Sadly the same drift towards reality can’t be seen in the the rest of the media. The dominant headline story in the UK after the game was that Man C “with over half their first team missing” were beaten by Arsenal.
Everyone admitted Arsenal played well, but that phrase turns up again and again in written and broadcast media. It is as if the pressmen, pundits and the rest of the horde agreed on their anti-Arsenal line they would take, even before kick off.
Surely not!
It is a typical bit of media misleading. I am sure that Man C did have six players not there who might be expected to play when all is fit (although including the free transfer Sagna in the six is a bit of a push, given he’s never played for the club). But consider Arsenal. Arsenal played without Ozil, Mertersacker, Podolski, Walcott and Giroud in the first half – five of the players we might expect to start if all were available.
But still, “Man C with just over half their first team missing lose to Arsenal with just under half their first team missing” doesn’t really have the ring. Or the rampant bias.
The other line repeated (and BT Sport became BT Sprout again over this one) was “After nine years without a trophy Arsène Wenger now has two in two games.” Yes, well, 0 out of 10 for imagination but you hit 85% on the cheesyness barometer.
And of course we got “the first time Arsenal have won the shield in a decade” plus measurement in days between the last cup win and this most recent one, and all that. I wonder why they keep saying it. Not to bring in readers and viewers, most certainly. Maybe it is laziness. Lazy journalists? Surely not.
But Arsenal won, so the competition must be denigrated, and fast. The Guardian had it as “little more than a semi-contest for a semi-trophy that fades from the memory come the first whistle of the season proper” They go on to remind us that “Twelve months ago victory in the Community Shield was hailed as the first step in the David Moyes Revolution at Manchester United”. It is thus clearly downhill all the way for Arsenal from now on.
Laughably that sentence is followed by…
“This is not to belittle Arsenal’s achievement in beating the champions convincingly…”
Yes it is guys. And I think you know it.
Yes it is, Barney Ronay who we are helpfully told in the paper was “at Wembley” (although given his report it is hard to believe – maybe he got locked in the bar).
What we did learn is that Mathieu Debuchy has replaced Bacary Sagna perfectly and is set to reign in that position, and he is the perfect full back to have behind Sanchez.
We also learned that even without the master centre backs of Kos and Mert we can still control the game – although of course we’d all prefer Kos and Mert.
And we learned that after all his summer outbursts about birthday cakes and the like Yaya Touré is the one thing that holds Man C together.
So, should one feel sorry for Sagna, choosing to leave Arsenal for a highly lucrative long-term contract just when Man C look a muddle and Arsenal seem to be showing exactly why they were at the top of the table last season more than any other team?
No, not really. You sign the deal, and live by your decision. And besides the fact that Arsenal were at the top of the league last season longer than any other team is something YOU MUST NEVER MENTION. Apparently it was agreed thus in the journalists’ bar.
But what we should do is recognise just how much of a squad we have. We took this game to City and for half an hour they could hardly get a touch. Yes they had players missing, but as I suggested above, so did we. Including two of our triumvirate of Ozil Theo Ramsey. We have backup.
And just as last season we saw Ramsey transmute himself into dominant player, so I think we were looking at a big step in that direction for Jack Wilshere. Let’s hope so. A Jack at his full potential alongside Theo Ozil and Ramsey would be awesome indeed.
What is a “triumvirate” when it becomes a foursome?
Anyway, maybe there is more to come. Another transfer out there? That would be interesting, but even if not, this looks good. And besides, when the media make themselves look as daft as they have done with their reports of yesterday’s game, it is always a nice way to start the day.
The bad bellus grows as Arsenal are on the up as the haters and so called pundits are being made to look stupid.
By Tony Attwood
In the build up to the Ems Cup I had a couple of rants against the pay TV channel BT Sport over their status as Arsenal’s media partner, which sat uneasily with their overtly anti-Arsenal broadcasting policy, as witnessed since the channel started..
Yesterday they had the rights to the Uncharitable Shield (so called because of the way the FA failed to hand out money to charities properly in its past incarnation) and just as with the first day of the Ems Cup this year, I thought they did quite well – by which I mean quite well for a TV station.
Did Untold have anything to do with this dramatic reversal of approach? Who knows, but it would be nice to think an Arsenal exec saw the campaign and reminded the Sprout that in the end, it is the piper who calls the tune. Without us, there is no show.
Sadly the same drift towards reality can’t be seen in the the rest of the media. The dominant headline story in the UK after the game was that Man C “with over half their first team missing” were beaten by Arsenal.
Everyone admitted Arsenal played well, but that phrase turns up again and again in written and broadcast media. It is as if the pressmen, pundits and the rest of the horde agreed on their anti-Arsenal line they would take, even before kick off.
Surely not!
