Arsenal-Related News & Developments - 2015/2016 Season
- Chief Ogbunigwe
Re: Arsenal-Related News & Developments - 2015/2016 Season
I don't know why you are concerned. I love our Brits, but if Man City offers 80-100 million pounds for either wilshere or ox, or for each of both, we should sell quick quick. If we cant afford Brits, I am more than positive there are more players where the likes of Santi, Aguero, Pogba, etc came from. Nonsense people. I don't mind selling them as long as AW is willing to channel the proceeds to finding cheaper but quality replacements. City can't keep buying our players forever. Plus it seems players become expensive as soon as Arsenal buys them. Let us continue to raid the likes of Southampton...Waffiman wrote:To the buy, buy brigade have you heard the money Sterling is supposed to ave been offered by City? The figures being touted for Sterling's package is mind boggling for a player who has not proved a thing. City has offered to double all bonuses he was due at Liverpool if he signed a new contract. Also Liverpool is suppose to be offering him 100G wkly, but we hear Sterling has been offered a basic payoff £220k per week back dated.
For me, this is just a pain because Arsenal have all these young English/British players - Wilshere, Ox, Ramsey, Gibbs, etc etc. City had already approached Wilshere and we hear his people are using this offer as leverage for a new deal for Wilshere. More disturbing for Arsenal is the fact that Oxlade's Dad has changed Agency and there is talk that his next Agent could be Sterling's Agent. I am not saying this is a good or bad thing, but we know Arsenal worked very well with Ox's previous Agent. You just never know how the relationship will develop with a new Agent because Agents are human and they have allegiances as well as the desire to make money for their clients and themselves.
This effectively means, Arsenal must increase its wage structure, there are claims they have with Theo's supposed deal. But it all means the Transfer and Wages budget at the club is bound to increase or else we lose these players. What makes our position bad is, we are no City, Chelski and Manure. If a player demands we match their offer, we cannot and will lose the player. So we must first look to keep what we have with our money, the Sterling offer means we will need every penny we've got.
Chief the problem here is the home grown ruleChief Ogbunigwe wrote:I don't know why you are concerned. I love our Brits, but if Man City offers 80-100 million pounds for either wilshere or ox, or for each of both, we should sell quick quick. If we cant afford Brits, I am more than positive there are more players where the likes of Santi, Aguero, Pogba, etc came from. Nonsense people. I don't mind selling them as long as AW is willing to channel the proceeds to finding cheaper but quality replacements. City can't keep buying our players forever. Plus it seems players become expensive as soon as Arsenal buys them. Let us continue to raid the likes of Southampton...Waffiman wrote:To the buy, buy brigade have you heard the money Sterling is supposed to ave been offered by City? The figures being touted for Sterling's package is mind boggling for a player who has not proved a thing. City has offered to double all bonuses he was due at Liverpool if he signed a new contract. Also Liverpool is suppose to be offering him 100G wkly, but we hear Sterling has been offered a basic payoff £220k per week back dated.
For me, this is just a pain because Arsenal have all these young English/British players - Wilshere, Ox, Ramsey, Gibbs, etc etc. City had already approached Wilshere and we hear his people are using this offer as leverage for a new deal for Wilshere. More disturbing for Arsenal is the fact that Oxlade's Dad has changed Agency and there is talk that his next Agent could be Sterling's Agent. I am not saying this is a good or bad thing, but we know Arsenal worked very well with Ox's previous Agent. You just never know how the relationship will develop with a new Agent because Agents are human and they have allegiances as well as the desire to make money for their clients and themselves.
This effectively means, Arsenal must increase its wage structure, there are claims they have with Theo's supposed deal. But it all means the Transfer and Wages budget at the club is bound to increase or else we lose these players. What makes our position bad is, we are no City, Chelski and Manure. If a player demands we match their offer, we cannot and will lose the player. So we must first look to keep what we have with our money, the Sterling offer means we will need every penny we've got.

- Chief Ogbunigwe
zoldsasok wrote:Chief the problem here is the home grown ruleChief Ogbunigwe wrote:I don't know why you are concerned. I love our Brits, but if Man City offers 80-100 million pounds for either wilshere or ox, or for each of both, we should sell quick quick. If we cant afford Brits, I am more than positive there are more players where the likes of Santi, Aguero, Pogba, etc came from. Nonsense people. I don't mind selling them as long as AW is willing to channel the proceeds to finding cheaper but quality replacements. City can't keep buying our players forever. Plus it seems players become expensive as soon as Arsenal buys them. Let us continue to raid the likes of Southampton...Waffiman wrote:To the buy, buy brigade have you heard the money Sterling is supposed to ave been offered by City? The figures being touted for Sterling's package is mind boggling for a player who has not proved a thing. City has offered to double all bonuses he was due at Liverpool if he signed a new contract. Also Liverpool is suppose to be offering him 100G wkly, but we hear Sterling has been offered a basic payoff £220k per week back dated.
I am aware...what is the penalty? Monetary fines? deduction of points? If we make enough money selling to City, perhaps we can raise the funds to pay top dollar in the future? Or perhaps, we can make enough money from player sales to pay any fines? Perhaps we can by homegrown players from Stoke and park them on the bench to meet the quota

How many home-growns do we need to meet the quota? Don't we already have gibbs, Jenks, Welbeck, Ramsey, Coq, etc to fill the quota if we were to sell Ox, Jack and even Theo?
You expecting arsenal to make a transfer plan that will require paying financial fine in the future? Good luck on that on
I think you need 8 home grown players in a 25 man roaster of over 21 years old
Arsenal have 6-8 I think (Szczesny, Gibbs, Jack, Theo, Ramsey, Welbeck, Coquelin)
Ox, chambers, gnabry count has under 21
FA trying to change rules and increase number to 12, also players like welbeck might not count for us since he was "grown" at ManU just like fabregas currently counts for Chelsea cos of his years at arsenal
All these affecting how teams do business
The thing dey complicated so I go allow Waffiman dem explain more
Arsenal have 6-8 I think (Szczesny, Gibbs, Jack, Theo, Ramsey, Welbeck, Coquelin)
FA trying to change rules and increase number to 12, also players like welbeck might not count for us since he was "grown" at ManU just like fabregas currently counts for Chelsea cos of his years at arsenal

of course Welbeck counts as home grown for us, just like that deserter counts as one for chelshit. With that said, I dont understand why Chief Ogbunigwe thinks that Arsenal needs to plan with a strategy of breaking rules, rather than to continue with thinking at least 5 years ahead of our rivalszoldsasok wrote:You expecting arsenal to make a transfer plan that will require paying financial fine in the future? Good luck on that on
Never enter into a quarrel with an id!ot, lest he drag you down to his level and then beat you up with experience.
- Chief Ogbunigwe
PapaK wrote:of course Welbeck counts as home grown for us, just like that deserter counts as one for chelshit. With that said, I dont understand why Chief Ogbunigwe thinks that Arsenal needs to plan with a strategy of breaking rules, rather than to continue with thinking at least 5 years ahead of our rivalszoldsasok wrote:You expecting arsenal to make a transfer plan that will require paying financial fine in the future? Good luck on that on
That was a tongue in cheek comment, but we should consider it seriously if we have to keep fearing that ManCity will raid our home-grown stock. I don't minding selling wilshere or Ox to them for 80-100 million, then face the consequences. Heck, we can sell them Chambers for 30 million. It is still vexing me that we didnt get money from them for Sagna.
of course if shitty are intent on throwing money away, we will eventualy sell some players to them at very inflated rates. Just not this year. You have to realize that Arsenal will keep the supply line flowing. We will use money recived for one player to improve wages of the others. We may sell one or two players who dont want to renew their contracts, but we are no longer in the position where we got bullied by almost all the top guysChief Ogbunigwe wrote:PapaK wrote:of course Welbeck counts as home grown for us, just like that deserter counts as one for chelshit. With that said, I dont understand why Chief Ogbunigwe thinks that Arsenal needs to plan with a strategy of breaking rules, rather than to continue with thinking at least 5 years ahead of our rivalszoldsasok wrote:You expecting arsenal to make a transfer plan that will require paying financial fine in the future? Good luck on that on
That was a tongue in cheek comment, but we should consider it seriously if we have to keep fearing that ManCity will raid our home-grown stock. I don't minding selling wilshere or Ox to them for 80-100 million, then face the consequences. Heck, we can sell them Chambers for 30 million. It is still vexing me that we didnt get money from them for Sagna.