It is a typical bit of media misleading. I am sure that Man C did have six players not there who might be expected to play when all is fit (although including the free transfer Sagna in the six is a bit of a push, given he’s never played for the club). But consider Arsenal. Arsenal played without Ozil, Mertersacker, Podolski, Walcott and Giroud in the first half – five of the players we might expect to start if all were available.
But still, “Man C with just over half their first team missing lose to Arsenal with just under half their first team missing” doesn’t really have the ring. Or the rampant bias.
The other line repeated (and BT Sport became BT Sprout again over this one) was “After nine years without a trophy Arsène Wenger now has two in two games.” Yes, well, 0 out of 10 for imagination but you hit 85% on the cheesyness barometer.
And of course we got “the first time Arsenal have won the shield in a decade” plus measurement in days between the last cup win and this most recent one, and all that. I wonder why they keep saying it. Not to bring in readers and viewers, most certainly. Maybe it is laziness. Lazy journalists? Surely not.
But Arsenal won, so the competition must be denigrated, and fast. The Guardian had it as “little more than a semi-contest for a semi-trophy that fades from the memory come the first whistle of the season proper” They go on to remind us that “Twelve months ago victory in the Community Shield was hailed as the first step in the David Moyes Revolution at Manchester United”. It is thus clearly downhill all the way for Arsenal from now on.
“This is not to belittle Arsenal’s achievement in beating the champions convincingly…”
Yes it is, Barney Ronay who we are helpfully told in the paper was “at Wembley” (although given his report it is hard to believe – maybe he got locked in the bar).
What we did learn is that Mathieu Debuchy has replaced Bacary Sagna perfectly and is set to reign in that position, and he is the perfect full back to have behind Sanchez.
We also learned that even without the master centre backs of Kos and Mert we can still control the game – although of course we’d all prefer Kos and Mert.
And we learned that after all his summer outbursts about birthday cakes and the like Yaya Touré is the one thing that holds Man C together.
So, should one feel sorry for Sagna, choosing to leave Arsenal for a highly lucrative long-term contract just when Man C look a muddle and Arsenal seem to be showing exactly why they were at the top of the table last season more than any other team?
No, not really. You sign the deal, and live by your decision. And besides the fact that Arsenal were at the top of the league last season longer than any other team is something YOU MUST NEVER MENTION. Apparently it was agreed thus in the journalists’ bar.
But what we should do is recognise just how much of a squad we have. We took this game to City and for half an hour they could hardly get a touch. Yes they had players missing, but as I suggested above, so did we. Including two of our triumvirate of Ozil Theo Ramsey. We have backup.
And just as last season we saw Ramsey transmute himself into dominant player, so I think we were looking at a big step in that direction for Jack Wilshere. Let’s hope so. A Jack at his full potential alongside Theo Ozil and Ramsey would be awesome indeed.
Anyway, maybe there is more to come. Another transfer out there? That would be interesting, but even if not, this looks good. And besides, when the media make themselves look as daft as they have done with their reports of yesterday’s game, it is always a nice way to start the day.
Waffiman wrote:This Article sums it all up.
By Tony Attwood
Surely not!
The fact remains clear. Arsenal is London's biggest club. Arsenal sells papers. These hacks know they can sell papers and get clicks on articles by writing stuff to stir the pot.
Look at CE, look how rabid the Arsenal fans here are, look how many Arsenal fans are on this forum.
Follow the $$$ and it's clear. When Arsenal begins to play champagne, irresistible footie and win with it, these will be the first folks gushing about how they followed arsenal since before they could walk.
Wenger: "If you lose it, they say you lost a trophy. If you win it, they say it's only the Community Shield".
Arsenal was rightly criticized when she was losing winnable championships. Now she is winning, she should get the applauds. I don't care if it's plastic cup. You can only win what's in front of you.
Man i live in Manchester...i just gave some Man city dude a proper dressing down early this morning...when he went on on its their B team etc...infact i dey vex wat kind of bias or hatred is this uk media pulling. Disgusting man! Extremely disgusting! ESPN and their pundits utter uselessness! BBC useless! Even the supposed pundits who should have Arsenals back in both enterprises mumus! Even they couldnt stress that arsenal also had 5 first teamers out. Anyways to hell with all of them. Im having plans of starting my own blog...i need to put all these useless pundits in their rightful places. Terrible!Waffiman wrote:This Article sums it all up.
By Tony Attwood
Surely not!
Last edited by emekonia on Mon Aug 11, 2014 2:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
platinum wrote:Waffiman wrote:This Article sums it all up.
By Tony Attwood
Surely not!
The fact remains clear. Arsenal is London's biggest club. Arsenal sells papers. These hacks know they can sell papers and get clicks on articles by writing stuff to stir the pot.
Look at CE, look how rabid the Arsenal fans here are, look how many Arsenal fans are on this forum.
Follow the $$$ and it's clear. When Arsenal begins to play champagne, irresistible footie and win with it, these will be the first folks gushing about how they followed arsenal since before they could walk.