Never enter into a quarrel with an id!ot, lest he drag you down to his level and then beat you up with experience.
That position is a question of quality not quantity. Flamini and Arteta simply don't have the quality. I would have shipped Flamini out and brought someone else.bepanda wrote:How many players do you need in the squad? 100?
If Wenger wants to buy, then he needs to sell first. He just signed Arteta to another contract. Which means, he will see playing time ... at the expense of someone else. Flamini is still on the Squad. Why do we need another DM?kajifu wrote:E be like Wenger no get common sense.So if all the players are fit,so can he guarantee they will stay fit all season?
How can this man hold us back when one or two addition will put us in a better position?
I hope when another fan catch e for train station e go get sense.
Arteta this season should play the Rosicky role. The veteran that rarely plays here and there but whose overall usefullness to the team is more off-field than on field.
Essentially, we have only one DM and we will be playing some 50+ games this season. God help us if Coq gets injured.
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.
Yes Chelsea, conceded less 4 goals. But only scored 2 more goal than we did.bouncino wrote:Prophet Ohenhen. What happens if that DM injures in his first game and is out for the season. Debuchy comes to mind.ohenhen1 wrote:The current Arsenal squad can't win the EPL title. Maybe 1 more signing, a defensive midfielder. No depth behind Coquelin.
I agree the team needs another DM and maybe release Flamini but that alone still won't win them the title.
I believe a ruthless striker is more important. Only two teams conceded less than Arsenal last season (Chelsea and Southampton). The problem was more about not converting chances and finishing off small teams as well as mental weakness. They usually fall apart when under intense pressure. But this aspect improved towards the end of the season.
Sanchez not Giroud was the highest scorer last season and that speaks volume.
I really do not see how that means we must sign a striker, surely the deficit is worse defensively
That doesn't fully explain the 12pts gap either, you guys pull out all these default arguments feed to you by the press and act like its gospel.
Scoring more goals isn't the real solution, it would help but is it going to win us the league NO!!!
It's important that we are stay resilient at the back when we play teams like Chelsea. If we can't score they shouldn't be allowed to either.
Not if we keep leaking goals, if you want to perform an honest analysis look at the number of games Chelsea were able to win with a single goal lead and how many Arsenal managed.
The difference in that comparison shows a gap in line with Chelsea's 12pt lead.
The team can win the league, let's not forget we just got Petr Cech:scared:, clearly Arsene is trying to address an issue and he has been ruthless in doing so. Which could translate to us winning those games we would have drawn previously or draw ones we would have lost.
I don't care how many world class strikers we buy, if we don't stop conceding silly goals and keep key players away from long term injuries we are not winning $#%. FACT.
Remember who you are, what you are and who you represent - Arsenal FC
This is a not a very good argument. Of course, lightning could also strike our team bus and all our players get injured same day. You can't and shouldn't plan for 3 players in the same position getting injured at the same time. In terms of requisite quality, we essentially have only one DM. Arteta is past it and Flamini is not it. To go an entire season, not making allowance that a key player might get injured is serious neglect.blaccat wrote:Some Arsenal fans will never see sense and will continue to pursue this anti Arsene agenda
The truth is even if we have 3 CDMs they could all pick up injuries at exactly the same time, oh wait that happened last season. So one or two additions doesn't solve our injury problems.
We were fortunate Coq didn't sustain any long term injuries at the start of the year.
2 reasonable assumptions when buidling a squad. 1. mid to long-term injuries (out 3 to 6months) can happen to any player over the course of the season. 2. players that have gotten injured frequently in the past will probably spend some time out this season again. Unless constrained by finances, you should plan for both eventualities.blaccat wrote: Our problem is down to duration of injuries, we need our players at optimum fitness ready for the battle ahead hoarding players isn't the solution.
herein lies our difference. I don't believe Flamini is at all good enough. Ask yourself, if Coquelin picks up one of those 6 to 9-month injuries in early September, are you willing to play Flamini/Arteta every game for the rest of the season? if the answer is yes, you are right. our squad is set. If it is no, that position needs strengthening.blaccat wrote: I am happy with Arteta and Flamini playing a supporting role to Coq every now and then to give the kid some rest and keep him refreshed.
now here's a position that's not just stocked but also overstocked. We have quantity (4 players) and quality(Debucy, Bellerin and even Jenko). In my own opinion, Jenko should go back on loan, Chambers should move to back-up CD full-time. You don't need more than 2 good fullbacks to prosecute a season.blaccat wrote: How do we cope with Hector, Debuchy, Chambers and Jenko all needing playing time, players do not improve on the bench.
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
You probably missed where I wrote converting chances and finishing off teams. If Arsenal took their chances against Swansea home and away, Manu home, those games would have long been over b4 they conceded. You can add Monaco and others to that.blaccat wrote:Yes Chelsea, conceded less 4 goals. But only scored 2 more goal than we did.bouncino wrote:Prophet Ohenhen. What happens if that DM injures in his first game and is out for the season. Debuchy comes to mind.ohenhen1 wrote:The current Arsenal squad can't win the EPL title. Maybe 1 more signing, a defensive midfielder. No depth behind Coquelin.
I agree the team needs another DM and maybe release Flamini but that alone still won't win them the title.
I believe a ruthless striker is more important. Only two teams conceded less than Arsenal last season (Chelsea and Southampton). The problem was more about not converting chances and finishing off small teams as well as mental weakness. They usually fall apart when under intense pressure. But this aspect improved towards the end of the season.
I really do not see how that means we must sign a striker, surely the deficit is worse defensively
That doesn't fully explain the 12pts gap either, you guys pull out all these default arguments feed to you by the press and act like its gospel.
Scoring more goals isn't the real solution, it would help but is it going to win us the league NO!!!
It's important that we are stay resilient at the back when we play teams like Chelsea. If we can't score they shouldn't be allowed to either.
Not if we keep leaking goals, if you want to perform an honest analysis look at the number of games Chelsea were able to win with a single goal lead and how many Arsenal managed.
The team can win the league, let's not forget we just got Petr Cech:scared:, clearly Arsene is trying to address an issue and he has been ruthless in doing so. Which could translate to us winning those games we would have drawn previously or draw ones we would have lost.
I don't care how many world class strikers we buy, if we don't stop conceding silly goals and keep key players away from long term injuries we are not winning $#%. FACT.
Meanwhile, I was only responding to you need a DM to win the league. You need many other things and most especially LUCK
I think another quality CDM is far more important than a striker for 2 reasons.bouncino wrote:Prophet Ohenhen. What happens if that DM injures in his first game and is out for the season. Debuchy comes to mind.ohenhen1 wrote:The current Arsenal squad can't win the EPL title. Maybe 1 more signing, a defensive midfielder. No depth behind Coquelin.
1. we really have no depth after coq, but we have some semi-capable guys in attack (giroud, wellbeck, walcott and even sanchez)
2. a top quality striker like you want is rarer and harder to get than a decent-enough CDM. There are many many players out there that can do a good-enough job at CDM for us. Arteta was an AM before we brought him here, Coq had failed at many loans and was on his way out of the club.
My solution, fix the simple obvious problem first. Then be on the look out for that super striker and be ready to strike when one becomes available.
I agree with you about a CDM. But a good finisher will put Arsenal miles ahead. See what Diego Costa did for Chelsea or RVP for Manu. We have a relatively stable Defence nowamafolas wrote:I think another quality CDM is far more important than a striker for 2 reasons.bouncino wrote:Prophet Ohenhen. What happens if that DM injures in his first game and is out for the season. Debuchy comes to mind.ohenhen1 wrote:The current Arsenal squad can't win the EPL title. Maybe 1 more signing, a defensive midfielder. No depth behind Coquelin.
1. we really have no depth after coq, but we have some semi-capable guys in attack (giroud, wellbeck, walcott and even sanchez)
2. a top quality striker like you want is rarer and harder to get than a decent-enough CDM. There are many many players out there that can do a good-enough job at CDM for us. Arteta was an AM before we brought him here, Coq had failed at many loans and was on his way out of the club.