- Chief Ogbunigwe
balo wrote:Arsenal was rightly criticized when she was losing winnable championships. Now she is winning, she should get the applauds. I don't care if it's plastic cup. You can only win what's in front of you.

- Chief Ogbunigwe
platinum wrote:Waffiman wrote:This Article sums it all up.
By Tony Attwood
Surely not!

And that is why, whether rabid or not, Wengerist or not, Sky-waffi or Aniku-gooner, it has to be...
ARSENAL for LIFE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Bottom line......2 top teams played for the Charity Shield.....Arsenal were victorious.....

“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit
"I didn't buy Arsenal stake to win trophies" Kroneke
Kpom! the thing tire me o.Gooner1 wrote:Bottom line......2 top teams played for the Charity Shield.....Arsenal were victorious.....
Lets keep winning and they can keep their bias. The issue here is, "Arsenal lost and kept their trophyless season for 10+ years" is the better news. But not news that they won. BBC need to hear about their biases from us.
Kingsley A. @citoca 7m
#bbcfootball. It is a shame when media outlets like BBC partake in the anti Arsenal rants. Arsenal won a trophy and all they could write on their site is that they played against the Mancity reserve team. Mancity are missing 8 first teamers with Sagna and Lampard listed ..Arsenal were missing their German contingents and Walcott. Shame on BBC. They should be impartial in their reporting but no #bbcfootball.The so called reserve team were worth up most of approximately 200Million Euro. Arsenal used 6 subs and a bunch of newbies #bbcfootball.A team that has Monreal as CD and still beat the other by 3 must surely be doing something right. #GetAboveTheFrayBBC
8:02 AM - 11 Aug 2014 · Details
https://twitter.com/citoca
Kingsley A. @citoca 7m
#bbcfootball. It is a shame when media outlets like BBC partake in the anti Arsenal rants. Arsenal won a trophy and all they could write on their site is that they played against the Mancity reserve team. Mancity are missing 8 first teamers with Sagna and Lampard listed ..Arsenal were missing their German contingents and Walcott. Shame on BBC. They should be impartial in their reporting but no #bbcfootball.The so called reserve team were worth up most of approximately 200Million Euro. Arsenal used 6 subs and a bunch of newbies #bbcfootball.A team that has Monreal as CD and still beat the other by 3 must surely be doing something right. #GetAboveTheFrayBBC
- Chief Ogbunigwe
Kingsley, why are you minding them? Without Arsenal, they would have NO JOBS! Chelsea is too boring to talk about. There is only one legitimately interesting team in London!cito us wrote:Lets keep winning and they can keep their bias. The issue here is, "Arsenal lost and kept their trophyless season for 10+ years" is the better news. But not news that they won. BBC need to hear about their biases from us.
Kingsley A. @citoca 7m
Arsenal for life
If Arsenal had won by only 1-0, I can only imagine the spin from the haters.
Preseason form..na so una do grahgrah last season o...I for like see the selfies ya guys took after that memorable visit to Stamford Bridge

Available on all major streaming platforms