My solution, fix the simple obvious problem first. Then be on the look out for that super striker and be ready to strike when one becomes available.
I can't believe people are still doubting Wenger when it's blatantly obvious he buys when it improves the squad.
Also, despite Coquelin's emergence, I still feel the man is against DMs in general but he might surprise us.
For the people who want us to buy, who should we buy and why? Who is out there that would improve us?
Also, despite Coquelin's emergence, I still feel the man is against DMs in general but he might surprise us.
For the people who want us to buy, who should we buy and why? Who is out there that would improve us?
My usual reaction after most Arsenal games: "lol, f*** Arsenal."
- Tunisian Gooner
tippy wrote:I can't believe people are still doubting Wenger when it's blatantly obvious he buys when it improves the squad.
Arsenal had DB 10 and Kanu in summer 99 and still bought Henry..had PV4, Razor and Edu but still bought Gilberto in summer of 2002.
Arsenal had Ramsey, Jack, Rosicky, Santi and yet still bought Ozil in summer of 2014.
Le Grove was spot on in his assessment today.
I can’t buy into this bullshit people spout when the say… ‘It’s hard to bring in better players when we’re so damn amazing’… we’ve not won the league for over ten years. We finished 3rd last year with less points than the year before. We were knocked out of the CL by Monaco. You’re %$#@^& deluding yourself if you don’t think our squad can be improved and relatively simply. Schneiderlin straight off the bat. Carvahllo, straight off the bat. It’s not like the weaknesses haven’t been apparent all season.
Detective Bunk Moreland
'The bigger the lie, the more they believe'
tippy wrote:I can't believe people are still doubting Wenger when it's blatantly obvious he buys when it improves the squad.
William Carlvaho- cost about 28 MP, he will provide physical presence in the midield. A box to box midfielder, good tackler, good passing skills and good finisher. He can play the deep defensive midfield role.
A strong man that we can use against teams like Stoke.
people like Le Grove are the ones misleading the Arsenal fanbase. His recommendations represent the syndrome of buying just for the sake of it. Schneiderlin doesnt play the Coq role for Southampton. What will he give the Arsenal that Ramsey, Cazorla and Wilshere cant give us better?Tunisian Gooner wrote:tippy wrote:I can't believe people are still doubting Wenger when it's blatantly obvious he buys when it improves the squad.
Arsenal had DB 10 and Kanu in summer 99 and still bought Henry..had PV4, Razor and Edu but still bought Gilberto in summer of 2002.
Arsenal had Ramsey, Jack, Rosicky, Santi and yet still bought Ozil in summer of 2014.
Le Grove was spot on in his assessment today.
I can’t buy into this bullshit people spout when the say… ‘It’s hard to bring in better players when we’re so damn amazing’… we’ve not won the league for over ten years. We finished 3rd last year with less points than the year before. We were knocked out of the CL by Monaco. You’re %$#@^& deluding yourself if you don’t think our squad can be improved and relatively simply. Schneiderlin straight off the bat. Carvahllo, straight off the bat. It’s not like the weaknesses haven’t been apparent all season.
As for Carvalho, he is just as slow as Arteta. His ball handling is not better than Chambers. Why do we need to buy him for over £25m?
- Molue Conductor
blaccat wrote:Yes Chelsea, conceded less 4 goals. But only scored 2 more goal than we did.bouncino wrote:Prophet Ohenhen. What happens if that DM injures in his first game and is out for the season. Debuchy comes to mind.ohenhen1 wrote:The current Arsenal squad can't win the EPL title. Maybe 1 more signing, a defensive midfielder. No depth behind Coquelin.
This 12 point gap may not be that difficult to explain. Wenger decided to play half a season without a true Defensive minded Midfielder and a jittery goalie. After half the season was played (19 games played) we were 13 points behind Chelsea and 10 behind city, in came Coq. and Ospina. By the end of the season we had gained 1 on Chelsea and 6 on City. The gap was established in the first half of the season due to squad inadequacies.
Oh please hush. We've heard this song long enough like Wenger never got anything wrong. Cygan, Senderos, Djourou, Squillachi, Silvestre, Bendtner, Jeffers, Denilson, Almunia, Chamakh, Sanogo, etc.tippy wrote:I can't believe people are still doubting Wenger when it's blatantly obvious he buys when it improves the squad.
He isn't infallable and going by history he is wrong wrt getting reinforcements in DM, unless the aim is to finish fourth...AGAIN.
You all keep talking about Coq like it was planned. If Arteta and Flamini didn't get injured Coq would've been loaned out and we would've faltered. So please Wenger backed into the decision to play Coq.
Wenger will deliberately shoot himself in the foot before a race then complain that he coudln't win because he had an injured foot. And suckers like you, Waffib, Skylolo, PapaK, and Cally, etc. will gobble up that banquet of baloney cos it's Wenger serving it. No where in the world is a coach that is one of if not the highest paid in his sport, allowed to come third or fourth regularly...and then celebrated for it. No serious team does it. At least in pro US sports unlike in Europe, there are strict checks and balances in place to ensure parity.
© ɹ ǝ ʇ s ɯ é ʎ ǝ ɥ ʇ" ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
tell them YemstertheYemster wrote:Oh please hush. We've heard this song long enough like Wenger never got anything wrong. Cygan, Senderos, Djourou, Squillachi, Silvestre, Bendtner, Jeffers, Denilson, Almunia, Chamakh, Sanogo, etc.tippy wrote:I can't believe people are still doubting Wenger when it's blatantly obvious he buys when it improves the squad.
He isn't infallable and going by history he is wrong wrt getting reinforcements in DM, unless the aim is to finish fourth...AGAIN.
You all keep talking about Coq like it was planned. If Arteta and Flamini didn't get injured Coq would've been loaned out and we would've faltered. So please Wenger backed into the decision to play Coq.
Wenger will deliberately shoot himself in the foot before a race then complain that he coudln't win because he had an injured foot. And suckers like you, Waffib, Skylolo, PapaK, and Cally, etc. will gobble up that banquet of baloney cos it's Wenger serving it. No where in the world is a coach that is one of if not the highest paid in his sport, allowed to come third or fourth regularly...and then celebrated for it. No serious team does it. At least in pro US sports unlike in Europe, there are strict checks and balances in place to ensure parity.

“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit
"I didn't buy Arsenal stake to win trophies" Kroneke
- Molue Conductor
i have a soft spot for Chamakh. He played well as our main striker, scoring 10 in his first 17 games. the RVP woke up from injury causing Wenger to bench Chamakh. With his confidence low he only got one more goal that season. I think the Chamakh issue was more to do with how he was managed.Gooner1 wrote:tell them YemstertheYemster wrote:Oh please hush. We've heard this song long enough like Wenger never got anything wrong. Cygan, Senderos, Djourou, Squillachi, Silvestre, Bendtner, Jeffers, Denilson, Almunia, Chamakh, Sanogo, etc.tippy wrote:I can't believe people are still doubting Wenger when it's blatantly obvious he buys when it improves the squad.
Wenger will deliberately shoot himself in the foot before a race then complain that he coudln't win because he had an injured foot. And suckers like you, Waffib, Skylolo, PapaK, and Cally, etc. will gobble up that banquet of baloney cos it's Wenger serving it. No where in the world is a coach that is one of if not the highest paid in his sport, allowed to come third or fourth regularly...and then celebrated for it. No serious team does it. At least in pro US sports unlike in Europe, there are strict checks and balances in place to ensure parity.![]()
The day Wenger leaves Arsenal is the day we can start winning the League until then Wenger and his ilks can keep on making excuses and winning worthless cups.
Things might come to those who wait but only those things left behind by those who hustle-Abraham Lincoln
The crux of our argument all these while....theYemster wrote:Oh please hush. We've heard this song long enough like Wenger never got anything wrong. Cygan, Senderos, Djourou, Squillachi, Silvestre, Bendtner, Jeffers, Denilson, Almunia, Chamakh, Sanogo, etc.tippy wrote:I can't believe people are still doubting Wenger when it's blatantly obvious he buys when it improves the squad.